Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Intelligent Science Fiction!
Although this movie was made in 1957, in my opinion it has the most well thought out plot from a scientific viewpoint of any movie that has been produced before or since! The actor that played the geologist was excellent - he played the role with great intensity at all the appropriate points in the film. I felt that the special effects were just excellent(even by todays...
Published on July 11 2002 by Tina Barker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Second Times The Charm.
-"Its been gathering the secrets of time and space for billions of years.And how long do we have to unlock its most important secrets?Three hours or three minutes?"-
The strength of this movie lies in the fact that its such an original story.Despite the title,there are no "monsters" in this movie.The threat comes in the form of a meteor that crashes to earth and when...
Published on Feb. 1 2002 by yosamitesam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best B-Films, June 28 2004
By 
Joshua Koppel (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monolith Monsters [Import] (VHS Tape)
This was the second monster movie I ever saw (right after Them!). Not I have it in my collection and it is better than I remembered.
A small mining town is in danger when a mysterious meteorite falls in the nearby mountains. Black rocks, unexplained deaths and destruction soon follow. Soon the truth is learned as it is discovered that the meteorite is a deadly menace. When the stone comes in contact with water is absorbs the silicates in the area and grows into a Column. Once tall enough, the column topples and shatters creating new pieces to grow and shatter.
Just as the menace is discovered the region experiences a torrential downpour. Gigantic columns of rock begin to tumble down a mountain pass towards the town. An evacuation is put into effect while a method of stopping the crushing rocks is searched for. People who come in contact with the rocks are paralyzed as their silicates are removed. A cure used on a small girl with a paralyzed arm leads to the breakthrough in stopping the monoliths. The only way to stop them before they destroy the town is to blow up the local dam so that it washes salt from the salt mine into the path of the approaching towers.
Although the idea of falling rocks used as monsters seems a bit lame, the movie works (if you ignore the science and biology). Better acting than is found in most monster movies contributes to the films success along with excellent special effects and genuine suspense. The Monolith Monsters should be added to the collection of any monster movie fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best killer rock from outer space movie of all time, March 18 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monolith Monsters [Import] (VHS Tape)
In science fiction films the threat of meteors serves as a plot premise in one of two ways. First, there are the meteors (or asteroids or comets or rouge planets) big enough that when they collide with the earth it is going to literally be the end of the world. Contemporary audiences will be thinking "Deep Impact" and "Armageddon," while those who are older or have a sense of cinematic history will be thinking of "Meteor" and other films all the way back to "When Worlds Collide" (which always makes me think of George Pal and his bride). Second, there are the meteors that crash and bring with them a strange visitor from another planet, which can be anything from a dangerous microscopic organism as we found in "The Andromeda Strain" or a growing monstrous glob that threatens to devour everyone at the local movie palace as in "The Blob." But in the 1957 film "The Monolith Monsters" the writers (Jack Arnold and Robert M. Fresco with the story, Fresco and Norman Jolley with the script) come up with something a little bit different. This time the meteor essentially IS the monster.
The opening for "The Monolith Monsters" is fairly traditional for a Fifties sci fi flick. Paul Frees does an initial voice over and then the meteorite crashes near a small California town. Ben Gilbert (Phil Harvey) just happens to have his car overheat near the impact point and since he happens to be a geologist for the Department of the Interior he checks out the meteorite. What he finds are these pieces of rock that look sort of glassy, like obsidian (they do look good), but he does not notice that a piece of rock that had water spilled on it is smoking. This cannot be good and we would know this even if the music did not provide an ominous clue. That night the wind knocks over a convenient beaker of water that falls on Ben's samples and the rock begins to grow into (you guessed it) a monster monolith.
When fellow geologist Dave Miller (Grant Williams, a.k.a. "The Incredible Shrinking Man") shows up the next day to the office he finds that Ben (cue the music) has been turned to stone. Plus there are all these broken pieces of black rock all over the place. Later that day Dave's girl friend, Cathy Barrett (Lola Albright) takes her class of school children on a field trip to the desert, where young Ginny Simpson (Linda Scheley) finds one of those cool looking pieces of black rock. She takes it home with her but her mother, who has not been watching the movie, insists Ginny wash off that dirty rock before she brings it into the house. By the time Dave starts to piece things together and shows up at the Simpson house, Ginny's parents are turned to stone and so is her arm. What can this all possibly mean?
This is the point in "The Monolith Monsters" where Dave turns to his mentor, Professor Arthur Flanders (Trevor Bardette), who shows up and starts connecting the dots by providing a lot of necessary exposition. The interesting idea here is that these rocks leach all of the silicone out of anything that touch, whether it is the dessert sand or Ginny's arm (I did not know that silicon was a big part of our arms, but then I never did take biology so what do I know? However, that iron lung doing what it does makes no sense at all). But the monster in this film is rather unique and for once there is not a lot of time wasted getting everybody to do the right thing; the closest thing to a villain in the film is veteran character actor William Schallert who plays a weatherman whose true level of expertise is about what you would expect from a 1950s weatherman.
Dave is a rather classic science fiction B-movie hero and there is something to be said for the film's simple solution to the menace of the monoliths (it is a simple household item found on most dinning room tables). For that matter the monoliths, which grow into this giant obelisks that then splinter and topple forward (decent special effects for the time), ready to repeat the process during the next thunderstorm, are pretty interesting just because they are so decidedly different; in other words, they are truly alien. You also have to like the brisk pace of this story, which director John Sherwood ("The Creature Walks Among Us") brings in at 77 minutes. Not a great film this remains a solid B-movie from the period that offers more than its share of originality with the ideas if not the execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Towers of Stone., Nov. 27 2002
By 
Robert S. Clay Jr. (St. Louis, MO., USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monolith Monsters [Import] (VHS Tape)
Meteor fragments from deep space grow gigantic and mobile after contact with plain water. What is worse, they absorb the silica out of human flesh and turn people into stone. (Silicon Valley nothwithstanding, I had to look up "silica," too). This nifty-'50s sci-fi flick is unique because the "monster" is a bunch of rocks. Not giant bugs or radioactive dinosaurs, mind you, but rocks with an attitude of deadly intention. Giant rocks that crush buildings and steadily move down the canyon toward the helpless desert town. The authorities run around with more than the usual B movie incredulity because they can't fathom what space-age menace is on the loose now. Our favorite scene is after Grant Williams figures out that water gives the rocks mysterious power, it starts raining heavily in an arid area that probably hadn't seen more than a passing shower for months. The script includes the obligatory mysterious deaths and enough suspense to keep classic sci-fi/horror fans amused. Sighful-eyeful, Lola Albright lends her considerable talents to the story. Sadly, her role as a "Miss Landers"-type schoolteacher means she dresses modestly, and there is no cleavage or cheesecake. Filmed in glorious B&W, this Universal entry is an entertaining second string effort. Fine for collectors and die-hard fans of '50s sci-fi. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Intelligent Science Fiction!, July 11 2002
By 
Tina Barker (Edmonton, Alberta CANADA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monolith Monsters [Import] (VHS Tape)
Although this movie was made in 1957, in my opinion it has the most well thought out plot from a scientific viewpoint of any movie that has been produced before or since! The actor that played the geologist was excellent - he played the role with great intensity at all the appropriate points in the film. I felt that the special effects were just excellent(even by todays standards). Even after all these years, I still get goosebumps when I watch this movie. The concept of these crystals growing to colossal heights & propagating across the country with the simple addition of water (which allowed them to draw silica from the earth) was mind boggling. This movie has never been given the credit it so richly deserves. It certainly would be wonderful if audiences could again be treated to a science fiction movie such as this with such well thought out concepts.
This movie would be a prime choice for a remake if it remained true to the original story line & just updated the technology, special effects & sound(which would be truly awesome with THX).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Second Times The Charm., Feb. 1 2002
By 
"yosamitesam" (Port Carbon, Pa. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monolith Monsters [Import] (VHS Tape)
-"Its been gathering the secrets of time and space for billions of years.And how long do we have to unlock its most important secrets?Three hours or three minutes?"-
The strength of this movie lies in the fact that its such an original story.Despite the title,there are no "monsters" in this movie.The threat comes in the form of a meteor that crashes to earth and when exposed to water grows to gigantic proportions only to come crashing back down to the earth where it breaks into pieces and the process is repeated over and over again...
To tell you more would ruin the film for you because a major portion of the movie is dedicated to discovering the secrets of the meteor and finding a way to stop its slow advance towards the town of San Angelo.
One problem I had with the film was that no one was ever in any immediate danger from the falling rocks.A scene with one of the main characters speeding down the highway while the monoliths are crashing down around him would have done a lot to boost the excitement level.
All told,this is a decent little flick.The spfx are good if not great and the cast is pretty solid.I thought it had a bit more potential than what made it to the screen but I definetly enjoyed it more the second time I watched it.
If you like 50's sci-fi but your looking for something a little different I dont think you'll regret making this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Silly EFX, good story., May 23 2001
By 
Daniel J. Filice (Burbank, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monolith Monsters [Import] (VHS Tape)
First of all I could have sworn I saw a DVD of this film. But in andy case...
Like all of the '50's Sci-Fi movies one must put away their modern-day objections and open their minds to some silliness. If one can't do that, all of these movies will be nothing more than kids stuff. "Monolith Monsters" must be viewed with the same open-mindedness. It's a good story that allows the mystery to build before we get to the payoff: So-so special effects of "living" rocks that grow into "monoliths" of towering, tumbling rocks that threaten a desert community. One can't help to ask: "How long have the meteor fragments been in the desert and is this the first time it ever rained to initiate this terror?" Don't be a cynical adult when watching this film and you'll enjoy it. It makes for a good weekend watch with your kids or by yourself and is much better than many other '50's Sci-Fi movies. On a quality scale, I put it slightly below "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" or "Them" but equal to "Trantula." For those (like me) who can't help themselves when it comes to '50's Sci-Fi, this is a film worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE MOST COMPELLING PHALLIC IMAGERY IN CINEMA, Oct. 8 1999
By 
David White (Meriden, Connecticut) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monolith Monsters [Import] (VHS Tape)
...for what that's worth. Like the last reviewer, I saw it at a very early age. Thirty years later (channel flipping at 1 am), I recognized it instantly--from nothing more than the opening scene of a car moving down a desert highway. It must be a very special movie that something like that should happen--twice, judging from saxsdad's review. And forget the allegory-for-the-communist-threat hypothesis: that's a (thankfully discredited) analysis of 50's sci-fi that began in the paraniod imaginings of professors paid on the side by the column inch. Nevertheless, Monolith Monsters abounds in rich Freudian imagery (this last to film students hard-up for a paper topic). And it has all the elements of classic Hollywood 50's sci-fi: it takes place in the DESERT, there are Scientifical Experiments and Explanations, it has Alien Monsters, and High-Technology (albeit an iron lung)--all except radiation (being the California desert, not NM). The B/W photography rounds out Monolith Monster's bona fides. Get it while you still can. Whenever you have an apartment that needs cleaning, dishes that need washing, or a paper due in the morning, you'll never tire of watching this instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Typical, but interesting. The original Magic Rocks., April 25 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Monolith Monsters [Import] (VHS Tape)
This is the same kind of dull '50s sci-fi we're all used to. You know, the kind that winds up on MST3K because it's so bad! Many people have drawn the Communist-Threat analogy to this type of movie which goes to show you can read just about anything into a weather report or a Valentine.
The threat this time is brought about by a mysterious meteor that crashes to earth depositing a strange, black, obsidian-like rock all around the impact site in the desert. But when a geologist spills water on a fragment, it GROWS! If that weren't bad enough, it absorbs moisture from anything nearby, including people. Soon, the rocks begin to grow into tall spires, which fall over and create more fragments that grow and... well, you get the idea. The little helpless town of San Angelo is directly in the path of the oncoming monoliths, and there's a race against time to figure out a way to stop the menace.
Imagine being menaced by mono-colored Magic Rocks and you've got the picture.
If John Agar were in it, he could not have made this flick more unbearable to watch. Rotten acting abounds, although the heroine love interest is cute and has a certain amount of talent. The idea of the movie is pretty clever too. This might make a really good remake.
Buy it if you've got tons of bucks. Rent it otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like wine, this movie gets better with age, Feb. 22 2001
By 
"fishnfool" (SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Monolith Monsters [Import] (VHS Tape)
I saw this film in its original release and thought it interesting even tho it had no "critters" in it. The plot presented a scientific challenge to a group of ordinary people in an isolated community. They must solve the mystery to save lives. This was standard SF fare in 1957. Viewed in comparison to today's mega-$million SciFi extravaganzas, it is refreshingly simple and nostalgic. B&W, crude special effects, mono-dimensional people, and no sex or nudity but it has a lasting quality of being almost believeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not your average 50's scifi monster movie..., June 30 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Monolith Monsters [Import] (VHS Tape)
I remember this movie as a kid in the early 60's when it first turned up on television and never forgot it. Not your average giant insect, giant reptile kind of escapism. It stands as an original for it's time and like most all of those nuclear terror scifi films, it does have a message of sorts, but mostly it is just plain unique fun...after all, how often are rocks the culprit of our anialation--current meteor flicks excepted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monolith Monsters [Import]
Monolith Monsters [Import] by John Sherwood (VHS Tape - 1996)
Used & New from: CDN$ 29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews