Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Wrong Box" is Right On!
A magnificent British comedy from 1966, starring (a young) Michael Caine, Nanette Newman, Dudley Moore, and Sir Ralph Richardson, among other luminaries. While consistently funny, this comedy also has a heart and a wonderful story. The acting, comic timing, editing, and directing are all utterly first rate. One of the best of the best. 2 thumbs up!
Published on June 3 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a good old black comedy
Bryan Forbes' 1966 comedy about the hunt for an inheritance is packed with British comic talent. Peter Sellers as the mad doctor is exquisite! The film is, to me, not the most hilarious knee-slapper on the planet, but just the storyline is crankingly morbid. I kept waiting for John Cleese to pop up the screen, but this movie was a little too early for that.
Published on Aug. 2 1999 by Tom (hharvey@cwf.org)


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Wrong Box" is Right On!, June 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Wrong Box, the (VHS Tape)
A magnificent British comedy from 1966, starring (a young) Michael Caine, Nanette Newman, Dudley Moore, and Sir Ralph Richardson, among other luminaries. While consistently funny, this comedy also has a heart and a wonderful story. The acting, comic timing, editing, and directing are all utterly first rate. One of the best of the best. 2 thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Oldie But A Goodie!, June 26 2012
By 
Maxisback (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrong Box [Import] (DVD)
This was one of Michael Caine's earliest movies, and his star quality shines throughout. Dudley Moore and Peter Cook are as zaney as ever, and Ralph Richardson is superb! This is a wonderful movie, and should be in every movie-buff's private library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must See, Great Film and Timeless Rare Classic!, April 15 2012
This review is from: Wrong Box, the (VHS Tape)
This is a must see film. A cast of greats, Michael Caine, Dudley Moore, Peter Cook, Ralph Richardson Peter Sellers, John Mills. The storyline is brilliant, tight and hilarious. I have watched this movie over and over again for the nuiances, odd plot twists and laughs.

I especially love the butler, Peacock.

Buy this, you will thank me later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Happy!, June 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrong Box [Import] (DVD)
Item arrived as described in listing. I've been looking for this movie for my mother-in-law as a gift. Very Happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Box, March 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrong Box [Import] (DVD)
Superb acting, engaging and extremely funny- you cannot loose with this movie. A classic relying on good acting not special effects to bring it home...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure historic delight for me, Feb. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrong Box [Import] (DVD)
I was lucky enough to be an extra in this movie when it was made in the city of Bath in England, and although my scene was cut before the movie was released, I remember those days vividly. The movie is a delightful British comedy, with many fine comedians who are probably not well known in North America, though they were certainly household names in Britain. For those who enjoy such expert comedy nonsense as much as I do, there's great pleasure here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Favorite Movie, Feb. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrong Box [Import] (DVD)
I first saw this movie when it first came out and it has been one of my all time favorites. I am pleased to now have added it to my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHEN is this going to be on DVD???, Nov. 18 2003
By 
This review is from: Wrong Box, the (VHS Tape)
I thought this was supposed to be released on DVD, but have yet to find a copy. Own a copy on VHS, but I am sure the troop of Finsbury will be much more enjoyable on DVD!! This is one overlooked gem, with a cast that won't quit.
The Finsbury are gentle Victorian Brits down on their luck. Where to start with the Finsbury Clan...well Michael Caine plays struggling student doctor Michael Finsbury. He and his uncle, John Mills (Masterman Finsbury) live next door to Masterman's brother Joseph Finsbury (Ralph Richardson), but they don't speak because of long standing feud and the fact they are the last two survivors of a tontine - a trust where all the families of children put in a certain amount of money with the "winner" being the last kid standing. Sort of an exclusive lottery. With all their classmates dead - and both Masterman and Joseph needing the money desperately, they are eager to see the other with one foot in the grave. Since the feud has gone on, Julia Finsbury and John and Morris Finsbury (wards of Joseph) do not speak with Michael Finsbury. Though Julia pines for Michael from the mail slot in her door.
Michael and his riotous butler, Peacock (Wilfred Lawson) are reduced to selling off every piece of china and furniture they can just to make ends meet. When Masterman has a seizure a.k.a. tizzy fit from trying to kill...um, seeing Joseph, everyone presumes he is dead. John and Morris see this as their opportunity to finally gain the pounds they so richly desire. Only they believe Joseph was killing a train wreck. They have to keep Joseph "alive" to win the tontine, so they visit Dr. Pratt who loves cats (Peter Sellers) to get a forged death certificate. Meanwhile Julia and Michael have falling in love, meaning they can get married and live happily ever after with Julie being Julie Finsbury Finsbury....but wait...what happened to the Bournemouth Strangler???
Well, you will just have to watch The Wrong Box to find out!! Mad cap from beginning to end and Caine putting in a wonderful performance showing his comedic skill. Utterly Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Wrong Box, June 1 2004
This review is from: Wrong Box, the (VHS Tape)
This is classic British comedy at its best. It features a plethora of stars and includes a cameo appearance by Peter Sellers that had me in pain from laughing. This is truly a delightful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "The Wrong Box" is the Right Movie, Nov. 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Wrong Box, the (VHS Tape)
This hilarious video is just like the clean Monty Python movie we have all been waiting for. Unlike most British humor, "The Wrong Box" is a movie with a cheerful, relaxing plot and is full of wit. My family highly recomends this movie to anyone who wants to have a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wrong Box, the
Wrong Box, the by Bryan Forbes (VHS Tape - 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 9.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews