Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable but...
An enjoyable adaptation, emphasis on adaptation, of the book. I found the characters very believable and especially enjoyed the characters of Mary, Dickon, Martha, Collin and Lord Craven. The movie itself is entrancing and certainly worth watching. That being said however those people who enjoy the book may find a few disappointments like I did. To put a book into a...
Published on Jan. 31 2005

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars i like it enough to buy it
Hi there. I have brought the vhs of this movie, and I like it enough to rebuy it and upgrade to dvd. I haven't read the book first, but I've heard it wasn't exactly true to the book, however the actors are fitting and I love maggie smith in any movie I've seen. The graphics and growing of the garden is fantastic. It's definately worth watching anyway though, and it makes...
Published on Sept. 30 2004 by maggie smith fan


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie, Jan. 19 2004
By 
Kelli (Somewhere out west) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
I agree with Steve about the part in the garden where the children are chanting. That shouldn't have been in there. That part is very strange. I love the actor who played the dad. He was absolutely perfect for that part. He looked like a brooding, wounded man. If you fast-forward through the chanting part, the movie is then perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good-its not the musical though, Jan. 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
I really liked this DVD. But my school will be doing the musical of the Secret Garden and I thought this was it. It's not, but its is a very very good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie!, Jan. 7 2004
By 
K. Forshee (Madisonville, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
Don't listen to Steve Keohane (Mr. 3 stars) who is the typical ignorant Christian who let's their religion rule everything and would undoubtedly love for it to rule everyone else as well.
The movie was wonderful and I give it top marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, Nov. 1 2003
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
I have to say this has got to be the best out of all the secret garden movies. The sets are breathtaking, and the garden just makes you want to wish you were there. When Mary Lennox, a spoiled little girl, is sent to live with her Uncle in the estate he owns called Misselthwait Manor after her parents die in a strange earthquake in India, she knows things aren't exactly in the ordinary. Someone in the castle crys out in terror all the time, and a garden out on the moors is locked up for who knows what reason. People are very mysterious about these two things, and no one wants to talk about it, so Mary'll just have to find out for herself. Everything in this movie is flawless. They may not have followed the book too well, but even on its own, it made a great version. The acting was great, especially by the always wonderful Margaret Smith, as Mrs. Medlock, and John Lynch as Mr. Craven. A timeless classic blooms to life once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, Nov. 1 2003
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
I have to say this has got to be the best out of all the secret garden movies. The sets are breathtaking, and the garden just makes you want to wish you were there. I was amazed at how well the kids acted. I didn't even know kids could act that well. You sometimes even forgot they were children, and just payed attention to what they were saying.
When Mary Lennox, a spoiled little girl(Kate Maberly), is sent to live with her Uncle in the estate he owns called Misselthwait Manor after her parents die in a strange earthquake in India, she knows things aren't exactly in the ordinary. Someone in the castle crys out in terror all the time, and a giant garden out on the moors is locked up for who knows what reason. People are very mysterious about these two things, and no one wants to talk about it, so Mary'll just have to find out for herself with her curious mind. With the help of Dickon, and her new found friend Robin, she can unlock the secret to the garden, and to her heart.
Everything in this movie is flawless. They may not have followed the book too well, but even on its own, it made a great version. The acting was great by the adults too, especially by the always wonderful Maggie Smith, as Mrs. Medlock, and John Lynch as Mr. Craven. A timeless classic blooms to life once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good shape, July 19 2003
By 
Keith R. Taylor (Atwater, Ca. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
Took a while to get it but it's in good shape
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best "Secret Garden" film., June 20 2003
By 
Stewart (Raleigh, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
This 1993 Warner Bros. version of "The Secret Garden" is the best version in my opinion. It's a much more subtle piece of work than the 1949 MGM version with Margaret O'Brien. The child actors in this film are superb, as well as the adult actors. The cinematography and musical score are both beautiful. I've seen three film versions of "The Secret Garden": MGM's 1949 film, Hallmark's 1987 TV movie, and Warner Brothers' 1993 film. This last one is my favorite of the lot, and one of the most beautiful films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Art Directing, June 8 2003
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
This film is excellently directed and gives the original story the extra grace. I read the story when I was a little boy. The garden remains mysterious to me. Now I am glad to find the garden in this film though a bit different from what I had expected. Art directing is stellar. From the onset of Indian landscape to vividness of the garden I had been awestruck.
Children actors are super as well. And supporting actors particularly Maggie Smith as the strict servant create the mood of the story well. A bit of unconvincing part is Mary's cousin Colin being too quick to walk briskly. Overall excellent artwork and directing overcedes the minor things. The use of guiding robin is also nice. And the garden is beautiful and the process of rebooming is nicely described. This should not be limited to children. Adults need such heartwarming story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most heart-warming movie ever made!, April 28 2003
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
A classic movie about 3 children and the heart-warming healing power that an abandoned garden gave them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, reverent, awe-inspiring..., Feb. 2 2003
By 
Dirk (Warren, Ohio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Secret Garden (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
To be honest, I remember seeing previews of this movie way back when it came out (in 1993) and thinking to myself, "WHY would anyone want to see such a film; more importantly, WHY would anyone make it?" Well, about five years later it appeared on TV one night when I was bored. I decided to give it a try, fully expecting to turn it off within 20 minutes or so. WOW -- was I ever wrong!
What I saw was beautiful and captivating, artistic and entrancing -- film-making of the highest order. "The Secret Garden" is a movie of such high artistic quality that it ranks up there with the hallowed "Apocalypse Now" (although, of course, these two flicks inhabit two opposite ends of the thematic spectrum). It's no wonder that Francis Ford Coppola had his hand in both of these pics -- he was the director of "Apocalypse Now" (duh) and the executive producer of "The Secret Garden."
Anyway, the cinematography is breathtaking and the music is wondrously outstanding.
To be brief, the story's about a young spoilied English girl, orphaned in India, who comes home to live on her uncle's vast estate in the early 1900's. The girl, Mary, finds herself trapped in a mysterious, colossal manor -- almost a castle -- tyranically managed by a life-stifling witch, Mrs. Medlock, in the frequent absence of her uncle, Lord Cravin. Because Mary is highly intelligent, independant and sly she is easily able to reconnoiter the manor and learn its forbidding secrets. The biggest secret is that her aunt died in childbirth about ten years before, but her son, Colin, still lives there, albeit confined to a bed, sickly and unable to walk. Her uncle evidently never healed from this heartbreak and this explains his frequent absences.
Mary finds a secret garden in her explorations, a hidden garden closed up and neglected since her aunt's death. After meeting the sickly and sad Colin, Mary inevitably finds a way to sneak him into the beautiful garden along with her pal Dickon. She instinctively senses that Colin isn't as sick as everyone is convinced he is; she knows the best thing for Colin would be to get him out of the dreary castle and the oppressive clutches of Mrs. Medlock. Mary and her secret garden are the keys to restoring health, life and freedom to Colin, Lord Cravin and the gloomy manor.
"The Secret Garden" is kind of a 1990's version of the outstanding "Pollyanna" with Hayley Mills (1960). Both pics involve a young girl restoring a spirit of joy and liberty to a lifeless community. The difference is that Mary is not even remotely the "glad girl" that Pollyanna is. (In fact, look for the hilarious line from the old man gardener who responds to Mary's puzzlement concerning her lack of friends).
"The Secret Garden" is no doubt labled a "children's film;" this is a shame because it so transcends such a limiting category. It is a beautiful work of wonder and deep mystery which can be enjoyed by people of all ages -- children and adults. SEE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret Garden (Widescreen/Full Screen)
The Secret Garden (Widescreen/Full Screen) by Agnieszka Holland (DVD - 1997)
CDN$ 7.99 CDN$ 6.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews