Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Official Bible of Kodokan Judo...but not the Last Word
This is a great book, showing many,many techniques, including quite a few that most judo players never get around to learning. The photos for many techniques show masters demonstrating, even Dr. Kano. However, the clarity of the images is not as good as in earlier editions. While many techniques and forms are shown, it does not go deeply into any of them, or into...
Published on Dec 2 1999 by Jason Erickson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Handbook and Reference
What this book does offer is a marvellously large collection of (fair-good) images of the major moves in Judo. It is a prized reference book, and will do well to remind a practitioner of the basics while off of the mat. One wishes there were more detail on some of the fundamental techniques, with close-ups on hold-patterns or throw techniques; unfortunately, there are...
Published on June 10 2000 by mcgee22


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Official Bible of Kodokan Judo...but not the Last Word, Dec 2 1999
By 
Jason Erickson (Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kodokan Judo: The Essential Guide to Judo by Its Founder Jigoro Kano (Paperback)
This is a great book, showing many,many techniques, including quite a few that most judo players never get around to learning. The photos for many techniques show masters demonstrating, even Dr. Kano. However, the clarity of the images is not as good as in earlier editions. While many techniques and forms are shown, it does not go deeply into any of them, or into methods of training. For in-depth explanation of formal technique, see "Judo Formal Techniques" by Otaki and Donn Draeger, "Judo in Action (vol. 1 throwing techniques, vol.2 grappling techniques)" by Kazuo Kudo, or for training methods/technique application see "Judo Training Methods" by Donn Draeger, "Attacking Judo" by Ken Maynard and Alan Menzies, "Modern Judo" or "Contest Judo" by Charles Yerkow, or ANY book from Ippon Classics. For historical purposes, consider "The Complete Kano Jiu-Jitsu" by Hancock and Higashi, "Japan's Ultimate Martial Art" by Darrell Craig, or "Asian Fighting Arts" by Donn Draeger. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More important than ever before!, Sept. 12 2002
By 
Brian A. Glennon "BAG" (South Boston, Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kodokan Judo: The Essential Guide to Judo by Its Founder Jigoro Kano (Paperback)
With the contemporary emphasis of using unorthodox methods for the mere winning of medals in koka Judo tournaments by both the Europeans and Americans, and with their concurrent introduction of non-Judo technique into the international arena in a 'win-at-all-costs' attitude, the book KODOKAN JUDO by the founding genius Dr. Jigoro Kano has become more important than ever as a baseline and standard for which 'Modern' Judo is to be gauged and, hopefully, corrected.
KODOKAN JUDO covers every aspect of Judo from its inception through 10th dan with an explanation for each progression: the reason for etiquette; an explanation of ukemi; the purpose of uchi komi; the need for randori; the absolute necessity of kata; Judo self defense methods; and basic first aid - all in terms to promote maximum efficiency.
KODOKAN JUDO also contains historical photographs of advanced Judo players and past masters, including Dr. Jigoro Kano himself, demonstrating all the nage waza found in the Gokyo No Waza; all the hold downs in Katame-Waza; and all of Judo's Atemi-Waza (striking & kicking techniques). Judo contains a number of self defense methods against the knife, sword, kicks, and punches, contained in detailed photographs in KODOKAN JUDO which are totally over-looked in today's Judo books emphasizing mere tournament play.
KODOKAN JUDO is the essential book for the dedicated Judoka to study for dan advancement; to answer questions on why one should learn a particular technique or a kata; and to clear up any misconceptions which might develop because of tournament. Within its tenets are the standards established by the founder for which Judo is meant to be practised; the ratio is - Randori: 80%; Kata: 17%; and Shiai: 3%. The reduction of contest to 3% of the Judo repetoire was intentional, since Judo was invented by Dr. Kano as a lifelong methodology to improve the human character and not just a sport for the petty pursuit of trophies.
There is a ... to change Judo under the euphemism of 'Evolution'; but evolution is a process which also leads to extinction. To overemphasize one aspect of Judo (such as tournament play) diminishes Judo in it entirety, and the founder makes this perfectly clear this was not his intent in his tome.
Judo is in danger of possibly becoming extinct by the Europeans and Americans!
KODOKAN JUDO by Dr. Jigoro Kano has been elevated to the most important book on the subject as the unimpeachable standard in today's climate of the manipulation of Judo for Olympic political leverage against the Japanese custodianship of Dr. Kano's legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kodokan Judo, July 19 2006
This review is from: Kodokan Judo: The Essential Guide to Judo by Its Founder Jigoro Kano (Paperback)
Mr Jigoro Kano was the founder of Judo. The book is totally complete. This book is simply the best book in Judo you can buy. The knowledge you will learn is priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Guide to Judo, July 8 2004
By 
Neil A. Ohlenkamp (Santa Barbara CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kodokan Judo: The Essential Guide to Judo by Its Founder Jigoro Kano (Paperback)
If you study Judo you need this book. It is the definitive and official description of what Judo is by the founder of Judo and the Kodokan Judo Institute in Tokyo. Sure the pictures could be larger and more clear, but a lot is crammed into this book including important historical photos of famous masters performing techniques. There may be more basic books for beginners, but if you intend to really study Judo then you need this one.
If you do other martial arts and you want to know about Judo this would also be a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Building Block for Understanding Judo, June 23 2004
By 
Dash Manchette (Along the Chesapeake Bay) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kodokan Judo: The Essential Guide to Judo by Its Founder Jigoro Kano (Paperback)
I could write a lengthy thesis about why this book remains a classic, but I won't. Instead, I will leave it at this - when I am a bit unsure as to how to do a particular technique and my sensei is not available, this is ALWAYS the first book to which I turn. Other books may provide further analysis, but it is this book which is the cornerstone of understanding judo. What more can I say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Holy Grail of the Sport, Feb. 18 2004
This review is from: Kodokan Judo: The Essential Guide to Judo by Its Founder Jigoro Kano (Paperback)
Reading the words of the sport's creator is like a free ticket on a time machine to beginings Judo. The illustrations and technique description are invaluable. I will often take my copy with me to the dogo to help answer questions concerning technique when an instructor is busy with someone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Depends on what are you looking for ..., Jan. 1 2004
By 
Edmon Begoli (Knoxville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kodokan Judo: The Essential Guide to Judo by Its Founder Jigoro Kano (Paperback)
First ask yourself what are you looking for.
If you are judoka then start from here. This book is the official Judo "reference" book with every segment of the Judo in it. It is more reference, then manual and as everybody else said that some photos are poor for today's standards (because they are almost 100 years old). Most of the groundwork photos are excellent, and display demonstrations by top Japanese instructors. You will not necessarly learn Judo techniques from this book ,but you will know what they are, and you will know 100% what the Judo is.
It is also a very good material for rank promotions.
If you are a Judo competitor you necessarly need (at least) a "Best Judo" to complement this book with competitive style of Judo.
If you are a BJJ guy this book will be very educational, it will help you understand some roots, and it will definitely give you some strong pointers on the ground. If you are looking for UFC style stuff it will not give you enough.
If you are a Martial Artist and you want to know about Judo this book will be a good bet for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great but for the some of the bad photographs, Aug. 19 2003
This review is from: Kodokan Judo: The Essential Guide to Judo by Its Founder Jigoro Kano (Paperback)
This is a great book, no question. It is a wonderful overview and reference guide. I guess I take exception to the complaints Brian Glennon. I think the introduciton of so-called "non-judo technique" can only serve to strengthen Judo as a whole. As Inokuma Sensei states, "the judo contest takes the form of a fight" it seems silly and counter productive to limit the arsenal of the fighter simply to please someone's sense of aestetics. Furthermore I think Glennon's complaint stems from a deep seated resentment that some "non-judo" techniques can defeat "judo" techniques. Sato sensei himself thought that Sambo's version of kesa gatame was superior to Judos and adopted the sambo form.
I am also not sold on the absolute importance of Kata. I think Judo kata are far superior to the kind found in many other traditional martial arts forms, especially since it involves another person, and movement (though pre-rehearsed). I think the BJJ people have the practical fighting side of Judo down because the art teaches self defense and fighting in a much less structured way.
Though I have some reservations about being a judo traditionalist (it certainly is not for me) I do have a great deal of love for judo, and think that all grapplers, especially gi grapplers need both Kodokan Judo, and Best Judo, as these two volumes are excellent references sure to help improve ones grappling game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars complete, April 20 2003
This review is from: Kodokan Judo: The Essential Guide to Judo by Its Founder Jigoro Kano (Paperback)
Very good. I go to a grappling heavy school, and initially over-emphasized the gracie books (which are quite good). My sensei steered me more traditional, investigating balance, footwork, throws and holds, like in this book, then you have a firm foundation on which to build strong submission grappling skills. It's pretty good and a nice addition to gracie's work for BJJ practitioners. If you were a judo traditionalist (unlike me), I imagine it would be indispensible without question. So either way, you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good first book!, Feb. 9 2003
By 
jeff b (Saskatchewan, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kodokan Judo: The Essential Guide to Judo by Its Founder Jigoro Kano (Paperback)
I have been in Judo for 6 months now and was told this is the best book, and I see why! It is excellent and very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kodokan Judo: The Essential Guide to Judo by Its Founder Jigoro Kano
Used & New from: CDN$ 4.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews