Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would love to drive these cars
Customer Video Review     Length:: 0:58 Mins
DRIVE, the latest book from Design Studio Press is a collaborative effort between Scott Robertson and two of his students at the Art Center College of Design: Annis Naeem and Daniel Gardner. It's a great idea to have an art book as a portfolio.

This book is about cool cars and awesome rigs. It's a 176-page hardcover with a very nice...
Published on Dec 25 2010 by Parka

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK
Bought this as a gift for my husband, an industrial designer who specifically requested this book. He was somewhat disappointed. However, also bought him the "Making of the Empire Strikes Back" book, which he loves.
Published on Jan. 9 2011 by GreatWhiteNorth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I would love to drive these cars, Dec 25 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: DRIVE: vehicle sketches and renderings by Scott Robertson (Paperback)
Length:: 0:58 Mins

DRIVE, the latest book from Design Studio Press is a collaborative effort between Scott Robertson and two of his students at the Art Center College of Design: Annis Naeem and Daniel Gardner. It's a great idea to have an art book as a portfolio.

This book is about cool cars and awesome rigs. It's a 176-page hardcover with a very nice cover.

The pages are just loaded with concept sketches, paintings and 3D models. Four basic vehicle types are featured as chapters, namely Aerospace, Military, Pro Sport and Salvage. Within each chapter, you'll see fast cars, off-roaders, juggernaut-type vehicles, a few bikes, and other sleek mean machines. This book is a valuable resource for ideas with its immense variety. There are so many ways you can design chassis, wheels, suspension, exhaust, etc.

The concepts are good looking, inspiring and sometimes surprising -- the first vehicle looked like a frog. Through the multiple thumbnail sketches provided, you can see how the design evolved at different stages until it's finally painted or modeled in 3D.

Speaking of 3D models, they are impressive. And there are lots of them in the book. Tremendous amount of detail are included in the models, before they are textured, lit and finally rendered in a photo-realistic manner. It's amazing to see the vehicle when everything is put together, with all the cuttings, wirings and parts. The result is a vehicle that looks believable and like it has character.

Artist commentary is also available throughout to give a sense of what they have to work with and how they think.

DRIVE is a book I'll recommend to anyone who likes concept vehicles.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Graphics are excellent and sketches are really really good for instructional purposes, Nov. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Everything I expected. Arrived as described and on time. Graphics are excellent and sketches are really really good for instructional purposes. Highly recommend for the budding artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Nov. 14 2014
Love this book, great finished work and outstanding drawing examples. Can't get enough of this stuff. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, April 24 2011
By 
Umid Abdullaev (Canada, Edmonton -- Gulistan, Uzbekistan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: DRIVE: vehicle sketches and renderings by Scott Robertson (Paperback)
I bought this book for its sheer looks, and quite inspired by about the content. I sketch a lot of cars but often find myself running out of ideas. Flipping through this book definitely triggered an idea or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK, Jan. 9 2011
Bought this as a gift for my husband, an industrial designer who specifically requested this book. He was somewhat disappointed. However, also bought him the "Making of the Empire Strikes Back" book, which he loves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DRIVE: vehicle sketches and renderings by Scott Robertson
DRIVE: vehicle sketches and renderings by Scott Robertson by Scott Robertson (Paperback - Nov. 30 2010)
Used & New from: CDN$ 177.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews