countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 21, 2016
to big of a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2016
good book and quick shipping
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
I was happy to learn some of the knowledge found in this book. I am someone who depends too much on technology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
For when serious and scary things stir in the weeds. I found it to be almost as good as the old Firefox series just the readers digest condensed version. Needless to say it went right into my reference library the moment I was done reading through it, In hopes we will never need its contents but like my daddy used to tell me better to have and not need then to need and not have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2014
It covered a broad range of information.

Some more info on water purification with newer technology and more on wild foods and medicine would be helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2014
Look. There's good hippy and there is bad hippy. This is bad hippy stuff. The book lacks pragmatic advice, and instead reads as some kind of longing from the author to be able to live quietly and humbly in some dystopian future. This isn't when technology fails... This is "oh gosh I hope technology fails so that I can make pottery and gourds and sow my own clothes" REALLY?? Is this gonna help me?? Okay. It is a GOOD BOOK to have around 10 years after technology fails... But will not be very useful before that. For example. There is not-a ONE mention of how to treat sewage and get rid of garbage. That's pretty basic to me... (There is one meagre section called "protecting your water source") If water runs out where do people "go"? It is pretty much one of my first questions if technology fails... How to build a latrine and where. Oh veh. Also in the first aid section they widely cover accidents (good) but skip over illness and modern medicine to go straight to holistic medicine. No mention whatsoever of how to treat diarrhea, dysentery, no sanitation advice... No guidelines for medicines, only "solutions of metallic nano-particles" and even "the power of prayer". Geez. Yeah because knowing about "Electromagnetic fields", "hypnosis" and "visualization" will be really helpful when the whole tribe is suffering from some unknown disease. I don't want to know about how to make candles, knitting and crocheting... but....

There is some very useful stuff in this book nonetheless. I think if the author added a few topics (sanitation, sewage and basic health principles, like how to avoid getting sick) and tried to actually think of what would be useful in the immediate rather than in some distant future; if he focused on pragmatic advice rather than on utopic musings about communal living... THEN he would have the best book on the subject.

70% of what is in book is sound and useful advice, 30% is useless and (in my opinion on the subject) this book covers only 40% of what basics you need to know. Also, much of the content is actually dependant on technology (suggesting the use of electric incinerating toilets??). Finally it seems the author is blissfully unaware that there will be a lot of textiles, clothing and various other goods being traded; the need to make your own gourds seems utterly ridiculous. There will still be bowls lying around if technology fails, mr. Stein. No need to make your own from clay... Though it does sound like fun.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2013
Gives the basics that a lot of people wouldn't know. More of an introduction to how to survive in case of an emergency. If you want to know more, you'll have to find a book with more. Not for the hard-core survivalist, but certainly helpful to the city dweller who doesn't know where to start when things switch off.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
I refer to this book weekly when I am working on my preps. It would be an amazing book to have in an emerg situation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2013
It really has everything you could possibly need in it, plenty of details, pictures included with explanations and all.

Thanks
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2010
This book may be a little over the top doomsdayish but thats to be expected when you buy a book titled When Technology Fails
however if you are looking for information on more than just survival in the bush this is for you. it covers alot of different topics from basic medicine to best places to hide during a nuclear strike. this is seriously a long term survival manual, not just a sit and wait to be rescued one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse