Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to find video
The BEST version of the Christmas Carol ever produced, and hard to find. Watched it last night, no with problems.
Published 3 months ago by WS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
It was ok but in all honesty I can't say it's my favorite that would have to be the classic black & white version from 1951 though this holds up too.
Published on Dec 16 2001


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to find video, Jan. 20 2014
By 
WS (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The BEST version of the Christmas Carol ever produced, and hard to find. Watched it last night, no with problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great remake of a classic, Jan. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Probably one of the best recent versions of the Christmas classic. Too bad it was in 1.33:1 aspect ratio and not widescreen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Carol, Jan. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Would have loved it had been wide screen but it was a lot clearer to watch than the regular DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent acting in this all-time favorite, March 19 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this movie and have many of the versions. George C. Scott brings good, jovial sentiment to this all-time favorite Christmas movie. I bring it out and watch it every year. Shipping was excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why (Officially) I Love This Movie!, Jan. 9 2004
By 
Charles Griffin (DeLand, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Every winter, I enjoy watching A Christmas Carol on TV whenever I can, and the 1984 version is my favorite. The production and performances add up to a moody, realistic and touching adaptation of the Charles Dickens' classic.
Director Clive Donner (editor of the much celebrated 1951 Alastair Sim version of Scrooge) presents a stunningly authentic recreation of Dickens' London. From effectively foggy streets to Ebenezer's own cobwebbed-infested manor, Donner provides a gritty, appropriately dark atmosphere, enhanced by the wonderful score.
The film's pacing is exquisite. In showing Ebenezer the error of his ways, the filmmakers give equal time to his past, present and future, never once lingering to the point of boredom. Thus the story seems to fly by compared to the other adaptations.
George C. Scott is excellent as Scrooge. Like all of those who've portrayed the character, his old miser starts out mean and bitter and ends up joyous and thankful! But throughout his performance, true sadness runs deep. Scott makes his emotional transformation subtle, painting a realistic portrait of a man haunted by the mistakes of his past, taking his pain out on the world.
But what separates the 1984 production of Christmas Carol from all others is the terrific supporting cast. David Warner may give the warmest performance of his career as Bob Cratchet (all the more poignant considering the many villains he's played over the years). Frank Finlay is the most compelling Jacob Marley I've ever seen. You can almost feel this man's torture just by gazing upon his unblinking expression. Edward Woodward brings great depth to the Ghost of Christmas Present, communicating tremendous power, yet just the right touch of humor. Finally, this adaptation of the Dickens' tale features the scariest, most intimidating Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come you'll find anywhere!
Most of us look forward to a healthy dose of A Christmas Carol at the end of each year and we all have our favorite version. Thanks to the handsome production values, expert pacing and perfect cast, led by the magnificent George C. Scott, I believe they truly got it right in 1984!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best All Around Version of a Christmas Classic!, Jan. 5 2004
By 
Charles Griffin (DeLand, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Some people are under the impression that this is an American production of A Christmas Carol while others (namely the 1951 Alastair Sim version) are British. Truth is, while the George C. Scott 1984 version was televised on an American network, it was filmed on location in England, and presents an effectively murky, gritty atmosphere where other versions, including the most recent Patrick Stewart version, look a little too "pretty".
Perhaps most telling is that the director of the 1984 Christmas Carol is Clive Donner. Not only is he British, but he was also the editor of the 1951 version...the very same Scrooge featuring Alastair Sim's acclaimed performance! This indicates that Donner had a unique perspective when he decided to revisit A Christmas Carol. He could easily have chosen to tell the tale just as it was done in 1951, but he diverted slightly. Thus, the George C. Scott production is much more atmospheric and concentrates a little more on Scrooge's present and future whereas the Sim version devoted way too much time on Scrooge's past. In giving Scrooge's past, present and future equal time, Donner is able to depict Scrooge's emotional tranformation convincingly and realistically (having George C. Scott doesn't hurt either).
The 1951 production of Scrooge: A Christmas Carol will always have Alastair Sim's celebrated performance, but this 1984 production has become the definitive film version of the Dickens classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly perfect in every aspect!, Dec 31 2003
By 
Paul King (Weston, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
George C. Scott gives a superb and frighteningly convincing performance of the character that brought "humbug" to common usage. By far, his is the finest Scrooge to be filmed, easily believable and "hate-able" and equally sympathetic and likable after his redemption. David Warner, easily one of the most underrated and overlooked actors of the screen, is the perfect Bob Cratchit. Anyone not touched by his performance in the Tiny Tim death timeline has a heart of pure stone. His interaction with the rest of his "family" is thoroughly convincing and heartwarming. Roger Rees is magnificent as Ebenezer's nephew, Fred. It's easy to feel he really wishes to connect with his uncle and genuinely rejoices when it finally happens in the conclusion. Edward Woodward and the Ghost of Christmas Present seems to have been lifted from the pages of the very Dickens manuscript. He is the duplicate of the John Leech illustration in the 1843 original. The only flaw with this production are the wooden performances of the two younger Cratchit children in some scenes. Unfortunately, the youngest is, of course, Tiny Tim. Even so, the young actor portraying him does an admirable and mostly convincing job. (Blooper alert, though: Look over Scrooge's shoulder as he is standing at Fred's door - unmistakable aluminium drainspouts across the street. Minor, but distracting to the scene.) I watch this DVD many times between Thanksgiving and Christmas (and even a couple of times after), and never tire of it. It's simply too good to watch only at Christmastime!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Version of a Christmas Carol, Jan. 31 2003
By 
Jason Waldman (Laguna Niguel, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We don't have a lot of Christmas traditions in my family, but one of them is that, every Christmas Eve, we watch this version of "A Christmas Carol". It has always been my favorite and should be a part of every Christmas movie collection.
George C. Scott plays Ebenezer Scrooge in this version, and he is absolutely fantastic. He plays the role of the miser to perfection, attaining just the right amount of nastiness without going overboard. Yet he also shows the tender side when necessary, particularly as it pertains to Tiny Tim. David Warner, one of my favorite actors nobody's ever heard of, plays Bob Cratchit and he, too, is excellent as Scrooge's kindhearted employee. The only other really notable actor is Roger Rees as Scrooge's nephew Fred, but pretty much all the actors in this movie are excellent, even if you don't recognize them.
The feel of the movie is also excellent. The sets make you feel very much like you're in 19th century London, while other things, like the costumes and street performers, really put you in the middle of that time. The music is also outstanding, and fits this movie perfectly.
Just writing this review makes me wish it were Christmas. And this movie will too. It's definitely a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually Perfect!, Dec 23 2003
By 
AbeStreet (Willoughby, OH United States) - See all my reviews
There are so many versions of this story available it may be hard to peg down why some are better than others. In my opinion this is the best live action version available. It is a well cast, scripted and accurate version of the original story.
So many good things have been mentioned about this movie that I find it hard to add anything new. Well I'll give it a try. Given that this film is a made for television it has great film sets and special effects. This film has captured what I would have thought an urban area in mid to late 1800's in England would have looked like. The special effects used to portray certain aspects of the various ghosts were top notch and still hold up today.
Lastly, even though new versions of this story are always being made I've given up on sampling them all. I would rather just pop this film in the VCR and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handsome film has points of interest; best recent adaptation, Dec 22 2003
By 
Scott MacGillivray (Massachusetts, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This 1984 adaptation of the Charles Dickens story has several noteworthy things going for it. In this writer's opinion, the parts are greater than the whole, but the individual aspects are well worth viewing.
George C. Scott's Ebenezer Scrooge is almost chilling. In Scott's hands Scrooge is calmly insistent in his ways, and relentlessly cold. It's a fine, unique characterization with many subtleties; other actors deliver the "stake of holly through his heart" dialogue as a grouchy peeve, but with Scott it's a grisly joke that Scrooge is especially enjoying. His controlled reserve is admirable for the most part, but misplaced at the finish. One wants to see the Ghosts of Christmas tear off his miser's mask and really scare the stuffing out of him. But somehow Scrooge's reclamation is neither as drastic nor as effective as in other film versions. Scrooge's delighted laugh in the last reel is about the same as his ironic laugh in the first reel.
The supporting portrayals vary in faithfulness to Dickens. Scrooge's nephew Fred, a breezy, friendly character who says he'll "keep my Christmas spirit to the last," certainly doesn't show it by his timid and soft-spoken demeanor here. On the other hand, Edward Woodward is outstanding as the Ghost of Christmas Present, a hearty giant who delights in showing Scrooge up.
Director Clive Donner adds some deft touches (Marley's Ghost howls "Scrooooooooge" as a horse-drawn coffin passes by; for once Scrooge has enough of a Ghost, and terminates the visitation forcibly). There are enough points of distinction to recommend this as a good picture. This writer gives the George C. Scott version a bronze medal behind the Sir Seymour Hicks and Alastair Sim versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb425fdd4)

This product

Christmas Carol
Christmas Carol by Clive Donner (VHS Tape - 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 3.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews