Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Secrets of Excellent Movies and Stories
I highly recommend this book! Blake Synder's SAVE THE CAT! is funny and informative - an enjoyable read. Although the book is aimed at screenwriters, any story-teller will benefit from this book because it focuses on story structure.

In SAVE THE CAT!, Blake Synder breaks down the structural elements of story into logical progressions. Not only does he share...
Published on Aug. 21 2008 by Victoria L.

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks depth...
This book just scratches the surface and is barely the first book you will ever need...Get yourself Dave Trottier's book. It's the last book you will ever need...
Published 6 months ago by Kevin Hamill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Secrets of Excellent Movies and Stories, Aug. 21 2008
Ce commentaire est de: Save the Cat!: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
I highly recommend this book! Blake Synder's SAVE THE CAT! is funny and informative - an enjoyable read. Although the book is aimed at screenwriters, any story-teller will benefit from this book because it focuses on story structure.

In SAVE THE CAT!, Blake Synder breaks down the structural elements of story into logical progressions. Not only does he share what elements are needed, he shows when, how, and why to use them. Best of all, he gives examples from movies illustrating his points.

I love the terms he uses to describe various devices - save the cat (refers to an element of characterization), pope in the pool (more for screenplays than novels, but still interesting), double mumbo jumbo, and (my favorite) watch out for that glacier.

In my opinion, SAVE THE CAT! is a must-have book for writers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save Much More Than the Cat..., Nov. 26 2007
By 
R. J. Keenan (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Save the Cat!: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
Read this, re-read this, go to a seminar if you can. It will save you time, headaches and make your story much better.

This book has helped me immensely in terms of gaining clarity, focus, and a much more compelling and entertaining story. Many of us start the writing process with a character, a scene (that we get attached to), and then try and string it together with some rambling story. This book with help you avoid that trap.

Both movies goers and producers make many of their decisions based on a one or two line summary of a project. STC shows you how to develop a killer logline (one line summary). If you do this and cannot get anyone interested in your idea, why would you continue to write until you can make it interesting? If you have a weak logline, believe me, the screenplay will not get better as you expand from one sentence to one hundred pages! STC gives great guidelines and a beat sheet to help avoid this. However, it is still your responsibility to come up with that great idea.

This is one of the best, most user friendly books in the genre that I have read. His second book is highly recommended also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for budding screen writers., May 6 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Save the Cat!: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
If you need help writing screen play, this book is an absolute must read ! You may even consider re-writing everything - you've been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Save The Cat! by Blake Snyder, April 27 2014
By 
Red the Wonderer - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Save the Cat!: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
Get it, get it, get it! And, if I wasn't clear enough, get it now! A must for all writers, even those not writing screenplays. The story is laid out perfectly and this man has a great sense of humour. The book is readable, entertaining and, best of all, exactly what every writer needs to know. Have I mentioned you should get it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lacks depth..., Jan. 2 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Save the Cat!: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
This book just scratches the surface and is barely the first book you will ever need...Get yourself Dave Trottier's book. It's the last book you will ever need...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It should be the first book you buy, June 4 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Save the Cat!: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
"Save The Cat" is a fabulous how-to and go-back-to resource; concise, easy-to-read, informative. I like the beat sheet but, despite the line-by-line explanations, found it a bit sparse for a novice screenwriter (which is what I am). Bottom line is this: I highly recommend this book and wouldn't part with my copy. (One thing missing is an index.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The last book you will read on screenwriting (but not the first), Aug. 30 2012
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Save the Cat!: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
I'd recommend this book for the Blake Snider Beat sheet alone as well some of the other tips and tricks listed. But this is by no means a complete screenwriting book, it really only cover most screenwriting topics in a quick manner and focuses mostly on story structure (the Hollywood formula). I don't even think it covers dialogue at all (for dialogue I'd recommend Writing Dialogue for Scripts by Rib Davis BTW). So if you're only going to read one book on screenwriting this probably shouldn't be it (I'd recommend Screenplay: The Foundations of Screenwriting by Syd Field if you're only going to buy one book). But I found the tips good enough to recommend after you've read a couple of books on the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just for screenwriting, March 20 2011
By 
F. J. Skene (Vancouver BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Save the Cat!: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
This book was recommended by a friend, for novel-writing! And I've come to agree with her. The principles of storytelling given in this book are widely applicable, and described in a clear manner. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening and Fun, Jan. 4 2010
By 
Buffyvssatan (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Save the Cat!: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
As a horror movie lover, I'm very happy with this book even if the author is strictly a comedy fan. This doesn't matter because every movie has two plot points and three acts: the setup, the confrontation and the resolution.

What matters is preparation and that's what this book is about. Save the Cat helps you get organised to be sure that you have everything you need before you actually start to write your script. To write a script unprepared is a waste of time because sooner or later you're going to notice that something is wrong with your story. Then, you'll have a lot to fix or even worse, you'll have to start over.

Don't make that mistake. Be prepared.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saving cats, March 19 2008
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Save the Cat!: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need (Paperback)
I've read almost all the big books currently available on screenwriting and Save The Cat is among my faves. It was fun to read, and contained valuable information. I also own the computer software version. All in all, the Save The Cat method leaves me purring with satisfaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Save the Cat!: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need
Save the Cat!: The Last Book on Screenwriting You'll Ever Need by Blake Snyder (Paperback - May 25 2005)
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 14.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews