Customer Reviews


251 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fancy or a feeling
One of the Dashwood daughters is smart, down-to-earth and sensible. The other is wildly romantic and sensitive.

When those daughters are from Jane Austen novel, you can guess that there are going to be romantic problems aplenty for both of them -- along with the usual entailment issues, love triangles, sexy bad boys and societal scandals. Ang Lee deftly adapted...
Published on May 16 2010 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
lovely movie
Published 17 days ago by patty feltham


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fancy or a feeling, May 16 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Sense and Sensibility (DVD)
One of the Dashwood daughters is smart, down-to-earth and sensible. The other is wildly romantic and sensitive.

When those daughters are from Jane Austen novel, you can guess that there are going to be romantic problems aplenty for both of them -- along with the usual entailment issues, love triangles, sexy bad boys and societal scandals. Ang Lee deftly adapted Ausen's "Sense and Sensibility" into the sort of movie it should be -- a lushly beautiful, quietly passionate period drama.

When Mr. Dashwood dies, his entire estate is entailed to his weak son John and snotty daughter-in-law Fanny. His widow (Gemma Jones) and her three daughters are left with little money and no home.

Over the next few weeks, the eldest daughter Elinor (Emma Thompson) begins to fall for Fanny's studious, quiet brother Edward (Hugh Grant)... but being the down-to-earth one, she knows she hasn't got a chance. Her impoverished family soon relocates to Devonshire, where a tiny cottage is being rented to them by one of Mrs. Dashwood's relatives -- and Marianne (Kate Winslet) soon attracts the attention of two men. One is the quiet, much older Colonel Brandon (Alan Rickman), and the other is the dashing and romantic Willoughby (Greg Wise).

But things begin to spiral out of control when Willoughby seems about to propose to Marianne... only to abruptly break off his relationship with her. And during a trip to London, both Elinor and Marianne discover devastating facts about the men they are in love with -- both of them are engaged to other women. And after disaster strikes the Dashwood family, both the sisters will discover what real love is about...

I have to give Emma Thompson credit -- she not only turns in a brilliant, tightly-wound performance as Elinor (although she does look a bit old for the role), but she also wrote the faithful, solidly written script for Ang Lee's movie. The narrative glides silkily through the story, and adapts Austen's writing into elegantly vivid dialogue ("Can he love her? Can the soul really be satisfied with such... POLITE affections?") with some moments of gentle humor ("How did you find the silver? Was it all genuine?").

And Ang Lee takes what Thompson has wrought and makes it even lovelier, filling it with pale light, misty country hills, luxurious manorhouses, sunlit gardens and yards, and rain-swept fields where handsome men go riding on horseback. He has the knack for coaxing intense emotions from small gestures and words, and evoking budding love that is unsaid and unexpressed until the end (especially for Edward and Elinor). The absolute peak of his skill is right before Marianne's terrible illness, when she's left standing on a hilltop in the rain, whispering a Shakespearean sonnet.

Marianne and Elinor make excellent dual heroines for this book -- that still love and cherish each other, even though their polar opposite personalities frequently clash. Thompson plays Elinor as being tightly wound and a bit repressed, while Winslet races joyously through the dramatic and romantic parts of the story, only for Marianne to crash and burn when Willoughby betrays her.

And the supporting cast is no less brilliant -- Jones and Rickman are particularly good as the girls' loving mother, and the mellow, quiet Colonel Brandon (the man "everyone thinks well of, and nobody remembers to talk to") who stands by hoping for Marianne's happiness. Wise, Robert Hardy, Elizabeth Spriggs and Harriet Walters all give excellent performances, and even Hugh Grant (who usually annoys me like an unreachable itch) did a good job as the shy, studious Edward.

"Sense and Sensibility" is an emotionally powerful tale about two very different sisters, and the rocky road to finding a lasting love. And it was beautifully done by both of the people at its core -- Thompson's writing and acting, and Ang Lee's direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent movie with perfect casting., Jan. 21 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Sense & Sensibility 95 (VHS Tape)
I really enjoyed this movie mostly because of the acting talent. Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet did an incredibly good job of bringing their characters to life. After reading Sense and Sensibility, I also realized that this version was very close to the actual text. For anyone who likes romance movies, try this one and I'm sure you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLUPERFECT ADAPTATION OF AUSTEN'S TIMELESS CLASSIC, Dec 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ang Lee's superb movie based on an equally marvelous screenplay by Emma Thompson exudes the sort of timeless propriety, decorum, good sense...and yes, sensibility that Jane Austen herself might have desired from a movie - if only movies had been around in Austen's time.

The cast is extraordinary and Patrick Doyle's sublime score elevates the whole affair to an exemplar of the costume drama/comedy. This disc looks fairly good, albeit there are some crushed blacks in the darker scenes. Otherwise, colors are rich, fine detail pleasing and everything looks as it should in 1080p. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 7 2014
This review is from: Sense and Sensibility (DVD)
lovely movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best version of the classic, June 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sense and Sensibility (DVD)
I own other versions of this classic and this is by far the best version. Emma Thompson is at her best and Hugh Grant was great in this role. In fact all the actors give superior performances to other versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, April 30 2014
By 
Poetkitty (Victoria, British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sense and Sensibility (DVD)
I think the slickness and beauty of this adaptation carry it far. To me, if characters don't look as I imagine them to, if the setting and costumes and music aren't 'right', things quickly go south for me. I love the scenes of wealth - even at Barton dining on the lawn there is a sumptuousness that is lacking in other versions! But I also love the homey feel - we see scenes of domestic, country life that are appealing. I think in other versions that the sisters are too dowdy - as though losing their father and their home would suddenly make them lose all accoutrements of wealth - no smart bonnets, no jewellery, no accessories. Elinor lamenting about the cost of sugar keeps this adaptation grounded, however. The romantic aspect is well done, and of course this is important. Marianne seems at first annoyed at the 'attentions' of Brandon, and rightly besotted with Willoughby...Brandon is perfect! The chemistry between Elinor and Edward is fine. Lucy is excellent, and I don't mind the omission of her sister. Making Sir John a widower is fine too - his wife and brood aren't necessary. I love Sir John and Mrs Jennings - they are a scream! Their coarseness isn't repulsive, but a nice off-set for the more quietly brought up sisters. Even Margaret is good - and when we see her interactions with Edward at Norland, we see how Elinor could fall for him. My favourite character was Alan Rickman as Brandon, with his steady worth and constancy....difficult at times to make this character sexy as well as solid. Rickman nails it. Willoughby was good, but I think he could have been played with an underlying edge of the rake. He seems too 'good'. Overall, I really liked this version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story telling, Feb. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sense and Sensibility (DVD)
Recommend this movie to anyone who likes the classics. Its got several parts that make you laugh and the actors do a great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like Plus, Sept. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sense and Sensibility (DVD)
This is typically Jane Austen. Very enjoyable with excellent actors. I have watched it more than once and have enjoyed it each time. I definitely recommend this movie for a great night's entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cast in the Past., Aug. 21 2013
By 
Norman Dye (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sense and Sensibility (DVD)
This is a great period drama. It is on par with Pride and Prejudice. The characters all respond well to each other, and interact really well. If you like character acting films, then I recommend this movie. Direction, production, casting and wardrobe are all marvellous. See it, you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars timeless classic, July 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sense and Sensibility (DVD)
This version of sense and sensibility is fantastic, Alan Rickman is fantastic in his role. This movie will pull at your heartstrings and make you smile endlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sense & Sensibility 95
Sense & Sensibility 95 by Ang Lee (VHS Tape - 2003)
CDN$ 34.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews