Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE book for the beginner & experienced alike, March 19 2004
By 
IT Guy Forever (Culver City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide (Paperback)
I've been keeping marine tanks with very mixed results off and on for the past thirty years. When I started out in the hobby and didn't know any better I was expert in quickly killing off all of the gorgeous occupants of my tank. "Live rock, ah you don't need it," said most of the "knowledgeable" local fish stores. Also protein skimmers were more of an afterthought - "after you've had your tank up a while and the sludge really starts to build then you may want one," they said. "Having problems," they'd ask. "You need to get a U/V sterilizer, or a cooler," or something else, though these are all potentially useful they weren't the reason that my tanks weren't surviving. Well, it's interesting to look back and see how quickly technology and common knowledge about how to successfully start and maintain a thriving marine tank (reef or fish) have evolved. Through the years I've looked at the top selling marine aquarium books that were available - some have been good at some things and most have been antiquated in not reflecting the latest technological updates, or even biological knowledge. Well, after purchasing "The New Marine Aquarium" by Paletta I have found the perfect book that truly ties most everything about success in the hobby together. This wonderful book will take you by the hand explaining what you'll need to begin with and why in order to create a successful microcosm. From what items you'll need to purchase (even on a shoestring budget), how to set up your tank, what fishes to consider, this exquisite book explains it all. The wonderful part is how clearly defined everything is by Mr. Paletta and how everything is thoroughly yet not verbosely explained as to why you'll need a certain item or why you need to set something up in a particular way. The magic of this book is how it covers the gamut of what you'll need; it's clear, eloquent, not overstated. You'll find answers as to what tank, what invertebrates, which corals, what goes best with what fish, what type of heater, powerhead, filter system; even suggestions on the exact sequence you'll need to follow for monitoring and testing your tank during its cycling period. Even for someone with a lot of experience in the hobby you'll still find little golden nuggets of information that will turn on the "ah ha" light bulb as you realize that now you understand why this works or why something hasn't worked. This book is in a class by itself; clearly superior to most of the other current marine aquarium titles. It's not overwhelming in size or scientific prose - it's just enough of what you need for the common layperson to successfully begin this wonderful hobby and it's still interesting and informative for someone who has a wealth of experience. If you are purchasing your first marine aquarium or if you know someone who has just started then this is one of the best if not the best books to help ensure your success. Its reasonable price and gorgeous photographs make it even more of a valued purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book for the first-time aquarist, Jan. 23 2004
This review is from: The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide (Paperback)
This book delivers on its promise. Without any experience whatsoever in aquariums, I got two great tanks up and running in three months with thriving fish. The greater up-front expense is more than compensated for by the ease of long-term maintenance as well as the health and well-being of the inhabitants. The only shortcoming in the text in my mind (but not worth a reduction in a star) is too little discussion of lighting given the many options, but you come to learn that lighting is a matter of personal aesthetic preference as well as what is in the tank, and there are online sites where you can compare the same tanks under different lights. The only other book I needed was Marine Fishes by Scott Michael, which allowed me to narrow in on species of interest once I had completed the initial choices outlined by Paletta, and know exactly what to feed them. Great text! Thanks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book, nice price, May 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide (Paperback)
like this book, but reading it feel a bit dated... anyways, there is lots of useful info for newbies, but I would not pay the full price for it, not worth it. Happy that I bought it used and did not spend much money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Elegant Book, Nov. 29 2003
By 
Ron (Menomonee Falls, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide (Paperback)
The book is concise and simply stated. I have read other marine aquaria books since, but most aren't written quite as gracefully. A beginner only needs one book to get started and be successful in this hobby, and this is it. It has all the fundamentals.
The nominal cost of this book will save you much money in the long run. Follow the advise in the book without exception--especially, regarding the setting up of a quarantine tank. Also, as Mr. Paletta et al note, live rock and a protein skimmer is the way to go!
Good luck and have fun with your new hobby!
PS-Marine Fishes by Scott W. Michael makes an execellent companion book to The New Marine Aquarium. As your hobby experience progresses, I think it should be the second book you buy. Eventually you may want to know more detailed information about what fishes get along with other fishes to successfully stock your tank. There is a dizzying variety of fishes to choose from and they aren't all listed in The New Marine Aquarium. Best of all is that Marine Fishes is palm sized!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent beginner book, Oct. 23 2003
By 
Christophe W. Broden (Westminster, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide (Paperback)
If you are just starting out in the marine world, this is the book for you. It covers everything you need to get started. A very well written book with excellent photos and diagrams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starter book!, April 21 2011
This review is from: The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide (Paperback)
Michael Paletta's book is concise and full of useful information. It is all you need to get you through the first months of starting up and owning a marine aquarium. Lots of photos and drawings add to both the enjoyment and the clarity of the text.

If you need to buy one book to get started, this is the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learned my lesson, Oct. 15 2003
By 
Sharpchick (Mabelvale, AR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide (Paperback)
As a new aquariast to both salt and freshwater tropicals, I've really learned two things: 1)read all you can before you buy the first piece of equipment; and 2) no one does #1.
If everyone did, this book would have to be the starter book for marine aquaria. We really don't have to kill fish to cycle a saltwater tank. Paletta explains in super detail several other options to putting those gorgeous little damsels through weeks of gill searing ammonia levels. If you can only purchase one "how to" book for marine aquaria, this one is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy This One First!, May 4 2003
By 
This review is from: The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide (Paperback)
Thinking of getting into the saltwater aquarium hobby? Do not buy anything until you have read this book cover to cover! You will be sorry if you don't. By applying the principles in this book, you will have much greater success at the venture. You will save a lot of money and spare the lives of many fish.
After you've read this one, buy The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert M. Fenner and give this great hobby a go. It's wonderful, and these two books will get you off to a great start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He beat me to it!, March 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide (Paperback)
... covers just about everything imaginable, and does so in such a clear & concise way that there is little point in my trying to cover it again.
I am truly impressed. This so-called beginner's book scarcely rates that category; this is the very sort of information that beginners REALLY need but oh-so rarely ever get until it is too late. Moreover, it is presented in a form that beginners can understand and digest with ease. Truly a gem, and destined to be a classic.
The checklists, the explanations which make the complex simple, the techniques, the wonderful illustrations, the tips & tricks, the lists of common mistakes to avoid, ( and which species to avoid ) and the truly useful advice make this book very complete. It's 140+ pages are chocked full of good information without a lot of "fluff"; it's truly "all-meat, no filler!"
If I had to recommend just ONE book for the beginning marine hobbyist, I think that this would be the one. I even recommend it highly to intermediate hobbyists. While it doesn't cover every single aspect of the marine hobby, ( not that any one book, or even any given dozen ever books could ) it aptly covers the most important things, and most importantly, it covers them in a way which will make it the most useful to it's target audience...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He beat me to it!, March 1 2003
This review is from: The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide (Paperback)
I must admit that I had an ulterior motive for buying this book, namely, I was writing one of my own, and as such I had to check out the competiton. I've met Mike ( Paletta ) on numerous occasions, and I knew that anything he wrote would be quite good.
Well, I have to say that my plans are now officially shot!
He covers just about everything imaginable, and does so in such a clear & concise way that there is little point in my trying to cover it again.
I am truly impressed. This so-called beginner's book scarcely rates that category; this is the very sort of information that beginners REALLY need but oh-so rarely ever get until it is too late. Moreover, it is presented in a form that beginners can understand and digest with ease. Truly a gem, and destined to be a classic.
The checklists, the explanations which make the complex simple, the techniques, the wonderful illustrations, the tips & tricks, the lists of common mistakes to avoid, ( and which species to avoid ) and the truly useful advice make this book very complete. It's 140+ pages are chocked full of good information without a lot of "fluff"; it's truly "all-meat, no filler!"
If I had to recommend just ONE book for the beginning marine hobbyist, I think that this would be the one. I even recommend it highly to intermediate hobbyists. While it doesn't cover every single aspect of the marine hobby, ( not that any one book, or even any given dozen ever books could ) it aptly covers the most important things, and most importantly, it covers them in a way which will make it the most useful to it's target audience.
Thanks, Mike! You've saved me a ton of writing. Now my own book can concentrate on some more advanced & specialized aspects of the hobby, assuming you don't beat me to those as well. You can bet that your book will be the first one listed on my "Suggested Reading" page!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb813ef24)

This product

The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide
The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide by Michael D. Paletta (Paperback - Oct. 1 1998)
CDN$ 22.42 CDN$ 21.91
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews