Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
Best book ever. It is multi-layered, giving insight of innate human instincts from the basis of evolution to the top of the Capitalistic society.
Published 11 months ago by Studnet

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmosphere abounds in this easy read
With enough suspense to keep you reading, this novel is memorable for its understanding of sexual tension and the quirkiness and contrariness of base human feelings when they are given full rein. The characters, none of them especially admirable, more like adults with the personalities of children, play out their destinies against the richly atmospheric underside of 19th...
Published on June 28 2001 by Ian Muldoon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, Aug. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Best book ever. It is multi-layered, giving insight of innate human instincts from the basis of evolution to the top of the Capitalistic society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you're thinking of committing adultery..., July 16 2004
By 
I ain't no porn writer (author, "Crippled Dreams") - See all my reviews
This was Zola's first masterpiece. I think it's one of the most disturbing tales of adultery I've ever read. A woman named Therese is trapped in a dull marriage to her sickly cousin Camille. She takes his robust and sexy friend Laurent as her lover, and soon they plot Camille's death. The three of them go out on a boat for a leisure row on the river, and when they reach a secluded spot, Laurent throws Camille into the water. He drowns. Therese and Laurent overturn the boat to make it look like an accident, and they swim to shore calling for help. Their plan works. They marry. they should be happy, right? No, they aren't, because the murder and death of Camille haunts their guilty conscience until they nearly go mad. The ending to this extremely grim tale is terrifying and tragic, and morally correct. It will shake you to your very soul. There's a film adaptation of this book starring Kate Nelligan. This is one of those rare cases where the movie is even better than the novel. It's the most haunting thing I've ever seen. It was the most emotionally powerful thing I've ever, ever seen on screen. I think it made me have an anxiety attack haha.
David Rehak
author of "Love and Madness"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bold and full of suspense, July 10 2004
By 
"jazzy_baby" (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
"Therese Raquin" has all the right ingredients where living terror tales are made up of. Comprised of characters of freakish nature (sicky pale, childish, pasty face husband, the kind but naive doting mother, the cruel and good for nothing handsome lover, the plain, boring ugly uninspiring neighbours and of course the dangerously oppressed Therese herself)and their gray depressing surroundings, Zola describes the realistic scene of the poor in France. In the story, a young woman who has to endure a socially/mentally deprived environment in her husband and mother in law's house begins an affair with her husband's childhood friend. Frustrated at their slim chance of a better future, both decide to kill Therese's husband to pursue their happiness together. But is the poor man really dead? Or isn't he..... Ironic, full of suspense, shocking psychology and ugly side of human psychics, Zola has managed to link each of complex human emotion with psychological terror into his tale. If you think this is another simple tale of adultery, you're definitely missing out a lot. Treat yourself to a night of terror and give this a chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Therese Raquin, Jan. 27 2004
By 
Christian J. Graham "whisker88" (Warren, Michigan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of Zola's early works. Not his best. I agree it should have taken the form of a short story. I found it to be repetitive towards the end myself.
But as often is the case with Zola he can transport you to a time and place in the past that no longer exists and does so with tremendous descriptive style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Therese, Dec 31 2003
This review is from: Zola: Thérèse Raquin (Paperback)
I read the english version of this book and was completely satisfied. It kept me drawn in throughout the entire book, which is must for me. I stayed focused and was happy with the amount of detail Zola provides. I was so pleased with the english version, so I decided to try the french verson!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed, May 13 2002
By 
Juliet M. Grigsby (St. Paul, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The first half of this novel was interesting, though I agree with one customer review that this should have been a short story. The second half was so repetitive, I was crying with impatience for it to end. However, Zola's descriptions are powerfully rich, and he has a true understanding of the complexity of human beings; in this novel he reaches its furthest depths almost to the point of exaggeration but always maintaining the honesty of the nature of his characters so that it does not entirely lose its credibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First Impression, March 13 2002
By 
I read this a couple months after reading Madame Bovary, so the similarities hit me pretty forcefully. Both are tales of passion overdrawn, become murderous energy. There are a few twists to this that distinguish it from Flaubert's far superior earlier work: Both illicit lovers poison themselves here, whereas in M.B. only Emma kills herself. This takes place in Paris...a corner of Paris less metropolitan and lively than we are used to being told of, but still a big city over Bovary's provincial France. And theissue of Cammille's mother having the stroke is an interesting idea. However, this can't compare with Bovary. Read them back-to-back if you don't believe me (and write your review within six months of having read the books, as I did not.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well-written, suspenseful, classic, March 4 2002
By 
momazon "cjd" (Astoria, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Therese Raquin centers on Therese, who is raised by her aunt with the expectation that she will marry her male cousin, Camille. And so she does. Then one day, Camille brings home his old school friend Laurent, and for the first time in her life, Therese feels passion. She and Laurent enter an illicit love affair, in which they successfully implement a plot to kill Camille and then get married and live with, of all people, Camille's mother.
However, all bad deeds must be repaid, and the psychological demise of Laurent and Therese's relationship in light of their shared crime is both horrific and realistic. They scramble to be the first to bring down the other in a way that will absolve themselves of all blame, dropping clues to bystanders all the while.
This book, originally written in French, is a classic masterpiece and a must-read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Quite Perfect, but Very, Very Good, March 2 2002
By A Customer
Therese Raquin is a tale of adultery, murder and madness, but even though it encompasses such emotional issues, it is a novel strangely devoid of emotion. Zola, himself, said he wanted to write a "scientific" book about people with no free will.
Therese Raquin does have its poetic moments. This is not surprising since Zola, himself, was a poet and parttime art critic. The details of Camille's portrait, in particular, are extremely descriptive, as is the dismal dankness of the shop in the Passage de Pont Neuf. In fact, it is the things in this book, particularly the scar on Laurent's neck, that seem to take on a life of their own, independent of the characters involved.
Although Zola wanted Therese Raquin to be a book of "scientific precision," he often slipped into rather vague and repetitive writing. Many times Zola writes, "une vague sensation de..." or "une sorte de vague impression de...." Why didn't Zola choose to use the more precise noun or adjective instead?
The vagueness that plagues the first two/thirds of this book gives way to high melodrama in the final one/third. The madness and horror that characterize Therese and Laurent is, at first, beautifully graded, however during the last chapters, Zola seems to have gotten carried away with himself, for he piles one horrific superlative on another.
Despite the criticism above, Therese Raquin remains an outstanding tale of sin, murder and madness. The claustrophobic atmosphere in which it is told only adds to the book's nightmarish qulitity. That Zola could accomplish so much with so few characters is definitely a major feat.
Therese Raquin is definitely a 19th century tale and definitely an interior one. Although not perfect, it's still better than ninety percent of the books you'll ever read. I enjoyed this book immensely and I hope you will, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ, Dec 3 2001
THERESE RACQUIN IS A STORY OF ILLICIT LOVE AND REVENGE. IT IS ALSO A GHOST STORY. IF YOU LIKE VERY DRAMATIC WRITING SUPER CHARGED WITH HIGH-EMOTION, READ THIS BOOK BY ZOLA.
IT IS THE STORY OF A YOUNG MARRIED WOMAN, THERESE, ESSENTIALLY EMOTIONALLY DEAD WHO FALLS IN LOVE WITH A FRIEND OF HER HUSBAND NAMED LAURENT. SHE HAS NO FEELINGS AT ALL FOR HER HUSBAND, BUT THE SEXUAL LOVE AFFAIR BETWEEN HER AND HIS FRIEND BECOMES SO INTENSE AND OUT OF CONTROL THAT THE PAIR TALK OF MURDERING THE HUSBAND SO THEY CAN MARRY.
LAURENT, THE LOVER, BECOMES ALMOST A FRIEND OF THE FAMILY - THERESA, HER MOTHER AND HUSBAND. THEY ALL LOVE HIM, EVEN AS THERESA IS CARRYING ON A WILD AFFAIR WITH HIM. THE LOVE-SEXUAL AFFAIR IS DESCRIBED BREATHTAKILGLY - AS ONLY ZOLA CAN DO.
THEN, LAURENT MURDERS CAMILLE, THE HUSBAND. FROM THIS POINT ON, THE BOOK DEALS WITH THE CHANGING RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THERESA, LAURENT AND THE MOTHER. THIS IS ALSO DESCRIBED IN HIGHLY CHARGED WRITING, QUITE DRAMATIC, AND IS A PSYCHOLOGICAL STUDY OF THESE THREE PEOPLE WITH A MURDER BETWEEN THEM.
I RATE THIS BOOK AS A MUST READ. CURRENTLY THIS BOOK IS THE BASIS FOR A BROADWAY MUSICAL "THOU SHALT NOT."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

THÉRÈSE RAQUIN
THÉRÈSE RAQUIN by ÉMILE ZOLA (Mass Market Paperback - June 7 2001)
CDN$ 5.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews