Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Topics Vaguely covered.
I found this book not detailed on the project management topics. This is good to get a general idea of what project management is. I found that I learned more practical skills from the project management class I took at school. This book seems only useful to learn the common vocabulaity and practices for project managment for the variety of industries where project...
Published on Jan. 30 2010 by Bobby Jindall

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated PMBOK 4th Edition
PMBOK Version 4 was initially released in December 2008. An updated version was released in May 2009.
It is important to ensure that consumers are aware if they are purchasing the most recent version of a book especially when it is a professional standard.

It is recommended that the most recent version of PMPOK Version 4 be purchased.
The identifier...
Published on Sept. 11 2009 by C. L. Poffenroth


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated PMBOK 4th Edition, Sept. 11 2009
By 
C. L. Poffenroth (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
PMBOK Version 4 was initially released in December 2008. An updated version was released in May 2009.
It is important to ensure that consumers are aware if they are purchasing the most recent version of a book especially when it is a professional standard.

It is recommended that the most recent version of PMPOK Version 4 be purchased.
The identifier is 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 and is located at the bottom of the Publisher's information page (2nd page of the text)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is, Nov. 8 2009
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
It is what it is, a guide to the project management body of knowledge as defined by the Project Management Institute (PMI). The book is in fact knowledge filled and provides more of a framework than a methodology. This is a must read for anyone considering pursuing any of the PMI designations/credentials or just a career in project management, definitely in North America and slightly less so internationally, as it arguably provides the basis for further reading in the subject matter and what PMI defines as "generally acceptable". The book itself is not one of the easier books to read but you'll find yourself getting used to the style, if you can even call it that, the more pages you get through; this is one reason the book didn't get the full 5 stars. The other is that, even though corrections in the form of errata have been available since March 2009 I still managed to get a copy of the first printing in September. This isn't the worst thing in the world but certainly an annoyance when purchasing a brand new copy of a book. So if you manage to receive the first printing or are unsure of what you've received look here, [...] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useful for the PMI exam, but very badly structured, Nov. 28 2010
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
The PMBOK, is a very useful book to pass the certification exams of PMI.

However, this book of 350+ pages is very badly structured, and just provides lists of processes, tools and activities that a project manager should apply. There is no clear or in-depth explanation given for any reason why one tool is better than another, or when a certain method is appropriate of not.

In conclusion you could buy the book if you are studying for an exam, but the PMI should take it's function as a knowledge center more seriously and take the scope of this "Body of Knowledge" beyond the joke that it currently is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Topics Vaguely covered., Jan. 30 2010
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
I found this book not detailed on the project management topics. This is good to get a general idea of what project management is. I found that I learned more practical skills from the project management class I took at school. This book seems only useful to learn the common vocabulaity and practices for project managment for the variety of industries where project management is useful. This book seems good enough for the CAPM exam, but for the PMP, practice in the real world is needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring, June 9 2010
By 
CK (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
The book is hard to read, yet, given the dry subject of project management, it's a little bit better than previous versions. Considering how many people have received credit for reviewing the content in the book, it's mind blowing that there are still so many grammer and layout mistakes.
Since the PMI exam is based on this book, I guess it's a neccessary evil to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good start-up book for PMP prep, June 7 2010
By 
Evgeny Voutchkov (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
This book is a consize but clearly written with a normal English language, unlike the PMBOK Guide which is also consize but dry and with unattractive language style (I don't know what is it in PMBOK - the font, the paragraph spacing or the language but there are so many complaints of it). The content of Andy Crowe's book covers the full scope of PMBOK and even a bit more (the professional responsibility), though there is no CD with the book, only a week of free web site access (how much can one accomplish in a week!), and also there is a full text-based exam at the end of the book. So, the book seem a bit overpriced to me, provided it cost almost double the PMBOK Guide itself. Nevertheless, I would buy this book again, since it gave me the confidence that I can undrestand the PMBOK material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference material, Sept. 28 2010
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
PMBOK being a standard is more of a reference material then the book that you would go through cover to cover. If you are preparing for PMP, then use it as a second book never as a primary book. It covers lot of things at a high level but to pass PMP you would need detailed knowledge of Subject.

This book is definitely a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to ensure you received the updated 4th edition, May 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
I purchased this book 2 days ago via amazon.ca and received it in the mail today. Worried that I was sent the outdated 4th edition, I tried following other commenters' suggestions and looked for the given number sequence on the publisher's page. Unfortunately, the numbers weren't there in my book.

Luckily, I found another way to identify whether or not someone has the updated 4th edition. Google 'pmbok guide 4th edition errata sheet' and look for the link to the PMI website. After checking 3 indicators on the sheet, I established that my book was indeed the updated 4th edition.

So, thank you, Amazon! I'm a happy customer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PMBOK December 2009, Dec 10 2009
By 
Craig S. Reilly "Techguy" (Cochrane, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
Well organized, somewhat redundant, great price, book arrived in good condition, Shipping was a bit long, but O.K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A practising PM's review of PMBOK 4, July 10 2009
By 
I. Frazer (Victoria, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (Paperback)
A greatly improved version over PMBOK 3. Clarified most of the ambiguities of the previous PM Process model, but, as always, there are still a couple left for the next release (grin).

Suspend disbelief regarding some of the content, learn the PMI-ism's, rely on your experience, and apply what works to the real world.

Thanks again PMI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge
A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge by Project Management Institute (Paperback - Dec 31 2008)
Used & New from: CDN$ 7.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews