Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boy does Have Magic !
So what happens when one of the most wildly improbable figures of history is played by one of the most spelbinding of actors ?
Alan Rickman won both The Emmy and The Golden Globe awards for his portrayal of Rasputin. When Rickman accepted the award he thanked the director for allowing him to be 'self-indulgent'.
( Note to directors: If you can get Alan in your...
Published on Dec 21 2003 by the wizard of uz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good
I thought that the kid that potrayed His Imperial Highness the Tsarevich Alexei Nicholeavich Romanov potrayed his innocent, wonderous, and, thanks to his hemophilia, ongoing suffering.Anyone who is awaiting to see "Crown of Blood" should check this movie out and read more about the Tsarevich Alexei.
Published on Nov. 23 1999 by jrudder@netdoor.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boy does Have Magic !, Dec 21 2003
By 
the wizard of uz (Studio City, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rasputin 96 (VHS Tape)
So what happens when one of the most wildly improbable figures of history is played by one of the most spelbinding of actors ?
Alan Rickman won both The Emmy and The Golden Globe awards for his portrayal of Rasputin. When Rickman accepted the award he thanked the director for allowing him to be 'self-indulgent'.
( Note to directors: If you can get Alan in your film, let him be as self indulgent as he wants!)
The script is intelligently written, it starts with a V.O. of the Czar's young son played over images of Hitler, Stalin and their wars. The Czarevich asks why we ushered in the most violent century in history? Why his good father and mother were hated and yet were replaced with monsters. . .
This is a good start. We are not going to get corny here.
On film, Rasputin, the so called "Mad Monk " ( he was neither ) has, like Cardinal Richelieu, become synonimous with hammy historical melodrama.
There have been dozens of attempts to dramatize his story and, graded on their merits, let alone on a curve by comparison to this great film, they have been er...less than brilliant. Even including a 1932 version with John, Ethel and Lionel Barrymore ( The only film all 3 appeared in together ) to much hoakier renderings.
And for those of us who DO know Russian history, yep. This time it's accurate.
Ian McKellan heads the superb supporting cast. Everything comes together and plays wonderfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, touching, amusing, spectacular..., Aug. 29 2003
By 
Merilahti Kristiina (Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rasputin 96 (VHS Tape)
The story of the last Romanovs starts from Siberia 1991: their bones are found and the boy, Alexei, introduces: "This is my mother, this is my family..." Then a leap back to 1880's and to a boy, who seems to read minds. 20 years later he - Rasputin - is doing hard labour in Siberia, until Virgin Mary appears to him. Very swiftly the plot takes us to St. Petersburg, where Rasputin convinces others of his mission. The boy, Alexei, narrates, how he came to heal him and was their only friend, no matter what people said about him later. The monk, who looks like a madman, knows about Alexei's illness, although it has been a state secret, and by speaking about sailing he takes the pain away, into himself, as it seems. A hypnotist, a fraud, a madman, a magical healer?
Rasputin convinces the Tzarina and later the Tzar of his abilities, so he has a place in court, although he is a very embarrassing man, uneducated, unpredictable and too fond of wine and gypsy prostitutes. Behind the scenes Russian people suffer, the First world war (predicted by Rasputin) is started and the last minutes of the Romanov family are at hand. Everything is told very economically, nothing too much and yet everything you need to know, with authentic film material cut into the story.
The film is a feast for the eyes and mind, even though some historical facts aren't exact. Anyway, this isn't a documentary. As a story it works like a dream, the actors are unbelievably good - so it really feels unfair to start talking about Rickman and not others. So I'm just saying: they are all wonderful. But the movie is called "Rasputin".
I've recently looked up films of Alan Rickman, partly because some of them are hard to find, but mostly because his way of acting is simply addictive. I think I finally know, why. It's a kind of pornography - of human soul. (Which is an embarrassing discovery, porn really isn't my cup of tea...) His Rasputin isn't just a calculating monk, who sees an opportunity to get a comfortable life, wine and women and power over people, but a man, who lives from moment to moment, uneducated, without manners, sensual, in some ways stupid and in some ways clever. At times you see a strong, manipulative, hypnotic monk who makes you believe in God and Virgin Mary and seems to be able to look into your soul, at times there is child-like sincerity and vulnerability. He believes he has a mission, but it also gives him pain, he sees things but doesn't see, how his conduct affects the falling empire. "I didn't choose to be holy!" he says like a weak human being, who has been trusted with a burden, that is much too heavy. Strong, vulnerable, wise, fallable, loving, selfish... Is this the real Rasputin? Very possibly. Human beings are just as mixed and as capable of being both angelic and devilish as Rickman shows - in this and other movies.
Oh yes, I felt great pity for Rasputin, though I wouldn't want him living in my house. And I'm glad I don't know Rickman in person, he seems to know too well, what we people are like. Who wants her mind to be x-rayed? Even by Rickman (who is, I admit, in his own way, enchanting)?
Watch this movie, if you want to understand history, people or acting. Look at these actors and actresses, they don't act, they are the characters. Rickman is just the best example of how to become someone else than one really is, whether it is Rasputin, Mesmer or other things he's done. Watch this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh it is so good . . ., Aug. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Rasputin 96 (VHS Tape)
There are no words to describe Alan Rickman in this movie. He is so magical and passionate and moving and seductive. I cannot even think of another film where an actor gives a performance like this, even the rhythm of his speech was magical.
The rest of the cast is great as well, Ian Mckellen and the woman who played the Tsarina, she was very beautiful and touching, right down to James Frain whom I never grow tired of seeing pop up in historical films. I confess I'm not an expert on that time in Russian history, but as far as I know the events in the movie are pretty much accurate. I liked how the film showed his appetite for sex and alcohol but reserved judgement, as I don't believe a person is sinister or evil simply because they're a bit lusty... I like how the film doesn't make him out to be some villain wanting control of the Court, but reminds us that it was the nobles who came to *him* and brought him into political affairs instead of just leaving him to heal the boy. In the end, he was a martyr, and the movie has no overbearing message to leave you, just to show you an episode in history and enlist Alan Rickman to demonstrate, in all his mystical glory, why this man might have created the stir that he did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I admit my stupidity and lavish my praise!, July 12 2003
By 
Judi Fryer "Judi, Entertainment-glutton" (Nicholasville, KY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rasputin 96 (VHS Tape)
I know zilch about the Russian history and have viewed no other film on this subject, therefore, I can make no educated comparisons to either reality or other entertainment offerings.
As a connoisseur of the movies, I can categorically state that from the moment I saw the eyes of Tamas Toth (the young Rasputin), until I was treated to the presence of Alan Rickman (the adult Rasputin), through the closing credits I was transported to another world entirely.
No other young actor could have been better cast to make you believe were seeing through those amazing eyes into the mind of a young Alan Rickman. Definitely no other actor could have given the performance of a lifetime as did Rickman in portraying the earthy, maniacal, confused, yet hypnotic, charming, and persuasive character of Grigori Rasputin. Charisma and sexuality ooze out of every nuance of this worldly man of God. You never once question that a princess or even a Tsarina would let this unkempt, rough, vulgar, unwashed commoner touch her soft, delicate, royal skin. In fact, you wonder instead how she could show such restraint and resist touching him for even a moment while in his presence. This movie contains what I consider one of the screen's all-time best film kisses.
There is more to the film than all that of course. Historically correct or not, there is an intriguing, entertaining story of Russian Royalty, love, betrayal, war, religious fervor, and much more.
The actors portraying the Romanov family were excellent, particularly young Freddie Findlay (Alexei, heir to the throne). The palace settings and outdoor locations were lavish beyond description. The gorgeous music perfectly meshed with film.
There are not enough adjectives, nor enough awards, to describe or honor the acting talents of Alan Rickman, particularly in this film. He became Rasputin in a manner that caused me to completely forget I was watching an actor, and still always be aware this was the work of a SUPERB actor.
Never a big fan of historical drama, I have to thank Alan Rickman for his wide choice of roles. As a fan I have exposed myself to many genres they I may have never otherwise viewed in an effort to catch every wonderful moment of Rickman captured on film. Not one film or performance has failed to entertain and amaze; certainly this is one of his best.
If you haven't seen the film, you deserve to watch it soon. If you are an Alan Rickman fan and you haven't seen 'Rasputin' - shame on you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, May 29 2003
By 
Anya Wales (the end of the rainbow) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rasputin 96 (VHS Tape)
This was an excelent video. However one thing I didn't like was the confusion of the palaces. Guests are always shown entering Catherine Palace, but all of the events that take place inside were filmed in Peterhof Palace. Other than that, it's an excellent video and I'm so glad I own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and Intense!, Nov. 21 2002
By 
Carol Tessen (Bartlett, Tennessee USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rasputin 96 (VHS Tape)
Alan Rickman stars as Gregory Efimovich Rasputin, a self-styled monk who rose from obscurity to social prominence in Russia at the turn of the century. This movie follows pretty closely what history records of Rasputin's life and his dealings with the House of Romanov. Alan Rickman puts in the performance of a lifetime as Rasputin and it is easy to understand why he won the awards he did for this movie (1997 Golden Globes Best Performance by an Actor in a Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for TV, 1997 Golden Satellite Award Best Performance by an Actor in a Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for Television, 1997 SAG Award Outstanding Performance by a Male Actor in a TV Movie or Mini-Series, 1996 Emmy Award for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Mini-Series or Special). Greta Scacchi and Ian McKellen also star in this video and both turn in stellar performances.
Whether you're a history buff or Alan Rickman fan (or both), this is a must see! However, it is not for anyone under 18 because of the strong sexual content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and Intense!, Nov. 21 2002
By 
Carol Tessen (Bartlett, Tennessee USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rasputin 96 (VHS Tape)
Alan Rickman stars as Gregory Efimovich Rasputin, a self-styled monk who rose from obscurity to social prominence in Russia at the turn of the century. This movie follows pretty closely what history records of Rasputin's life and his dealings with the House of Romanov. Alan Rickman puts in the performance of a lifetime as Rasputin and it is easy to understand why he won the awards he did for this movie ... Greta Scacchi and Ian McKellen also star in this video and both turn in stellar performances.
Whether you're a history buff or Alan Rickman fan (or both), this is a must see! However, it is not for anyone under 18 because of the strong sexual content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, he's not the bad guy...., Oct. 25 2002
By 
D. Klevorn (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rasputin 96 (VHS Tape)
Saw this some years ago and had to own it .Father Gigory is such an enigma to those who have studied some of the testimonials and the history written about him. Follow this up with some good books about him like THe Rasputin Files.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When in Russia...., Sept. 25 2002
By 
Jessica Berry (Rowledge, Farnham, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rasputin 96 (VHS Tape)
I start by saying that this is probably the best historical film I have seen! If your like me and studied the whole the last of the Romanov's and stuff, you should watch it! It is sheer entertainment. Alan Rickman is a suberd, amazing actor, you will not be dissapointed as his performance of Rasputin and if your like me and are a BIG fan of the MAN, this is a definate must see!
Also starring along side the MAN is Sir Ian McKellan, who does an excellent 5 star performance of the Tsar himself! His performance makes you elieve he's the Tsar and gives you really feel sad in certain scenes.
SO buy the video, you will not be dissapointed!
So I re
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Alan Rickman was great as "Father Grigory"., July 11 2002
By 
E. Duncan "lanied86" (Simi Valley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rasputin 96 (VHS Tape)
A wonderful movie that portrays the Imperial Family with their internal suffering perfect. Much better than Nicholas and Alexandra. The children are excellent (and the girls look much more like the real girls instead of the rather yucky loooking girls in the other movie). Aleksey's suffering is perfect, although the dates are a bit off and some errors with plot setting (ie, the infamous nosebleed episode happened in Poland, not during the 1913 terecentury). Excellent, and the murder scene is horrifically real. I cried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rasputin 96
Rasputin 96 by Uli Edel (VHS Tape - 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 34.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews