Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be releasd with some bonus features.
Just saw this movie the other day and loved it. Warners should re-release as a two disk set with new interviews with Richard Donner and the cast. I would like to hear how they made the movie and what they think of it, all these years later.
Published on June 28 2004

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ladyhawke review
Because the dvd came from Germany it could not be viewed on my dvd player because the dvd was set up for a different region. So very dissappointing and a waste of money.
Published 8 months ago by Diana Hoffman


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be releasd with some bonus features., June 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Ladyhawke (DVD)
Just saw this movie the other day and loved it. Warners should re-release as a two disk set with new interviews with Richard Donner and the cast. I would like to hear how they made the movie and what they think of it, all these years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ladyhawke review, Feb. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ladyhawke (DVD)
Because the dvd came from Germany it could not be viewed on my dvd player because the dvd was set up for a different region. So very dissappointing and a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am sorrow..., Oct. 23 2001
By 
Y. Collins "yodi1" (Fairfax, VA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ladyhawke (VHS Tape)
A profound mideval legend brought to the big screen. An attractive cast and anachronistic but compelling dialogue.
An okay soundtrack--sort of out of place, but not completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Professors Wood & Molina show all how to best play a villain, Aug. 18 2010
By 
This review is from: Ladyhawke (DVD)
The musical score which later approaches perfection in its subtle support of action, dialogue and scenery is at first an equally glaring, overstated distraction that mars the opening credits of "Ladyhawke" and for bad measure rears up again during the end credits. Setting this point aside for the moment, to watch Goliath's strut and hear Gaston's humorous asides to God are both well worth the research time involved in and price of finding this beautiful but now-disappearing movie. While cementing Rutger Hauer's royal stature in science fiction circles, the film includes additional performances of conviction from Matthew Broderick, Leo McKern, Alfred Molina (yes, he of much later "Spider Man 2" infamy), Michelle Pfeiffer and John Wood. It is Wood - and to an extent lessened only by his minor role, Molina - that reminds us how to best play a villain: strike fear in the best intentioned heart not by brute posturing or aimless rants, but with steady movements, even steadier gazes and a powerful voice delivering crisp words adrip with sinister intent. (Other great examples: Darth Vader and The Emperor throughout the "Star Wars" saga, & Jacob Kell in "Highlander: Endgame.") Consider how differently the male characters each utter just the name "Isabeau" at various points in this story to see, hear and best of all feel what they mean by so doing. The problems keeping "Ladyhawke" from five-star territory (a grainy DVD transfer, lack of audio commentaries and interviews, and the aforementioned score) beg to be resolved by a deluxe treatment similar to that given its equally excellent and similarly soundtrack-challenged 1985 sibling-in-fantasy, Ridley Scott's "Legend." Become "lost in it, with the rest of us."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my VERY FAVORITES!!!, May 17 2004
By 
This review is from: Ladyhawke (DVD)
A story about a Curse, a corrupt Priest and a Love that defied darkness. This was the first movie I had ever seen Michelle P. in and her beauty was flawless, as I love Romance novels this movie really appealed to me. Rutger Hauer was every woman's Noble Knight. Matthew Broderich was so funny as was the priest that lived in the run-down castle.
I highly recommend this movie for youngsters as the story is exciting and tells the story that LOVE truimphs over Evil. A Priest in love with a woman he can not have, the captain of the guard is in love with the same woman who loves him as well. The Priest can't have her and finds out that the 2 are in love and damn them to a life forever apart. There is a thief (Matthew B.) who is the only known person to have escaped the dungeons of Aquilar, Navarre (Rutgar H.) happens upon him hears of this is and is greatly interested in getting into the Fortress of Aquilar to destroy the corrupt priest who has damned himself, Navarre and Isabeau (Michelle P.) (sigh) what lovely names.....
The guards of Aquilar have been told to recapture the theif (Matthew) and return/and or kill him to the dungeons. Of course these guards are the same guards that used to answer to Navarre. Wonderfully exciting story and a mystery too!!
Respectfully Reviewed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, not bad--Horrible soundtrack, April 21 2004
This review is from: Ladyhawke (DVD)
This is the story of Phillipe Gaston (Broderick), a pickpocket known around the city of Aquila as "The Mouse". He thinks that anything is better than prison, and likewise escapes, running to the nearby countryside. He befriends Navarre (Hauer), a renegade knight, who mysteriously always carries a hawk on his shoulder. One knight, Phillipe finds Navarre gone, and a lady named Isabeau (Pfeifer) in his place. After some klutzing around, Phillipe finds that the evil Bishop of Aquila made a pact with the devil, cursing Isabeau to only be human at night, and a hawk at day, and cursing Navarre to be wolf at night and human during the day. It turns out that the Bishop was secretly in love with Isabeau, and decided that if he couldn't have her, no one could.
You can guess the rest...
This wasn't a bad flick. I actually really liked it. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who was expecting some extremely high fantasy movie. This is more lower class. But the soundtrack--GOD the soundtrack--was the worst I had ever heard. It was so bad it had you thinking about it the whole movie...yuk. And it was DISCO!! It wasn't even made in the '70s.
But if you like good acting and interesting fantasy, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A film worthy of ten stars out of five!, April 21 2004
By 
This review is from: Ladyhawke (DVD)
This is a great film about a young couple cursed by a jealous and very powerful man the Bishop of Aquila played by the underrated John Wood.
Michelle Pfeiffer is Isabeau a hawk by day and Rutger Hauer Captain Navarre is a wolf by night.
They can never be together except for one brief moment at dawn unless the curse can be broken.
Enter Leo Mckern as the drunken priest Father Imperious who needs to atone for his past sins, and a boy Phillipe Gaston, the Mouse, acted to perfection by a young Mathew Broderick in one of his earlier roles.
The plot is simple and exciting; Navarre wants revenge on the Bishop for the curse he has laid upon him and his one true love, but the only way to get to the Bishop is by attacking his fortress and that is a suicide mission.
Enter the Mouse who is the only person to get out of the Dungeon's of Aquila alive and it is through the Mouse that Navarre can extract his revenge.
There is a lot of action, good acting overall, a lot of humour, and some wonderfully touching scenes that don't get over cheesy which is saying something.
Look out for Alfred Molina as the Wolf Hunter Cezar, it's one of his earlier roles.
All in all this is a film that time has not touched, it is as good to watch in 2004 as it was when it was made in 1985, not bad for a film that is nearly 20 years old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ken Hutchison rules (as usual), March 11 2004
By 
Meadow Sage (Norman, OK United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ladyhawke (DVD)
Ladyhawke is a little treasure that appeals to a certain audience so much that any faults (ick music) are overlooked. I'm ONE of those people. I think it's just a wonderful movie. The power and occasional magic of true love AND friendship are two main themes. All the leads make the roles their own. The scenery and sets are truly beautiful and appropriate. I'm a a sucker for medieval romance and saw it many times years ago and again recently. I remembered everything but the ending and then remembered I used to just leave after Marquet had his last scene. Ken Hutchison is sooooo great (as always) as Marquet. Everyone is good in the movie but he's the one who got under my skin and made me go from just really liking the movie to really loving it. He hasn't done anything in so long and I don't know why but he is missed. Marquet's and Navarre's horses at the end are two other beautiful things ALMOST as appealing as Hutchison as Marquet. Lovely, sweet little movie with positive messages throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sort of Like Romeo and Juliet...but Completely Different, March 11 2004
By 
This review is from: Ladyhawke (DVD)
Rutgur Hauer plays a night and Michelle Pfiffer plays his love. They are cursed by a mean old Bishop who was in love with Isabeu (Pfiffer). And when he found out about her and Navarre (Hauer), he cursed them so they would see each other no longer. During the day time, she is doomed to be a hawk, and at night Navarre is doomed to live as a wolf. And so it shall be untill their deaths. But the 'ol Bishop forgot about the mouse.
The mouse being the nickname for Phillippe, Matthew Broderick's character. A young thief locked up in the dungeons of Aquilla. He manages to escape (being the first to do so) and is on the run from the soliders of Aquilla. He is saved from the soldiers by Navarre, after NAvarre overhears him claim he escaped from the dungeon. Navarre has plans.
This is a really well-done movie and is fun and exciting to watch. And it is one of the few movies out there now that has a really happy ending that will bring tears to your eyes and make you want to just start the movie over and watch it again. Unlike a lot of peeople here, I think the soundtrack is kind of cool. The "disco-medival" music, as they described it, is a little different, but really shows you how *fun* the movie is. And it is fun to watch. Plus this is back in the day when Miss Pfiffer wan't old and is nice to watch too. You can find this movie pretty cheap anywhere, so do yourself a favour and buy it. You won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Fantasy Film, Feb. 23 2004
By 
This review is from: Ladyhawke (DVD)
In medieval times, a young thief named The Mouse (Matthew Broderick) escapes from the dungeons from Aquila, led by a menacing Bishop (John Wood). He is saved by a mysterious knight named Navarre (Rutger Hauer), who roams around with a hawk. By night, however, she is a charming beauty (Michelle Pfeiffer) and he is a wolf. The two are in love, but are cursed by the Bishop. So, with the help of a former priest (Leo McKern), The Mouse is determined to help them break the curse and destroy the evil Bishop.
I really love this film. It's one of my top favorite fantasy films of all time. It's also a childhood favorite; they used to show it on the ol' family channel right after Neverending Story. Nostalgia aside, this is a wonderfully made film. You have a traditional medieval story about starcrossed lovers, epic battles, beautiful locales, and humor along the way. I especially liked The Mouse's misconceptions about God and towards the end of the film, he finally has an idea of what's going on. The acting is quite good, especially considering the main three stars were up-and-coming; Broderick just got off of doing WarGames and Ferris Fueller before taking the role. Hard to believe that Rutger Hauer wasn't the original choice for Navarre (it was reported that Kurt Russell was originally selected to play the part) because he makes the role all his own. It's also nice to see him play a hero role, too; for a long time I thought of him as the psychotic replicant from Blade Runner. Of course, Pfeiffer is excellent as she is beautiful, too.
Richard Donner, best known for helming the Lethal Weapon series, directed and co-produced. His wife, Lauren Shuler, produced the film. His directing style here is actually different from most of his films, allowing the beauty of the old landscapes and the fight scenes to be portrayed properly. The screenplay is top-notch, which is no surprise since one of the writers wrote Enemy Mine and the other contributed to the Superman series.
Probably the only quarrel I have with it is the music score by Andrew Powell (one of the members of the Alan Parsons Project). I actually liked the score, especially with its jaunting theme, but one critic described it as "disco-medieval." I can't agree more. It screams the 80s so well that a contemporary score set to a medieval picture seems very inappropriate. Still, a good score despite what people say.
Overall, I highly recommend this fantasy film to anyone that likes the genre. In fact, I recommend it even if you're not because it's such a beautiful film that must be seen. A must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ladyhawke
Ladyhawke by Richard Donner (DVD - 1997)
CDN$ 93.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews