Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! Loved it!
This is one of those books that causes the very best kind of dilemma. You can't put it down...but at the same time, you really don't want to finish! "The Heart Specialist" is the story of Agnes White, a somewhat socially awkward female living in the turn of the 20th century. Agnes has a talent and passion for one thing, medicine, and being a female at this time makes...
Published on March 30 2009 by Susan Glover

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promise not fulfilled
This book began with an interesting premise of historical significance but disappointed when Maude's infatuation began to take centre stage and her struggles with her education and work were skimmed. Also, we end up knowing way too much about her organization skills and very little about her medical knowledge. I can't say I enjoyed it and am surprised by the glowing...
Published on Dec 30 2010 by Samantha


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it! Loved it!, March 30 2009
By 
Susan Glover "bookbuff" (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Heart Specialist (Paperback)
This is one of those books that causes the very best kind of dilemma. You can't put it down...but at the same time, you really don't want to finish! "The Heart Specialist" is the story of Agnes White, a somewhat socially awkward female living in the turn of the 20th century. Agnes has a talent and passion for one thing, medicine, and being a female at this time makes any realization of her dream very difficult. She is not a natural crusader, but she has one thing going for her... the complete inability to visualize a life that doesn't allow her to pursue her insatiable curiosity. This book drew me into the difficulties of that tumultous time period and made me appreciate the efforts of those 'quiet' women, who did not rally or wave banners, but eroded the barriers they faced by just doing the job better.
"The Heart Specialist" is beautifully written with detail that makes you hear, see and smell the times and makes you love and root for Agnes to not only find professional success but also find herself.
I had the pleasure a few years ago of reading a book of short stories by this author, Claire Rothman Holden, and became a fan then. I was thrilled to learn that she had written a novel, and could not wait to read it. And best of all, it exceeded my expectations. Now I look forward to the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read on many levels!, Oct. 23 2009
This review is from: The Heart Specialist (Paperback)
If you are looking for something that will entertain, intrigue and even educate you, this is your book. You can dissect the novel if you want to find multiple layers of symbolism and methaphore, or learn about the social climate of Montreal at the turn of the 20th century. In any case, it is well-written, engaging and just a plain old good story about a woman who is fueled by a passion for medicine and a consuming need for her absent father. No matter what your motivation, The Heart Specialist won't disappoint and you will have a lingering appreciation for the accomplishments of a remarkable woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heart Specialist, Nov. 25 2009
By 
Barbara Ford "Brit book fiend" (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Heart Specialist (Paperback)
Based on the life of Dr. Maude Abbot, one of Montreal's first female doctors in the early 1900s, this is a captivating story about a young woman drawn to the unladylike professions of science and medicine. As a means of connecting with the father who left her as a child, she follows in his footsteps and in the process, leads the way for other women to follow.

Author Claire Holden Rothman writes a compelling story that captures the history of WWI and a time when women were only laughingly considered worthy of higher education in the sciences. In her fist novel, she manages to take a story that could easily become dry and overburdened with historical fact and weaves a heartfelt tale of a woman struggling for independence as she searches for her father, the man whom she worshiped as a child and who is at the centre of all her decisions and actions.

Selected as a Giller Prize candidate, this is a fascinating account that offers everything a reader could ever want in a novel: murder, travel, history, mystery and love. How could one small woman have lived a life so large?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Promise not fulfilled, Dec 30 2010
By 
Samantha "Critical Reader" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Heart Specialist (Paperback)
This book began with an interesting premise of historical significance but disappointed when Maude's infatuation began to take centre stage and her struggles with her education and work were skimmed. Also, we end up knowing way too much about her organization skills and very little about her medical knowledge. I can't say I enjoyed it and am surprised by the glowing ratings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable History, Jan. 12 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Heart Specialist (Paperback)
This book was quite enjoyable, gives the flavour and feeling of 1890 to 1900 Montreal. It was a bit 'draggy' in the middle but I enjoyed it very much in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, May 8 2009
By 
C. Ann St Amant (montreal, quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Heart Specialist (Paperback)
The book totally captured my interest and I was unable to put it down. This is historically placed novel about a young woman trying to become a doctor during difficult times both from a feminist point of view and war times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of my all-time faves, Jan. 15 2010
By 
This review is from: The Heart Specialist (Paperback)
Claire Holden Rothman is clearly a gifted story teller, and Agnes is a character I won't soon forget. I LOVED this book - right up there with Jane Eyre. Every woman should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Read, April 5 2011
This review is from: The Heart Specialist (Paperback)
The Heart Specialist is the story of Agnes White, based on a real historical figure by the name of Dr. Maude Abbot, one of the first women to graduate from Montreal's McGill University with a degree, and one of the first women to become a medical doctor. Based on facts, the story gives readers more than just a glimpse of what the main character had to overcome in the late 1800s and early 1900s. Women didn't have the right to vote yet. At the university, only the arts department had their doors opened to women. Abbot/White had to go elsewhere to earn a doctoral degree in medicine. She became an expert in congenital heart disease.

Agnes White's father is largely absent in her life and she strives to find him. He was/is also a doctor. She finds solace in her work, labelling and categorizing her father's work, or more like her father's legacy. Agnes earns a place among men and she finds love in an unexpected place despite losing many of the people she holds dearest in one way or another.

Rothman conveys in a superb manner Agnes' feelings of being in no man's land. I like Agnes and I felt like cheering her on. I also like Jakob Hertzlich, her assistant, especially later on in the story; at first, he appeared snobbish (but only slightly, and with good reason). This book is well written and it is true to the times and settings of the story.

The Heart Specialist is one of the best literary novel I've read thus far. Even after I was done reading it, I was left to ponder about it. It's an enjoyable read with believable characters (although a particular part at the beginning might not be suitable for the faint of heart). It's a book with a grand message about humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a pleasure to read., May 28 2009
By 
V. Lavergne (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Heart Specialist (Paperback)
This book is delightful right from the start. We follow the story of Agnes White, from her childhood to womanhood, as she discovers where she belongs and how she differs from the rest of women in society. She's socially awkward, but still manage to make her way.

Set in Quebec and written by a Montreal teacher, this novel is a must-read. A real pleasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Heart Specialist
The Heart Specialist by Claire Holden Rothman (Paperback - March 1 2009)
CDN$ 21.00 CDN$ 15.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews