Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and inspiring book
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:12 Mins
I've no idea who Hazel Soan is when I bought the book. Now, I'm a fan of her work.

The Essence of Watercolour contains very beautiful and inspiring paintings.

I like her suggestive style, which is to draw just enough and let the mind fill in the rest. Her use of wet on wet for blending colours is masterful and the pastel...
Published on Sept. 13 2011 by Parka

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures, but hardly any techniques
This is a beautiful book but I was hoping for some watercolour instruction and did not get it with this book. Probably a good fit for an experienced watercolour artist who is looking for some inspiration.
Published 22 months ago by Kathy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and inspiring book, Sept. 13 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Essence of Watercolour (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:12 Mins

I've no idea who Hazel Soan is when I bought the book. Now, I'm a fan of her work.

The Essence of Watercolour contains very beautiful and inspiring paintings.

I like her suggestive style, which is to draw just enough and let the mind fill in the rest. Her use of wet on wet for blending colours is masterful and the pastel colours used are a joy to look at. It reminds me of the feeling you get when you watch a beautiful sunset.

Accompanying the paintings are brief but insightful instructions that are easy to try. There are lessons on transparency, layering, experimenting with colours, understanding brushstrokes and other watercolour techniques. Even though the watercolour tips are not unique to this book, it's always interesting to read it from the perspective of different artists.

Highly recommended to watercolour lovers.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, March 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Watercolour (Hardcover)
I love this book with awesome pictures and very valuable information. A real course on water color painting. Yes, yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable reference book., Feb. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Watercolour (Hardcover)
I bought this after a quick review of other's review.
I love this artist's work and started to become addicted to reading more of her books.
I would recommend this to anyone who loves arts, especially watercolour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Essence of Watercolour, Jan. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Watercolour (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book to review and use. I found this book to give me a sense of comfort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, Oct. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Watercolour (Hardcover)
Perfect, Perfect, Perfect!!!
gives you freedom to paint - your way!

It has opened up a way to paint, even in the normal way!

Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Getting Loose with watercolour, Sept. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Watercolour (Hardcover)
This book was very useful for the intermediate watercolourist - very good explanation of transparency and mixing of pigment and how to make your paintings glow. I have used some of the techniques already and am very pleased with the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hazel Soan Essence of Watercolour, Aug. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Watercolour (Hardcover)
Of all the watercolor instruction books I have this is by far one of the best. For every level of artist Hazel shows how to obtain several effects in several ways - very simply - without the need of over the top or expense supplies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, June 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Watercolour (Hardcover)
Wow, what an artist. Soan has such a style and the product is simply amazing. Even if you are not a painter, the painting featured in this book are beautiful to see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures, but hardly any techniques, Dec 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Watercolour (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book but I was hoping for some watercolour instruction and did not get it with this book. Probably a good fit for an experienced watercolour artist who is looking for some inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration, Dec 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Essence of Watercolour (Hardcover)
This book is a good one for people ready for another challenge. I purchased it along with Jean Haines' Atmospheric Watercolours and love the exciting prospects of both books. What fun to look forward to picking up a brush and 'drawing' with a paint brush. Although the book is new to me I have read and re-read the exciting news many times. Get beyond yourself with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essence of Watercolour
The Essence of Watercolour by Hazel Soan (Hardcover - Sept. 6 2011)
CDN$ 30.95 CDN$ 19.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews