Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I AIN'T JIVIN. . . BRANDO DOES ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would have to agree with other reviewers that this film is rather corny, but for its time it was revolutionary. Throughout the film I must admit I had several laughs with lines such as, "You're too square" and "Anybody thinks their too good for me, I knock 'em over sometime". And phraseology such as "that's corn ball style". And Brando's...
Published on July 11 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lee Marvin makes it watchable
For indepth plot analysis, check out some previous reviews. Most everyone knows who the characters are and what this flick is about. But it all boils down to the fact that this is a pretty square picture, made by a bunch of squares, all trying desparately to be hip and capture the essence of something entirely new and elusive, which was Beat coolness, crossed with...
Published on Nov. 1 2003 by Ryan McNabb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Rebels Looking For A Cause, July 13 2000
This review is from: Wild One [Import] (VHS Tape)
Marlon Brando stars as the leader of a biker gang that invades a small town and turns everything upside down. To be honest, these bikers don't seem particularly dangerous, and some of the dialogue is so rooted in the Fifties' slang I found myself laughing out loud. However, the Brando performance makes the movie worth a look, and he has an interesting relationship with the sheriff's daughter. I'm sure this film had a much bigger impact on its Fifties audience than it does nowadays. For me it was a step back into another time for seventy minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heck on Wheels., Aug. 26 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild One [Import] (VHS Tape)
This movie starts out showing that appeasement is wrong and just buys you trouble. The cyclists are repelled from one town by a cop who stands up to them, and then go on to the next place which cottons to them, for a while anyway.
There are some good scenes and a few good lines, though. Surely we've all seen clips of Brando's character response to the question, "What are you rebelling against?" with the deft reply, "Whaddya got?"
When he starred in this, Lee Marvin wasn't too far out of the WWII Marines, and it shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic for Brando fans, June 20 1999
This review is from: Wild One [Import] (VHS Tape)
Brando plays Johnny, the leader of the Blind Rebels motorcycle club, who wander into a small town with one cop. Johnny doesnt like cops by the way. A rival gang, lead by Lee Marvin, heads into town to help cause trouble, with the town and the Blind Rebels. Brando is very cool in this one but, the only really convincing tough guy is Lee Marvin. Based on a real incident that most likely was not this comedic. I doubt the real bikers were this nice either. Forget about all of that and have fun with it, because Marlon is crazy, dad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 46 years later..., Dec 16 2000
I look at this film today through very different eyes than when I first saw it as a high-schooler in '54.
Of course a lot of it seems hokey now, and with good reason: the world is a far less innocent place than it was in those bucolic, Eisenhower, pre-R&R days.
But when it first came out, it was Hot Stuff. Bad guys, noisy bikes, beer-drinking, and girls in tight sweaters were a big deal to us then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Video Museum, May 14 2000
Regardless of how the story line grabs you or how much many of the actors maybe miscast this movie is worth it just to see all the old bikes. From Triumphs, BSA's, Nortons & Vincents to Harleys & Indians it gives you a firsthand look at the wide variety of classic bikes that were available back then...I only wish it were so today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The film that helped give The Beatles their name.., July 26 2002
By 
Mazzy (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
John Lennon wanted something like the Crickets (Buddy Holly's band), and saw this film and named his band after the motorcycle gang: The Beetles. He changed the spelling to Beat les and had the perfect name that reflected his beat band.
Not a review of the film but they could have ben called "The Shoes."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does Anyone Under 30 Remember Brando?, Sept. 6 2000
By 
This review is from: Wild One [Import] (VHS Tape)
Unless you're in charge of the Smithsonian Archive of Hollywood Motorcycle Films, you rented this movie because of one reason: Marlon Brando. Is the film outdated? It was shot in '54. Does Brando disappoint? Come on. Plus, this film has sold more bikes than Zig Ziglar in his wet dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars th wild one, Feb. 21 2001
By 
"bdylan4thstreet" (charlotte, nc United States) - See all my reviews
although the film itslef is a classic. The dvd is not much better than the vhs version. The sound and video is not at all improved and there are very few extras on it. It is nice to have in a format that will last longer, but besides that this dvd doesnt have much to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, Nov. 10 2002
By 
Michael Demarco (Middletown, RI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought this movie was pretty entertaining considering its age. I was afraid I wouldn't be able to stay awake through it but it's not one of those movies. It moves fast and its not long. I recommend to anyone going through a classic movie phase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I wish today's movies were a tenth as good, March 30 1999
By 
HBW (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wild One [Import] (VHS Tape)
One of Marlon's best films. Great action, some romance, a lot of drama, and all without cursing or graphic violence. How did they do that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild One [Import]
Wild One [Import] by Laslo Benedek (VHS Tape - 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 17.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews