Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to ensure you received the updated 4th edition
I purchased this book 2 days ago via amazon.ca and received it in the mail today. Worried that I was sent the outdated 4th edition, I tried following other commenters' suggestions and looked for the given number sequence on the publisher's page. Unfortunately, the numbers weren't there in my book.

Luckily, I found another way to identify whether or not someone...
Published 23 months ago by rowblueski

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated PMBOK 4th Edition
PMBOK Version 4 was initially released in December 2008. An updated version was released in May 2009.
It is important to ensure that consumers are aware if they are purchasing the most recent version of a book especially when it is a professional standard.

It is recommended that the most recent version of PMPOK Version 4 be purchased.
The identifier...
Published on Sept. 11 2009 by C. L. Poffenroth


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated PMBOK 4th Edition, Sept. 11 2009
By 
C. L. Poffenroth (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
PMBOK Version 4 was initially released in December 2008. An updated version was released in May 2009.
It is important to ensure that consumers are aware if they are purchasing the most recent version of a book especially when it is a professional standard.

It is recommended that the most recent version of PMPOK Version 4 be purchased.
The identifier is 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 and is located at the bottom of the Publisher's information page (2nd page of the text)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is, Nov. 8 2009
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
It is what it is, a guide to the project management body of knowledge as defined by the Project Management Institute (PMI). The book is in fact knowledge filled and provides more of a framework than a methodology. This is a must read for anyone considering pursuing any of the PMI designations/credentials or just a career in project management, definitely in North America and slightly less so internationally, as it arguably provides the basis for further reading in the subject matter and what PMI defines as "generally acceptable". The book itself is not one of the easier books to read but you'll find yourself getting used to the style, if you can even call it that, the more pages you get through; this is one reason the book didn't get the full 5 stars. The other is that, even though corrections in the form of errata have been available since March 2009 I still managed to get a copy of the first printing in September. This isn't the worst thing in the world but certainly an annoyance when purchasing a brand new copy of a book. So if you manage to receive the first printing or are unsure of what you've received look here, [...] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useful for the PMI exam, but very badly structured, Nov. 28 2010
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
The PMBOK, is a very useful book to pass the certification exams of PMI.

However, this book of 350+ pages is very badly structured, and just provides lists of processes, tools and activities that a project manager should apply. There is no clear or in-depth explanation given for any reason why one tool is better than another, or when a certain method is appropriate of not.

In conclusion you could buy the book if you are studying for an exam, but the PMI should take it's function as a knowledge center more seriously and take the scope of this "Body of Knowledge" beyond the joke that it currently is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring, June 9 2010
By 
CK (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
The book is hard to read, yet, given the dry subject of project management, it's a little bit better than previous versions. Considering how many people have received credit for reviewing the content in the book, it's mind blowing that there are still so many grammer and layout mistakes.
Since the PMI exam is based on this book, I guess it's a neccessary evil to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to ensure you received the updated 4th edition, May 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
I purchased this book 2 days ago via amazon.ca and received it in the mail today. Worried that I was sent the outdated 4th edition, I tried following other commenters' suggestions and looked for the given number sequence on the publisher's page. Unfortunately, the numbers weren't there in my book.

Luckily, I found another way to identify whether or not someone has the updated 4th edition. Google 'pmbok guide 4th edition errata sheet' and look for the link to the PMI website. After checking 3 indicators on the sheet, I established that my book was indeed the updated 4th edition.

So, thank you, Amazon! I'm a happy customer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PMP training, March 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
Used this book to prep for the CAPM exam. It was easy to read, easy to follow and was a great learning tool. I would recommend this to anyone in a PMP course or to those that are interested in learning more about Project Management.

Project arrived on time, bran new and still in the plastic wrapping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is the book form PMI, March 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
The quality of material is good, clear view and good presentation like you wish from a good book of interesting subjet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Necessary, Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
This guide won't teach you to be a better project manager. However, it will put the work we do into context and help us better articulate the value we bring to the organisation. Its a must read for anyone wanting to pass the PMI certification. I passed my exam at first attempt using this plus Rita's PMP Exam Prep guide. The PMBOK does get updated often. Make sure you understand which version your exam will be leveraging (they introduce changes to the exam slowly after each update).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do not panic, Nov. 10 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
For those new to this book it is pretty much the project manager's bible in the same sense that "The C Programming Language" by Brian W Kernighan, Dennis M. Ritchie is to programming. That is to say this is the one to get off the ground with. It is also the basis of the PMP (Project Management Professional) test given by the PMI® (Project Management Institute.)

It comes in both paper, and CD-ROM using Adobe Reader. I have seen the paper book but bought the CD version it includes a tutorial on how to use the CD-ROM media. The media is a mater of preference. There are 425 pages and a good index and references.

Be aware that there are earlier versions. At the time of this review this is the latest version; however as The Body of Knowledge advances so will the PMBOK (Project Management Body of Knowledge Guide ®.) There for it is advisable for people that have read the earlier version to now read this version as a few terms have changed and some emphases have shifted.

As with any institutional book this is a good starting place or a solid foundation. However it may not cover concentrating on the waterfall concept of project management many instances such as the Unified method among others. They also do not take in many external influences as FDA requirements. And it is up to the reader to reconcile the two institutions.

Some changes to the Third Edition:

* Differences in Project life cycle and product life cycle are better explained.

* The number of process changed from 39 to 44.

* A greater emphasis is placed on the importance of Process Groups.

* Chapter three "Project Management Process for a Project" is moved and renamed "The Standard for Project Management of a Project."

* The project management processes now show process integration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Update to a Popular Standard, Oct. 24 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
Comprehensive coverage of the traditional or waterfall approach to project management. A dry read but an excellent reference. The Glossary remains one of its strong points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb393f8e8)

This product

A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge by Project Management Institute (Paperback - Dec 31 2008)
Used & New from: CDN$ 5.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews