Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENTERTAINING ANGELS...
"Do not forget to entertain strangers, for some people have entertained angels without knowing it." Hebrews 13:2
The world's three great religions incorporate angels as real, created entities, messengers between the world of mortals and God. And movies about angels, both good and bad, will always be messengers of film entertainment. Here's a new to DVD...
Published on July 29 2003 by Robin Simmons

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wenders' Tale
If you have NOT seen "Wings of Desire", you will not like this film, because its understanding draws from your experience of its predecessor. If you HAVE seen "Wings", you will not like this film, either. Because in "Wings" are poured all the film-maker's reflections on Life and its loneliness. No more original ideas are left to make its...
Published on June 25 2001 by W., YUNZHEN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENTERTAINING ANGELS..., July 29 2003
By 
Robin Simmons (Palm Springs area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Do not forget to entertain strangers, for some people have entertained angels without knowing it." Hebrews 13:2
The world's three great religions incorporate angels as real, created entities, messengers between the world of mortals and God. And movies about angels, both good and bad, will always be messengers of film entertainment. Here's a new to DVD title about a good angel that's worthy of your time.
FAR AWAY, SO CLOSE! is the flip side to "Wings of Desire." Here, instead of desiring to be flesh and blood, the angel seeks to understand why humans have such a hard time experiencing the spiritual. These two films, taken together, offer a stunning and profoundly moving picture of the bittersweet, paradoxical and all-too-brief human experience. Both are of the highest order of mature filmmaking: intelligent, emotional, and visually stunning. They provide a memorable, meaningful and authentic experience about life's deepest mysteries. We are indeed spiritual beings having a human experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price for the director's commentary alone, Feb. 13 2001
By A Customer
Although I'd already seen the movie when it was released on VHS some years ago, I purchased this DVD because of the blurb on the back cover mentioning that it contained "Director Wim Wenders' Audio Commentary." It turned out to be just that: Wender's commentary overlaid throughout the full length of the movie. It was like being in the theater with Wender's sitting next to me, explaining every scene and regaling the listener with anecdotes about the movie, its actors, and his experiences as a director. It would be wonderful if more directors did this sort of thing; a feature uniquely suited to DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ENTERTAINING ANGELS..., July 29 2003
By 
Robin Simmons (Palm Springs area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Do not forget to entertain strangers, for some people have entertained angels without knowing it." Hebrews 13:2
The world's three great religions incorporate angels as real, created entities, messengers between the world of mortals and God. And movies about angels, both good and bad, will always be messengers of film entertainment. Here's a new to DVD title about a good angel that's worthy of your time.
FAR AWAY, SO CLOSE! is the flip side to "Wings of Desire." Here, instead of desiring to be flesh and blood, the angel seeks to understand why humans have such a hard time experiencing the spiritual. These two films, taken together, offer a stunning and profoundly moving picture of the bittersweet, paradoxical and all-too-brief human experience. Both are of the highest order of mature filmmaking: intelligent, emotional, and visually stunning. They provide a memorable, meaningful and authentic experience about life's deepest mysteries. We are indeed spiritual beings having a human experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Wim Wenders Home Run, Dec 16 2002
By 
"johann575" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
One of Wneders better efforts, I would call this more of a companion to rather than a sequel to "Wings of Desire". Overall, I think "Wings of Desire" was a better movie, it seems as though Wenders was trying to be a little more mainstream in this film, but nonetheless, an excellent film in the same veign as "Wings of Desire". I think it would have been that much better if he hadn't spent so much time on the character who was an arms dealer and the angels attempts to thwart his operation. This section of the movie came off as a mad cap adventure, and was not true to the overall tone and message of the film. But perhaps Wenders was trying to interject some levity in this film, he is known to be a bit heavy-handed in his other efforts.
I would not necessarily say that one MUST see "Wings of Desire" to enjoy this film, but it would sure help, as that film sets up much the character development for "Far Away, So Close"
Both films are insightful, well written, thought-provoking, well acted, and have great cinematography.
Most highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wenders' Tale, June 25 2001
By 
W., YUNZHEN "Serendivinny" (Mountain View, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have NOT seen "Wings of Desire", you will not like this film, because its understanding draws from your experience of its predecessor. If you HAVE seen "Wings", you will not like this film, either. Because in "Wings" are poured all the film-maker's reflections on Life and its loneliness. No more original ideas are left to make its sequel a viable continuation. Perhaps that's why "Far away..." looks so tired, so exhausted of creative impulse, undecided between the tragic and the comical. The devices that are impressive in "Wings", such as the internal murmurs, the down-to-earth dialogue between angels and an "inspired" Peter Falk, don't work here with the same impact. Apparently Wenders attempted to make up for the lack of original ideas with a more story-like narrative, but that is a poor compensation. Telling an entertaining story with plot is never Wender's forte. I miss the haunting imagery and the sad timelessness of "Wings". Cannot wait to see it on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SEEKING MEANING, March 3 2003
By 
Robin Simmons (Palm Springs area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
More than sex, food or survival, we are creatures driven to find meaning in our lives (or so it's said by those who claim to know such things). A recent film that taps into that mindset, with success, is now available in a fine digital edition.
FAR AWAY, SO CLOSE is a subtle, almost ephemeral film that dares to tackle the profound question of why we humans have such a hard time experiencing, explaining and understanding the spiritual as ultimate reality (the rest is merely phenomena).
This superb companion piece to Wim Wenders much praised 1987 "Wings of Desire" works best with the least amount of foreknowledge.
Let go and consider the wonder, beauty and truth that we are indeed spiritual beings having a human experience.
Highest recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Berlin Ground., Feb. 26 2004
By 
R Jess "Raymond Jess" (Limerick, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Far Away, So Close [Import] (VHS Tape)
The success of 'Wings Of Desire' must have prompted Wenders to come up with a sequel. It certainly makes a greater effort at garnishing a wider audience, with the addition of Natassja Kinski, Willem Dafoe & Horst Buchholz to the previous cast. The script also has the novelty of being in 4 different languages.
In 'Wings Of Desire' Bruno Ganz's transformation from angel to human could be seen as a desire by Berliners each side of the wall to overcome their imprisonment from each other. In 'Faraway, So Close', the moral confusion that Otto Sander witnesses when he crashes down from above, mirrors the uneasy turmoil of the new united Berlin. Like an East Berliner untutored in the ways of the West, he stumbles about in an unsophisticated way until his new freedoms begin to overwhelm him and he finds his only refuge in a bottle. Despite all this, he tries to find meaning and do good, but finds that in the new Germany, the only options open to an ex-angel (or an ex-communist) is the criminal underworld.
Although the film starts to lose its way in the final farcical half hour, there are some impressive performances here, especially Horst Buchholz (last seen in 'The Magnificent Seven').
Wenders last great film, his talent has since floundered in making movies with the likes of Mel Gibson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, Sept. 30 2001
By 
Jose M. Luque Gonzalez "Pepe Luque" (Bogota, COLOMBIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are tired of watching the same movies, you should try this one. The story of angels walking between humans and their effort to understand them is a wonderful chance to understand a little bit more about ourselves.
Cassiel and the other angels teach us how beautiful life is, despite all problems we have to face.
In addition, the music by U2 and the images of Berlin are just another reason to watch it.
Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Where is the DVD for Wings Of Desire?, Sept. 10 2000
By 
Greg Ferris (Marrickville, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This is almost a great film: beautifully shot, the transfer to DVD should be remarkable. Unfortunately structurely the film falls apart about two thirds of the way through, leaving the viewer feeling slightly ripped off.
My main complaint - where & when is the DVD release of Wings Of Desire - far and away the superior of the two films (pun intended).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, Nov. 25 2002
If you liked "Beautiful Mind" so don't even think about to read this. OK, it's dense. But it's quite fine and useful for further analysis. especially if you are reading or working out Heidegger and existentialist thought as well. To see over and over again. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far Away, So Close [Import]
CDN$ 115.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews