Customer Reviews


179 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleetwood Mac triumphs with '97 Reunion Performance!
This is the performance that introduced this legendary rock band to a new generation in the late 1990's. This is Fleetwood Mac's first performance together in over 10 years, since Lindsey left the band in 1987, filmed live on a LA soundstage before many of Hollywood's elite. The entire band rocks out on every single song - there is not one bad performance on this DVD. The...
Published on June 23 2004 by GoodTaste80

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice concert. Dull audio
The performers were outstanding but let me be the first to tell you that the audio quality from this concert DVD was mediocre at best. If your home theater system has the ability to resolve the finer detail and fidelity of a well recorded concert, The Dance will disappoint you. My biggest complaint is that this DVD lacks dynamic range. Yes, it plays loud but on complex...
Published on March 17 2004 by Abester


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fleetwood Mac triumphs with '97 Reunion Performance!, June 23 2004
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac - The Dance (1997) (DVD)
This is the performance that introduced this legendary rock band to a new generation in the late 1990's. This is Fleetwood Mac's first performance together in over 10 years, since Lindsey left the band in 1987, filmed live on a LA soundstage before many of Hollywood's elite. The entire band rocks out on every single song - there is not one bad performance on this DVD. The sound of the band and the quality of the DVD sound is EXCELLENT. Above all, the interaction between band members, particularly Lindsey & Stevie, is PRICELESS. As Stevie Nicks said of this performance "As magic as it gets, it was." Stevie Nicks proves her standing as The Queen of Rock on every song, turning on all of her trademark moves, not to mention looking and sounding incredibly beautiful. Christine McVie, equally as graceful and beautiful, treats the audience to a few of her Fleetwood Mac hits, and Lindsey proves that Fleetwood Mac just isn't the same without him. The audience is treated to a few surprises, including an emotional "Landslide" (the version you hear on the radio was taken from this performance) which shows clear reconsiliation between Lindsey & Stevie, a visit from the USC marching band on "Tusk" (they also played on the "Tusk" album)and an AWESOME performance between Lindsey & Stevie of her Grammy nominated "Silver Springs". The album version of this performance was nominated for a Grammy & went to #1 on the charts - you'll wonder why it didn't win an Oscar for best real-life drama after you see this one! The only set back is that "Stand Back" and "Little Lies" are not included on this performance, yet you couldn't ask for more after you finish watching it! This DVD proves why Fleetwood Mac is one of rock's most legendary bands! You'll watch it over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Chain brought them together again, and I'm glad it did., Oct. 3 2003
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac - The Dance (1997) (DVD)
'The Dance' is an absolute must - have for all Fleetwood Mac fans, as it was this reunion which brought the famous five back together to make some controlled, superb and thoroughly listenable music! They are all on top form in this video, and although not quite as active on stage as before, they still keep the audience wanting more, with neither a note or a foot out of place throughout. A large portion of the setlist is included, though unfortunately Stevie Nicks' solo smash, 'Stand Back' was not put on the video. Four new songs, and a breathtaking version of Nicks' 'Silver Springs' are featured, as well as an entire live USC marching band for 'Don't Stop' and 'Tusk'.
So all in all, a quintessential part to any pop/rock music fan, and a fine performance from all angles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing sound for for 5.1 dolby, May 11 2013
By 
Richard B. Barnaby (Calgary AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac - The Dance (1997) (DVD)
Read the reviews and I was very impressed how good it sounds. Usually I try to find a blue ray version to get dts sound. This is probably the best 5.1 I have ever heard. Make sure you have a good sub to fully enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice concert. Dull audio, March 17 2004
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac - The Dance (1997) (DVD)
The performers were outstanding but let me be the first to tell you that the audio quality from this concert DVD was mediocre at best. If your home theater system has the ability to resolve the finer detail and fidelity of a well recorded concert, The Dance will disappoint you. My biggest complaint is that this DVD lacks dynamic range. Yes, it plays loud but on complex tracks (like Tusk) the audio is compressed and everything is at the same volume level. Everything LOUD does not equal better.
Before you suspect my home theater system I should mention a number of concert DVD's with outstanding audio quality far superior to The Dance:
Peter Gabriel - Secret World Live
Peter Gabriel - Growing Up Live
Eric Clapton - One More Car, One More Rider
Eric Clapton - Unplugged
The Eagles - Hell Freezes Over
Norah Jones - Live in New Orleans
Alison Krauss + Union Station Live
Santana - Supernatural Live
Joe Satriani - Live in San Francisco
Concert for George (Harrison) - at the Royal Albert Hall
This is just a handful of other concert DVD titles that I own and they all sound much better than Fleetwood Mac The Dance. For this reason I give The Dance just 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Concert for Mac Fans !!!, April 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac - The Dance (1997) (DVD)
I hate when people review bands 30 years later and say things like "Oh ...they were nothing like they were back in 1977...or they have changed. DUH....yes they have changed...but the one consistant with this line up of Fleetwood Mac is they DID in fact continue to get better.The Dance is a concert that you can enjoy as a fan simply because you feel as if you are watching old friends have a reunion. They stay true to their music all the way through the show...each member accepts their spotlight and they are not trying to steal it from any other member. Not only that but the interactions between the band is incredibly respectful...perhaps an acknowledgement of earlier times when that was not the case.The music is incredible...every song stood out on its own merit...even the ones considered to be "new" at the time in 1997.I would love to see Dance Part 2 become a reality and have it feature some of Macs many hits and other great songs that did not make it to The Dance.Songs like Beautiful Child and Angel ...Over and Over from the Tusk album. Second Hand News and I Don't Wanna Know from Rumours....Monday Morning , Blue Letter and Crystal from Fletwood Mac album....Seven Wonders ..Little Lies...You and I ...Family Man from Tango In The Night...Perhaps Love In Store...Hold Me(revised) Eyes of the World...Can't Go Back...Wish You Were Here and Straight Back from Mirage. Die Hard Mac Fans would love it I am sure. Seeing how we just learned that Christine McVie has agrred to return to the bang along with Stevie and Lindsey John and of course Mick for a new 2014 studio album...perhaps The Dance 2 idea might not be so far off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fleetwood Mac the Dance, June 4 2013
By 
jordan brookes (Norquay Sask. Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac - The Dance (1997) (DVD)
a part of my early 20's life, I love the music and memories. On time and in good shape. love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Needs a rating of 10 stars, April 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac - The Dance (1997) (DVD)
If this isn't the best live recording ever done, I'd like to know what is.
And if you weren't a Fleetwood Mac fan before watching it, you will certainly be a lifetime convert by the second or third performance on this video.
All five band members are on top of their game here, and you don't have to know much about the painful relationship histories played out on Rumours in order to feel the emotional reconciliation and maturity that is evident throughout The Dance.
This, simply put, is a magnificent collection of performances by the most insanely talented group in pop music history.
About as close to perfect as you can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst sounding DVD I have ever heard, Sept. 18 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac - The Dance (1997) (DVD)
I have over 50 DVD's in my collection and I can say with no hesitation this is the worst sounding DVD I have ever heard. I feel the sound is very flat and has no detail. I compared the sound to my Fleetwood Mac Rumours CD, and the sound on the DVD doesn't even compare. If you want to see the band in concert but don't care if the sound recording is of poor quality buy the DVD. If you want to hear a high quality recording on DVD try James Taylor Live or The Eagles Hell Freezes Over on DTS. I know that I am in the minority after reading some of the other reviews here so maybe I got a poorly recorded version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greatest bands and concerts ever!, July 14 2011
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac - The Dance (1997) (DVD)
I purchased this DVD late May, 2011 but did not get time to relax and watch it until July 2011.

It was worth waiting until I had the proper time to really relax, enjoy and appreciate what was and still is real music, talent and artistry. I am so glad that I grew up in an era where music made sense. In Fleetwood Mac's music, they sing about sharing love and fellings absent of vulgarity like in todays music.

I watched it on my home theatre system and it was awesome! It kind of felt like I was there. Some of the songs, I wish they would have sang like on the album but this was an amazing concert. My following comments don't do them justice; Mick Fleetwood is one of the best drummers I've ever seen and heard, he really is into his art. Lindsay Buckingham, is an incredible guitar player. My wife asked in one of the songs, how is he playing his guitar that way. It was Mesmerizing. I love the whole group including the back up people in the band, especially the guy on the bongos. The USC Marching band was a very nice touch!

This DVD is worth every penny and more.

Thank you Amazon for your prompt responses, efficiency and safe delivery of this product.

I would positively recommend purchasing from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth, April 18 2011
This review is from: Fleetwood Mac - The Dance (1997) (DVD)
Great concert of the full Fleetwood Mac band. Great performances by all. Excellent quality of video and sound. I recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fleetwood Mac - The Dance (1997)
Fleetwood Mac - The Dance (1997) by Bruce Gowers (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 17.99 CDN$ 13.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews