Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Two authors join forces
Authors Philip Craig and William Tapply join together with their heroes J.W. Jackson and Brady Coyne to create a pleasant mystery set on Martha's Vineyard. Coyne has come to the island to advise his client Sarah Fairchild as to whether to sell her valuable beachfront property to golf course developers or environmentalists. Sarah is in precarious health and feels as if...
Published on Dec 21 2001 by Karen Potts

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing
This is a story about two friends, Brady and J.W., who enjoy fishing and end up trying to find two missing persons. I just read the latest Brady Coyne novel and liked it but this book which is written by two authors was difficult to read. The characters take turns narrating every other chapter which would be fine but the timeline was not sequential and ended up...
Published on Jan. 25 2002 by Rhonda


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Two authors join forces, Dec 21 2001
By 
Karen Potts (Lake Jackson, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Authors Philip Craig and William Tapply join together with their heroes J.W. Jackson and Brady Coyne to create a pleasant mystery set on Martha's Vineyard. Coyne has come to the island to advise his client Sarah Fairchild as to whether to sell her valuable beachfront property to golf course developers or environmentalists. Sarah is in precarious health and feels as if she needs to make this decision quickly. J.W. has been commissioned to find Katherine Bannerman who left her husband, came the island and then disappeared. When not involved in business, however, the two friends join forces to enter the fishing derby, which is a big event on Martha's Vineyard. Also J.W. is helping his two young children build a treehouse. Threats are made against J.W. and Brady, and Jackson's wife Zee has her tires slashed while at work. They work together trying to find out who is at the bottom of all of this. I wondered how the two authors would work together on this joint effort and they used the format of each one writing every other chapter, which features his hero. This is a pleasant book and an enjoyable read but, disappointingly the murderer was too easy to spot. The two main characters worked well together and would be a good match in future books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but needs more intensity, Dec 18 2001
By 
Attorney Brady Coyne is driving from Boston to Martha's Vineyard to combine pleasure with business. Brady plans to spend some time with close friend and sleuth J.W. Jackson while also finalizing the will of the dying Sarah Fairchild. Brady and JW plan to spend as much time fishing together as possible so they really want to ignore the plea of local resident James Bannerman whose wife Katherine is missing.

However, though Brady has plenty to do between fishing and handling the Fairchild estate, Zee, the wife of JW, decides to arrange a date between their friend and Sarah's nurse Molly Wood. When Molly fails to show up for the date, Zee believes something catastrophic had to occur. She persuades her spouse and Brady to look into the matter. Though both are reluctant to investigate they compare notes and soon realize the eerie similarities between Molly and Katherine and start following the clues.

The collaboration between William G Tapply & Philip R Craig is fun to follow as each one's sleuth takes turns telling the story. The lead detectives retain their essence form their own respective series yet their friendship rings genuine. The who-done-it barely turns on the fictional sleuths investigating it so that the audience feels they would rather join the two detectives fishing. Still FIRST LIGHT contains a charm because of the camaraderie between the two stars.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing, Jan. 25 2002
By 
Rhonda (Windsor, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This is a story about two friends, Brady and J.W., who enjoy fishing and end up trying to find two missing persons. I just read the latest Brady Coyne novel and liked it but this book which is written by two authors was difficult to read. The characters take turns narrating every other chapter which would be fine but the timeline was not sequential and ended up confusing me. The two main characters were very similar and I found myself stopping to think "which character am I reading?". It was so slow that I was glad to get to the end of the book and didn't really care what had happened to the two women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Author William G Tapply Is One Of My Better Habits, Dec 26 2002
Author Tapply has written a series of books about lawyer and amateur sleuth Brady Coyne. It is difficult to describe the Brady Coyne books except, possibly, to note that they all read like a letter from an old friend. The details of Coyne's comings and goings, his meals, his hobbies, his love interests, and his tracking down of the bad guys...are all told in an engaging style as if he were writing to each reader alone. These are the kind of books you want to "curl up with" - along with some goodie to gnaw on and a little special-wet to drink. Wish Tapply had written a hundred of 'em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Two good authors, double the fun., June 21 2002
By A Customer
I really enjoyed the challenge of reading "First Light." Once you get into the rhythm of alternating chapters by the 2 writers I think the story really developed a good flow. Having never read the Brady Coyne series, and having read all of the CW Jackson ones, I now am attempting to find the Brady Coynes that I've missed out on.
I think this novel is refreshing and although I am the type of reader who ALWAYS wants more detail and more character development, I found this book to be enjoyable nonetheless.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Boring...Like watching grass grow, Jan. 11 2002
By 
Kenneth J. Austin (Cherry Hill, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This is the type of book you could put down and return back to it a week or two later and pick up from where you left off and not care. The book had no life or story line to hold my attention for any length of time. The two main characters are not very interesting and the plot was very weak. Don't waste your time or money. I was given the book as a gift for Christmas and if it wasn't inscribed on the front cover I would give it away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great combo of authors and their protagonists, May 13 2002
By A Customer
I have read all of Philip R. Craig's Martha's Vineyard mysteries, but have never read those of William Tapply. I find that I enjoyed the interplay of the writers to create alternating chapters, although I wish there were more details, more character development and so forth.
I'm disappointed to see how many Tapply novels are out of print and hope I'll be able to find some in my Internet shopping forays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Light: The First Ever Brady Coyne/J.W. Jackson Mystery
First Light: The First Ever Brady Coyne/J.W. Jackson Mystery by Philip R. Craig (Paperback - Nov. 30 2004)
Used & New from: CDN$ 0.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews