Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning
Most readers who first come across this book were more then likely first exposed to this epic sci-fi tale by way of the excellent 2 hour animated movie. Those that actually make the commitment to read through this 6 volume, 2000+ page magnum opus of graphic storytelling are in for one heck of a ride. Don't let this 360 page bad-boy's size scare you off - Katsuhiro...
Published on June 3 2004 by Sibelius

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars AKIRA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Best manga out there?? I think so!!!! Akira is over-stuffed with action and excitment! This book takes you into a whole different world! Where drug using bikers and paraonrmal physics rampage through out the town. Akira is considered to be one of Thee best anime/manga ever created. Creator Katushiro Otomo really did his best on this series.
The story tells of a bike...
Published on May 6 2004 by Michael


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning, June 3 2004
By 
Sibelius (Palo Alto, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Akira 1 (Paperback)
Most readers who first come across this book were more then likely first exposed to this epic sci-fi tale by way of the excellent 2 hour animated movie. Those that actually make the commitment to read through this 6 volume, 2000+ page magnum opus of graphic storytelling are in for one heck of a ride. Don't let this 360 page bad-boy's size scare you off - Katsuhiro Otomo's crisp storytelling and fantastic artwork literally flows at 100 m.p.h. giving you a smooth and intense reading experience. Before you know it you'll be finished with this first volume and scrounging up the scratch to buy the rest of the books in this series.
Vol. 1 of, 'Akira,' sets the tone for the rest of the series at breakneck speed. For those of you enamored with the film you'll truly enjoy and appreciate the heaping portions of additional backstory and characterization that the original 'book' series provides. But perhaps most important of all is the stunning visuals of Otomo's fluid and highly detailed black & white drawings. The sheer amount of detail is breathtaking and will have you coming back for repeated reads just to appreciate the visuals. A must read for fans of the movie or of sci-fi in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Excellent, May 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Akira 1 (Paperback)
Wow! I saw the anime (which has some of the best animation I've seen) and had to buy the graphic novel. I found that the pictures were detailed and the action sequences were very, very good. I'm thankful that they didn't try to squeeze the pen and ink drawings into tiny little boxes, making everything barely visible. It didn't skimp on the number of panels in each scene, making it smooth and easy to read. Buy this book.
Complaints:
1. I saw ten books in the series at the book store at twenty dollars each. That's $200 for part of a series.
2. Not recomended for young readers. There's loads of blood and cussing.
3. I've heard that this series used to be in color. The first few pages are in color and it's very nice. However, I realize that if the entire comic was in color, the price would probably be doubled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, May 27 2013
By 
Trevor (Yellowknife Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akira Volume 1 (Paperback)
Akira Volume 1 I personally just love reading it and looking at the awesome artwork and drawing. 5/5 stars. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Manga, May 7 2004
By 
Lauren B. Floss "flossfg2" (Buffalo NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Akira 1 (Paperback)
Awsome book that started my favirtie movie Akira. The book is better than the movie because the charactor's are better. This is a really fun book to read. If you like this I would also recomend the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The finest manga ever, Feb. 29 2004
This review is from: Akira 1 (Paperback)
I first saw the anime akira when I ws about 11 and it was, and still is, one of my favorite movies ever. A year or so later, as I became more and more envolved in anime and manga, I wanted to finaly get the full akira experience, so I bought the mangas.First things first, the artwork is stunning. The 2000+ pages are bursting with action, energy and emotion. Then there is the story. Anybody who likes a deep, exciting and philosophicaly driven story is in luck. Sometimes confusing, but always entertaining, it's easy to pick up and hard to put down. Katsuhiro Otomo really has created a epic piece of art. A spectical of horror, beauty and imagination.If you are evenly remotely interested in science fiction, manga or graphic novels, you owe it to yourself to read these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AKIRA RoOlz!, Nov. 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Akira 1 (Paperback)
When people say that Akira is the best manga of all time, they sure are not kidding! Action explodes from one page to the next in a hip, stylish fashion. The sweet gunfight in the beginning is especially awesome! It kept me entertained for hours at a time, and I am sure it will keep you like that too! Akira is GREAT AND A MUST-BUY FOR ANY ACTION OR MANGA FAN!!!!! It is appropriate for kids 10 and up, because some scenes are bloody, and it has some bad language in it. But.....IF YOU DO NOT OWN AKIRA; WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Believe it!!, Oct. 28 2003
This review is from: Akira 1 (Paperback)
Don't call yourself a fan until you've read this series. As much as I love the theatrical version of Akira, this manga series is the "complete" story, and it's far more detailed than what most people have seen in the movie. There are six of these volumes and it's simply mindblowing how ahead of his time Otomo was in creating this series. If you liked the movie, definately check this out, even if you don't read manga. If you're into comics but don't know what Akira is, then this is the place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Saga Begins, Oct. 2 2003
By 
Saiyajinzoningen "saiyajinzoningen" (Flushing, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Akira 1 (Paperback)
If you know of the Akira Anime this Manga should be of no surprise; however, there are some definite differences that will become evident upon reading. 1st off the anime is way way shorter and edited to such an extent that most casual watchers are left feelin confused. These books will clear up any problems you may have had with the movie and expand upon the foundation the movie laid out. Be aware these books not in color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Akira is the BEST EVER!!!, Sept. 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Akira 1 (Paperback)
I just finished Akira vol. 1 about five minutes ago, and it is undoubtably the best manga ever written! This book's art is incredibly detailed, from the characters to the graffiti on the walls!!! It wasn't dull at all either. It was action packed from the moment it started. The fight in the streets at the begining was especially great. It can be bloody at times, and there's some language, but definately not over the top. I can't wait to read the next book! Buy this NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Otomo is a king in the manga world and AKIRA is his sceptre, Sept. 11 2002
By 
shivatrance (rehoboth, DE USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Akira 1 (Paperback)
Classic manga at its best. This story is so huge when you read it for the first time, you will end up wishing that the now classic AKIRA anime was seven hours long. Must read for any fan of the japanese comic world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbf8f1d98)

This product

Akira Volume 1
Akira Volume 1 by Katsuhiro Otomo (Paperback - Oct. 13 2009)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 18.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews