Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The Third Best H.P. Lovecraft Film
Prior to watching The Unnamable I had seen Two other Lovecraft Masterpieces (From Beyond, Re-Animator), while The Unnamable doesn't get under your skin as much as the other two it's well worth a look.
The setting is perfect as it takes place in an old big house which has supposedly been haunted for years by the most terrifying creature. The creature is so terrifying...
Published on June 28 2002 by Guido

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Close, but no banana. (Miskatonic UCLA!)
It has more Lovecraftian overtones than actual basis in one of HPL's stories and, in truth, these overtones, along with a pretty cool demon at the end, work best in the movie.
It is kind of a hoot to see the University of California Los Angeles' own sunny quad pass for the miasmic, claustrophobic campus of Lovecraft's Miskataonic University, but even so this is...
Published on June 8 2000 by Blake Watson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The Third Best H.P. Lovecraft Film, June 28 2002
By 
This review is from: Hp Lovecraft: Unnmaeable [Import] (VHS Tape)
Prior to watching The Unnamable I had seen Two other Lovecraft Masterpieces (From Beyond, Re-Animator), while The Unnamable doesn't get under your skin as much as the other two it's well worth a look.
The setting is perfect as it takes place in an old big house which has supposedly been haunted for years by the most terrifying creature. The creature is so terrifying it doesn't even have a name, hence, The Unnamable. A few college students, from nearby Miskatonic University decide to go and explore the big, creepy house. They soon will find out that would be the biggest mistake of their lives. As with all Lovecraftian films there is some nice gorey scenes and some startling moments. Also The Unnamable is one of the most frightening creatures you'll ever see.
I feel, however, The Unnamable is lacking compared to the other Lovecraft movies I've seen (mentioned up above). The acting in The Unnamable is really pretty poor, the picture is very dark and is hard to see exactly what is going on in some places (I only saw the VHS version) , and we only get to see the creature for about the last 10-15 minutes of the movie. All and all The Unnamable is a good movie and if you're a fan of Lovecraft films I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars into the dark vaults we look..., March 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hp Lovecraft: Unnmaeable [Import] (VHS Tape)
it seems i had been swimming in the rivers of shmutz for so long, i'd forgotten what a good horror film was..enter THE UNNAMBLE. They do not make them like this anymore. This film tells the sordid tale of a house that is inhabited by a wraith who doesn't take kindly to trespassers. Of course, local university students decide to spend some time in the home. Their visit is naturally cut short as the wraith seeks to punish the unwanted guests. The acting is above average. There is some real suspense here. And the gore! theres a throat ripping scene here second to none and its timing is perfect. The effects are solid. The plot is good. I have no clue whether the film was true to the lovecraft story it was supposedly based on but who really cares? If you have the chance to own this, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Monster Lovecraft Adaption, Nov. 30 2003
This review is from: Hp Lovecraft: Unnmaeable [Import] (VHS Tape)
This is one of my favorite Lovecraft adaptions of all time and I have all of them. A sorcerer turns his daughter into a hideous monster 300 years ago. In the present (er...80s) a group of college kids investigate the legend by going into the house of The Unnamable. Can the kids survive? Boobs, hot chicks, gore galore, a hideous monster and the Necronomicon make this a flick you will never forget. Though obviously not at the level of Reanimator or From Beyond, this is a worthwhile purchase for Lovecraft devotees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Close, but no banana. (Miskatonic UCLA!), June 8 2000
By 
Blake Watson "===Blake===" (Winnetka, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hp Lovecraft: Unnmaeable [Import] (VHS Tape)
It has more Lovecraftian overtones than actual basis in one of HPL's stories and, in truth, these overtones, along with a pretty cool demon at the end, work best in the movie.
It is kind of a hoot to see the University of California Los Angeles' own sunny quad pass for the miasmic, claustrophobic campus of Lovecraft's Miskataonic University, but even so this is pretty standard kids-trapped-in-haunted-house-fare.
The sequel (with Maria Ford and Julie Strain as the demon) is considerably better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Lovecraft. Scary in the right places, June 5 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hp Lovecraft: Unnmaeable [Import] (VHS Tape)
This is classic Lovecraft...It has it all; Big dark spooky house, good characters, and one of the ugliest creatures I have ever seen. Guys, you don't want to make this woman mad. I thought it was scary in all the right places and definetly a keeper, especially for fans of ole' H.P. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars LOVECRAFT...They know not what they do!!!, July 2 1999
By 
scol317190@aol.com (Winnipeg, MB, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hp Lovecraft: Unnmaeable [Import] (VHS Tape)
This is your typical slice-and-dice hokey horror film aimed at mindless teens. If you are a true Lovecraft fan you will find little more than a few familiar names (characters and books). Besides that there is nothing to attract the intellect of HPL reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for Lovecraft and Horror Fans, April 29 2000
This review is from: Hp Lovecraft: Unnmaeable [Import] (VHS Tape)
The Unnameable and its sequel are two of my favorite horror flicks. This one has some scares and in jokes for Lovecraft fans. One of the characters is named Randolph Carter! Folklore majors! Its a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD,LOTS OF SCARES, Sept. 11 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hp Lovecraft: Unnmaeable [Import] (VHS Tape)
I SAW THIS MOVIE A FEW YEARS AGO,AND HAVE BEEN TRYING TO FIND IT EVER SINCE. IT"S A GREAT MOVIE. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a great movie and I loved the secuels, July 14 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Hp Lovecraft: Unnmaeable [Import] (VHS Tape)
It gonna be a hit,its cool,spooky and a good horror film to enjoy so every body should see this wonderfull horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hp Lovecraft: Unnmaeable [Import]
Hp Lovecraft: Unnmaeable [Import] by Hp Lovecraft: Unnameable (VHS Tape - 1995)
Used & New from: CDN$ 18.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews