countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
116
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:$24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(1 star). Show all reviews
on January 14, 2003
Please becareful when buying this DVD. The package say it's uncut but it really isn't. Disney felt they needed to censor some scenes because they might offend some black people. I'm a black person and I'm more offended by Disney lying to me then the scenes. I hope someday in the future Disney will think I'm mature enough to own a real uncut version.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2002
The quality and presentation of this restored version of FANTASIA is wonderful. Finally restored, unseen since the initial release, are the complete introductory sequences, including a chimes player's accident with his instrument, the orchestra applauding Mickey Mouse, and the orchestra shuffling out for the intermission. Even the original title card has been returned to its proper place, during the intermission. (Some of the narration was rerecorded due to original voice tracks being no longer available.) But there is CONSIDERABLE CONTROVERSY over the continued censorship of the "Pastorale" sequence. Circa 1969, the seemingly racist shots of a black centaurette (similar to Our Gang's "Buckwheat") attending on the white centaurettes were cut from the film. Allegedly, the 1980 release's new soundtrack covered up the clumsy edit. Subsequent releases to video have used optical tricks to remove the appearance of black centaurs. In this "restored" version, some of the optical edits are still glaringly obvious.
The film survives as a masterpiece of filmic art, and this presentation of a "politically correct, original version" (my description) is tempting. But Disney does this release, and all customers and fans, a disservice by inappropriately calling it a "restored" and "uncut" version, when in fact it is NOT the version that was seen in the 1940 road shows. Let your buying conscience be your guide, but consider the significance of buying an "uncut version" that is not uncut.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2000
The 1940 movie "Fantasia" is awesome - one of the best
animated films of all time. A definite five star
film.
Unfortunately, the DVD contains an altered version of the
movie. To make matters even worse, the advertising for the DVD is
deliberately false.
First of all, the DVD is being advertised as
being "uncut." This is not true. In reality, certain scences
that some people consider to be "offensive" have been
removed.
Secondly, the DVD is being advertised as having "the
original narration." This is also untrue. In reality, this DVD
contains a newly recorded narration.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2014
We are very disappointed that it cannot be played on any DVD or Blueray player that we have. The reason for this is because it will not work on equipment from our region (except a computer in which one can change the Region setting). We have discovered that our Region is Region 1 and the disc was made for Region 2 (Italy). This is a detail all prospective purchasers need to know-WHICH REGION IS THE DISC MADE FOR?

Respectfully,

Joe
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2012
With everyone who wrote a review about this supplier in England seemingly more than happy, it didn't even occur to me that the DVD I purchased would not play in North America. I was aware that DVDs used to be (and apparently still are) encoded so they would only play in a certain region of the world, but have never encountered the problem myself. Perhaps Amazon could include a reminder that this may be a problem for anyone ordering a DVD from anywhere other than North America.Walt Disney's Fantasia: Remastered Original Soundtrack Edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2015
My rating on this product is very disappointed it did not work it wasn't formated for canada i sent it back in January and to this day have not received any response or refund.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2013
Unusable on a Canadian or US TV or computer.
This is not indicated on the website. Although purchased from DVD Cineshop Canada must be returned to Italy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
I was not happy because it came in Spanish and I can not play it in my DVD player and there was not instructions to send it back
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2015
Could not play the DVD "Italian version" . Not sure if this was mentioned when purchased. Disappointed :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2015
Misleading as it cannot be watched in my region :( did not realize it was Italian version!!! Waste of money$$$$
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse