Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is awesome
I looked all over for this product! I grew up with Disney movies, so I wanted to share that experience with my kids. Aladdin was always one of my favorites. So far I have been able to find almost every Disney movie I wanted on DVD, but Aladdin was the hardest to find. Then I came across it on amazon, and was so excited! My 4 year old usually does not sit through a whole...
Published on April 6 2010 by Aline Newton

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars The movie was resealed when I have purchased it. ...
The movie was resealed when I have purchased it. Meaning it was previously owned and watched, previously working at an HMV made it very clear to me by the way it was wrapped that that was the case.
Published 2 months ago by Emily Annie Winsor


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is awesome, April 6 2010
By 
Aline Newton "Allie cat" (Saskatoon, SK Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I looked all over for this product! I grew up with Disney movies, so I wanted to share that experience with my kids. Aladdin was always one of my favorites. So far I have been able to find almost every Disney movie I wanted on DVD, but Aladdin was the hardest to find. Then I came across it on amazon, and was so excited! My 4 year old usually does not sit through a whole movie, but he does for Aladdin. He loves the music, and the genie is hilarious! So in closing, Aladdin is one of the best Disney movies ever. All Disney fans must have this in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece,finally arriving!, March 3 2004
By 
T.E. (New Mexico,USA) - See all my reviews
Seems like years since I last saw Aladdin,it quickly became one of my favorite movies of all time,and with past Disney hits like The Little Mermaid and Beauty and the Beast,Disney had yet another masterpiece in Aladdin.
It's a story about Aladdin,a street rat,growing up in Agrabah,who leads a carefree life until he stumbles upon the Cave of Wonders and frees the Genie from his lamp. He also falls in love with Jasmine,daughter of the sultan of Agrabah. But not all is peaceful,for the vizier Jafar,along with his wisecracking parrot,Iago,plan disaster upon the Sultan,Jasmine and all of Agrabah. It's all typical Disney hilarity and the trademark Disney music that we all fell in love with in Disney's classics.
I will be for sure snagging this come October when it's release date arrives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Condition, May 17 2010
By 
Jory Paul - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Movie is in amazing condition, I just wanna say thank you for having that product, its sucks losing a movie that doesn't come out for another 10 years.
Thanks again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALADDIN [1992] [Blu-ray] [UK Release], Oct. 24 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Aladdin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
ALADDIN [1992] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] Disney’s 31st Animated Classic!

For the first time on Disney Blu-ray – soar away on a magic carpet ride of non-stop laughs and thrills in one of the most spectacular adventures of all time. Experience the wonders of ‘ALADDIN’ like never before – from the Academy Award® winning music to the unforgettable moments of side-splitting comedy and soaring adventure.

In the heart of an enchanted city, a commoner named Aladdin and his mischievous monkey Abu battle to save the free-spirited Princess Jasmine from the schemes of the evil sorcerer Jafar. Aladdin’s whole life changes with one rub of a magic lamp as a fun-loving, shape-shifting Genie appears and grants him three wishes, setting him on an incredible journey of discovery.

FILM FACT: Awards: Aladdin received many award nominations, mostly for its music. It won two Academy Awards, Best Music, Original Score and Best Music, Original Song for "A Whole New World" and receiving nominations for Best Song ("Friend Like Me"), Best Sound Editing (Mark A. Mangini), and Best Sound (Terry Porter, Mel Metcalfe, David J. Hudson and Doc Kane) At the Golden Globes, Aladdin won Best Original Song ("A Whole New World") and Best Original Score, as well as a Special Achievement Award for Robin Williams, with a nomination for Best Motion Picture – Musical or Comedy.

Voice Cast: Scott Weinger, Robin Williams, Linda Larkin, Jonathan Freeman, Frank Welker, Gilbert Gottfried, Douglas Seale, Charles Adler, Jack Angel, Corey Burton, Philip L. Clarke, Jim Cummings, Jennifer Darling, Debi Derryberry, Bruce Gooch, Jerry Houser, Vera Lockwood, Sherry Lynn, Mickie McGowan, Patrick Pinney, Phil Proctor, Lea Salonga (Jasmine singing voice) (uncredited), Hal Smith (Jafar's Horse voice) (uncredited) and Russi Taylor (Rajah voice) (uncredited)

Directors: Ron Clements and John Musker

Producers: John Musker and Ron Clements

Screenplay: John Musker, Ron Clements, Ted Elliott and Terry Rossio

Composer: Alan Menken

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Czech: 5,1 Dolby Digital, Greek: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Polish: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Russian: 5.1 Dolby Digital, French: 5.1 DTS-HD HR, Dutch: 5.1 DTS-HD and Ukrainian: 2.0 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, French, Czech, Dutch, Greek, Polish, Russian, Slovakian and Ukrainian

Running Time: 90 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Walt Disney Studios

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: Sandwiched between two of Disney's biggest, most beloved hits, is 'Aladdin.' It could easily have gotten lost in the crowd coming out after 'Beauty and the Beast' and before 'The Lion King.' Similar to the way 'Mulan' seemed to get forgotten because it was surrounded by a host of mediocre Disney films, but 'Aladdin' stands on its own as a bona fide Disney classic despite the threat of being overshadowed.

Everything seemed to go right for 'Aladdin,' (even though the movie was initially seen as a failure after its first full screening; it was promptly reworked). The soundtrack was as memorable as any other Disney movie, the animation was lush and vibrant, its villain is still one of the best in Disney's illustrious vault, and the world wasn't sick of Robin Williams' shtick yet. The stars aligned and it ended up becoming an instant classic. It was slated for Blu-ray release in the U.S. earlier this year, but got bumped to make room for the anniversary edition of 'Peter Pan.' So, it's a good thing you people in North America can import this stunning All Region Blu-ray.

Aladdin [Scott Weinger] is a street rat of no consequence. "Gotta eat to live, gotta steal to eat," he sings as he dodges palace guards while snatching some bread. Like all paupers, however, Aladdin dreams of something bigger. Something that will make his life means something. And that something includes being filthy rich.

Only, life inside the palace walls isn't as peachy as Aladdin dreams it is, which is usually the case with palaces. Jasmine [Linda Larkin] is deeply depressed by her situation. Sure she's surrounded by wealth, but she dreams of seeing the world, or at the very least, of venturing out beyond the palace walls to see what the real world is like. She's also angry that the law of the land is very adamant that the princess marry a prince, and she's coming of age. Jasmine isn't impressed by the pomp and circumstance. She wants a real man, preferably one with an American accent living in Agrabah.

'Aladdin' isn't without its faults though. As much fun as it is watching Williams bring the Genie to life with the kind of madcap flare that only he can provide, and as great as Jafar is as the chief baddie, its treatment of ethnicity is bizarre. It's pretty obvious that Disney didn't think the audience would feel sympathetic toward characters that didn't look and sound like them. So, while the population of Agrabah speaks in thick Arabian accents and appear as Middle Eastern caricatures, Jasmine and Aladdin look and sound like Americans. It's interesting to note that after 'Aladdin,' Disney animation film that featured foreign-born main characters such as 'Mulan,' 'Brother Bear,' and 'Pocahontas' don't go down the same route. The animation film doesn't bear the same weight as 'Beauty and the Beast' or 'The Lion King.' 'Aladdin,' however, is an intoxicatingly fun ride with unforgettable songs and some of the best animation that Disney had to offer in the '90s. It will remain a Disney classic for as long as The Vault is around.

Animated with a more whimsical style, and punctuated by numerous toe-tapping songs, ‘Aladdin’ breezes along with panache and style that doesn't constrict itself to a young audience. Many single out the strength of Robin William's vocal performance as the key to the film’s success (which earned him a Picasso as well as a substantial fee), the truth is that sometimes lightning does strike twice. Or in the case of the Disney renaissance, four times.

Blu-ray Video Quality – I've always loved the look of 'Aladdin.' It was so vibrant and colourful. Even when I watched it over and over on the old fashioned VHS format, I remember being blown away by its stellar animation. I'm glad to report that this transfer (it remains to be seen if this is the transfer that will be used on the U.S. release) depicts 'Aladdin' in all its glory, and stays true to the Disney perfectionism that we've become accustomed to. I don't ever remember seeing 'Aladdin' look this clear. Colours have a bit more life than they did on DVD. Colour fills never waver in transparency. Lines are crisp, and the artwork really shines. Black areas are sufficiently dark. There is no noise to report. It's all as clean as you'd expect it to be. Those that can't wait for the U.S. release will find that this is a decent option. This is an exceptional transfer for a beloved film.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – 'Aladdin' gets a stunning 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio mix here. This might be where fans will want to hold out for the U.S. version. Chances are pretty good that Disney will include a 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio mix on the Diamond Edition release. The last Diamond Edition, which was 'Peter Pan,' was accompanied by a full 7.1 remix. As it stands, the 5.1 mix here is ample by any stretch. There is a ton to love here. The rear channels are alive with activity. When Aladdin comes marching into the streets of Agrabah with his parade the ambient sound is perfectly placed. Musical numbers are belted out with force and clarity. Low-end sound is wonderfully presented. When the Cave of Wonders bellows its dire welcome to its visitors, the sub shakes with rumbling bass. The fight with Jafar at the end is a perfect example of the deft directionality on display here. When he turns into a giant snake he can be heard slithering in and out of one channel after another and are tremendously effective.

Dialogue is always clear. Robin Williams' voice throws itself all over the place as he appears here and there with different voices and accents. Nothing ever gets muddled. Alan Menken's beautiful score fills the soundscape and provides a wonderfully memorable experience. Will an inevitable 7.1 mix add a bit more dimensionality? I presume it will. However, if you can't wait for the U.S. release, and feel that 5.1 is enough for you, then this isn't a bad way to go.
The highlight of the soundtrack for many will be the immensely memorable songs, composed by Alan Menken and lyricist Tim Rice for which the film won an Academy Award, along with the signature track "A Whole New World", which also won an Academy Award for best song.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Filmmakers’ Audio Commentary: Features co-writers, producers and directors John Musker and Ron Clements along with co-producer Amy Pell. Though this was recorded some ten years after the film's original release, the three still have strong and vivid memories of the rather convoluted pre-production phase, not to mention casting, recording and animating. This is enjoyable, highly interesting fare, often relatively technical without being hard to follow.

A Diamond in the Rough: The Making of Aladdin [480i] [1:39:33] Is a really excellent multi-part documentary that gets into rather formidable detail about virtually every aspect of the production.

Sing-Along With The Movie: Offers subtitles for the musical numbers.

Deleted Scenes: Offer introductions by crew members and storyboards and include: Aladdin and Jasmine's First Meeting [480i] [2:51] and Aladdin in the Lap of Luxury [480i] [2:52]

Music Videos: “A Whole New World” performed by Regina Belle and Peabo Bryson [480i] [4:07]. “A Whole New World” performed by Nick Lachey and Jessica Simpson [480i] [4:14]. “Proud of Your Boy” performed by Clay Aiken [480i] [2:20]

Deleted Songs: [480i] [13:57] feature introductions explaining why they were jettisoned and play to storyboards and stills.

Finally, 'Aladdin' is one of my many favourite Disney films, especially the animation one. Having it before the U.S. release comes out is a big plus in my book. Although there might be a few hesitations on importing into North America still remains, but fear not as it will be a total bonus in your Blu-ray Collection. If you're willing to accept a 5.1 mix (rather than a 7.1 mix, which will likely be on the Diamond Edition) then this All Region import will work well for you. There's also the question of whether any special features will be added for the U.S. release. That's anybody's guess really. But overall, this is a totally magical experience and will blow you away with such an exciting Blu-ray adventure and it has gone pride of place in my ever increasing and expanding Walt Disney Blu-ray Collection. The only slight disappointment is why can’t they release the 2 other ‘Aladdin’ animated films, that are still only available on the inferior DVD format? Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excitement!, Feb. 23 2004
By A Customer
I love Aladdin! i am a big fan. I can't wait till october 5! everyone should watch this classic!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars almost essential, July 18 2004
There are a select few of the films made by Disney that can almost be considered essential Kid fare. My personal faves are : Robin Hood, Lion King, and the great Aladdin. This is one of Disney's all time greatest moments ever. This is truly one of the best. Adults will find it amazing, kids will love it! An awesome and incredible tale of magic, wishes, coming of age, love, and temptation by absolute power. Wonderful, simply wonderful. Also was one of the first animated movies to really make use of a seamless blend of computer graphics and traditional animation styles. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aladdin, available on Dvd October 2004, Nov. 28 2003
By 
A. Venn "Aaron" (Sydney) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't wait till Aladdins out. Its the best movie ever. I had to borrow a friends VHS to keep because our original tape had worn cos of excessive viewing.
Being in Australia, we're about 5 months behind everywhere else.
I had The Lion King Dvd shipped over two weeks ago because Australia's not getting it until April of 2004.

I couldnt be bothered waiting.
And i was so excited to read that Platinum Edition Aladdin is out October 2004, in America anyway, so rest assured i'll have one pre-ordered so i dont have to wait till March 2005 for the Australian release of Dvd that everyone has been waiting so long for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loved it, Jan. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aladdin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My daughter loved it as a child and is now collecting many of her childhood favorites. She watched it after Christmas and was amazed again at how well it was done, considering when it came out.

It was shipped in a bubble envelope and the case was a little battered but no real damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic:), Dec 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Aladdin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've loved this movie since I was a kid. I'm happy to say that I can pass on the same love for the disney classics to my children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aladdin, one of Disney's best!, Nov. 4 2014
By 
First Light (Chapleau, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
I grew up looking forward to watching Walt Disney each week. It is a shame that Walt Disney is no longer a weekly event as I would like my children to have the same experience looking forward to it as I did. Aladdin is an excellent animated movie. It is done imaginative, colourful, action packed, adventurous and with a level tasteful romance for the whole family. It is one of my favorites.

My family really enjoys watching the Disney movies. They love the music, and Robin Williams does the genie is best, he really makes it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aladdin [Import]
Aladdin [Import] (VHS Tape)
CDN$ 39.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews