Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give these planes the Oscar...
Loved this film when I first saw it as a 9-yo ww2 airplane-crazy kid at a neigbors house, none of the limited special-effects taint it then, anymore than they did 'The Battle of Britain'. This movie is based on a book of the same name, I've never read the book, cant name the author, but the mission itself is an imaginary-one, but does reflect bits and pieces of actual...
Published on Jan. 13 2004 by patrick

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mossies and their crews are the stars
Okay, I admit it - I excuse all the obvious failings of this forty-year-old film already noted by other reviewers because of the airplanes. DeHavilland's experience building high-performance airplanes from the original naturally-occurring composite material (wood) conserved strategic materials and produced the fastest airplane in the world for at least two years running...
Published on June 18 2004 by J.P.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mossies and their crews are the stars, June 18 2004
By 
J.P. (north of Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 633 Squadron (DVD)
Okay, I admit it - I excuse all the obvious failings of this forty-year-old film already noted by other reviewers because of the airplanes. DeHavilland's experience building high-performance airplanes from the original naturally-occurring composite material (wood) conserved strategic materials and produced the fastest airplane in the world for at least two years running during World War II. One of the few successful airplanes designed after the beginning of the war to be produced in quantity (over 7700 in dozens of versions in six factories on three continents), the Mossie is truly the star of this film. We may not think much of most of the scenes on the ground, but losses were a grim reality. The determination of the crews to defend their homeland and fight to liberate others while coping with their own fear and mortality shows us the best qualities of that great generation. Even if some of the acting was as wooden as the airplanes.
My biggest complaint about the show was the actual destruction of two or three precious Mossies (Robertson's two prangs and another plowing into a fuel bowser). I second the craving for better sound - for those of you who can't get enough of the sound of a Merlin or two singing that most beautiful and alluring of mechanical siren songs, visit [...] and go to "Donated Files." Scroll down to "Sounds," and get an earful. I turned up the computer speakers and played the "fly-past" clip, and my wife (upstairs in the bedroom) thought we had been buzzed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give these planes the Oscar..., Jan. 13 2004
By 
patrick (Melbourne Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 633 Squadron (DVD)
Loved this film when I first saw it as a 9-yo ww2 airplane-crazy kid at a neigbors house, none of the limited special-effects taint it then, anymore than they did 'The Battle of Britain'. This movie is based on a book of the same name, I've never read the book, cant name the author, but the mission itself is an imaginary-one, but does reflect bits and pieces of actual Mosquito-bomber exploits in ww2: the mid-film raid on the Oslo Gestapo building to kill their own captured Norwegian-resistance friend before he can give it up under torture was resembling a job Mosquitos did in both Oslo and Copenhagen Denmark-tragically also hitting a school and killing many Danish school-children in that otherwise successful raid. One other famous Mosquito exploit was the aptly-named 'Jericho' raid on Amiens medieval prison in the French countryside, to blow -down the walls and release French resistance fighters held by the Nazis.This raid is imitated in the later film 'Mosquito Squadron', with David McCallum, which is a perhaps inferior film to this one, and re-uses some of 633's canned Mosquito flying footage.
The film is a fair-classic of the genre and like the even more atmospheric and heady (and true-fact) 'Dambusters', has a memorable and rousing score, this one by Ron Goodwin, who wrote many scores for war-films-this would be the best one, and is worth checking-out on your legal pay music download site, frankly(winks)
The comments by people here concerning the special-effects are true,as Ive attacked to some degree the special-effects of 'the Battle of Britain', 633 has more excuse, would have been far less ambitious lower budget. But the twin-merlin Mosquitos are as gloriously acoustically and visually British as Dambusters Lancs and 'Battle of Brits' Spits and Hurricanes.
And '12 Oclock High's Fortresses, one might add.
George Shakira's casting as a Norwegian Resistance fighter(or any Norwegian!)goes down as one of the casting oddities of celluloid history.
If you havent seen it before, youll like it, if you love good airplanes, airplane footage and sounds, it'll probably actually get you high.
The remarks I saw here about the rationale of the Mosquitos wooden construction being about shortage of aluminium, well, cant rule it out totally,without loking into it first, but would point out that the specially glued plywood skin obviated the need for 100s of flush-rivets as metal-skin planes have, resulting in drag,and loss of speed, and this aircraft was conceived to be fast enough to evade enemy fighters by speed alone, without the need for defensive or offensive guns, which the bomber and recon glass-nosed Mosquitos actually were unarmed, and Luftwaffe found it almost impossible at first and always difficult to intercept them, even when they could see them comiing. Despite being wooden, they were also regarded as a remarkably sturdy aircraft that frequently returned with major battle damage. The Mosquito was also one of the few twin-engined planes which was claimed could not merely fly on one engine, but even climb comfortably with one engine stopped and 'feathered'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 633 Squadron gave their lives for D-Day, Jan. 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 633 Squadron (DVD)
633 Squadron is a great war movie to see. I read the back of my DVD version of this epic drama and I saw at the beginning of the story that the movie was based on a true story in WWII.
The Allies learn that the Nazis are building launch pads for their new V-1 rockets to launch againist the Normandy invasion, but the one thing that keeps them from launching is a special rocket fuel that they need from fuel factory located underneath a mountain inside a Norwegian fjord. The only way to stop the threat is send a group of Mosquito bombers to bomb the mountain because it has a earth fissure inside of it. If the bombers succeed, the mountain will bury the factory forever. Can Roy Grant and 633 Squadron pull it off? You'll find out in this exciting epic war drama. I recemend it for war movie buffs and model buffs too. Give this movie a try, those who liked Battle of Britain, will love this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Seismic G-Spot, Dec 9 2003
By 
Captain Cook (Leeward to the Sandwich Islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 633 Squadron (VHS Tape)
The last time I watched this movie, it suddenly occurred to me that its climax can be best explained in Freudian terms. Perhaps the power of these underlying sexual connotations, along with the unforgettable music, is the reason why this part of the movie -- despite its Airfix special effects -- is so impressive.
The lead-up -- the usual subplots about love in wartime and angst over the possibility of making the ultimate sacrifice-- is mediocre to say the least, but once the squadron skims off across the North Sea to destroy Hitler's heavy water producing plant in Norway, you can't help getting swept along.
Those familiar with the basic concepts of Freudianism will observe that to get to the target they have to fly up a fjiord -- a deep, wet inlet with obvious feminine connotations -- and, once they get there, they have to franticly 'fumble around,' bombing a mountain until they hit the equivalent of a seismic G-spot. When this is done the 'earth' truly moves as an avalanche of rock thunders down on the Nazis. The only thing to do for the few survivors is return to base and have that post-coital cigarette!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Plywood, Oct. 30 2003
This review is from: 633 Squadron (DVD)
I was always under the impression that since many of the pre-war airframes had been built by furniture manufacturers; and that from the very beginning of aircraft specialist joinery firms had been involved. It seemed logical to use the capacity of the furniture and piano manufacturing industry to fabricate an aircraft from plywood.
This aircraft also used the renowned Merlin engine designed by Henry Royce as PV-12; and was a very fast, lightly-armed fighter-bomber which later became an aerial reconnaissance and pathfinder aircraft to guide in heavy bombers to target..."It was said that the 2 man twin engined Mosquito could carry the same bomb load to Berlin as the 4 engined Flying Fortress with its crew of 11. It also did it quicker and used less fuel... the Mosquitoes in the film were photo-reconnaissance models built late in the war. I suppose it would have been quite unique to have an American commanding an RAF Squadron too; especially as those Americans who did fly with the RAF as volunteers came through Canada as the USA was officially 'neutral' until Hitler declared war on the US on 11th December, 1941.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 633 Squadron, Oct. 27 2003
By 
David A. Fisher "dave-fisher1" (Mississauga, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 633 Squadron (DVD)
If you're English the first time you saw this movie was probably on TV whilst a Test Cricket match was rained off. This film must have been kept on permanent stand-by by the BBC. I consequently saw this for the first time when I was quite young, probably eight or nine years old. I can remember being just blown away by the flying scenes and it's probably because of this movie that the Mosquito is one of my favourite WWII aeroplanes. The plot is predictable and it takes a while to get going but hey your can always fast forward to the real star of the film the ubiquitous 'Wooden Wonder'. Some of the other reviewers have got a point about the parallels with the Star Wars death star, I just can't imagine George Lucas having ever seen this though???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Treat for Aviation Buffs !, Sept. 8 2003
By 
peterfromkanata (Kanata, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 633 Squadron (DVD)
This film seems to have attracted a number of interesting, positive reviews--there is little for me to add except to say that is is a fine World War II thriller, featuring Cliff Robertson, George Chakiris and a solid British cast in support.
Of course, the real "stars" of the movie are the Mosquitos--seeing them fly is a feast for aviation fans. Some scenes really seem to put you in the cockpit with our heroes as they train for their "mission impossible". There is also a fair bit of model work involved, and this is perhaps the only area of the movie that is dated. Special effects have made huge strides since the sixties--when these planes crash or blow up, it is not done in a convincing way for modern audiences.
Cliff Robertson is fine in the lead--later in the decade, he was to win an Oscar for "Charly", yet he has always been under-rated. His career certainly had it's "ups and downs"--in the seventies, he blew the whistle on a Hollywood executive who was embezzling money, and good movie roles seemed to "elude" him for a while. Clearly, he is a man of great integrity. It was nice to see him, after so many years, have an important role in the monster hit, "Spiderman".
George Chakiris aquits himself well as a Norwegian resistance leader. British character actors, Harry Andrews and Donald Houston, provide the mandatory "stiff upper lips" ! When the movie is over though, it is those fabulous planes that you remember most.
The DVD is widescreen, with decent colour for its age--the sound is mono ( imagine those Mosquitos in surround ? ! ). The packaging is very rudimentary, but I suppose this is in keeping with the low price ?
If you like war films with the accent on aviation, this one is for you. Try it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, July 22 2003
This review is from: 633 Squadron (DVD)
I like Cliff Robertson. What a movie. The music and photography are outstanding. I like these old war movies. This is a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A film that makes you feel your flying with them, June 4 2003
By 
John Lyle Campbell (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 633 Squadron (DVD)
I was 9 years old when I first saw 633 Squadron. I think I must have watched it 20 or more times. My greatest joy was when I have had the priviledge of working with its director, Walter Grauman. To this day, he is still an active Producer/Director. I feel that 633 Squadron came off so well, because Walter was a highly decorated B-24 pilot in World War 11,flying over 24 missions, and bringing back his aircraft once, with one engine fully ablaze, with nazi planes following and firing at him. If you're going to choose a director to shoot a WW11 bombing raid, you couldn't pick a better qualified man. I believe you can feel his emotions throughout the film. He's stated that he received unbelievable cooperation from everyone involved with the film, including veteran pilots, townsfolk,etc. They went out of their way to make this exciting project work, and one can feel the sincerity, the pride and the glory of the Brits who fought the evil that threatened the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Please buzz me with that Mosquito!, May 8 2003
This review is from: 633 Squadron (DVD)
Well I am an American, but I love the British planes and movies. This cast I think is mostly British and do a splendid job of acting. A group of international pilots in the RAF band together to bomb a factory that the silly Germans stuck under a large rock overhang just aching to be avalanched. Even though that would not have happened they at least have plenty of Anti-Aircraft guns and thats factual. Perhaps a slightly exaggerated story premise, but very entertaining and it certainly gives an idea of the heroism of the RAF pilots during WWII. Anyway this is a fine film especially for anyone that enjoys movies like "The Battle of Britain" or "Memphis Belle". As pointed out one benefit is the opportunity to see the magnificent "Mosquito" planes and the beautiful scenery they fly over. Did I mention that the sound of a Merlin engine not only arouses WWII pilots. With the great musical theme of the movie and the acting of cliff Robertson you have a winner. Good point about the models used in the bombing sequences. After all we are talking 40 year old F/X. Star Wars is almost 30 years old and we can certainly see how those special effects are now dated. George Lucas even went back and changed the Death Star explosion to improve it for the re-release. It might be nice to see an updated version of the models in this movie but then we couldn't poke a little fun at them and our age since most of us saw this as kids. Great movie and I have pre-ordered my DVD copy. For you fans of WWII movies, "Sink the Bismack" will also be out on DVD this month. Another great Brit movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaac74360)

This product

633 Squadron
633 Squadron by Walter Grauman (VHS Tape)
Used & New from: CDN$ 18.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews