Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Defining Action Movies of the 80s
The sequel to the critically acclaimed First Blood, Rambo is a film that delivers with intense action from start to finish. You can't be a fan of action movies until you have seen Rambo!
The movie begins with Colonel Troutman (played by the late Richard Crenna) visiting Rambo in hard-labor prison to offer him the chance of a pardon should he return to Vietnam to...
Published on March 12 2003 by John Nolley II

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Do we get to win this time? Yep Rambo, you sure do.
I grew up with Rambo as a kid. Not FIRST BLOOD, the first movie, but this one. This was back in the 80's when R rated movies were aimed at kids and times were great. I mean, I had Rambo action figures. Nowadays, I'm twenty-four and I still get carded to see an R Rated movie.
Anyway, I just bought the DVD and I hadn't seen this movie in years. All I remembered was...
Published on Aug. 18 2003 by C. Law


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Defining Action Movies of the 80s, March 12 2003
By 
John Nolley II (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
The sequel to the critically acclaimed First Blood, Rambo is a film that delivers with intense action from start to finish. You can't be a fan of action movies until you have seen Rambo!
The movie begins with Colonel Troutman (played by the late Richard Crenna) visiting Rambo in hard-labor prison to offer him the chance of a pardon should he return to Vietnam to investigate claims of POWs still held there.
Though asking if "they'll be allowed to win this time," Rambo accepts the mission. Once on the ground, Rambo does find and rescues a POW only to find the political motivations of his mission did not include actually finding anyone. Abandoned by this own men, Rambo must fight out of the jungle with the help of Ko, a pretty young Vietnamese intelligence operative hopeful to leave the war behind against an entire army of Vietnamese soldiers and their Russian allies.
Cold War action at its best, Rambo puts its title character in an impossible situation and lets him shoot, knife, and muscle his way out of it. When he finally returns to base in Thailand and confronts the men who abandoned him in the jungle, he tells Troutman, "I want what they want, what every other guy who came over here and spilled his guts and gave everything he had wants: for our country to love us as much as we love it," the plea of every Vietnam vet who went to a war they didn't want but did the best they could.
Directed by James Cameron before his mania for the Titanic, Rambo is sure to thrill. Great from one end to the other!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Rambo" DVD Review, July 6 2004
By 
Crazy Jim (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
Where "First Blood" was a low-budget sleeper hit about a Vietnam vet still caught up in the nightmare, "Rambo" is a much larger and more elaborate fireworks display of an action film. Stallone's John Rambo is offered a potential pardon if he returns to Vietnam and brings back proof that there are still American soliders being held captive there. While there, he starts a one-man war against the sadistic Vietnamese soldiers and their Russian counterparts (led by everyone's favorite villian Steven Berkoff). "Rambo" is in may ways a marketable action vehicle for Stallone using patriotism as a good excuse to use every weapon imaginable to blow up everyone and everything in sight. While it does try to provide a message about the war and its importance, it is rather difficult to take this loud over-the-top live action toy commercial seriously as a "message movie". As a fun piece of adrenaline-filled action, it does however do its job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars 1/6 of the movie is pretty entertaining., Jan. 6 2004
When people think of Rambo and all that he represents, they're actually thinking of First Blood Part II (and Rambo III), replaced by a more escapist-oriented tone and approach. Virtually absent from this film is the "realism" of the first picture. Through and through, Rambo is nothing more than a full-blooded action film and because it's more forthcoming with its modest aspirations, it makes for better and more consistent entertainment than its predecessor. That still doesn't say much.
After the events of the first film, John Rambo (Sylvester Stallone) is still serving time in a prison, but is given the opportunity for a pardon of all wrongdoings if he participates in a top-secret operation. Informed of the plan briefly after his release, he will parachute into Vietnam to search for evidence of American POWs in a specific prison camp. He's not to engage in combat, only to take photos. Teamed up with Co Bao (Julia Nickson), a Vietnamese freedom fighter, he sets out to free all the prisoners, even against the orders of his superiors.
Anyone looking for entertainment value based on plot and characters will be sorely disappointed. Both aspects are where the movie's flaws lie. Generally, the story just isn't that interesting, usually serving to drag the picture down rather than giving it a boost in between the action scenes. Stallone still makes for an effective Rambo, this time elevating his character to genuine action hero status. The human qualities he displayed in the first film are still evident, mixing in nicely with his outlandish heroics.
But it's virtually everyone else who's subpar. As the love interest, Julia Nickson was chosen for her appearance (and yes, she's very beautiful), but this isn't a role that does her any favors. Not only is the actress obviously half-caucasian, to give her the flavor of a Vietnamese woman, she speaks broken English, meaning she says lines like "You not expendable," basically leaving a word or two out of each sentence. But her pronunciation of each word is so precise and without a hint of an accent, it's so obvious she's actually fluent in English. Why didn't the filmmakers just let her play her character as such?
Aside from Richard Crenna, all the supporting players, whether on the American, Vietnamese, or Russian side, are all one-dimensional caricatures. As service to a mindless action film, that's not necessarily a bad thing, but knowing where all the characters stand from their very first appearance (even the so-called traitors are easy to point out) makes for less interesting viewing.
When the action is on-screen, FBII is sometimes a good slice of thrilling escapism. The first hour is completely dull, none of the shootouts or fights are directed with much flair or energy, but the last fifteen minutes are actually a pretty jolly good time, with Rambo taking on both the Russian and Vietnamese armies. Standout action scenes include the fight aboard the Russian chopper, the destruction of the prison camp, and the climactic helicopter chase, one of the series' most exhilarating action setpieces (nice to see the movie end on a very high note). The film is nicely backed by Jerry Goldsmith's rousing score, one of the famed composer's best works.
Released the same year as that other one-man army flick, Arnold Scwarzenegger's Commando, FBII is superior in many ways. The action choreography is slicker and arguably on a larger scale, the cinematography and direction is overall crisper, and Goldsmith's score is far more effective than James Horner's. But in the end, Commando is the far more entertaining picture because it maintains a fast pace and a great sense of macho fun from the first minute to the last. That, and a good sense of humor, is what elevates that film to the top of its kind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars "Rambo Takes On Vietnam", Dec 11 2003
By 
Daniel R. Sanderman (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Now...I like action just as much as any guy. I grew up watching these films with my father, running around the backyard pretending to be Rambo. But as I grow older, I cannot understand why Rambo fans want to defend this film. Whereas the first film had interest, the next two films completely lose it. "First Blood" had an interesting Vietnam vet dealing with issues in the states. Stallone's acting in the final scene of that movie actually is a credit to his ability. But this film...well...they might as well have called it "Rambo Takes On Vietnam" or "Screw the Plot, More Action." While this film tries to recapture a bit of the first film's message, particularly in a few monologues that speak to the hopelessness of the Vietnam situation, it quickly descends into a bloodbath. Rambo starts using rockets and explosives to take out single enemy soldiers-the very definition of overkill.
Two scenes do create particular delight for me, however. The scene in which Rambo emerges from a muddy embankment and the scene in which he calmly takes out the Vietnamese captain with a single arrow, despite multiple bullets being hurled his direction. These scenes must be watched over and over again, if only for their hilarious content.
All in all, I think it's important for anyone to see the entire trilogy-if only for completion's sake. Just don't expect to find anything remotely close to the first film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "To survive a war, you have to become war...", Aug. 19 2003
By 
A. J Velarde (Miami, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Rambo II is one of those movies that in a way surpass its predecessor. It's more action oriented but with a somewhat cool plot. The movie itself is one of the most definitive action movies of the 80's. Directed by italian director, George Cosmatos, the movie was the one who put the name "Rambo" in common use in the USA. Also it was written by James Cameron (of the "Terminator" saga and Titanic) and Sylvester Stallone. The hidden subject in this movie is actually the idea of Rambo "winning" the vietnam war but there is more to it. When this movie opened in 85, the Cold War was as its best. Reagan used this movie to put himself into the "rambomania" frenzy, we all know that Reagan use all the media at his disposal but that's another story whatsoever.
The movie is rated R for violence mostly, there are a couple of bad words and blood but teens can get to it without much trouble. The whole idea of the "expendable" issue is a good theme for discussion between parents and kids or teacher and students.
Rambo: First Blood Part II (in some countries called "Rambo II: The Mission) now in this DVD format is a definitive movie for the action fan, specially if you are a fan of the 80's movie. This edition has clear image and excellent sound. The process for digitalization of the picture was done perfectly so you won't believe you are actually watching a movie almost 20 years old.
The documentary has a lot of cool info, even for those "Rambomania" fans would find this very interesting and with interviews with cast and crew including Stallone, the late Richard Crenna, and others. Also the director Cosmatos and the producers get into the documentary with interesting facts (the idea of pairing Stallone and Travolta as a sidekick was a novelty for me!!!) is a good source for inside info.
The trailers (some are TV spots) are also quite good but they haven't been "cleaned up" so they look like they are quite old and the sound in those is not remastered. There's also a section on the stars and the crew with filmography and stuff it's informative but that's it.
The extras are good. It would be fun if they throw a lot of deleted scenes into it, but there isn't. The audio commentary of Cosmatos is so-so there aren't much there either.
Finally I must say this edition contain both the widescreen version and the full screen version so you can go wrong there. The movie comes with subtitles in spanish for both versions.
From 1 to 5: Movie=4, Sound Quality=5, Video Quality=5, Extras=3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Do we get to win this time? Yep Rambo, you sure do., Aug. 18 2003
By 
C. Law (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I grew up with Rambo as a kid. Not FIRST BLOOD, the first movie, but this one. This was back in the 80's when R rated movies were aimed at kids and times were great. I mean, I had Rambo action figures. Nowadays, I'm twenty-four and I still get carded to see an R Rated movie.
Anyway, I just bought the DVD and I hadn't seen this movie in years. All I remembered was that I used to like it when I was young. Guess what? It's still cool. This is Sylvester Stallone at his very best (aside from COPLAND where he and everyone else were brilliant). First time viewers may have to take themselves back to the eighties to enjoy this one but this was some ground breaking action back in the day.
I also just realized that this was written by James Cameron too if that tells you anything. I guess when it came out originally I didn't even know who he was. If he's behind it then it has to be good right? Okay, forget SOLARIS, most of Cameron's stuff is quality. All in all, I liked this movie. It's a little dated but not much. I'm glad I bought it. Thanks Rambo. Thanks Trautman.
C+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He not expendable, Aug. 14 2003
Only Sylvester Stallone, an Italian, has the acting skills to realistically portray the character John Rambo, a former special forces soldier of German and American Indian decent. The depth of this character only proves that Stallone is the greatest thesbian in the history of American cinema. John Rambo's mission is to return to Vietnam and photograph former POW camps. Hundreds of thousands of G.I.s served in Vietnam, but John Rambo is the only one who knows this particular area. Hand selected by a top secret CIA project, Rambo goes in......
The deliberately slow knife sharpening scene, showing off buldging triceps and massive muscular definition, reflects the sentiment of American movie goers of 1985. America is strong, Reagan has a finger on the button, we will destroy Communism, and we want our movies filled with violence, as long as it is tastefully done and against America's enemies.
First Rambo's parachute doesn't open, then his contact is a woman, then he is abandoned by America after rescuing a living American POW, then he is tortured by Vietnamese and Russian officers. Only Rambo can save the day by destroying Vietnam with a bow and arrow, an obsolete helicopter, and an M-60 with a limitless amount of ammunition.
It's not the action that carries this film though, again remember it is the superb acting skills of Sly Stallone. He must have served in the military for fifty years to be able to single-handedly infiltrate a camp, fly a chopper, know every hand-held weapon known to man, know the entire continent of Asia, and kill a battalion of Russian soldiers with a knife while hiding nude in a mudslide.
Where is the Rambo of the 21st Century? Has America turned into a nation of weaklings with no room or love for John J. Rambo? Save us Rambo, if only you could go to Iraq, Iran, and North Korea. The world can be safe, happy, and harmonious with the help of Rambo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What most people call hell, he calls home., June 22 2003
By 
Mary A. Palkowski "marskee" (Milwaukee, WI United States, Satellite of Love) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
John Rambo (Sylvester Stallone) is in a prison for the events of the previous movie (see FIRST BLOOD), when his mentor, Col. Sam Trautman (Richard Crenna) comes to see him about a mission back to Vietnam, where he has a pardon coming if he accepts. Rambo accepts and finds out the specifics: It seems that the government's looking for American MIA's in Vietnam that are still being held there. Marshall Murdock (Charles Napier), Rambo's superior on this mission, tells him two things: Take only photographs of the MIAs, and do not engage the enemy. Begrudingly, Rambo begins his mission, and not only takes photographs of the MIAs, but brings one with him. When Murdock hears about this, he orders the chopper supposed to fly Rambo back to pull out. Murdock was hoping for nobody. Rambo, betrayed by his own government, must now help the MIAs, with the help of Co (Julia Nickson), a renegade Vietnamese agent, get out of Vietnam. Of course there is opposition: The Russian army and the Vietnamese army.
The sequel had all but one thing. It had the action, dialogue quality, action, drama, and did I mention action? The only thing missing: the thriller quality of its predecessor. Still, a good film before rambo became completely superhuman in the next sequel, Rambo III (1988). The DVD, like all others in the trilogy, has excellent video and audio quality. The features start off with an good commentary by director George Cosmatos. He talks about the making of the movie, among other things. Next up is a documentary called "We Get to Win This Time: The Rambo Phenomenon", which focuses on elemenst of the film, like the Cold War era, why the Russians wre used, shooting in Mexico, and how James Cameron wrote the original screenplay (and Sly tweaked it) when the movie was still called "First Blood II: The Mission". Then you get your production notes, theatrical trailer, and either a video release trailer or TV spot (The quality of the second one makes it either one) All in all, a solid DVD release for any action fan.
RAMBO: FIRST BLOOD PART II
(1985, R)
John J. Rambo: Sylvester Stallone
Col. Samuel Trautman: Richard Crenna
Marshall Murdock: Charles Napier
Lt. Col. Podovsky: Steven Berkoff
Co Bao: Julia Nickson
Ericson: Martin Kove
Director: George P. Cosmatos
Writers: Kevin Jarre (story), Sylvester Stallone, James Cameron
MOVIE: 4
VIDEO: 5
AUDIO: 5
EXTRAS: 4
MENUS: 5
OVERALL: 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff!, March 15 2003
By 
B. J O'Connor "noonions" (Holmdel,NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's impossible for a real American not to like this movie.When it was released in 1985,it was a huge hit,and with good reason.It finally put the lie to the notion that America was the villan in Vietnam while the Vie Cong and their Soviet allies were the heroes.In this film,the latter are potrayed as sadistic scum,while Rambo,representing American values,is shown as brave,principled,and resourceful.When,at the beginning of this film,Rambo asks "Do we get to win this time?",he speaks for every American who felt betrayed,whether it was by self-serving goverment bureaucrats(represented by Murdock,Rambo's hateful commanding officer)or left-wing so-called intellectuals who stabbed America's fighting men in the back.The movie rips both types of scum while celebrating the ingenuity and sheer guts of the american fighting man."Rambo Part II" may not be added to the list of "great" war movies,but,in its own way,it helped shape our culture,and change America from a land of Alan Alda/Phil Donahue-type wimps to a self-confident nation that could kick the crap of Saddam Hussein and the Al-Qaida.*** out of ***
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rambo - First Blood Part II (Special Edition)DVD, Feb. 19 2003
By 
Goldenroom (Amherst, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This is a sequal that isnt bad, but wasnt done perfectly. The first movie "first blood" was so great that it deserves a perfect sequal, but this film was not. If I had my way, I would have done a prequal that showed Rambo and his military buddies during Vietnam and some of the problems he faced from American Society when he returned. This sequal however has Rambo returning to Vietnam to look for and rescue missing POWs. The premise wasnt that bad, and missing POWs in Vietnam is a very real and scary issue that alot of people today forget or dont know about. This movie just went to over the top and was far from realistic or meaningful like "first blood". It shows vietnam soldiers who seem like they are still in Vietnam war mode even 15 years later like they have nothing better to do. Somehow the Russians get thrown into the mix and the movie makes even less sense(obviously a cheap patriotic ploy during the coldwar era). Im actually suprised they didnt have the Iranians join the fight against Rambo.
Lets be honest; this film ruined the true meaning and greatness of "first blood". Looking back, there is no denying that "first blood" is still an amazing movie with meaning and stirs emotion to this very day. Rambo 2 took away from a truly great film "first blood" and turned Rambo into a killing machine. The only reason Rambo went into kill mode in the first film was because he was pushed too far. He was a man who lost his friends in battle and sense of home/belonging. He did everything he could do to evade violence and go his own way, but he was pushed around too far and too many times. In the sequal "Rambo 2", he is hardly even the same character. Still, I can see how some people could like the movie and it almost gets 3 stars for the great action. You may dissagree with me, but there is a reason why "First blood" cost more to buy then Rambo 2 and 3.
The Extra features in this DVD are pretty good. There is a documentary on the Rambo series and you get commentary from director George Cosmatos(but no Stallone commentary).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

First Blood
First Blood by Ted Kotcheff (VHS Tape)
Used & New from: CDN$ 20.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews