Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Terrific!, Jan. 26 2011
By 
Douglas Kaiura "D.T.K." (Hamilton, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Just Bento Cookbook: Everyday Lunches To Go (Paperback)
Just Bento is an excellent book with very practical ideas on lunches, many of us have gone to Japanese Restaurants and had excellent Bento lunches or suppers. Japanese culinary ware is not only practical but works of art. Display is a critical component of servings, not only does it taste good but how things look also count. There are countless ideas of lunches, many using Japanese food items which are available in many grocery stores. Here where I live there is not a great selection of Asian stores selling Japanese items. You have to travel to Toronto, Canada to get many items, however many of the bento lunches in the book can be adapted very easily. There is even a great selection of lunches with western components. The pictures are just excellent. As we strive to eat nutritionally there are great ideas for nutritional lunches, with lots of veggies. Western diets have led to high levels of obsesity and there are great ideas to cut down on the high levels of fatty foods we are consuming. We see in trends that Japanese who observe typical Japanese diets have lower levels of obsesity and live longer. Great practical ideas, easy to prepare items make this a must have for any person wishing to have a more healthy lifestyle.
100 stars!
This would be a great addition along with Japanese Women don't get old and fat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, Sept. 21 2011
This review is from: The Just Bento Cookbook: Everyday Lunches To Go (Paperback)
No matter if you are a beginner or have made a few bento box lunches, this book will help you make authentic meals while making it seem easy. For me, the time line was very helpful as it gave you guidance in how to time each item so to make the best use of your time and assure everything was ready at the same time.
Also the photos will makes your mouth water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy recipes that look (and are, Sept. 6 2014
By 
Stepheroonie (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is filled with simple, easy recipes that look (and are!) absolutely delicious. The instructions/recipes are clear and concise. I had to pick up a few ingredients I've never bought before (rice vinegar, mirin, sake and sesame oil, among others) but it's well worth it to give these recipes a try! Its perfect for someone just starting out who wants to make their own healthy meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly the only bento book you`ll ever need!, June 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Just Bento Cookbook: Everyday Lunches To Go (Paperback)
I have been making bento lunches, using Japanese and other cuisines for inspiration, for about a year and a half, but finally decided to treat myself to Maki`s book. I wish I had bought it sooner! The recipes are easy to follow, contain many variations so you`ll never get bored, and have handy tips and tricks to help you get started if you`re new. The recipes are varied enough to appeal to novice and experienced bento creators, and are generally healthy enough for everyday food. There are some cute bento ideas, but it`s mostly a great resource for adults who want to take lunch beyond a basic sandwich. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in bento, whether making or eating them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great cookbook!, April 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The recipes are easy , delicious , and nutritious. Some require advance preparation so if you are organized with respect to cooking this should not be a problem for you . If you are not accumstomed to planning ahead , this is a good place to start .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious recipes!, Dec 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is filled with delicious recipes, colourful photos and sensible advice. Every bento I have made from this book has been exceptionally delicious. The book gives recipes for Japanese and non-Japanese bento, recipes for common ingredient substitutions(for those who do not have access to much Japanese grocers), food safety and prep and handy tips to make your bento quickly and tasty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for a bento beginner, Dec 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This cookbook includes a variety of recipes that are inspired both by traditional Japanese bento and by other cuisines. Each bento box recipe includes a timeline that allows you to easily plan for making your lunches, and a variety of sides and substitutions.The photos are lovely, and the instructions are clear and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and inspiring!, Aug. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Amazing recipes and ideas! Love this book and can't wait to start my bento lunches. With school just around the corner I believe this book would definitely come in handy. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Just Bento Cookbook: Everyday Lunches To Go
The Just Bento Cookbook: Everyday Lunches To Go by Makiko Itoh (Paperback - Nov. 23 2010)
Used & New from: CDN$ 22.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews