Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good ol' Canadian Humour, March 1 2011
This review is from: Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Boxset (Paperback)
These books are a hilarious. If you like the movie, you'll like the books, and if you like the books, you'll love the movie. If you're not Canadian, a few of the references will fall short, but the comedy is still there.
I actually saw the movie first, and then read the series...I think the casting for the film is brilliant. It was easy to see the characters come to life in the comic after that. Only down side is the individual volumes are a quick read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Comic Series Ever, Jan. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Boxset (Paperback)
Says it right on the side of the case, Scott Pilgrim is the best book ever. If you have yet to read it or want just don't own it pick it up you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift for my daugher, Dec 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Boxset (Paperback)
She loved the books and was so thrilled to receive it. I haven't read it myself but if you have an older teen or young adult into anime by her reaction I would recommend this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Books for an Incredible Price, June 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Boxset (Paperback)
Before purchasing this bookset I went to my local book store to see if they had it, it disappointed me that they were selling it for 90 dollars. So I came home and got it off amazon for 50 bucks. The shipping was incredibly fast and got it in a few days. The books itself are amazing each of them have amazing detail and a great story line. Perfect for your average gamer or teen. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome graphic novels, June 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Boxset (Paperback)
Great series. Loved the story and the illustration matches the story well. It has a good cast of loveable characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Jan. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Boxset (Paperback)
It was great. I admit I had seen the movie first (though yes I was fully aware that it was based on a series of graphic novels). I love the movie so when this was finally a little more affordable I got it and read them all in one day. Quite enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blerp, April 6 2012
This review is from: Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Boxset (Paperback)
Scott Pilgrim is pretty cool, can't wait to do a Scott Pilgrimage. Every geek should own this series. Thanks Brian Lee O'Malley!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great birthday gift, Feb. 26 2011
By 
PASQUALE DECAEN (Havelock, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Boxset (Paperback)
I purchased the box set for a birthday gift. It arrived early and was exactly what was wanted. Good selection, had all the books I was looking for and an excellent price. Good bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Pilgrim's precious little story, Aug. 25 2011
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Boxset (Paperback)
It's hard to think of a slacker more endearing than Scott Pilgrim -- he's funny, cool, unpretentious, and awkwardly romantic.

And you get to see all of that in "Scott Pilgrim's Precious Little Boxset," which adds a rock'n'roll sci-fi twist to the usual boy-meets-girl story. Most of it ambles across the daily adventures of Scott's life as he falls in love, but Bryan Lee O'Malley carefully it into a tale of good vs. evil, enduring love, evil exes, subspace passages, and the struggle to overcome the past.

23-year-old Scott Pilgrim has everything: a cool rock band, a forgiving gay roommate, and a high school girlfriend (they just talk! Don't worry!). But lately his dreams have been full of a strange young woman on rollerblades, who usually announces that he IS dreaming -- and one day at the library, he actually sees her in the flesh.

Her name is Ramona Flowers, and while Scott's first attempts to talk to her bomb horribly, an order from amazon.ca brings her right to her door (and a date). But it turns out that to officially date Ramona, Scott must defeat her seven evil exes, the League Of Evil Ex-Boyfriends -- a guy with demon hipster chicks, a famous actor, a snotty vegan rocker, an insecure lesbian ninja, and a pair of Japanese twins using evil robots.

Along the way, Scott has some ex-girlfriend problems of his own, especially with the haughty musician Envy and the high-strung teenager Knives. And when Ramona vanishes, Scott is left to deal with the final and most dangerous boyfriend: Gideon! Can Ramona and Scott overcome their flaws and terrible pasts, or will Gideon end Scott Pilgrim's precious little life?

When you boil it down, the Scott Pilgrim series is really just a boy-meets-girl story. But "Scott Pilgrim's Precious Little Boxset" establishes pretty quickly that Bryan Lee O'Malley has a rare talent for spicing up an ordinary story into a delightfully quirky, wacky little love story, and even adding a bittersweet quality in the first half of the last book. Subspace purses, ninjas, love dodecahedrons, love swords and rock concerts all come into play.

And O'Malley fills the story with amusing dialogue ("That must have caused my dad's brain to break in half, replaced by a purely mechanical engine of revenge!"), video-game-style level-ups ("Guts +2 Heart +3 Smarts +1 Will +1") and plenty of quirky characters (I wish I had a roommate like Wallace). He has an art style that makes me think of more rounded TV cartoon characters -- everybody looks rather childlike, with large dark eyes, round faces and cute hipster clothes.

As for Scott... what can you say about him? He's an even mix of of sweet, awkward boy and budding rock god, and even when he does questionable stuff you somehow can't blame him because he's so earnestly sweet and nice. And his love for Ramona is just so adorable. Ramona herself takes a little warming up to, but she's a fun butt-kicking hipster chick who can hold her own, but is afraid of being hurt again.

And there's a wide-ranging cast of supporting characters -- the evil boy (and girl) friends, the roommate with the wicked sense of humor, the fragile yet volatile teenager Knives Chau (and her scary dad), blunt Kim, nasty Julie, and the grumpy and unshaven Stephen Stills.

Be sure to get "Scott Pilgrim's Precious Little Boxset" instead of purchasing the graphic novels one by one -- these delightful, quirky little books are addictive. Like a handful of cinnamon candies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EPIC!!, July 29 2011
By 
This review is from: Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Boxset (Paperback)
Well, how should I start this off. Well I guess I can start off by saying how I loved the movie and the Game. If your a fan of the Scott Pilgrim movie or Video game I highly recommend these books, or best known as Manga. There are a total of 6 books. All I can say is...awesome collection in a box and comes with a poster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacdcb7a4)

This product

Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Boxset
Scott Pilgrims Precious Little Boxset by Bryan Lee O'Malley (Paperback - Nov. 23 2010)
CDN$ 90.00 CDN$ 47.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews