summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 26, 2016
I've followed Derek for a few years now. He has an interesting take and often contrarian view. Although some things I do not agree with he does provide helpful advice in certain areas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2016
Finally! A business book for creative bohemians. Inspiring and pithy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2016
Derek is a great storyteller. He shares a fresh perspective on how entrepreneurship can fulfill your creative vision. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2016
Really thought provoking. Sheds a different light on things and is a refreshing perspective to the grow or die mentality that pervades
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2016
Where did this guy come from.
Vitamins for the mind.
One of my favorite inputs from him...say no to everything and then when something comes up...if you can't contain your "yes" then you know the idea was meant for you. Don't default and overwhelm yourself and water down your impact to those around you - be selective.
I've done this many times and it's freeing to start with an automatic no.
Has a great podcast with Tim Ferriss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2016
Great business story of a great hobby that broke through a brick wall set by the industry itself. Author shared common mistakes of business starting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2015
Well written and exciting story that's both educational AND inspirational. Not so much a "how to" as a "why to."

Great stuff - highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
Short and nothing new. It was ok. I bought it because I read his blog and think he's probably a really good guy. The book didn't blow my mind
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2014
Loved this book!

Our book club author Parin Patel wrote:
When Derek Sivers started CD Baby in 1998, he simply wanted a way to sell his own CD.

Derek’s journey from a musician, to business owner, to entrepreneur, has been filled with many life and business lessons which he shares in Anything You Want. And perhaps the most powerful lesson is just that: you can have anything you want.

Actionable Books summarized this through their book club, to check out the rest of Parin's summary, go to [...]
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
A fair and honest man builds store with bare hands. Store grows in size while owner remains hardworking and committed to his suppliers. A balance of customer satisfaction and profit is realized and one day, sensing his usefulness at the store has passed, wisely sells store and uses 95% of proceeds to fund a charity of great importance to the man. A modest lifestyle is sustained with the balance and the fruits of a life well-lived are his gift to the universe. Amen.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse