Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Christmas: Another Amazon.ca Treat
I do wish they would make more movies like this one. A family movie that everyone in the house can enjoy together. Only I wish when it says "in stock" they wouldn't put a delivery date 1 - 2 months later.

I live alone and have purchased many excellent movies from Amazon.ca. Being able to contact them via phone would be perfect!

Bing, as always is...
Published 17 months ago by Remember Amer. Bandstand

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Christmas-y and Fifties, Really Nice, Poor DVD Print
Ok, I saw this flick when it was first released. Since that time I CAN'T consider Christmas complete unless I watch this movie at least 2 or 3 times. No, it's not the Greatest Movie Ever Made, but it's so darn enjoyable; director, cast, and crew just seem to do everything right. I prefer the VHS tape to the 2000 DVD release; the DVD has slightly greyed color with...
Published on Nov. 25 2003 by Great Movie Addict


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Christmas: Another Amazon.ca Treat, Nov. 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I do wish they would make more movies like this one. A family movie that everyone in the house can enjoy together. Only I wish when it says "in stock" they wouldn't put a delivery date 1 - 2 months later.

I live alone and have purchased many excellent movies from Amazon.ca. Being able to contact them via phone would be perfect!

Bing, as always is one who makes Christmas so wonderful. I wish I could purchase all the classic movies they have but this one at this time of year is a priority for me. I remember seeing it in black and white 50 years ago and have never forgotten the impact it made on me to keep watching it whenever the TV shows it. Unfortunately, they don't anymore. But through Amazon.ca I can watch it over and over again.

Thank you Amazon for carrying the best movies ever made. I'll get through my wish lists asap and thanks for having that available too.

Buy it and enjoy folks!

Mrs. Gwen Atkins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bing Croons....Rosemary Swoons....Watch It In June!, May 25 2004
This review is from: White Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
This review refers to the Widescreen Collection(Paramount)DVD edition of "White Christmas"...
This DVD should be held up as an example of what DVDs are all about.The transfer and restoration of this 50 year old film is superb. It is the reason we are willing to spend a little more to upgrade from VHS and are awed when we see the wonderful results. Filmed in "VistaVision", the widescreen picture lets you take in every scene of this wonderful classic from edge to edge. The picture is clear, sharp and in glorious technicolor.The colors are beautiful and vibrant.
You have the choice of viewing it in DD5.1 surround or the restored Mono. For those looking for some special features, Rosemary Clooney helps out with a retrospective interview and also commentary. There are English subtitles for those needing them and may also be viewed in French(mono).
The film is a treasure in itself. Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye,Rosemary Clooney,and Vera-Ellen are the stars of this 1954 musical with songs by Irving Berlin that you'll want to sing along with and keep humming long after the film has ended. Directed by Michael Curtiz it's a feel good film that although takes place during the Christmas season, is one that you can pull out and watch anytime of the year.
Bing and Danny were Army buddies, now a successful song and dance team and are out to help their favorite old retired General(Dean Jagger),who is having trouble coping with retirement. The General is now running a country inn in Vermont, but the big problem is there is no snow to bring up the tourists. Bing and Danny to the rescue, as they turn the inn into a showcase of talent, and fall for the Haines sisters along the way. Can these wonderful voices also bring the snow out of the sky?...well..you know.
This film is filled with Berlin's wonderful tunes. When Bing takes Rosemary's little hand in his and croons "Count Your Blessings" to her..well it's movie heaven. Rosemary also treats us to several numbers, Vera-Ellen does some fabulous hoofing, and Danny clowns and keeps us smiling like only Danny can. And how much fun is it watching Bing and Danny do the "Sisters" number together?...alot! Then there's the goose bump evoking, wonderfully nostalgic scene of the four of them singing "White Christmas" together with the Winter Wonderland of Vermont as a backdrop.I would be remiss if I didn't mention the wonderful character actress Mary Wicks, she's a great busy-body who causes misunderstandings, and also keep an eye out for George Chakiris and Barrie Chase.
Thanks Paramount for bringing us this great old classic holiday film on this great DVD...enjoy...Laurie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Christmas-y and Fifties, Really Nice, Poor DVD Print, Nov. 25 2003
This review is from: White Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
Ok, I saw this flick when it was first released. Since that time I CAN'T consider Christmas complete unless I watch this movie at least 2 or 3 times. No, it's not the Greatest Movie Ever Made, but it's so darn enjoyable; director, cast, and crew just seem to do everything right. I prefer the VHS tape to the 2000 DVD release; the DVD has slightly greyed color with (apparently) a bad yellow layer in the master negs. My DVD players have OK color controls that correct this (even though yellow is the worst color to try to correct with most consumer-grade equipment), but the DVD image has two other problems -- most scenes show an irritating flicker and vignetting in corners, with too much contrast overall that makes for glossy noses, shiny foreheads, and other glazing effects on highlights. The DVD flicker (it showed up on 3 players and 4 tv sets) and vignetting are truly irritating, spoiling what is otherwise a very good 4-star movie and a good old-fashioned Christmas story. If you have an above-average VHS player, stick with the remastered tape. The DVD looks even worse on HDTV, and S-video or composite hookups don't help (Looks worse on S-video). I tried 2 copies of this DVD, both had the same problems. The defects are slight; many viewers won't notice, but those who do seldom fail to comment. The image doesn't stop this very pro cast from Paramount from doing a wonderful job with what is essentially 1950's fluff, but who cares? Berlin's music is wonderful ("The Best Things Happen When You're Dancing" has to be one of the most perfect Hollywood-musical songs ever written), even Dean Jagger makes his predictable lines ring true. Crosby and Kaye are quite good together, and Rosemary proves that the old way of just singing a song with sincerity beats hysterical wailing any day. The production numbers are above-average for Paramount, perhaps due to director Curtiz' expert touch (he also gave us 'Robin Hood' in 1938 and 'Casablanca', among many, many other great hits). Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'M DREAMING OF SOME BETTER PRODUCT FROM PARAMOUNT!, March 8 2003
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: White Christmas (Widescreen) (DVD)
I'd really like someone over at Paramount to email me and explain why all of their Vistavision "high motion picture fidelity" DVD transfers look as though they have been fed through a meat grinder. "White Christmas" is the annual holiday right-of-passage that follows the exploits of two G.I's , turned Broadway showman. Together, they bring their latest hit to a quaint inn in Vermont and save it from going out of business. The film stars Danny Kaye, Bing Crosby, Vera Ellen and Rosemary Clooney and is riddled with the kind of Christmas magic that one doesn't seem to get from later film fare based around holiday themes. No! This is not the first time the world heard the title tune. That honor belongs to "Holiday Inn" a 1942 musical with Fred Astaire and Bing Crosby also from Paramount but available on DVD through Universal studios.
Paramount has done a down right injustice to this movie on DVD. Colors are not well balanced, shifting in range and consistancy from scene to scene. Just watch the 'Sisters' number to see how Clooney's and Ellen's dresses shimmer from sky blue to aqua-marine. Some colors, like the red santa uniforms used for the final production number, are orangy red and bleach out the rest of the scene in a mess of undistinguishable browns, beiges and really, really soft greens. Also, a disturbing amount of pixelization and edge enhancement really give the film a hard edged look. The soundtrack has been remixed to 5.1 but is strident, scratchy and poorly balanced. There's a featurette which basically amounts to Rosemary Clooney (the only surviving cast member at that time)spouting off about how great everybody was and what a joy it was to be in the film. Yeah, whatever! A theatrical trailer comes with it. Big whoop! What we need is a complete, frame by frame restoration to make this film come alive on DVD. Sadly we get more Paramount cost cutting with a retail price that, no kidding, doesn't reflect the quality of the transfer within.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Christmas Collection grows, Feb. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are certain movies that are necessary for those Christmas times when you can and want to find time to watch a classic and the ability to watch them commercial free is a blessing.

Cannot wait until Christmas 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Un grand classique!, Jan. 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
À chaque Noël, je ne peux m'empêcher de visionner ce film, depuis au moins 10 ans. J'aime beaucoup les numéros de danse et la musique, je ne m'en lasse pas. À voir absolument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Movie, Jan. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I use to watch this movie every year..
I cannot find it on T.V. anymore. I can now
watch it every year again at Christmas time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Jan. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Amazing to see this favorite classic in blu-ray. The colors were so vivid. A must have for all White Christmas fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Always a winner!, Jan. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Every Christmas for the past number of years, the family has enjoyed 'kicking off' the Christmas holidays by taking in this familiar production. Glad to finally have the Blu-ray version! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas Classic, Dec 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Despite not being a fan of all the singing & dancing this movie is a time capsule from a simpler time.
Highly recommend this movie to nostalgic time travelers looking for real family entertainment during the Holiday Season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbbb7cc9c)

This product

White Christmas 54
White Christmas 54 by Michael Curtiz (VHS Tape - 2001)
CDN$ 24.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews