Auto Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen boutiques-francophones Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$25.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 24, 2003
This is a very thick (416 pages) and large book that combines all major types of endgames in one single volume. While at the heart of this book is a vast number of endgame positions classified by piece presents annotated in great detail, you will also find a lot of general terminology explained, many brief comments inserted in the analysis that help understand the general principles, thinking approach and other practical issues. After each chapter, you can practice several exercises.
I dislike the use of softcover for such a thick and large book, I doubt it will hold up for a long. This is a shame, since, otherwise, this is a perfect edition. Nice clear diagrams, easy indicator whose move it is and what you are expected to do. Also, the text is easy to read and follow. Sometimes, when analysis go for more than 10 moves, having another diagram would really help. On the other hand, you really should use the chess board when studying, so this is not such a big issue. Authors are well known experts in combining endgame analysis on the chess board with the latest computer hardware and software. I have been through several examples and found very detailed analysis, good references to previous publications and timely general comments.
Who will benefit
There are many quality endgames books and software on the market. Whether or not you want to add this not [inexpensive] book to your library is up to you. I believe, that practically everyone above 1800, who is familiar with basic endgame principles and have good calculation skills, will benefit from going through this books. In fact I would suggest the following approach- set up each position on the board (or from the diagram in the book); find out whose move it is; develop plans for both sides; calculate variation as deep as you can; compare your plans and variation with the authors analysis.
An excellent book for home studying for experienced players who are familiar with basic endgames and have developed good calculation skills. If you still working on developing those, I would suggest - Alburt's "Just the Facts", Averbakh's "Chess Endings Essential Knowledge." For studying on the go, I would suggest Concise Chess Endings by McDonald.
Good luck,
Copyrighted by me
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2002
With quickplay finishes requiring most chess games to be finished in one sitting, having proper knowledge of the endgame is even more important. Adjournments for extensive analysis are thus abolished, requiring the player to have this crucial endgame knowledge at his (or her) fingertips. This book will help you attain that goal.
Please read what Grandmaster Lubosh Kavalek had to say (November 25, 2002 Washington Post chess column)
"An endgame book does not often win a prestigious award, but "Fundamental Chess Endings" by Karsten Muller and Frank Lamprecht and issued by Gambit Publications in London, could not have been overlooked by the judges of the British Chess Federation's 2002 Book of the Year Award. The clearly written volume honored by the BCF was conceived as a textbook, divided into 12 chapters with exercises. It has been meticulously checked by computer programs, correcting mistakes and some myths of the past. I wish the book had been around in the '60s, '70s or '80s when players could have learned endgames by adjourning them and consulting such a manual."
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2004
I feel wonderful to own this book.
see how master say about this book ?
Reviewed by John Donaldson

The increasing tempo at which games are being played today is putting a premium on good endgame skills. Twenty years ago it might have been sufficient to steer a favorable ending to adjournment, where the win could be carefully worked out with possible assistance from outside sources, but today you are on your own and the clock is ticking.
Fundamental Chess Endings by GM Karsten Mueller and IM Frank Lamprecht seeks to arm the reader with the necessary skills to play the endgame correctly. Any reader who manages to make it from one end to the other of this massive and attractively priced tome will no doubt make a quantum leap in their endgame play.
Realistically speaking I don't think many will, but the many diagrams, very helpful prose summaries and exercises to solve make this a book that any real chess player will want to delve into again and again in much the way that at an earlier endgame compendium by Speelman, Tisdall and Wade was. Now, the difference of course is that computers have made things much clearer and few areas remain gray.
One very impressive set of pages in the back of the book is a complete table of computer database results for pawnless endings where not only the general result is given, but also the longest win and longest reciprocal zugzwang. You probably will never reach the ending of Queen versus two minor pieces in your lifetime, but if you do Mueller and Lamprecht will show you that two knights are a draw and two Bishops and Knight and Bishop are lost. They will also point out that there exist fortress positions for each of the latter two endings where the defender can draw. In the case of Queen versus two Bishops the relevant position to know is W-Qe6 and Kb4 versus B-Kb7, Bb6 and Bc6. After 1.Qe7+ Kc8 2.Qe6+ Kb7 3.Qd6 Ba7 4.Qe7+ Kb6! 5.Qd8+ Kb7! 6.Ka5 Bc5 with ...Bb6+ to follow reestablishing the fortress. Was this analysis the product of a silicon
oracle? No! The Italian Giambattista Lolli figured it out in 1763!
I can recommend this book without reservation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2001
I believe we are living in the Golden Age of chess. Many, if not most, of the greatest players of all time are young and active today. While I admit that the above statement is debatable, I am far more certain that we are living in the Golden Age of chess writing. Of course, there's plenty of garbage out there; but if you're looking for good stuff, it's almost as easy to find, thanks in large part to Gambit, the British company that publishes chess books and nothing but chess books.
There are at least four large one-volume encyclopedic works on the endgame: Fine's BASIC CHESS ENDINGS, Keres's PRACTICAL CHESS ENDINGS; Wade, Speelman and Tisdall's BATSFORD CHESS ENDINGS; and now this one. Its three predecessors are excellent works in themselves, but this has a good shot at being generally regarded as the best of them all. Why? Well, it's as well written as the others; it's designed to be read cover-to-cover as a series of lessons or as a reference work, and it's all computer-checked for accuracy. There are sure to be some errors--I hope mostly typographical rather than analytical--but as long as there aren't very many of them, the book should be a great help to anyone wishing to improve his practical results by knowing more about the endgame than his peers. I haven't read the whole book yet, but so far my opinion is that big books on endings don't get any better than this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2003
I'm an unrated amateur just beginning endgame study and I have found this book to be very helpful. In fact it contains the first explanation of the procedure for KBN v. K that I've read that was clear and simple enough to allow me to master this particular endgame. Although Pandolfini's Endgame Course is probably the best endgame book for beginners, it really just gives one position after another in an exercise format; it does not do a very good job of explaining general principles and procedures for you to generalize to your own games. Fundamental Chess Endings fills that hole very nicely. While I admit that it may be a bit heavy to serve as a beginner's only endgame source, it makes a perfect companion to - and greatly enhances my results from - Pandolfini. Between these two books I think I've found an ideal endgame course.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2003
This book will certainly make a huge impact in your play. It is absolutely great to be able to trade pieces in the midlegame when you know that the ensuing endgame is won for you and your opponent does the same because he does not see this! It is also very valuable to know certain theoretically drawn positions in order to avoid them when you have the edge, or seek them when you don't.
This book has all that plus a LOT more, you will find every "commonly" reached endgame and a clear explanation (with plenty of variations) on the right way to play it. You should study this book no matter what your level of play is ad you will get a clear edge against your opponents that have not done so!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2014
First of all, I am a lower-intermediate chess player and I usually play chess just for fun. I have heard a lot that endgame is the beauty of the chess and that you have to master your endgame or at least know the basics before you go for middlegame and openning. That is why I always looking for a great and complete endgame book. And this book exactly met my expectations.

"Fundamental Chess Endings" is a fantastic book to learn endgame. It shows the fundamentals and has a lot of examples from past and very recent games. Finally, with this book I was able to learn how to mate with a bishop and a knight.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2002
This book is stunning beyond all words! These guys used endgame tablebases to completely classify all endgame knowledge. Every single thing you could imagine is in this book. Oddly enough, unlike, say, NCO or MCO, it's a very readable encyclopedia. You could get lost in this thing for years. It makes me want to start a whole sub-branch of the ICC where you play nothing but endgames and get an endgame rating. This book is achingly beautiful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2003
wow simply wow, ummmm not sure what else to say 5 stars speak for themselfs, this is THE book on the end game and well worth the money
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2002
The British Chess Federation has pick this book as book of the year. What more do you need to know?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Silman's Complete Endgame Couorse
Silman's Complete Endgame Couorse by Jeremy Silman (Paperback - Jan. 31 2007)
CDN$ 23.69

FCO: Fundamental Chess Openings
FCO: Fundamental Chess Openings by Paul Van Der Sterren (Paperback - Nov. 24 2009)
CDN$ 25.87

Dvoretsky's Endgame Manual
Dvoretsky's Endgame Manual by Mark Dvoretsky (Paperback - Dec 15 2014)
CDN$ 35.21