Customer Reviews


357 Reviews
5 star:
 (234)
4 star:
 (62)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie. Awesome DVD. Definitely one of the Best!
First and foremost, this is indisputably Quentin Tarentino's best film ever. After having seen it some dozen-plus times, it still captivates and intrigues me with every watching. The way the plot works itself out is ingenius, the suspense is second-to-none. Steve Buscemi, as Mr. Pink, is a highlight of this movie: He plays his character ridiculously well.
The entire...
Published on July 11 2004 by L. Berk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Reservoir Dogs
Watching RESERVOIR DOGS for the first time a dozen years late is an odd experience. It's like watching a football game - long stretches when nothing is happening are punctuated by brief moments of exaggerated violence, following by more interminably long stretches.
A group of low-rent thugs are recruited by a crime boss to steal a shipment of diamonds. To protect...
Published on May 1 2004 by Steven Hellerstedt


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Bold enough to be a new genre, July 18 2004
By 
Ryan (Ann Arbor) - See all my reviews
Quentin Tarantino has done an amazing job at taking a very low budget, and using a unique method of story telling and raw dialogue to turn it around. He was also lucky to get a great cast much like Pulp Fiction did. This film creates a new genre, because his un-chronological and very raw vision will be and is being copied all over the world. Many people criticize Tarantino for worshipping violence and profanity. However, when you examine the film's plot, it is really quite reasonable that characters swear as much as they do. And also, the violence in the movie only seems as bad as you make it in your mind, as the worst parts are only partially shown. This is another one of Tarantino's tricks. Some great performances are had too, for example Michael Madsen. His cold-blooded and partially psychotic character misleads us, up until a scene where he attempts to burn a kidnapped police officer, where our adoration of him turns to hate. However, Quentin quickly balances that out wonderfully. The ending may be a little "off" for some people, but all in all a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie. Awesome DVD. Definitely one of the Best!, July 11 2004
First and foremost, this is indisputably Quentin Tarentino's best film ever. After having seen it some dozen-plus times, it still captivates and intrigues me with every watching. The way the plot works itself out is ingenius, the suspense is second-to-none. Steve Buscemi, as Mr. Pink, is a highlight of this movie: He plays his character ridiculously well.
The entire two hours of this film are violent, disturbing, riveting, captivating, and raw: All said, this film is like a cinematic car accident - you rubberneck, you gasp, you feed this primordial urge to see violence and power. The story of five men - Mr. Blue, Mr. Pink, Mr. White, Mr. Brown, Mr. Blonde - converge when they are called into do a jewelry store heist. However, theyf ind out that one of their fellow gangsters has set them up: That the heist failed because someone among them had ratted them out.
The entire movie unfolds as, really, a two hour dialogue between Mr. Blonde, Mr. Pink, and Mr. White - as well as with the subsequent intruders into the wharehouse. The entire film, essentially, takes place in a wharehouse with sporadic flashbacks and cuts to other instances which lead up to the final scene.
This DVD is an awesome buy. It comes with a fullscreen and widescreen edition, as well as lots of special editions: trailors, posters, picture galleries, etc. Definitely, this movie is an excellent addition to anyone's DVD collection. One of the best values I have in my collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Debut from the master!, June 2 2004
By 
P. Woods (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Quentin Tarantino popped out of nowhere to become one of Hollywood's best directors. This was the film he first introduced the world to. It's all about six gangsters, who try to commit a jewel heist during working hours. It all goes well until... it doesn't. One of the gangsters dies, the other gets badly wounded, two get away and two dissapear. The two that got away don't have the slightest idea what to do. They don't know what to do with the badly wounded character, they don't know where everyone is. Slowly, eveyone starts to get back together, but they soon become aware that there's a rat, one of them is not who they think he is. But who can it be? I'll let you watch the movie.
The violence isn't really that violent. Ok, I know lots of people say there's that famous "torture" scene with the cop. That's not what I call violent. I call it "scary", because if you look at it through the cop's eyes, it would be. It is a bloody film though, I'll tell you that.
Quentin Tarantino is famous for using loads of dialogue in films, and the dialogue in this is quite cool. We go from talking about "not tipping waitresses" to "Pam Grier and her movie history". We also include a lot of flashbacks of the characters lives.
I thought the characters were cool, with the likes of Mr White, a very cool guy, a bit tuff, but cool. Mr orange, a bit soft, young but cool. Mr Blond, a complete psycho, but very cool. Mr Pink, a bit irratating, yes cool. Mr Brwon, you don't see him that much, but he's cool too. Mr Blue, who we hardly see in the movie. And Nice Guy Eddie, starnge guy, goes from nice to horrid, not so cool. The actors who played these guys were great. Quentin always knows who's best for his roles. Harvey Keitel plays Mr White, I couldn't imagine a better actor to play him. Steve Buscemi plays Mr Pink, he's good, but it's not usually his thing. Tim Roth plays Mr Orange, we needed someone his age for that part and he seems comfortable with the part. Michael Madsen plays Mr Blond, he's a great actor and he makes the character scary. Chris Penn suits his character when he's nice, ut not when he's nasty. Mr Blue... well he's only in about five minutes of the film.
So, a great film all together. A sensation.
Another similar title, also directed by Quentin Tarantino is "Pulp fiction"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quentin Tarantino is not SICK!!!!, May 30 2004
By 
Dustin Firestone (Fountain Hills, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
I am so pissed off that people hate Quentin Tarantino because of his bloody sickening violence is his films. This is not true, yes there is violence, but not as bad as everyone says it is. When Mr. Blonde cuts off that cops ear, it doesn't even show IT!!!!!! Mr. Blonde never ends up burning the cop because he got shot, and when Mr. Pink shoots over the roof of that car at the cops and hits one, there is no blood shown at all. The violence in the film is not(what's the word I am looking for, not shown/ expressed) in a way in which the movie got more than an R rating. If people call blood violence well let's just say rent Kill Bill Vol. 1.
Quentin Tarantino is a god among directors, he is my favorite directors, and Reservoir Dogs is my favorite movie along with Pulp Fiction. That man has changed the face of action/crime films in a way in which I live for. I am an aspiring director, and Quentin Tarantino's films have inspired me to want to direct, so if you hate Quentin Tarantino and his movies, you're gonna hate me a lot more!!!!!! I want to make my movies the same way he does, the different time frames in each movie, the end first ,the middle last, ect. that is a great and genius way to make films.
I bought the Mr. Brown version of the DVD, just because it had Quentin Tarantino's face on the cover. It's true, I worship that guy. I love this movie and it is just an excellent experience, if you want to see someting a little different than regular films. Even know Quentin Tarantino is my favorite director/writer, I don't agree with some of his films, such as four rooms, Natural born killers, and From Dusk Till Dawn. I liked them a lot but it's not his style. Natural Born Killers was just plain creepy!!!.
So watch out for me in the future when I make movies QUENTIN TARANTINO STYLE!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who let these 'dogs' out?, May 27 2004
By 
BEnDR1985 (State College, PA) - See all my reviews
I've been studying movies for over a decade now and believe me when I say this that Tarantino is possibly one of the best or possibly the best director I have ever scene. He can take a mediocre plot and film it so beautifully that you get hooked onto the movie so badly you can't let go. "Reservoir Dogs" makes you feel like you actually know each of these criminals one by one.
Now not seeing the movie may make you think I'm a little disturbed when I say this but the graphic violence and the ultra graphic language is part of why this movie is so great. It brings you into the atmosphere, I mean criminals actually act and talk like that. The acting of the convicts are so superb, Keitel and Busecmi (Did I spell that right?)
Now this clever plot about a few guys pulling a heist and having an undercover cop in the works is pieced together and filmed very differently than other movies I've seen. It's quite interesting.
I have been recommended to watch "Pulp Fiction" I hear its better, but who knows. Watch this movie for Tarantinos greatness in filming, he is a tad weird though I mean look at the ear scene, probably the most memorable "infamous" scene of the movie. This DVD has three alternate angles, I dont dare watch them (yuck!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tarentino's First & Perhaps Foremost..., May 20 2004
Quentin Tarantino's first movie is so good that it should be almost impossible to make a better (or to some, on par) movie after it. Of course we know he did that with 'Pulp Fiction' but here Tarantino already shows us how great he is. 'Reservoir Dogs' is a violent movie with some scenes, one in particular, that could be too much for you. If you can stand the violence you should not miss this one.
Six gangsters, who know each other only by there codename, have to steal some diamonds. They are set up and the police is expecting them. Mr. White (Harvey Keitel) escapes with Mr. Orange (Tim Roth) who is shot already. They arrive in the warehouse where they were supposed to go. Not much later Mr. Pink (Steve Buscemi) and Mr. Blonde (Michael Madsen) arrive as well. Who is the traitor? Is it one of them, or may be the missing Mr. Blue (Eddie Bunker) or Mr. Brown (Quentin Tarantino), the boss Joe Cabot (Lawrence Tierney) or his son Nice Guy Eddie (Chris Penn)?
The direction from Tarantino is extremely sharp, Michael Madsen is pure evil and Buscemi, Keitel and especially Roth give fine performances as well. Another great thing is the soundtrack from The George Baker Selection with Little Green Bag to Harry Nilsson with Coconut. A great first movie from a great director. And ask yourself this, do you tip?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, May 3 2004
This is Tarantino's first and shortest film, and yet it can't help but blow everyone away.
First I'd like to say to those who compare this film to Pulp Fiction or Kill Bill in a bad way, what are you thinking? This is the one film by Tarantino where if he had the chance to go back now, and change anything he wanted to, he would change nothing, this is perfect as it is.
Second, I'd like to mention the amazing performance by none other than Mr. Steve Buscemi, who in my opinion is just the greatest character in the film, and the other person who could ever fill that role of Mr. Pink, who's ending is just the greatest of them all, I would love to see a tv series spin-off or another movie entitled Mr. Pink, since his story was the one that really didn't recieve as much attention as it should have, not including Brown and Blue of course, plus Steve Buscemi is just amazing.
Third, why do people forget Tarantino's Third Film, Jackie Brown? To those of you who compare this with Kill Bill and Pulp Fiction go get Jackie Brown, and be delighted.
Also just to finish, Harvey Keitel just like Steve Buscemi is amazing in everything he does and this is no different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reservoir Dogs, May 1 2004
Watching RESERVOIR DOGS for the first time a dozen years late is an odd experience. It's like watching a football game - long stretches when nothing is happening are punctuated by brief moments of exaggerated violence, following by more interminably long stretches.
A group of low-rent thugs are recruited by a crime boss to steal a shipment of diamonds. To protect things, nobody uses their real names. Rather they are given color names - Mr. Pink, Mr. Brown, etc. If they're caught, that deep level of anonymity will protect the rest of the group. RESERVOIR DOGS is all about what happens when good heists go bad. And this one goes very bad indeed.
There is some very graphic violence here and gallons of movie blood are spilled; I strongly suggest anyone with a weak taste for such things pass this one by. There are also some scenes that just go on and on and on, minutes after they've finished their business. The characters, save for a few exceptions, are vaguely drawn. I watched the special with the critics' review and I guess this was all intentional on Quentin Tarantino's part.
The cast is excellent. I don't usually like graphically violent movie, but I thought the infamous "ear" scene was very well done. Yeah, it's brutal and it'll make you squirm some, it wasn't needed to push the story along, but it works.
I give this one a tepid endorsement, mainly because I'm a big fan of Harvey Keitel and Steve Buscemi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Harsh, uncompromising Tarantino, April 29 2004
By 
Daniel A. Marsh (Sherman, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would not advise watching this movie with anyone other than a person who has A) a strong stomach, B) a high tolerance for foul language and C) an appreciation for black humor.
QT's debut film is a powerful crime drama with images vivid enough to sear holes in your brain. Few directors who have been at work for decades can match the ferocity, passion, and sheer intensity found in Reservoir Dogs. It is an unforgettable experience, whether you ultimately like the movie or not.
The acting is first-rate, as usual with a Tarantino film. The dialogue is funny, obscene, insightful and instantly recognizable as QT. As a thriller, this is one tight little number.
The only trouble is that Reservoir Dog probably will not age as well as Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill. Subtlety isn't its strongest point, and it lacks the nuances and character development that Tarantino went on to master. This is not Tarantino's best movie, but with his level of talent, perhaps that's not surprising. Reservoir Dogs was a great place to start, and as a writer and filmmaker, QT has improved tremendously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino's "Little movie", April 28 2004
By 
R. Seehausen "aeroblaster2" (Cypress, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Reservoir Dogs" was Quentin Tarantino's low-budget heist movie that wasn't about a heist at all. With his knack for picking unique yet logical situations and exploding them onto the screen, he deftly takes us through the events that occur immediately after a failed heist.
There's a rule about Quentin Tarantino films: the first time you watch them, you stay off-balance the entire time, never sure what's going to happen or who's going to die. The second time, you sit back to savor the dialogue and the details. Both elements are crafted with equal fervor in this film as in all of his others--a suspenseful, off-kilter plot coupled with masterful (and unique) execution.
Of course, being so low-budget, this film is small in scale. The locations are few, and the fact that all of the really important events occur on one set gives the movie a very 'tiny' feel. It doesn't feel as detailed and comprehensive as "Pulp Fiction", or as sweeping and free-roving as "Kill Bill", but it has its own charm nonetheless.
Memorable moments include Michael Madsen dancing enthusiastically as he brutalizes a young cop, Tarantino himself analyzing Madonna's music, and the stunning Hamlet-esque conclusion which leaves you with a decidedly bent mind.
Despite its smaller scale, this is still a fine Tarantino picture and well worth the price. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reservoir Dogs (Widescreen/Full Screen)
Reservoir Dogs (Widescreen/Full Screen) by Quentin Tarantino (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 17.98 CDN$ 9.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews