Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Loved this
Loved this book!

Our book club author Parin Patel wrote:
When Derek Sivers started CD Baby in 1998, he simply wanted a way to sell his own CD.

Derek’s journey from a musician, to business owner, to entrepreneur, has been filled with many life and business lessons which he shares in Anything You Want. And perhaps the most powerful lesson is...
Published 5 months ago by Actionable Books

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I bought it because I read his blog and think he's probably a really good guy. The book didn't blow my
Short and nothing new. It was ok. I bought it because I read his blog and think he's probably a really good guy. The book didn't blow my mind
Published 2 months ago by Irene


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Loved this, May 9 2014
This review is from: Anything You Want (Hardcover)
Loved this book!

Our book club author Parin Patel wrote:
When Derek Sivers started CD Baby in 1998, he simply wanted a way to sell his own CD.

Derek’s journey from a musician, to business owner, to entrepreneur, has been filled with many life and business lessons which he shares in Anything You Want. And perhaps the most powerful lesson is just that: you can have anything you want.

Actionable Books summarized this through their book club, to check out the rest of Parin's summary, go to [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great role model, March 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anything You Want (Kindle Edition)
A fair and honest man builds store with bare hands. Store grows in size while owner remains hardworking and committed to his suppliers. A balance of customer satisfaction and profit is realized and one day, sensing his usefulness at the store has passed, wisely sells store and uses 95% of proceeds to fund a charity of great importance to the man. A modest lifestyle is sustained with the balance and the fruits of a life well-lived are his gift to the universe. Amen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I bought it because I read his blog and think he's probably a really good guy. The book didn't blow my, Aug. 22 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Anything You Want (Hardcover)
Short and nothing new. It was ok. I bought it because I read his blog and think he's probably a really good guy. The book didn't blow my mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roy Orbison would be proud: "Anything you want, you got it. Baby!", July 3 2011
This review is from: Anything You Want (Hardcover)
An easy 1-2 hour read that will inspire those who may be "stuck". His website/blog/animated videos are also great ([...]).

The book is an excerpt of how Sivers was rejected by the big record labels and then decided to post his own music on the web for sale. This was several years before PayPal was even invented and iTunes was still many years away. In building this hobby into a business, it was always about the "artists" and sharing their music. After "maximizing" his company and the "joy" of running it had lost its luster, he sold it for a cool $22MM... and largely gave it all charity and reinvested into supporting independent music distribution.

Some of the key quotes that caught my attention:

- If it's not a hit, switch
- I Miss the Mob
- Obvious to You. Amazing to Others
- If you think life's purpose needs to hit you like a lightning bolt, you'll overlook the little day-to-day things that fascinate you; if you think revolution meeds to feel like war, you'll overlook the importance of simply serving people better.
- Ideas are just a multiplier of execution
- Success comes from persistently improving and inventing, not from persistently doing what's not working.
- Never forget that absolutely everything you do is for your customers.

Sivers reminded me to "pay close attention to when you're being the real you and when you're trying to impress the invisible jury" (similar to Marcus Buckingham Go Put Your Strengths to Work). His words struck at my own motivations and pressure/stress that I self-inflict.

He also encourages through his book to innovate, and ignore how many others may have already executed the same idea... build upon the idea/service/product. Don't wait for the perfect idea. Experiment and start building with incremental improvements along the way.

Thanks to Sivers for an inspirational, quick but meaningful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Sivers' "Anything You Want", Aug. 14 2011
This review is from: Anything You Want (Hardcover)
A very good read, with good stories of Sivers' years as owner/operator of his own business. He presents his own errors and successes in a witty, readable style. The whole book has many good life-lessons for both entrepreneurs and people who want to improve themselves. You should be able to read this book cover-to-cover in an afternoon, allowing even busy people to enjoy this great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book -- Read it and become a better person!, Nov. 28 2011
This review is from: Anything You Want (Hardcover)
I knew nothing about the author, Derek Sivers, before reading this book. Read it with an open mind as if you understand the true essence of his character, and think about how his philosophies apply to you and your world, this book will offer personal development opportunities for you. It's well worth the read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anything You Want
Anything You Want by Derek Sivers (Hardcover - June 29 2011)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews