Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I AIN'T JIVIN. . . BRANDO DOES ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I would have to agree with other reviewers that this film is rather corny, but for its time it was revolutionary. Throughout the film I must admit I had several laughs with lines such as, "You're too square" and "Anybody thinks their too good for me, I knock 'em over sometime". And phraseology such as "that's corn ball style". And Brando's...
Published on July 11 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Biker movies with touches of humoer
I thought this movie was great. This picture, witch had a real feel of jazz music through out the whole movie whitch was great to me. I would say the movie also had great humour at the beginning of this movie. This movie was very social in touching on the biker subject in it's time.
Published on June 2 2010 by Robert Hislop


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars 46 years later..., Dec 16 2000
I look at this film today through very different eyes than when I first saw it as a high-schooler in '54.
Of course a lot of it seems hokey now, and with good reason: the world is a far less innocent place than it was in those bucolic, Eisenhower, pre-R&R days.
But when it first came out, it was Hot Stuff. Bad guys, noisy bikes, beer-drinking, and girls in tight sweaters were a big deal to us then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Chosen One, Oct. 5 2000
This truely is an interesting film. I am not quite sure how to recommend this movie to people, but I do. First, and most important about this film is that it was made in 1953, and is therefore rather dated. Brando himself reflected on this film in his autobiography(Songs My Mother Taught Me) saying he felt it was a good picture when he made it, but he thought it hadn't aged well. In the context of this particular film it means these bike gangs, while at the time considered rebellious and dangerous, do not, by modern conventions of "rebels" and "outlaws," really come off as that threatening. At the time they were(the Hells Angels begins in this period). That understood viewers can really enjoy this picture. To me it almost had a comedic value to it. I really enjoy watching the steriotypes of this time for example the locals being called "squares." Marlon Brando is very engaging as Johnny, the leader of this rebel motorcycle gang that happens into a small town and takes it over for a few days. Even today it is possible to see why, in the early 50's, Brando was inspiring generations of actors with his performances, before he became fat and self-indulgant. For this reason alone it is worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Does Anyone Under 30 Remember Brando?, Sept. 7 2000
By 
This review is from: Wild One [Import] (VHS Tape)
Unless you're in charge of the Smithsonian Archive of Hollywood Motorcycle Films, you rented this movie because of one reason: Marlon Brando. Is the film outdated? It was shot in '54. Does Brando disappoint? Come on. Plus, this film has sold more bikes than Zig Ziglar in his wet dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rebels Looking For A Cause, July 13 2000
This review is from: Wild One [Import] (VHS Tape)
Marlon Brando stars as the leader of a biker gang that invades a small town and turns everything upside down. To be honest, these bikers don't seem particularly dangerous, and some of the dialogue is so rooted in the Fifties' slang I found myself laughing out loud. However, the Brando performance makes the movie worth a look, and he has an interesting relationship with the sheriff's daughter. I'm sure this film had a much bigger impact on its Fifties audience than it does nowadays. For me it was a step back into another time for seventy minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Video Museum, May 14 2000
Regardless of how the story line grabs you or how much many of the actors maybe miscast this movie is worth it just to see all the old bikes. From Triumphs, BSA's, Nortons & Vincents to Harleys & Indians it gives you a firsthand look at the wide variety of classic bikes that were available back then...I only wish it were so today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Biker Flick, Feb. 3 2000
First, this was not a movie based on a real event. What happened in Hollister was nothing more than some bikers having some fun. The media blew it up into something it wasn't. What a surprise! The picture that appeared in Life magazine was set up. They asked people to kick more empty beer bottles into the frame. It was all hype.
From that, Hollywood jumped on the bandwagon. Another surprise. Ever ready to create stereotypes, they tried to do that with the biker image. Well, the bikers in this movie were a joke. Every cliche in the book was used and there guys came off more as movie extras from a musical dressed to play bikers. Lee Marvin came the closest to anything real. Whoever gets the idea from this movie that bikers of the Hell's Angels type are a bunch of fun loving guys that will dance with each other and sing together and joke around with the local populace is in for a rude awakening.
I am a biker, but not in an outlaw gang. I ride a Harley and have been to biker bars and the like. The Wild One does not draw an acurate picture. Brando and his "gang" would be eaten alive in today's biker culture. Granted, today's biker scene is diverse. It runs the spectrum from the 1%ers (outlaw gangs) to the yuppie RUBs (rich urban bikers). Along the way, there are many poseurs who affect the outlaw image. They come across as the bikers in this movie. All bark and no bite.
In short, this is a Hollywood version of an event that did not happen as reported, portraying the principles in a stereotypical and inaccurate way, bearing no resemblence to reality. Think how a John Wayne war movie compares to Saving Private Ryan and you get the idea of how The Wild One compares to real outlaw bikers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heck on Wheels., Aug. 26 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild One [Import] (VHS Tape)
This movie starts out showing that appeasement is wrong and just buys you trouble. The cyclists are repelled from one town by a cop who stands up to them, and then go on to the next place which cottons to them, for a while anyway.
There are some good scenes and a few good lines, though. Surely we've all seen clips of Brando's character response to the question, "What are you rebelling against?" with the deft reply, "Whaddya got?"
When he starred in this, Lee Marvin wasn't too far out of the WWII Marines, and it shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Your Motorcycle Film Collection Should Start Here, Aug. 20 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild One [Import] (VHS Tape)
Do not miss this original. Before Hollywood started mass producing increasingly awful, stereotyped, and trashy biker movies there was The Wild One. Very loosely based on actual events, this story spawned all those cheesy bike films that never even come close to The Wild One's solid storyline, great acting, and fabulous soundtrack. If you've ever suffered threw a lousy biker film, treat yourself to this wonderful film that is THE original. Just the sight of a very drunken Chino (Lee Marvin) riding into town on a Panhead to stir things up with Johnny's(Marlon Brando)Black Rebels is worth the puchase price.Long live the BRMC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic for Brando fans, June 20 1999
This review is from: Wild One [Import] (VHS Tape)
Brando plays Johnny, the leader of the Blind Rebels motorcycle club, who wander into a small town with one cop. Johnny doesnt like cops by the way. A rival gang, lead by Lee Marvin, heads into town to help cause trouble, with the town and the Blind Rebels. Brando is very cool in this one but, the only really convincing tough guy is Lee Marvin. Based on a real incident that most likely was not this comedic. I doubt the real bikers were this nice either. Forget about all of that and have fun with it, because Marlon is crazy, dad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I wish today's movies were a tenth as good, March 31 1999
By 
HBW (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wild One [Import] (VHS Tape)
One of Marlon's best films. Great action, some romance, a lot of drama, and all without cursing or graphic violence. How did they do that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild One [Import]
Wild One [Import] by Laslo Benedek (VHS Tape - 1997)
Used & New from: CDN$ 16.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews