Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carter and Curtis do it again - maybe best of all!!, Aug. 10 2003
By 
P. Heaphy (West Haven, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designs For Living And Learning (Paperback)
This book is worth every penny for early childhood programs who are interested in creating nurturing spaces for children to flourish. Even the look of the book makes you want to savor it - hundreds of color photographs on glossy pages that invite you to browse before even reading the text.
This is not a curriculum book per se, although it certainly offers ideas and suggestions for activities, such as expanding the small block materials with drift wood, smooth stones, and other found materials. It is more about creating an aesthetically pleasing environment in which children can learn and grow AND be comfortable space for children, teachers, and parents alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE LOVE LOVE this book!, Nov. 17 2003
By 
Michelle Lewis (Portland, Oregon USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designs For Living And Learning (Paperback)
I LOVE this book. This is best book I've found when it comes to beautiful, illustrative pictures of children's learning environments. If you want to create a place that invites children with natural materials, this is the perfect book to inspire you. Leave commercialism and plastic toys behind...you can do it! I love this book. Did I already say that? I'd buy two if they were cheaper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creative, Economical Ideas, July 19 2004
By 
Ellen (Duluth, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Designs For Living And Learning (Paperback)
I'm just a stay at home mom but the centers/daycares in this book look so great I wish I could send my kids! I am inspired to start my own family childcare using these ideas, they are really helpful and right on target. Creative and economical ideas, this book is not a waste of money. Many many photographs, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yay, Sept. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Designs For Living And Learning (Paperback)
The book store at my school was out and you got it to me ASAP Made my day thanks :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Ideas!, May 1 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Designs For Living And Learning (Paperback)
This book has tons of wonderful ideas and great pictures! I haven't even READ it yet...just flipped through the pics and I love it! I can't wait to start some of these things in my own daycare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, Oct. 1 2008
By 
S. Manicom "ECE" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designs For Living And Learning (Paperback)
I loved this book! I work in a daycare and Have used many ideas from this book, I am always looking back and reading back in the book often, there are so many good ideas for the childcare enviroment, you will not waste your money buying this book it will enrich your life and the life of the children you care for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rethinking the Learning Environment, Dec 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Designs For Living And Learning (Paperback)
A great resource for teachers who are looking to use the learning space as a third teacher for students to engage in meaningful learning opportunities. It highlights the importance of creating a space in which all learners can excel. This book offers suggestions to educators to build the environment together with students so that the space becomes their own. It helps teachers to rethink how the classroom ca best support the learning process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Designs For Living And Learning
Designs For Living And Learning by DEB CURTIS/MARGIE CARTER (Paperback - May 1 2003)
CDN$ 51.95 CDN$ 32.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews