Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars HOLY COW!
I bought this book because in my job I have to do a lot of installations, configuration, troubleshooting, etc with the various firewalls--and becuase I thought the title was pretty funny. My book came in last week, and I've bee reading it ever since and I have to say it's AMAZING. The things is 1300 pages long and must weigh 5 pounds. It covers PIX, Check Point, ISA,...
Published on Oct. 24 2003 by Brian Downey

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars openbsd pf?
Hmm, no OpenBSD pf. So much for "period"...
Published on Nov. 25 2003 by Shawn Carroll


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars HOLY COW!, Oct. 24 2003
By 
This review is from: The Best Damn Firewall Book Period (Paperback)
I bought this book because in my job I have to do a lot of installations, configuration, troubleshooting, etc with the various firewalls--and becuase I thought the title was pretty funny. My book came in last week, and I've bee reading it ever since and I have to say it's AMAZING. The things is 1300 pages long and must weigh 5 pounds. It covers PIX, Check Point, ISA, Nokia better than most books just on those things. It's literally like getting 5 or 6 books in one. One of the things I really like about it is that it's much wider than most books, so you can actually lay it open flat and refer to it while doing your configs. I'm studying now for my CCSA also, and this will certainly help with that also. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars openbsd pf?, Nov. 25 2003
By 
Shawn Carroll (Burlington, VT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best Damn Firewall Book Period (Paperback)
Hmm, no OpenBSD pf. So much for "period"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Another Damn Firewall Book comma, Dec 15 2003
This review is from: The Best Damn Firewall Book Period (Paperback)
Another firewall book comma
has lots and lost of information, none of which is definitive
Do yourself a favor and purchase something more precise to the firewall your trying to implement, such as the the Umer kahn book about cisco pix, or any of the other numerous titles that cover more specific ideas
buying this book is like buying The Best Damn Cookbook when your lookin for a book on baking cookies (period)
overly presumptuous, grossly incomplete, less then definitive, can you tell im bored (period)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My shelf fell off the wall!, Nov. 6 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Damn Firewall Book Period (Paperback)
Seriously, this huge book is chock full of information on various firewall products. It is well written and technically sound. Anyone who deals with security/networks/firewalls, etc. will think this a good book. And it's huge--good thing Amazon has free shipping...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Enough, April 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Damn Firewall Book Period (Paperback)
This book will help you with basic and intermediate setups of certain firewalls. Of all the commercial firewalls out there, it allows you to look good in front of clients with various types. However to become advanced, I suggest FW speccific bppks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EVERYTHING you ever wanted to know about firewalls, Nov. 3 2003
This review is from: The Best Damn Firewall Book Period (Paperback)
You know how sometimes you buy a book and after you're done reading it you say to yourself, "that a waste of money." You don't have to worry about that with this book. Given how much I learned from it, it actually feels like a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Damn Firewall Book Period
The Best Damn Firewall Book Period by Syngress (Paperback - Oct. 28 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 14.81
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews