Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my personal favorite seasons
I know this isn't everyone's opinion, but for me, each season gets better and better. Writers and actors get to know the characters and a story more when they've made over 100 episodes with them. (Episode 100 is included in this set, an episode where the writers just decide to mess around and have a good time)
Season 5 introduces some very key characters and...
Published on June 21 2004 by Denny Vu Quach

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death of Friendship
Season five could have been so much better. The writers had so much to work with, and instead chose to fall back into old story lines. For me, a long and faithful SG-1 fan, it was a bitter disappointment, especially Meridian. It had such potential to be the best Stargate episode ever, if only they'd paid a little more attention to the emotions involved. I mean, the SGC...
Published on Sept. 30 2005 by Foreverwolf


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars One of my personal favorite seasons, June 21 2004
By 
I know this isn't everyone's opinion, but for me, each season gets better and better. Writers and actors get to know the characters and a story more when they've made over 100 episodes with them. (Episode 100 is included in this set, an episode where the writers just decide to mess around and have a good time)
Season 5 introduces some very key characters and situations:
--Colonol Frank Simmons
--Explanation of the ascended being ("Ascention" and "Meridian")
--The jaffa rebellion ("The Warrior")
--Further Russian entanglements including the fate of the Earth DHD ("48 Hours")
--The introduction of Anubis ("Last Stand," "Revelations")
--The fate of the Tollan ("Between Two Fires")
--The temperary departure of Michael Shanks ("Meridian")
--The method of Asguard reproduction ("Revelations")
--Jonas Quinn ("Meridian")
All of these situations play key in the epic saga of the Stargate universe, providing for plot variations and new ideas in later seasons. The new ideas are still there. The humor is still there. Over 100 episodes in, Stargate is still going strong in this collection.
I am looking forward to adding this 5th boxed set to my other four boxed sets.
I enjoyed Season 6 even better. Season 7 is still blowing my mind. Let's have those as boxed sets soon as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death of Friendship, Sept. 30 2005
By 
Foreverwolf (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
Season five could have been so much better. The writers had so much to work with, and instead chose to fall back into old story lines. For me, a long and faithful SG-1 fan, it was a bitter disappointment, especially Meridian. It had such potential to be the best Stargate episode ever, if only they'd paid a little more attention to the emotions involved. I mean, the SGC was losing a valuable player. Jack O'Neill was losing his best friend. Daniel was there, then he wasn't, and then he was forgotten, essentially. And for what was to be Michael Shanks last season, at the time, he did very little throughout the season. One liners are hardly laying the ground to such a shattering moment. I'm sure most Stargate fans were deeply grieved at Doc Jackson's loss... and we seem to be the only ones! Definitely not one of the better seasons. Whether it was a season finale, or a series finale, as rumoured at the time, it was simply crushing all the way around. A friendship that most of us have watched and enjoyed for years simply slipped away with barely a whisper. Really, guys. You could have done better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relapse, May 7 2004
By 
Andrew "Radaar" (Chicago, IL, USA) - See all my reviews
Sadly, the fifth season of Stargate: SG-1 broke the streak of progressively better seasons that had been going on ever since the first season. The year began with a cool premiere, "Enemies", but the next couple episodes sucked. For example, the episode "Beast of Burden", which deals with Daniel Jackson's (Michael Shanks) Unas friend, Chaka, was terrible. Personally, I also hated the episode "The First Ones" from last year which began the Chaka thread. I mean, I haven't seen episodes this bad since Season 1 (many of the Season 1 episodes, while good, are far inferior to the episodes of Seasons 2-4). Once you reach the third disc, beginning with the episode "Between Two Fires", the episodes become good again. However, the bad episodes weren't the only problems that this season faced. Jack O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) seemed to regress a little bit because he seemed a lot less tolerent of Daniel than he had been in the last two years (he does, however, reveal his true feelings about Jackson in the episode "Meridian"). Teal'c (Christopher Judge) and Dr. Janet Frasier (Teryl Rothery) were underused, as were the Asgard, who seem to have put politics ahead of real problems.
However, when this season was good, it was REALLY good. There were some amazing story developments this year, beginning with the final demise of Apophis (Peter Williams), the Goa'uld System Lord who has been making life difficult for the SGC ever since the first season. Next, the Tollan, an extremely advanced race of humans who are allied with Earth, begin acting suspiciously, the SGC begins recruiting new officers, the motives of the Aschen from last season are revealed, the Tok'Ra are nearly destroyed, and the Jaffa rebellion begins to truly become a problem for the System Lords. And then, Daniel is brought to a System Lord summit where he has the chance to wipe out the Goa'uld threat forever, that is until he learns of the return of Anubis, an ancient System Lord who was banished for his horrific crimes. Also, we finally learn the origins of the Replicators. Finally, SG-1 must endure a change that they never thought would happen in the episode "Meridian", and then, Anubis and Osirus (Anna-Louise Plowman) reveal plans to attack the Asgard. But the most pivotal plot twist involves the new series-within-a-series, WORMHOLE X-TREME!!! Just kidding.
This is a very important season, so despite its poor opening, I still reccomend it. Just be ready to be underwhelmed by the first few episodes. But after you get past those, enjoy! Some good episodes include: "Enemies", "Threshold", "Between Two Fires", "2001", "Wormhole X-Treme", "Proving Ground", "Summit", "Last Stand", "The Warrior", "Menace", "Meridian", and "Revelations".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very best Sci-Fi show available on DVD!, May 6 2007
By 
D. Landry (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season Five (DVD)
Being a huge fan of Stargate SG-1 since the beginning, I had to purchase this season to add to my collection.

This show had a great idea to have a stargate that let's you travel through many dimensions and galaxies. The unusual storyline and cast is excellent! Whether you like sci-fi or not, this is fun to watch since it touches a lot of issues such as dealing with different kinds of nations and their beliefs, friendships, enemies, adventures and even comedy.

You will see the characters develop over time, the quirky unexpected humor, the use of an alien who doesn't fully understand human life on earth, the struggle of the oppressed, the lengths humans go in order to survive, politics and government bureaucracy.

This show is awsome on many different levels. On top of it all, they always keep the price very affordable. Money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It starts to come together, Feb. 26 2010
By 
Mark Kunkel (Fredericton,NB Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season Five (DVD)
During this season many of the storylines planted in season four begin to bear fruit. Some of these ideas will actually become the basis for the rest of the TV series both SG-1 and it's spin-offs. It is during this season that we first learn about "Ascension" and learn that not all of the Ancients follow the rules of non-interference. We revisit Casandra who has entered puberty and is manifesting some very powerful abilities. Carter is kidnapped by forces unknown and technology is developed that will ultimately make Baal a very potent enemy. Other stories revisited include the Tolians, the Unas Chaka, the NID and a sequel to 2010. The last few episodes of this season bring forth Anubis, a system lord like no other, who employs both brute force and guile becoming the SG team's number one adversary. We also learn that the replicators orginated in a most unexpected way. And of course the penultimate episode of the season includes a heroic death. Overall quite an enjoyable season.

There were a few standalone episodes that could be watched by the general viewing public, but this really is the point where the series mythology starts to require: "previously on SG-1" to bring a new viewer up to speed. This is also the season where we realize that the characters in SG-1 (unlike say Star Trek) are really making it up as they go along and they may be overmatched by their latest enemy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Rewatch the first 3 seasons instead, May 12 2004
By A Customer
I've watched all seven seasons of stargate, and season 5 was abysmal. Michael Shanks(Daniel) and Christopher Judge(Teal'c) were completely underused, which is tragic because these two men are such good actors. Forcing Carter and Jack into a relationship just feels awkward - both from the 'it's against regulations' aspect, and the 'no chemistry' aspect. Yes, there were a few good episodes - menace, threshold, 2001, between two fires. but you had to wade through some boring shows to get there. The fact that so many old characters keep getting killed off is annoying. (spoiler) killing daniel off in the end felt rushed, ruined season 6, and didn't allow everyone to mourn him as fully as they should have (jack was just too stoic. his previous reactions to Daniel's 'death' in Fire and Water or Serpent's Lair show how he should have reacted.)
Your best bet is to buy one of the first 3 seasons(two's my favorite) and watch it again. At least the storylines are good, everyone's in character, and daniel and teal'c have more than 1 line per episode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes me PROUD to be an Air Force vet!!!!, April 3 2004
By A Customer
Y'know, this show is probably the most positive view of the Air Force that you will ever see in entertainment. Military personnel are treated as what they are in real life: real people with faults and weaknesses, but with a lot of professionalism, skill and determination to do the best job they can and do the right thing at the same time.
Ironic to find this in a sci-fi show of all places, but I have to thank the producers for the care they put into the characters! Not that there's really a Stargate, a Prometheus or even a Samantha Carter, who can solve any threat with five minutes to do calculations in her head, but at least these Air Force men and women aren't cynical hardcases out to rape and pillage the worlds across the stargate for the "military industrial machine". That's what you would get from MOST of Hollywood if they were doing this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OKAY - I'M OFFICIALLY A GEEK, March 24 2004
I have always enjoyed scoffing at those that enjoy cheesy science fiction television. Star Trek - crap, Babylon 5 - junk, the "rest" - horrid! Despite my smugness, nearly all of my close friends are consumed with some stupid space series - maybe I was the problem. To satisfy my curiosity I decided to start my experiment with SG1 Season 1 because I actually enjoyed the movie. I was completely confident that it would be un-watchable and I would be able to crow to my clutch of close nerds that not only was it bad, I could actually tell them why. Episode 1 was awful, episode 2 was miserable (still feel that way), episode 3 better, and end of season result...hmmm, better check Season Two just to make sure. Well, I just finished the brilliant Season 4 and Season 5 in a one week marathon - I'm hooked! What's the point of this aimless review you ask? If you're a dedicated snob such as I was (and am now to a smaller degree) and you lump all shows like this into the genre of the original Star Trek (still crap by the way) I just want to say that Stargate is really good, well written, and amazingly original. Give it a shot - you don't have to tell anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stargate sg- 1 season 5, March 16 2004
By 
Eduardo (Arecibo, P.R Puerto Rico) - See all my reviews
This season its one of the best of this them good tv show.Its the one that Daniel Jackson acended to a higer plain of existence.I like all the episodes in this season. I have al the seasons that are on dvd,there is no greater tv show that this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment Value, BUT...., March 7 2004
By 
Stargate SG-1's strength is its characters and humor. After two episodes, you really begin bonding with the SG-1 team and Air Force Gen. Hammond. Imagine a stargate buried under 28 levels in a highly fortified Cheyenne Mountain. Imagine stepping into the gate and going to any one of hundreds of planets where everyone happens to speak perfect 21st Century English. Talk about a universal language! (And some people wanted me to take Spanish!) Good writers could have used some creativity to get around this, but though all the aliens speak English, their written language is markedly different. On one planet the residents even had lapels and their jackets and those little holes on the left side (never knew what they were for).
But once you jump that yawning chasm of suspension of disbelief, SG-1's exploits are well written, though like most sci-fi episodes written around children, you have to take the lumps.
The price is right on this series and watching the beautiful Amanda Tapping alone is worth the price of admission. But the best part is, when we finally do travel to other worlds, we won't have to learn a new language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate SG-1: Season Five
Stargate SG-1: Season Five by William Waring (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 12.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews