Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Topics Vaguely covered.
I found this book not detailed on the project management topics. This is good to get a general idea of what project management is. I found that I learned more practical skills from the project management class I took at school. This book seems only useful to learn the common vocabulaity and practices for project managment for the variety of industries where project...
Published on Jan. 30 2010 by Bobby Jindall

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated PMBOK 4th Edition
PMBOK Version 4 was initially released in December 2008. An updated version was released in May 2009.
It is important to ensure that consumers are aware if they are purchasing the most recent version of a book especially when it is a professional standard.

It is recommended that the most recent version of PMPOK Version 4 be purchased.
The identifier...
Published on Sept. 11 2009 by C. L. Poffenroth


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated PMBOK 4th Edition, Sept. 11 2009
By 
C. L. Poffenroth (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
PMBOK Version 4 was initially released in December 2008. An updated version was released in May 2009.
It is important to ensure that consumers are aware if they are purchasing the most recent version of a book especially when it is a professional standard.

It is recommended that the most recent version of PMPOK Version 4 be purchased.
The identifier is 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 and is located at the bottom of the Publisher's information page (2nd page of the text)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is, Nov. 8 2009
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
It is what it is, a guide to the project management body of knowledge as defined by the Project Management Institute (PMI). The book is in fact knowledge filled and provides more of a framework than a methodology. This is a must read for anyone considering pursuing any of the PMI designations/credentials or just a career in project management, definitely in North America and slightly less so internationally, as it arguably provides the basis for further reading in the subject matter and what PMI defines as "generally acceptable". The book itself is not one of the easier books to read but you'll find yourself getting used to the style, if you can even call it that, the more pages you get through; this is one reason the book didn't get the full 5 stars. The other is that, even though corrections in the form of errata have been available since March 2009 I still managed to get a copy of the first printing in September. This isn't the worst thing in the world but certainly an annoyance when purchasing a brand new copy of a book. So if you manage to receive the first printing or are unsure of what you've received look here, [...] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useful for the PMI exam, but very badly structured, Nov. 28 2010
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
The PMBOK, is a very useful book to pass the certification exams of PMI.

However, this book of 350+ pages is very badly structured, and just provides lists of processes, tools and activities that a project manager should apply. There is no clear or in-depth explanation given for any reason why one tool is better than another, or when a certain method is appropriate of not.

In conclusion you could buy the book if you are studying for an exam, but the PMI should take it's function as a knowledge center more seriously and take the scope of this "Body of Knowledge" beyond the joke that it currently is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Topics Vaguely covered., Jan. 30 2010
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
I found this book not detailed on the project management topics. This is good to get a general idea of what project management is. I found that I learned more practical skills from the project management class I took at school. This book seems only useful to learn the common vocabulaity and practices for project managment for the variety of industries where project management is useful. This book seems good enough for the CAPM exam, but for the PMP, practice in the real world is needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring, June 9 2010
By 
CK (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
The book is hard to read, yet, given the dry subject of project management, it's a little bit better than previous versions. Considering how many people have received credit for reviewing the content in the book, it's mind blowing that there are still so many grammer and layout mistakes.
Since the PMI exam is based on this book, I guess it's a neccessary evil to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good start-up book for PMP prep, June 7 2010
By 
Evgeny Voutchkov (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
This book is a consize but clearly written with a normal English language, unlike the PMBOK Guide which is also consize but dry and with unattractive language style (I don't know what is it in PMBOK - the font, the paragraph spacing or the language but there are so many complaints of it). The content of Andy Crowe's book covers the full scope of PMBOK and even a bit more (the professional responsibility), though there is no CD with the book, only a week of free web site access (how much can one accomplish in a week!), and also there is a full text-based exam at the end of the book. So, the book seem a bit overpriced to me, provided it cost almost double the PMBOK Guide itself. Nevertheless, I would buy this book again, since it gave me the confidence that I can undrestand the PMBOK material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do not panic, Nov. 10 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
For those new to this book it is pretty much the project manager's bible in the same sense that "The C Programming Language" by Brian W Kernighan, Dennis M. Ritchie is to programming. That is to say this is the one to get off the ground with. It is also the basis of the PMP (Project Management Professional) test given by the PMI® (Project Management Institute.)

It comes in both paper, and CD-ROM using Adobe Reader. I have seen the paper book but bought the CD version it includes a tutorial on how to use the CD-ROM media. The media is a mater of preference. There are 425 pages and a good index and references.

Be aware that there are earlier versions. At the time of this review this is the latest version; however as The Body of Knowledge advances so will the PMBOK (Project Management Body of Knowledge Guide ®.) There for it is advisable for people that have read the earlier version to now read this version as a few terms have changed and some emphases have shifted.

As with any institutional book this is a good starting place or a solid foundation. However it may not cover concentrating on the waterfall concept of project management many instances such as the Unified method among others. They also do not take in many external influences as FDA requirements. And it is up to the reader to reconcile the two institutions.

Some changes to the Third Edition:

* Differences in Project life cycle and product life cycle are better explained.

* The number of process changed from 39 to 44.

* A greater emphasis is placed on the importance of Process Groups.

* Chapter three "Project Management Process for a Project" is moved and renamed "The Standard for Project Management of a Project."

* The project management processes now show process integration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Updated, but harder to read, May 27 2011
By 
Skilas (Toronto, ON CAN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
I bought and studied PMBOK 3rd edition throughout university. Recently I've been looking to complete some of the PMI exams, and to do so need to review PMBOK again. However I had the 3rd edition, which is long outdated. I just received the 4th edition and although it has the necessary updates, this edition is terribly structured and designed.

You were probably told as a child not to judge a book by it's cover, but in this case what you see on the cover is exactly what you get. Bold and sans-serif text. Even the colours are boring compared to the 3rd edition. Once inside, you're greeted with a table of contents that is almost border-to-border bold font. Your eyes don't know where to focus, and frankly it's hard to read. The 4th edition also has smaller blank borders than the 3rd edition, on the left and right sides of the page. Yes, it fits more text on the page, but also gives you less room for notes. One of my biggest grievances actually is the removal of the chapter numbering system along the right side of the page. I know it's minute, but you lose the visual cue for quickly skipping from chapter to chapter.

As for the actual meat of A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge, it's good. For most people, it's a no-brainer. Either you NEED to buy it, or you don't. If you're going to take the tests, it's a mandatory buy. The information covers a broad area, and gives a good amount of detail. Just don't expect it to be easy on the eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference material, Sept. 28 2010
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
PMBOK being a standard is more of a reference material then the book that you would go through cover to cover. If you are preparing for PMP, then use it as a second book never as a primary book. It covers lot of things at a high level but to pass PMP you would need detailed knowledge of Subject.

This book is definitely a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, but you should definitely read better books on project management, Nov. 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
I've been involved in program and project management for the last 10 yrs. I studied this guide because it is the professional standard for project management (project management institute standard). The book, however, is badly structured, schemes and diagrams could be clearer. It's hard to read through 50 pages without falling asleep. There are no case studies, most of the text I find is structured in bullet points, and diagrams and schemes are pretty awful. It is a very boring book. I find the Field Guide to Project Management (D.I Cleland, from J.Wiley and Sons Inc) a much, much better book to fully comprehend all practical aspects of project management. If you buy the PMBOK book, be sure to buy other program management books as well. The PMBOK supplies you with theoretical knowledge on project management, but with little practical knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge by Project Management Institute (Paperback - Dec 31 2008)
Used & New from: CDN$ 6.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews