Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great inspirations....., June 7 2001
By 
Collin M. David "allnerdreview" (Putnam Valley, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love the Spectrum series, and this one fits in with the rest of them perfectly. While much of the art is truly innovative and skilled, there are always a good number of pieces that slip by the judges as 'quality' and make it into the book, making it disappointing at times. Next to the well-chosen genius of Dave McKean, Phile Hale, Tony DiTerlizzi and the like, we are oppositely bombarded with the cliches that make fantasy art laughable - large chested, scantily clad women done without skill or grace. I mean, what's up with the devil-chick on page 74? More and more quick photoshop 'works' are worming their way into the competition, making the painter obsolete and reducing the real intellectual thought, whimsy and quality of this series.
I'll collect 'em anyhow. It's an amazing source of inspiration for the aspiring fantasy illustrator. If not from the great works, the poor works, at which one can say 'I can do better than that, ...!' [and then try their hand at it]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spectrum Does it Again, Oct. 12 2000
By 
Dustin Van Wechel "dustinv" (Gilbert, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For anyone who enjoys art of the fantastic or sci-fi, the Spectrum series has become the definitive source for the years best in these fields.
And Spectrum 7 is no disappointment. In fact, from my own perspective, this years Spectrum is superior to the last three years' editions. It provides some of the most imaginative and perfectly executed works of wonder I have had the pleasure of viewing in a VERY long time. Well, since last years Spectrum. Works by Palencar, Hale, Jusko, Brom and many, many other "new" artists are absolutely beautiful.
I just want to thank Arnie and Kathy Fenner for bringing these books to the fantasy & and sci-fi loving public. Please keep them coming!
And with a little luck, some of my work will be shown in next years annual. We'll see...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The State of the Art, Nov. 9 2000
By A Customer
Perhaps the nicest thing about the Spectrum series is that each installment seems to be better than the last. #7 is no exception. Featuring a wonderful array of art that engages and challenges the imagination, this is the one place that I'm sure to find selections by old favorites and meet exciting new talent. This year I was blown away by the art of Michael Whelan, Donato Giancola, Phil Hale, Kent Williams, Brom, and Kinuko Craft. And that's just for starters! Peter Max and "Bladerunner" artist Syd Mead are even featured in Spectrum's nearly 200 color pages (not the 144 in the listing). Rounding out the book is the "Year In Review" column which annually sets me hunting for interesting art items I've missed. Really a tip-top book, from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The series is getting better, but is the art?, Oct. 24 2001
I've been following the development of the Spectrum series since the first volume, and I must admit that the series - as a publication of artworks - is getting better. The layout is more thought out, the artworks presented are sufficiently annotated and marked. On other hand, I wonder whether the makers of this book feel like they have to fill up more pages and therefore sometimes go amiss in their choice of good fantasy art. Nevertheless, this is an excellent collection of works of fantasy (and fantastic) art, especially good as a first step in the exploration of the field. Those new to the genre might choose the Spectrum series as a beginner's guide to fantasy art and use it as a jumpboard for further research of this creative branch of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful fantasy art book., Jan. 17 2001
This review is from: Spectrum 7: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art (Hardcover)
As of this book I will now start to buy more art books.
I've always had an interest in art books but have never convinced myself to buy one because I couldn't justify buying a book just to look at pictures. That attitude now changes as some of the paintings in this book can keep my looking at them for a significant length of time.
Actually taking the time to look at a good artbook is just as rewarding as reading. From this year on I will by the "Spectrum" books as they come out.
A fabulous book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the spectrum series are excelent, Jan. 13 2001
I have a wide collection of fantasy-art books and the spectrum collection is simply among the best books you can buy. they are basically a collection of works from many painters,illustrators,sculptors and artists from the fantasy realm worldwide,the best pieces published get awarded and you can find from very famous book cover painters to comic illustrators to sculptors of popular figures inside these pages. I think any of the spectrum books are worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Huge Collection, June 4 2002
This book is absolutely huge and well worth the money. It is crammed full of amazing fantastic and science fiction images. There is a large variety of subjects that will fascinate anyone with a love for the fantastic. I would recommend this book for anyone who loves art. In my humble opinion, this is the best Spectrum book to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book I still pull out and go through from front to back., Jan. 27 2004
By 
J. Toscano (Salt Lake City, Utah USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spectrum 7: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art (Hardcover)
I bought this from Amazon over 2 years ago (just getting around to rating it :)) and it is still near the top of my read pile. This book has made me want to collect the entire series. Top quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bujan, April 30 2001
By 
Luis Bujan (San Jose, Costa Rica.) - See all my reviews
Great book, though there are a couple of works that from my point of view are below the quality of the book. But it's still a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spectrum 7: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art
Spectrum 7: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art by Cathy Fenner (Hardcover - Sept. 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 29.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews