Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars meilleur livre de Camus
L'histoire est plutôt bien, pas trop ennuyante. Elle est très courte. On découvre l'absurdité de la vie à travers le personnage de Meursault. Le livre est beaucoup mieux que la peste.
C'est écrit simplement car Camus fait comme si c'était Meursault qui nous racontait l'histoire et celui-ci est plutôt simple.
Je...
Published on June 28 2003 by H. Georges

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bien écrit... mais
Bien écrit, mais une histoire au rythme lent sans intrigue.
Published 2 months ago by Marc Lemay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars meilleur livre de Camus, June 28 2003
By 
H. Georges (montréal, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L'Étranger (Mass Market Paperback)
L'histoire est plutôt bien, pas trop ennuyante. Elle est très courte. On découvre l'absurdité de la vie à travers le personnage de Meursault. Le livre est beaucoup mieux que la peste.
C'est écrit simplement car Camus fait comme si c'était Meursault qui nous racontait l'histoire et celui-ci est plutôt simple.
Je conseille de le lire en français c'est mieux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Existentialism Doesn't Need A Name, Jan. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: L'Étranger (Mass Market Paperback)
First of all,can I tell you this is my all-time favourite novel. Camus died ten years before I was born but reads a hundred years more modern than many writers I've read who were born decades later.
The Mersault of this novel is not the ponderous but very clever eejit of the earlier version, A Happy Death. Mersault this time is a clipped, direct, yin-yang mofo who knows the difference between what sucks and what rocks, until of course that fateful hot-knife escapade on the beachIf you want to read this in French, do so even if you think your comprehension level is less than expert. It's poetry. It will get you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, April 30 2002
By 
A. Nelson "Alex" (WI, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L'Étranger (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm not quite to the end of the book yet, but so far I love it. It's the only book I've been required to read for class that I actually enjoy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars J'adore Camus!, June 29 2000
By 
Stephanie Longo "Incoronatella" (Scranton, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L'Étranger (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was great. I had to read it for a French class and was warned that it was quite depressing. I found it depressing in some areas, but Camus has a style of writing that made me want to keep going. Meursault is not the typical hero of a book because of his seeming lack of compassion, but because of that he made the book interesting. This book, as well as La Peste, made me want to read more of Camus' works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story Line, July 2 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: L'Étranger (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book in High School, in my French AP class. Our class was so enthralled by it that we decided to act it out. The fact that Camus could see into the hypocrisy of his generation...a hypocrisy that still surrounds us...it touches. The symbolism that is in every page...every situation. If only Camus could see that this book has even inspired a very popular POP SONG...KILLING AN ARAB by THE CURE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tout simplement exquis!, May 11 2005
This review is from: L'Étranger (Mass Market Paperback)
Quel roman savoureux. Du passé simple, j'en prendrais volontier. Un incontournable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars decide for yourself, May 23 2000
This review is from: L'Étranger (Mass Market Paperback)
The Stranger follows the "adventures" of Meaursault, a French-Algerian, as he tries to make his way through the Universe in a life he neither asked for, nor understands, but is doing his best to navigate. The action is muted and secondary to the motivations and thoughts of Meaursault and the revealing of Camus' philosophy.
If you haven't read anything else by Camus, you probably had to read The Stranger in high school. But now may be a good time to give it another chance. The novel falls into three parts, each marked by a death. Straightforward and simple, the novel presents its plot clearly enough, a good foil for the philosophy of the author. Camus said of this book that it portrayed "the nakedness of man when faced with the absurd" and every life is absurd. Meaursault is not what you would expect as the hero of a novel; he is just an everyday guy, perfect for the role, really, since his job is to reveal the author's version of the truths that are universal, not applicable only to a few. As an atheist, he has no preconceptions about his life or the direction it should take and is at the "mercy" of the world.
An Existentialist, Camus is not always a bundle of laughs to read, but always has interesting commentary to make about the world and the importance of accepting who you are and learning to deal with your true strengths and weaknesses. It isn't saying you should be this or that, but saying that you should just be. Don't concentrate on becoming some other person's version of success, because, after all, we're all just going to end up dead anyway. A kind of Existentialist carpe diem message for anyone who has ever felt like a stranger, and that's probably everyone. As Meaursault himself would say, "the truth shall set you free." It is a difficult read in some ways, but it will leave you changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars L'étranger, May 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bien écrit. L'histoire est bizarre, surtout le personnage principal est vraiment particulier. Je ne m'attendais pas à ça. A lire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars la raison d être, Feb. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ce qui m a plus est le style claire direct. Simple J aime son dialogue avec lui-même son existentialisme

J aime moins sa valeur d athée
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Un être déconnecté de la réalité, Nov. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Albert Camus écrit d'une façon si personnelle, dans un français parfait. Une étude de moeurs qui est particullièrement "étrange".
J'ai profondément aimé cette étude de la pensée humaine, pas toujours heureuse, mais si bien décrite.
Ce livre est un grand classique, que nous pourrions relire une fois aux dix ans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

L'Étranger
L'Étranger by ALBERT CAMUS (Mass Market Paperback - Jan. 7 1972)
CDN$ 11.95 CDN$ 11.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews