Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars14
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 27, 2014
For when serious and scary things stir in the weeds. I found it to be almost as good as the old Firefox series just the readers digest condensed version. Needless to say it went right into my reference library the moment I was done reading through it, In hopes we will never need its contents but like my daddy used to tell me better to have and not need then to need and not have.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2014
It covered a broad range of information.

Some more info on water purification with newer technology and more on wild foods and medicine would be helpful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on February 8, 2014
Look. There's good hippy and there is bad hippy. This is bad hippy stuff. The book lacks pragmatic advice, and instead reads as some kind of longing from the author to be able to live quietly and humbly in some dystopian future. This isn't when technology fails... This is "oh gosh I hope technology fails so that I can make pottery and gourds and sow my own clothes" REALLY?? Is this gonna help me?? Okay. It is a GOOD BOOK to have around 10 years after technology fails... But will not be very useful before that. For example. There is not-a ONE mention of how to treat sewage and get rid of garbage. That's pretty basic to me... (There is one meagre section called "protecting your water source") If water runs out where do people "go"? It is pretty much one of my first questions if technology fails... How to build a latrine and where. Oh veh. Also in the first aid section they widely cover accidents (good) but skip over illness and modern medicine to go straight to holistic medicine. No mention whatsoever of how to treat diarrhea, dysentery, no sanitation advice... No guidelines for medicines, only "solutions of metallic nano-particles" and even "the power of prayer". Geez. Yeah because knowing about "Electromagnetic fields", "hypnosis" and "visualization" will be really helpful when the whole tribe is suffering from some unknown disease. I don't want to know about how to make candles, knitting and crocheting... but....

There is some very useful stuff in this book nonetheless. I think if the author added a few topics (sanitation, sewage and basic health principles, like how to avoid getting sick) and tried to actually think of what would be useful in the immediate rather than in some distant future; if he focused on pragmatic advice rather than on utopic musings about communal living... THEN he would have the best book on the subject.

70% of what is in book is sound and useful advice, 30% is useless and (in my opinion on the subject) this book covers only 40% of what basics you need to know. Also, much of the content is actually dependant on technology (suggesting the use of electric incinerating toilets??). Finally it seems the author is blissfully unaware that there will be a lot of textiles, clothing and various other goods being traded; the need to make your own gourds seems utterly ridiculous. There will still be bowls lying around if technology fails, mr. Stein. No need to make your own from clay... Though it does sound like fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 4, 2013
Gives the basics that a lot of people wouldn't know. More of an introduction to how to survive in case of an emergency. If you want to know more, you'll have to find a book with more. Not for the hard-core survivalist, but certainly helpful to the city dweller who doesn't know where to start when things switch off.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
I refer to this book weekly when I am working on my preps. It would be an amazing book to have in an emerg situation.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2013
It really has everything you could possibly need in it, plenty of details, pictures included with explanations and all.

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on December 2, 2010
This book may be a little over the top doomsdayish but thats to be expected when you buy a book titled When Technology Fails
however if you are looking for information on more than just survival in the bush this is for you. it covers alot of different topics from basic medicine to best places to hide during a nuclear strike. this is seriously a long term survival manual, not just a sit and wait to be rescued one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on February 29, 2004
This is a great book about preparing for short-term societal or environmental crises - how to conserve water when the water's not running (after a hurricane, say), how to stay warm and safe when the ice-storm of the century wipes out your natural gas and electricity, or an earthquake shakes your house down around your ears in the middle of the night.
The true beauty of this book is the wealth of information for longer-term "doing without," or slow erosion of a situation of plenty we now take for granted. Here is information on dealing with medical problems when no doctor is forthcoming, growing food organically and with your own saved seed, how you might store food over the winter with no refrigerator.
If we lost the luxury of the machines that run our world, would we find ourselves back in the stone age, having lost the knowledge handed down for generations beyond count of how to shelter, clothe, feed and doctor ourselves? These skills are all touched on in this book, with voluminous resource lists so that the reader can learn more about any of these subjects.
Technology, too, is given its due - renewable energy sources like solar and wind are discussed and the best water filters on the market.
Change is coming. That's apparent. If you're worried, wary - this is a good book, a jumping-off place to learn skills you may some day be very thankful for, or at least gather a library of relevant information against the day when it is needed. Survivalist paranoia not required.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on October 29, 2001
Matthew Stein has written a clear, concise book on the subject of survival that, while educating, also does what few others have managed to do - entertain and engage the reader.
Throughout the book you'll find personal stories accompanying the text to further illustrate or drive home a point. The use of these asides brings you into Matthew Stein's life, as he recounts personal stories of survival and tells the stories of others who have managed to overcome the odds to survive.
Not just a survival book, Matthew also covers topics like alternative therapies; how to create a survival mindset; survival strategies; renewable energy; companion gardening; prophecies etc. as well as all the regular topics found in such books - edible plants; first aid; making a survival kit; growing, hunting and foraging; making tools; creating shelters; spinning/weaving/tanning etc.
The book has some great illustrations that make plant identification and first aid that much easier to understand and each chapter finishes with a reference section listing books (along with a short review) and resources (with web addresses where available).
This book is supposed to have been 15 years in the making - and the time and effort taken by the author to research his topic really shows. When Technology Fails belongs in your survival library - as the publisher says, "it's a user-friendly manual for the 21st Century".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
on April 18, 2001
Most of this book is very good. It is a good survey of many issues related to self-sufficiency. It has great references that make it easier to find the materials needed for a more in-depth understanding of most of the topics.
However, I had the feeling while reading the book was that it was written by Abby (Dharma's mother from Dharma & Greg). Great, pragmatic information is tainted with pseudo-science nonsense and newage garbage. Most of which is harmless, but some of it may be downright dangerous.
For example, there is a half page editorial on the moral issues of hunting followed some pages later by a long discussion of tanning. There is a story of how blessing water turned undrinkable swill into sweet healing water. There's enough folk and eastern medical advice to make your head swim.
If you believe everything you read, this probably isn't the book for you. However, if you can discern the likely from the silly, you might find this book useful.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Edible and Medicinal Plants of Canada
Edible and Medicinal Plants of Canada by Andy MacKinnon (Paperback - April 1 2009)
CDN$ 22.45