Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerously Enjoyable...
Wowee. This is so utterly fantastic. And such a bargain. If you don't buy this video, you're crazy, it's $10.00 for almost 2 hours of mind-blowing music and dancing. It starts out with the controversy of Black or White, which is a crock to me, what's wrong with it? But it shows the reactions after the short film aired, and then it plays the whole video complete with...
Published on Feb. 1 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars sigh.........
i was disapointed when i got this ,i gess i did not read enough before i purches it,i eanted the dangerous show but it is only short film videos of his songs
Published on Dec 17 2012 by josee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerously Enjoyable..., Feb. 1 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Michael Jackson Dangerous - The Short Films (VHS Tape)
Wowee. This is so utterly fantastic. And such a bargain. If you don't buy this video, you're crazy, it's $10.00 for almost 2 hours of mind-blowing music and dancing. It starts out with the controversy of Black or White, which is a crock to me, what's wrong with it? But it shows the reactions after the short film aired, and then it plays the whole video complete with racist graffiti on the car. Afterwards they show behind the scenes footage of the making of the video. Next Janet presents Michael with that Legend Grammy Award, and that's so fantastic. Next is the Superbowl performance of Heal the World. It's great of course. Then is Remember the Time with some behind the scenes footage. I enjoy videos so much more when I get to see what goes on during the making of them. Next is Will You Be There, which is such a great song. I'm unsure if it's an actual video or concert footage used to make a video specifically for this movie but it's fantastic. Next we see In The Closet with behind the scenes footage...that's a terrific video. Next is Gone Too Soon filled with clips of Ryan White. After that is Jam with behind the scenes footage. That cracked me up, watching Michael Jackson trying to teach Michael Jordan to dance. Next is Heal the World the video, followed by Give in to Me, followed by Who is it, and then Dangerous is played while showing footage of the Dangerous tour. Somewhere in there is the NAACP award for Michael. All in all it is a fantastic video. I was intrigued and glued to the screen the entire length of the video, and it boggles my mind that it is going for such an incredibly cheap price. Pick it up, I guarantee you will enjoy it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Jackson Compilation Yet!, Sept. 4 2004
This review is from: Michael Jackson:Dangerous (DVD)
I've seen about every Michael Jackson DVD/VHS you could find, and this still is by far the BEST of them all. This Disc contains so much stuff that many of us may have never seen before that its mesmorizing. To see Black or White the way it was MEANT to be seen is wonderful, to see the Super Bowl performance in CRYSTAL CLEAR quality is remarkable, and the UK version of the "Who Is It?" video (Directed by David Fincher, the genious behind Fight Club and SE7EN) is worth the price alone.
A MUST for any fan of Michael Jackson's music, videos or for any fan of "short films".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, Sept. 6 2003
By 
Sarah (apex north carolina usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Jackson Dangerous - The Short Films (VHS Tape)
This is a great movie. i recomend it more than moonwalker, but they would go great together. this movie starts with black or white then the making of BLACK OR WHITE, it also includes the music videos:
REMEMBER THE TIME, with behind the scenes
JAM, with michael jordan and behind the scenes
IN THE CLOSET, with naomi campbell and behind the scenes
2 versions of HEAL THE WORLD, ones the music video one is at the super bowl
a great performance of WILL YOU BE THERE
GONE TO SOON, a very sad music video about ryan white
WHO IS IT, my favorite music video
DANGEROUS played while showing concert scenes and setting up concerts
and at the end WHY YOU WANT TO TRIP ON ME(great song) playing while showing credits
BONUS'S: a really deep speech by michael, and 2 award shows, the speech was from one with janet jackson presented the award to michael. if you are a michael fan than i strongly recomend this movie for your collection!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome collection!, July 7 2004
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Jackson:Dangerous (DVD)
The audio counterpart of this package was on hit parade from its release in the fall of 1991 to early 1993. HEAL THE WORLD is very similar to WE ARE THE WORLD,recorded in 1985 by MJ and about 40 other American artists as USA FOR AFRICA. In fact MJ penned WATW with ex-Commodore Lionel Richie(Richie was another participant). WILL YOU BE THERE features clips from the 1993 Warner Bros. film FREE WILLY. That song was the film's theme. BLACK OR WHITE features MJ's actor pal MacCaulay Culkin. JAM is an ode to basketball players. REMEMBER THE TIME is awesome. Hollywood great Eddie Murphy plays a pharoah in a castle. All the other videos are 100% awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creativity, Courage, and Vision, July 31 2009
By 
Martha Mallon (Scarborough, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael Jackson:Dangerous (DVD)
Ever since I was a young teen I have been aware of Michael Jackson, but except for the times that my toes have tapped to his music from the radio and his name has been splashed across the headlines, I paid little attention to him. It was only after his death inspired a massive outpouring of worldwide grief that I decided to stifle my "proverbial sniff" and find out what all the fuss was about. After ordering this video, "Dangerous", I was blown away by the creativity, courage, and vision of this young man who explored and commented on topics usually left untouched.
Hatred: Destruction and hope are explored in the first segment of Jackson's two-part video, "Black or White", where we see family and the unifying Ghost Dance as being central and centre stage though surrounded by conflict in the Native American scene, and the fires of prejudice and war are replaced by the hopeful flame of the Statue of Liberty towards the segment's end. But it is in the second dark segment where Jackson shows his genius as he dances a commentary on hatred. Using the metaphor of an orgasm reached through masturbation and basing his composition on Jean Kelly's "Singing in the Rain" dance of love, a Yin to Kelly's Yang, Jackson lays bare the destructive, self-satisfying face of unbridled hatred. Interestingly this video begins and ends with conflict between father and son. Perhaps Jackson is emphasising that attitudes are learned from the family.
Temptation: Though adultery is the temptation being explored in "In the Closet", this short film could be applied as a model to any form of temptation. In an arid monochromatic landscape beside a crumbling structure Jackson dances the conflicting desires, the submission and resistance, aroused by his voluptuous co-star. Three dancers like the fates remind us that it is through our decisions thst we weave the fabric of our lives, and Jackson, in a delightful finale, looking very much like a trickster figure, dances in the doorway of indecision.
Unification: In the first segment of "Give in to Me", a dark and sultry Jackson explores the resistance to and culmination of erotic desire, then surprisingly, in segment two, a refined and elegant Jackson depicts the search for his inner child, his creative self, in "I'll Be There".
The Anima: Man's relation to his feminine is examined in two of Jackson's short films. In "Who Is It" we see a man out of touch with his roots and in a deep depression, longing for a woman who is every thing to every man. This depression, as the rolling faces show, permeates every aspect of his life. Jung would call this a negative anima state where the inner female is undifferentiated. The young man is alone and isolated from his feelings, from life. In sharp contrast, "Will You Be There" depicts the positive anima state where the feminine no longer drains life but gives life, and fills the man with courage and inner strength.
The Masculine: In "Jam" Jackson, again very much the trickster figure, explores and rejoices in the strengths, limitations, and co-existence of the athletic "warrior" male and the creative, playful male.
I would highly recommend this video collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Once and Future King..., June 30 2003
This review is from: Michael Jackson Dangerous - The Short Films (VHS Tape)
...never forget it,
Like I almost did.
The most convincing shots are those thousands of fans crowding out arenas, men and women fainting during live performances of "Man In the Mirror", and the King marching with security agents around the world. That alone is stunning.
What I also think:
*"Why You Wanna Trip on Me" should have been a single and a hit: and they should have completed that video snippet at the end. Or was that part of David Lynch's teaser?
*There are many instances where the viewer is gonna want to stop the vid/DVD, rewind, and see what's on the screen again and again. My favorites for this are the two seldom seen productions "In the Closet" (directed by Herb Ritts, may his soul rest in peace) and "Jam". "In the Closet" has the gorgeous eye candy Naomi Campbell in it, true, but MJ also does some gravity defying, physics be damned movements. Did they remove some of the dude's bones or what?
*They should have put in part of the Superbowl performance when he is shot out from the floor and stands there still for about two minutes (The chutzpah! Superbowl ad minutes are going for the millions and he's just standing there wasting a minute or two in airtime!). That would have been great.
*They say "Dangerous" was a monumental flop. By whose standards?
Didn't it do over like 10 million sales worldwide? That dudn't sound like a flop to me. Plus, do the math. A CD costs something in the neighborhood of 12 to 18 bucks: times 10 million, we're talking between 120 to 180 million bucks worldwide profit on album sales...yeah, yeah minus promotions and production costs, you still have a pretty decent chunka change. That dudn't sound like much of a failure to me.
*Keep an eye out for Tyra Banks, Tiny Lister, Wesley Snipes, Heavy D and Kris Kross. If you blink, you'll miss them.
*The Egyptian group dance on the break during "Remember the Time" is unforgettable.
Worth every penny. Highly re-viewable. Definitely not just for MJ fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THERE IS NOBODY BETTER THAN MICHAEL JACKSON, Dec 7 2001
By 
Joel H Redo (Ledyard, Connecticut United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Jackson:Dangerous (DVD)
MICHAEL JACKSON'S "DANGEROUS THE SHORT FILMS" ON DVD IS AN ABSOLUTE MUST FOR ANYBODY WHO IS A FAN OF THE "KING OF POP". IT INCLUDES ALL OF HIS SHORT FILMS FROM HIS "DANGEROUS" ALBUM INCLUDING: "BLACK OR WHITE" "REMEMBER THE TIME" "IN THE CLOSET" "JAM" "HEAL THE WORLD" "GIVE IN TO ME" AND "WHO IS IT". THE DVD ALSO INCLUDES HIS PERFORMANCE OF "HEAL THE WORLD" AT THE SUPERBOWL AND A TOUCHING TRIBUTE TO RYAN WHITE THE YOUNG BOY WHO DIED OF AIDS. MICHAEL DEDICATED "GONE TO SOON" TO HIM. ANOTHER ADDITION IS "WILL YOU BE THERE" IT IS A COLLECTION OF CONCERT FOOTAGE PERFORMING THE SONG DURING HIS "DANGEROUS TOUR". IN MY OPINION THE HIGHLIGHT OF THE DVD IS A CLIP FROM THE GRAMMY AWARDS A FEW YEARS BACK, WHEN HIS SISTER JANET PRESENTED HER BIG BROTHER WITH THE LEGEND AWARD. MICHAEL'S SPEACH IS TOUCHING AND HEART FELT. THROUGH ALL (...) THIS GUY HAS GONE THROUGH- FROM FALSE ALLEGETIONS WITH KIDS, HIS VITILGO (PIGMENT DISEASE) AND THE PRESS JUST WAITING TO DISSECT EVERYTHING HE DOES AND SAYS HE CONTINUES TO PRODUCE AN AMAZING PRODUCT. YOU DON'T BECOME A LEGEND BY ACCIDENT. HE'S BEEN AMAZING HIS FANS SINCE 1970 AND STILL GOING. WHEN YOU WATCH THIS DVD YOU WILL WANT TO WATCH IT AGAIN, AGAIN. I CAN'T WAIT FOR HIS NEW WORK TO BE PUT ON A DVD, I'LL BE THE FIRST ONE TO LOG ON TO AMAZON TO BUY IT. LUCKILY FOR HIS FANS THIS GUY IS A TRUE SURVIVOR AND RESELIANT, HE KEEPS COMING BACK. BUY IT YOU WON'T REGET IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that he is not just king, but the God of pop, Nov. 14 2001
By 
Amazon Customer (Salt Lake City, UT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Jackson:Dangerous (DVD)
Immaculate, innovative, undeniably king. Although sales for Dangerous never reached what Thriller or even Bad did (likely because of the backfiring publicity stunt that was the last two minutes of Black or White) it is undeniably his best work. Edgy, moving, sincere, and from a time when Michael's carrier wasn't as bogged down with having to proove something like he is now. Thriller and Smooth Criminal aside, MJ's best videos are in this collection. His best dancing, his most memorable moments, and the REAL video for Who Is It, not the MTV version (Which looks to me like the Dangerous video, redubbed with the music for Who Is It. The behind the scenes footage and additional material from that era as a nice touch as well making this DVD the best collection of videos, though History Pt2 is pretty good too. They need to release Moonwalker as well. It'd be nice if they would consider compiling his complete music videos too, I have yet to see the full length version of Bad, and I have only seen clips of Dirty Diana thanks to documentaries on VH1. I would like to have the entire Michael Jackson music video collection available on DVD. Hopefully that's comming soon. I miss the Dangerous era, MJ looked human back then, and despite the contraversies that ruined it for everyone Dangerous is his most underated album, and easily his edgiest and finest work. It's a shame that Invincible didn't reach the quality of this CD, the true platue of his carrere, though not in sales, people got scared off by the contraversy surrounding Black or White, and the incident involving Gordy Chandler, an obvious extortion issue for those who followed the case closely, but it still killed record sales. For those who missed this album and it's videos because of the controversy, pick this album up! And the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Dangerous DVD, March 8 2001
By 
S E R I K O N (CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Jackson:Dangerous (DVD)
Michael has so much talent. Good album and good VHS. I just descovered this page on amazon and I hope that a DVD version will be avaliable. I am writing the first review so hopefully I can get a certificate so I can get it as soon as possible. The DVD should contain the same stuff that the VHS one contains (maybe the publishers may put in more features) The video (and assumingly the DVD as well) contains all but 3 songs from the DANGEROUS album (I Can't Let Her Get Away, She Drives Me Wild, & Keep The Faith).
The Video and most likely the DVD contains the full videos of:
-Black or White (controversy, plus making of)
-Remember The Time (behind scenes)
-Jam (behind scenes Michael Jordan comentary)
-In The Closet (an awesome MJ song and video, plus behind scenes)
-Heal the World (two times, super bowl performance and the video)
-Will You Be There (the complete and non-Free Willy version)
-Gone Too Soon (about that kid with AIDS that everyone forgot about)
-Dangerous (played while showing us snip shots from ihs concert world tour)
-Why You Wanna Trip On Me (played durring the credits)
-Give Into Me (Michael knows good rock with Slash)
-Who Is It (done by the director of FIGHT CLUB, excellent beat)
-(Bonus stuff) of 2 awards and a pretty deep speech from Michael and a little Michael singing with Michael "I'll Be There"
Lets hope this wish of having avaliable this long awaited DVD comes true and we may get it. Michael still has fans in the USA, so let them have their DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Delivers, Dec 21 2000
By 
S E R I K O N (CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Jackson Dangerous - The Short Films (VHS Tape)
Michael has so much talent. Good album and good VHS. I only wish there would be a DVD version...I am hoping. This video contains all but 3 songs from the DANGEROUS album (I Can't Let Her Get Away, She Drives Me Wild, & Keep The Faith).
This Video contains the full videos of:
-Black or White (controversy, plus making of)
-Remember The Time (behind scenes)
-Jam (behind scenes Michael Jordan comentary)
-In The Closet (an awesome MJ song and video, plus behind scenes)
-Heal the World (two times, super bowl performance and the video)
-Will You Be There (the complete and non-Free Willy version)
-Gone Too Soon (about that kid with AIDS that everyone forgot about)
-Dangerous (played while showing us snip shots from ihs concert world tour)
-Why You Wanna Trip On Me (played durring the credits)
-Give Into Me (Michael knows good rock with Slash)
-Who Is It (done by the director of FIGHT CLUB, excellent beat)
-(Bonus stuff) of 2 awards and a pretty deep speech from Michael and a little Michael singing with Michael "I'll Be There"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michael Jackson Dangerous - The Short Films
Michael Jackson Dangerous - The Short Films by Michael Jackson (VHS Tape - 1993)
Used & New from: CDN$ 39.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews