summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars179
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:$14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 136 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on November 1, 2012
I do wish they would make more movies like this one. A family movie that everyone in the house can enjoy together. Only I wish when it says "in stock" they wouldn't put a delivery date 1 - 2 months later.

I live alone and have purchased many excellent movies from Amazon.ca. Being able to contact them via phone would be perfect!

Bing, as always is one who makes Christmas so wonderful. I wish I could purchase all the classic movies they have but this one at this time of year is a priority for me. I remember seeing it in black and white 50 years ago and have never forgotten the impact it made on me to keep watching it whenever the TV shows it. Unfortunately, they don't anymore. But through Amazon.ca I can watch it over and over again.

Thank you Amazon for carrying the best movies ever made. I'll get through my wish lists asap and thanks for having that available too.

Buy it and enjoy folks!

Mrs. Gwen Atkins
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2004
This review refers to the Widescreen Collection(Paramount)DVD edition of "White Christmas"...
This DVD should be held up as an example of what DVDs are all about.The transfer and restoration of this 50 year old film is superb. It is the reason we are willing to spend a little more to upgrade from VHS and are awed when we see the wonderful results. Filmed in "VistaVision", the widescreen picture lets you take in every scene of this wonderful classic from edge to edge. The picture is clear, sharp and in glorious technicolor.The colors are beautiful and vibrant.
You have the choice of viewing it in DD5.1 surround or the restored Mono. For those looking for some special features, Rosemary Clooney helps out with a retrospective interview and also commentary. There are English subtitles for those needing them and may also be viewed in French(mono).
The film is a treasure in itself. Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye,Rosemary Clooney,and Vera-Ellen are the stars of this 1954 musical with songs by Irving Berlin that you'll want to sing along with and keep humming long after the film has ended. Directed by Michael Curtiz it's a feel good film that although takes place during the Christmas season, is one that you can pull out and watch anytime of the year.
Bing and Danny were Army buddies, now a successful song and dance team and are out to help their favorite old retired General(Dean Jagger),who is having trouble coping with retirement. The General is now running a country inn in Vermont, but the big problem is there is no snow to bring up the tourists. Bing and Danny to the rescue, as they turn the inn into a showcase of talent, and fall for the Haines sisters along the way. Can these wonderful voices also bring the snow out of the sky?...well..you know.
This film is filled with Berlin's wonderful tunes. When Bing takes Rosemary's little hand in his and croons "Count Your Blessings" to her..well it's movie heaven. Rosemary also treats us to several numbers, Vera-Ellen does some fabulous hoofing, and Danny clowns and keeps us smiling like only Danny can. And how much fun is it watching Bing and Danny do the "Sisters" number together?...alot! Then there's the goose bump evoking, wonderfully nostalgic scene of the four of them singing "White Christmas" together with the Winter Wonderland of Vermont as a backdrop.I would be remiss if I didn't mention the wonderful character actress Mary Wicks, she's a great busy-body who causes misunderstandings, and also keep an eye out for George Chakiris and Barrie Chase.
Thanks Paramount for bringing us this great old classic holiday film on this great DVD...enjoy...Laurie
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2015
Well, surely everyone has seen the movie so there is no point in writing a critique of the film. You either like it or you don't. The question is whether it is worth buying the Blu-ray or not. If you enjoy the movie, there should be no doubt. The quality of the picture is astounding. The picture is sharp, and the colours vibrant, in a way you have never seen before. The reds in the finale, for example, just pop off the screen and the blue dresses of "Sisters" are dazzling. This is a disc I often show to people when I want to show off my Blu-ray player as they are always astounded at the picture quality. (Vistavision was a great visual format.) The only somewhat disappointing element is the sound. The studio only had mono tracks to work with, and have come up with a "faux" 5.1 mix, but it isn't spectacular. You might even prefer the mono. That is the only caveat. There are newer versions of this Blu-ray that came out in Fall 2014. I gather it is the same transfer, but the studio has skimped a little bit and reduced the bit rate at which it has been transferred to disc. I can't say it that will be really noticeable or not, but one can't help but wonder why. How much money did it really save?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
WHITE CHRISTMAS [1954] [Diamond Anniversary Edition] [Blu-ray + DVD] [US Import] The Greatest Gift Of All! Loaded With Tons Of Special Features!

‘White Christmas’ is a treasure trove of Irving berlin’s most memorable songs, among them “Count our Blessings Instead of Sheep,” “Sisters,” “Mandy” and the beloved holiday song, “White Christmas.” This Diamond Anniversary Edition Combo Pack includes the Blu-ray and DVD versions of this timeless musical, plus new special features and as an amazing added Bonus, you get to own the exclusive 12 track song Christmas Music Compact Disc.

Two talented song-and-dance men BING CROSBY and DANNY KAYE team up after the war to become one of the hottest acts in show business. One winter they join forces with a sister act ROSEMARY CLOONEY and VERA-ELLAN and trek to Vermont for a white Christmas. Of course, there’s the requisite fun for the ladies, but the real adventure starts when Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye discover that the inn is run by their old army general, who is now in financial trouble. And the result is the stuff that dreams are made of!

FILM FACT: All songs were written by Irving Berlin. The centrepiece of the film is the title song, first used in ‘Holiday Inn,’ which won that film an Oscar for Best Original Song in 1942. In addition, ‘Count Your Blessings’ earned the picture its own Oscar nomination in the same category. The song "Snow" was originally written for ‘Call Me Madam’ with the title "Free," but was dropped in out-of-town try-outs. The melody and some of the words were kept, but the lyrics were changed to be more appropriate for a Christmas film.

Cast: Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, Rosemary Clooney, Vera-Ellen, Dean Jagger, Mary Wickes, Johnny Grant, John Brascia, Anne Whitfield, Percy Helton, I. Stanford Jolley, Barrie Chase and George Chakiris (dancer)

Director: Michael Curtiz

Producer: Robert Emmett Dolan

Screenplay: Melvin Frank and Norman Krasna, Norman Panama

Composer: Irving Berlin

Dance and Musical Numbers: Robert Alton

Costume Design: Edith Head

Cinematography: Loyal Griggs

Video Resolution: 1080p [Techincolor]

Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1 [VistaVision]

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, English: Restored Mono DTS-HD Master Audio, French: 1.0 Mono Audio, Spanish: 1.0 Mono Audio and Portuguese: 1.0 Mono Audio

Subtitles: English, English SDH, French, Spanish and Portuguese

Running Time: 120 minutes

Number of discs: 1 Blu-ray and 2 DVDs

Region: Region A/1

Studio: Paramount Picture

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: Most composers would consider themselves lucky, well okay, blessed to have one film built around a song they wrote, but Irving Berlin's “White Christmas” became such a popular holiday standard it spawned two film musicals with yuletide themes. The first, 'Holiday Inn' [1942] marked the introduction of Berlin's soon-to-be iconic tune by the quintessential crooner, Bing Crosby, who put such an indelible stamp on the song it would forever after be associated with him. Twelve years and millions of record sales later, Paramount went back to the Irving Berlin, and approached the prolific songwriter about mounting another Christmas musical. This time, 'White Christmas' wouldn't be just a part of the score, it would be the film’s title, and Bing Crosby would be back to star and sing once more. The result proved just as irresistible as 'Holiday Inn,' and in the intervening 60 years, 'White Christmas' has become an equally beloved and revered classic. In my home, I feel like Ebenezer Scrooge if we don't give this warm and sprightly film an annual viewing each December.

I love 'White Christmas' and never tire of watching it, which is well matched up against such as other immortal Hollywood musicals as 'Singin' in the Rain,' 'Meet Me in St. Louis,' 'An American in Paris,' and 'Gigi,' it pales in comparison, but still has a magical glow about it. Director Michael Curtiz did a great job with 'Casablanca,' but he's no Vincente Minnelli, a schmaltzy script that tries to emulate Betty Comden and Adolph Green, and with the exception of the title song and a few others. 'White Christmas' remains very happy go lucky typical genre entry, but the enthusiasm and talent of its first-rate cast and intoxicating seasonal alluring songs, makes it a must watch around the Christmas season.

Much like the Mickey Rooney and Judy Garland let's-put-on-a-show backyard musicals it so closely resembles, as well as Judy Garland's 1950 vehicle 'Summer Stock.' 'White Christmas' tells a showbiz story sprinkled with romance and a big helping of schmaltz. (Christmas is merely a backdrop and plays a very minor role in the proceedings.) After aspiring song-and-dance man Phil Davis [Danny Kaye] saves the life of headliner Bob Wallace [Bing Crosby] during a Nazi strike in World War II, the two men team up and form a highly successful nightclub act. Their tour brings them to Florida, where they encounter the two sisters Judy and Betty Haynes [Vera-Ellen and Rosemary Clooney], aspiring entertainers, and Judy and Betty slyly wangle their way into Bob Phil's good graces, and the quartet heads up to Vermont for the sisters' holiday gig at a country inn, which they soon learn is run by Phil and Bob's former army commander, General Waverly [Dean Jagger]. Lack of snow and balmy temperatures threaten to close the struggling hotel and bankrupt the general, but Phil and Bob hatch a scheme to revive business and restore their respected leader's decaying sense of self-esteem. Yet pulling off the plan without upsetting the general's pride and their own burgeoning romances with the Haynes sisters proves to be quite a challenge.

Light and airy, with plenty of comic situations and big-time production numbers, 'White Christmas' dazzles and entertains, and for the most part, it succeeds greatly. Even Irving Berlin tunes outshine some of his colleagues' finest work, and Bing Crosby, Danny Kaye, and Rosemary Clooney give each their all. The charming “Sisters” is performed straight by Rosemary Clooney and Vera-Ellen, and then given a hysterical drag twist with Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye. (Watch as Bing totally cracks up as a result of Danny's over-the-top prancing and swishing and definitely one of the film's high points.) Ballads such as “Count Your Blessings” and the torchy “Love, Look What You've Done to Me” are given solid readings by Bing Crosby and Rosemary Clooney, and Danny Kaye clowns to perfection in the avant-garde “Choreography” and lilting “It Happens While You're Dancing.” (His non-musical shtick is first-rate, too.) Vera-Ellen, one of Hollywood's most accomplished dancers, taps and twirls her way through a host of demanding routines, while providing some acerbic line readings that perk up the mundane screenplay.

Rosemary Clooney is known primarily as a singer and remains one of the premier interpreters of American popular songs, but she makes a fine dramatic impression here. Though her character is a bit too goody-two-shoes, Rosemary Clooney remains believable throughout and creates a comfortable chemistry with a ba-ba-ba-Bing Crosby that helps sustain the film between songs. Danny Kaye and Vera-Ellen supply the comic relief, and their wisecracking provides a nice contrast to the gooey eyed cooing and sullen bickering of their co-stars. The priceless Mary Wickes is also on hand as the busybody housekeeper, and her impeccable timing and dry comebacks add welcome zing to each scene in which she appears.

'White Christmas,' however, is all about Bing Crosby, and in one of his last romantic roles, the crooning Bing Crosby seems to be having a ball. Though clearly reaching the upper limits in the leading man age bracket, he relies on charm, sophistication, and his velvet-toned voice to see him through, and the result is a wholly satisfying performance, which begins and ends with his signature reading of Irvin Berlin's holiday classic. The final five minutes of this cheery, heart-warming musical will surely have you and yours dreaming of a white Christmas, too, and no doubt inspire repeat viewings in the yuletide seasons to come.

Blu-ray Video Quality – I always thought 'White Christmas' looked pretty darn good on the inferior NTSC DVD, but this Blu-ray blows that relic right out of the water, at last making this musical appear as vibrant and stunning as it surely did upon its initial release in 1954. The improvements are immediately noticeable, beginning with the VistaVision logo and opening credits. Clarity, contrast, and especially colour saturation are supreme. Delectably bold reds and deep, lush greens truly pop off the screen, yet never look garish. A few white marks dot the print, but the number of imperfections sullying the image has been drastically reduced from what afflicted the previous inferior DVD. The standard definition version looks dull, flat, and washed out compared to this glistening 1080p image transfer, which truly does the Technicolor photography proud. Varying shades of blue and yellow and the entire pastel palette are all perfectly timed and balanced so the picture always looks smooth and cohesive. Even the drab army scenes early in the film exude a faint sparkle they've hitherto lacked, and accents, like Bing Crosby's yellow socks or Rosemary Clooney's painted nails and lips, nab our attention without overwhelming the entire image.

Fine details are also much easier to discern. On the inferior DVD, background items often appeared fuzzy and slightly unstable, but the Blu-ray crystallises even the smallest objects so we feel much more immersed in the atmosphere. Textures, such as suede, wool, leather, and satin, are very strong, and close-ups, especially those of Clooney, nicely reconcile sharpness with the cinematography's inherent warmth. Black levels are pitch-perfect throughout and just look at the inky hue of Rosemary Clooney's gown during “Love, Look What You've Done to Me” and the jackets of Danny Kaye and Bing Crosby during the minstrel number and the bright whites resist blooming.

The natural grain structure remains intact, providing the desired feel of celluloid. Grain intensifies a bit in the background, and at times, various elements can look a little soft, but such minor annoyances rarely drag down the film's enjoyment factor. Noise reduction, edge enhancement, and banding are all blissfully absent, making this transfer a pleasure to watch from start to finish. Once again, this high-definition effort from Paramount is a huge step up from the previous inferior old fashioned DVD and well worth the extra investment.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – Both the Restored Mono DTS-HD Master Audio and a brand new sparkling 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio track are included on the Blu-ray disc. The track trumps the inferior DVD's 5.1 Dolby Digital audio, but doesn't provide any real wrap-around sensation. The sound is still largely front-based, and minimal stereo separation never widens the field enough to make an impression. Dynamic range is solid, with both highs and lows enjoying fine presence and clarity. Bass tones shine whenever Bing Crosby sings; when his dulcet baritone slides into the lower register, we're treated to full, resonant bass shadings that add immeasurable nuance and weight to his performances. Just the familiar phrase "I'm dreaming of a white Christmas" proves why Bing Crosby wrote the book on crooning, and the audio here serves his marvellous instrument well. Rosemary Clooney's voice also sounds warm and velvety, and good fidelity distinguishes the instrumentals. Dialogue is always clear and comprehendible, and sonic accents like Vera-Ellen's taps and the slamming of doors are crisp and distinct.

Unfortunately, some surface noise remains audible during quieter scenes, and during Rosemary Clooney's “Love, Look What You've Done to Me” some static-laced pops disrupt the torchy song. Such interference continues to rear its ugly head during subsequent musical numbers, marring enjoyment somewhat. Still, this is a good quality track that honours the Irving Berlin tunes that help lend 'White Christmas' to its classic status.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Commentary by Rosemary Clooney: This commentary by the late, great Rosemary Clooney may not rank high on anyone's list of stellar efforts, but it's wonderful to hear the recollections of this accomplished singer, which are all presented in a delightfully honest, matter-of-fact manner. The large gaps in the beginning are off-putting, to say the least, as Rosemary Clooney merely chuckles at the action on screen, but as the film progresses, she opens up a bit more, praising Irving Berlin, discussing a typical shooting day, and exulting Bing Crosby's style and impeccable preparedness. There's not a whole lot of substance here, and the gaps do continue throughout, but fans of the film will still enjoy watching the film with Rosemary Clooney, who comes off more as an enthusiastic aunt or grandmother than a high-falutin' film star.

NEW! ‘White Christmas’ Sing-Along Lyrics: The only Blu-ray exclusive is the 'White Christmas' Sing-Along, which can be accessed two ways. Viewers can either choose to have the song lyrics pop up automatically for all 13 tunes as they watch the entire movie, or they can select each number individually from a menu. Unfortunately, the highlighted lyrics are not in sync with the actors' deliveries, but this is still a fun feature for the musical classic film 'White Christmas.’

NEW! Vintage Television Clips: Five Classic Holiday Moments [20:00]

1. ‘White Christmas’ with Bing Crosby on December 1, 1976 [480i] [4:3].

2. ‘White Christmas’ with Bing Crosby and featuring Michael Bublé on December 10, 2010 [1080p and 4:3].

3. ‘Silent Night’ with Bing Crosby on December 12, 1988 [480i] [4:3].

4. ‘Jingle Bells’ with Nat King Cole and Danny Kaye on December 25, 1963 [480i] [4:3].

5. Danny Kaye reads from Charles Dickens “A Christmas Carol” on December 22, 1965 [480i] [4:3].

NEW! Vintage Short Film: Assignment Children with Introduction from Michael Bublé [1080p and 480i] [16:9 and 4:3] [18:35] Special 1945 UNICEF Documentary, featuring their first Goodwill Ambassador Danny Kaye.

Documentary: Backstage Stories from White Christmas [2009] [1080p] [16:9] [11:56] This easy-going documentary, features F.X. Feeney [Film Critic]; Dr. Drew Casper [USC Professor]; Larry Billman [Dance on Film Historian]; Garry Giddins [Author of “Bing Crosby: A Pocketful of Dreams”] and George Chakiris [Dancer] who examines the film's casting (and how Danny Kaye got his part over contenders Fred Astaire and Donald O'Connor), especially the vitality and talent of the four leads, and the impact of dancer George Chakiris (best known for his Oscar-winning performance as Bernardo in 'West Side Story') in his brief appearance with Rosemary Clooney, the VistaVision process, and the film's universal and lasting appeal. A number of film historians weigh in on these topics, and we're also treated to George Chakiris' own personal perspective, but sadly time has not been good to George Chakiris, as I was shocked by how he has aged.

Documentary: Bing Crosby: Christmas Crooner [2009] [1080p] [16:9] [14:17] With this interesting insight into Bing Crosby, we get to see and hear Garry Giddins [Author of “Bing Crosby: Pocketful of Dreams”]; Kathryn Crosby; Henry Crosby; Ruth Prigozy [Professor at Hofstra University] and Stephanie Plouman [Crosby Alumni House Curator at Gonzaga University] talk about the magical musical influences and personality of Bing Crosby the actor/singer, and the importance of the song 'White Christmas' was to him. We also get a few glimpses of Crosby's boyhood home in Spokane, Washington and archive at Gonzaga University.

Documentary: Danny Kaye: Joy to the World [2009] [1080p] [16:9 and 4:3] [13:12] Here we also get to see and hear Dena Kaye; Robert Wagnor [Actor]; Leslie Bricusse [Composer, Lyricist and Writer]; Robert Spiotto [Actor, Producer and Director of Hofstra University]; Larry Billman [Dance on Film Historian]; David Koch [UNICEF Special Projects Producer] and F.X. Feeney [Film Critic] pays tribute to Danny Kaye, who has been crowned "renaissance man" of entertainment, plus talk about his tireless charitable work with UNICEF. Danny Kaye's wide-ranging talent and commitment to UNICEF is explored through rare film clips in both black-and-white and colour.

Documentary: Irving Berlin's ‘White Christmas’ [2009] [1080p] [16:9] [7:25] This very nice documentary, features Debby Boone [Singer/Actress and Rosemary Clooney’s Daughter-in-Law]; Bruce Pomahac [Director of Music at The Roger and Hammerstein Organization]; Ruth Prigozy [Professor at Hofstra University]; Dr. Drew Casper [USC Professor]; Garry Giddins [Author of “Bing Crosby: A Pocketful of Dreams”]; Linda Emmet [Irving Berlin’s Daughter]; Theodore S. Chaplin [President of The Roger and Hammerstein Organization] and Kevin McCollum [Producer of White Christmas: The Stage Musical] and talk extensively about the multi-talented Composer/Lyricist Irving berlin and also the story behind one of the most famous holiday songs ever written and is chronicled in this slick documentary. Irving Berlin's daughter provides first-hand accounts of her father's background, how he composed, and the impact of his work.

Documentary: Rosemary's Old Kentucky Home [2009] [480i] [4:3] [13:25] With this unique featured documentary, we get to tour round Rosemary Clooney’s home in Augusta, Kentucky, where we get to hear from Nick Clooney [Rosemary Clooney's brother]; Heather French Henry [Museum Owner]; Debby Boone [Rosemary Clooney’s Daughter-in-Law]; Nina Clooney [Rosemary Clooney’s Sister]; Mica Darley[ Rosemary Clooney’s Niece]; Steve French Henry [Museum Owner]; Randall Thropp [Paramount Archivist] talk about all aspects of Rosemary Clooney’s life and the other relatives discuss the singer's bond to her girlhood hometown and how her home was turned into a museum after her death. We also get a tour of the museum's exhibits that comprises a wealth of memorabilia from the film ‘White Christmas’ that has been loaned out from Paramount Picture, which is the bulk of this very interesting documentary.

Documentary: White Christmas: From Page to Stage [2009] [1080p] [16:9] [4:23] With this really interesting feature, we get to hear from Paul Blake [Co-Author of White Christmas: The Stage Musical]; Kevin McCollum [Producer of White Christmas: The Stage Musical]; Theodore S. Chaplin [President of The Roger and Hammerstein Organization]; Walter Bobbie [Director of White Christmas: The Stage Musical] and Bruce Pomahac [Director of Music at The Roger and Hammerstein Organization] who talk extensively about how they brought all of their artistic team together, to bring the classic film to fruition. We also get to hear about the stage adaptation and transforming the classic film musical into a Broadway successful show and the changes necessary to make it work. They also inform us that more songs were added to expand this hit stage musical success. It is a shame that White Christmas: The Stage Musical was never exported to the United Kingdom.

Documentary: White Christmas: A Look Back with Rosemary Clooney [17:00] A holdover from the previous DVD release, this standard making-of documentary showcases Rosemary Clooney's memories, which run the gamut from casting and her relationship with Vera-Ellen to the chemistry between Danny Kaye and Bing Crosby and talks about the impromptu on-set visit by the King and Queen of Greece [which you see a short film clip], but Bing Crosby was absent, as he decided that playing golf was more important.

NEW! Photo Galleries: ‘White Christmas’ Black-and-White Photo Galleries: This section includes Rehearsals [11 images]; Behind-the-Scene [15 images]; Filming [19 images] and Publicity [9 images].

Theatrical Trailers: Original Theatrical Trailer [480i] [VistaVision] [2:26] and Theatrical Re-release Trailer [1080p] [VistaVision] [2:11].

NEW! BONUS: “The Sounds of Christmas” [12 Track Music Compact Disc] Tracks included: Winter Wonderland [Rosemary Clooney]; Deck the Halls/Away in a Manger/O, Little Town of Bethlehem/The First Noel [Bing Crosby]; Waltz Around the Christmas Tree [Danny Kaye]; A Marshmallow World [Bing Crosby and Ella Fitzgerald]; The Christmas Song [Rosemary Clooney]; Just What I Wanted For Christmas [Bing Crosby]; Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town [Rosemary Clooney]; Jingle bells [Danny Kaye and Peggy Lee]; Rudolph the Red-Nose Reindeer [Bing Crosby and Judy garland]; Home For The Holidays [Rosemary Clooney]; Some Children See Him [Danny Kaye] and The Night before Christmas [Bing Crosby].

Finally, 'White Christmas' is one of Hollywood's most beloved holiday classics, and its arrival on this re-mastered Blu-ray is such good news indeed, especially as it a far superior to the previous Blu-ray release . Though the story may be trite, the talent and enthusiasm of the accomplished cast keeps this musical fresh and lively throughout repeated viewings. With a lush video transfer, solid audio (despite a few glitches) and a healthy spate of new extra supplements, so making this one disc that will brighten even Ebenezer Scrooge's day. It's also a huge step up from the previous inferior DVD release, and is well worth owning on Blu-ray. Because of all this, that is why I was so keen to own this classic festive film, especially as it has now been re-mastered on this Diamond Anniversary Edition, as it cannot be beaten and is also a timeless classic, as you get a warm glow viewing this amazing Blu-ray disc and that is why it is a great honour to have this included in my Blu-ray Collection. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2001
This classic Christmas movie is a comfortable blend of music, romance, holiday sentiment, and humor. Okay, so I have a keen grasp of the obvious. Laying aside the sentiment, etc., I want to focus on the humor. For me, this is the real appeal of annually viewing this film. Danny Kaye and Bing Crosby are among the funniest comedy teams. Their snappy repartee rivals anything done by Groucho and Chico, Abbott and Costello, or even Hope and Crosby. Under the deft direction of Michael Curtiz, the comedy sparkles. Amidst the holiday schmaltz, zingers abound. Why they didn't cast Bob Hope in Danny Kaye's part is puzzling (maybe it was the dancing), but it was a fortunate choice. Early in the film, Danny's efforts to fix Bing up with a "dumb Dora" chorus girl gets the laughs going nicely. Later, after Danny announces his fake engagement to Vera-Ellen, the same blond nuclear scientist nasally intones, "Gee, I wish it would happen to me!" Danny deadpans, "So do I." The look that Bing gives Danny across the table as they contemplate a photograph of "Freckle Face" Haynes is priceless. Great timing and delivery by an enthusiastic cast carry the film over the potential pitfalls of frequent and lengthy song-and-dance routines, and the unlikely plot premise of the ex-general's problems. The lightweight story is merely a framework for the spirited singing and dancing. The minstrel show number is great fun, and nobody sings "White Christmas" like Bing Crosby. Multiple viewing only increases the enjoyment. By the way, fiscally speaking, "Wow" falls between "Ouch" and "Boiinnngggg!" ;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2001
What "White Christmas" lacks in plot excitement, it makes up for in great dialogue, pretty little songs, and the adorable goofiness of our dear Danny Kaye. He and Bing Crosby are old army buddies who have evolved into a wildly popular song-and-dance team. When Phil Davis (Kaye) attempts to romantically entangle Bob Wallace (Crosby) with one of the singing and dancing Haines sisters they meet in Florida (Betty, specifically), he carts all four off to a cozy little inn located in Vermont. (The sisters were booked to do their show there.) Seems the inn has fallen on hard times due to the lack of snow in Vermont that year. Guess who owns the hotel? Phil and Bob's old general from army days!
Bob decides he has to do something to dredge up business for old General Waverley. He, Phil, and the Haines sisters bring the entire casts of their respective shows to perform at the inn and hopefully draw in crowds. Meanwhile, Betty Haines' sister Judy (Vera-Ellen) is conspiring with Phil to make Bob and Betty (Rosemary Clooney) fall in love. But fate is heartless, and even as Bob gets a great idea to cheer the ol' General up, Betty misunderstands his plans and gets upset, thinking he is conspiring to commercialize on General Waverley's hard luck for the benefit of "The Wallace and Davis Show". (Note: the scene where Judy tries to convince Phil to set up a phony marriage engagement with her is not to be missed. How can Danny Kaye make his voice crack like that?!)
Eventually things work out to the benefit of all, but not before Kaye's had the chance to come out with such tongue twisters as "When what's left of you gets around to what's left to be gotten, what's left to be gotten won't be worth getting, whatever you've got left," and such classic lines as "you're happy for the wrong reasons, and that's the same as being lonely and miserable, except it's WORSE."
Don't miss Kaye and company performing the satire "Choreography", making fun of modern dance. Actually, come to think of it, don't miss ANY of this masterpeice! BUY IT NOW!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2000
I remember the first time seeing "White Christmas" at my Aunt Helen and Uncle George's house on Goals Road.They lived in the country,and it was snowing,and Christmas was two days away.What a great film to welcome the coming holiday.The funniest part is when Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye are in drag doing the "Sisters" number.I read that Danny started to ablive,and when he was hitting Bing with the feather,Bing started to break up,so they reshot the scene,but kept the original one.I'm so glad they did.The only Actor that couldn't sing was Vera Ellen.They used another singer for her numbers,but Vera could sure dance.Rosemary Clooney is the only living cast member,and still tours the USA with her band.Irving Berlin songs are fantastic."Snow,Will Follow the old Man,"and my favorite,"Count your Blessings." I loved Bing Crosby's voice,and Danny Kaye had a Unique style of dancing.If I could remake this film today,I would cast John Travolta , Madonna, Ricky Martin and Jennifer Lopez .I think it would be a huge hit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2000
This is a fantastic movie, a superb, upbeat feel-good film of first-rate proportions. I won't buy the video because I am absolutely sick of seeing it. We watched it every year while I was growing up, and then I acquired step-kids who insist we watch it every year still, every time it appears on TV, and I think I will upchuck if I have to see this thing one more time. I know all the dialogue and songs by heart, even the dumbest of all dumb songs, "Choreography," and occasionally one will play itself in my head on some miserable night when I can't sleep. When that happens, I count the blessing that I won't EVER have to watch this thing again, with Buh-buh-buh-Bing and Danny hamming it up big time. But OH, those legs of Vera Ellen! It's terrible I won't ever see those beautiful legs again, unless I go to the Bad Place after I die and they make me watch White Christmas every day. I'm also sick of The Wizard of Oz, but that's another story. I'm off now, to follow the Old Man wherever he wants to go...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 1999
I grew up watching Technicolor MGM/20th Century Fox/Paramount, etc. Movies. In these movies stars were glamourous, handsome, wore glizty gowns, tuxedos, and tails. That is what a movie star looked like back in those those days, classy, real classy.
They always had a (Let's put on a show scene) that included wonderful costumes, dance numbers, and everybody lived happily ever after. I was shaped and formed by these movies; I really enjoyed seeing them and being in a fantasty world for two hours. These movies helped give me an idea of what glamour and drama were back in the turbulent 60's. I think White Christmas is a great movie because it combines many of the elements that make a good movie. It has two love stories, not just one with Kaye and Crosby. Also, they play off of each other wonderfully. Rosemary Clooney sang and did a spectacular job. There are fun song in this movie such as (Snow), and (Gee, I Wish I Was Back in the Army) that I have never been able to forget. I have seen this movie at least 25 times and it is still a great movie. Irving Berlin's songs you never forget. The last scene around the Christmas tree is spectacular, with the costumes, the ballerinas, and the title song. Now that's entertainment; old-fashioned Hollywood style; done with style and class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2011
For the fabulous price of $19.99 you get the two greatest Christmas movies of all time. I gave them to my 16 year old daughter to start her Christmas movie collection - we watch them as a family every year. I priced out the movies elsewhere and could only find them sold separately for double the price. This collection is the way to go!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse