Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars good clean laugh
not as funny as "Wanda" but way funnier than the movies with Cary whoever, the fool that plays the pet detective
Published 9 months ago by frank hinz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Matthau-Lemmon is always a winner, but...
I have to agree with others that this was a bit disappointing. I wasn't expecting something as good as the first "Odd Couple" (really, how could ANYTHING top that?) but I think it could have been better.
Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon are both top-notch actors just on their own, and together they are an unstoppable duo. However, in the sunset years of...
Published on Oct. 22 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good clean laugh, Oct. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
not as funny as "Wanda" but way funnier than the movies with Cary whoever, the fool that plays the pet detective
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very funny classic!, May 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wish the language could be a little cleaner.
But these two actors make such a wonderful pair!
I will probably watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely hilarious, June 25 2004
By 
bjorn (Elk River, MN) - See all my reviews
this is much better than the first one. i literally almost peed my pants laughing. i especially like how Felix is still super perfect and all. if you need a funny movie to check out, get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar and Felix are Back, June 13 2004
By 
Julie A Ross (Pleasant Hill, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon, two comedy greats, pair up again in this hilarious film. In The Odd Couple II, it has been 17 years since Oscar and Felix last saw each other. They are reunited to go to their children's wedding. Along the way they get arrested three times, encounter two lovely ladies Thelma and Holly, and get on each other's nerves no end. After making such a hit as Odd Couple, making a sequel was risky business, but Walter and Jack pulled it off! Sadly it would be their last film together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At Odds And A Little Uneven..., March 17 2004
By 
T. Lobascio (New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Following the success of the Grumpy Old Men films, original Odd Couple writer Neil Simon, decided to bring together Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau yet again. Putting them in the roles that made them one of the greatest on screen duos of all time in the first place.
As The Odd Couple II begins, many years have passed since uncompromising slob Oscar Madison (Matthau) and fuss budget and neatnick Felix Unger (Lemmon) shared, not only an apartment, but their many trials as two divorced men. After years of going their separate ways, the two are suddenly thrown together again, en route to the wedding of Oscar's son Bruce (Jonathan Silverman) to Felix's daughter Hannah (Lisa Waltz). Getting to the wedding ceremony, proves difficult for the perspective in laws, when they are forced to take a cross country trip together.
Written once again by Simon, the script has its fair share of cliches`, to be sure but the film is saved by Lemmon and Matthau. The chemistry between these two legendary comic masters is undeniable. Due to the passage of time though, Simon's follow up isn't as bitting as the original, that said, The Odd Couple II is still worth a look for those that enjoy the work of the duo. Director Howard Deutch, having worked with this team before, knows them pretty well. The original film, based on a play, never felt that way...This time out, the sequel, at times feels like an extended episode of the television incartnation.
The only bonus material on the DVD is the film's theatrical trailer. Both of these great actors are sadly no longer with us, but thankfully their work will live on, in the films they left behind. Not as good as the original film--the follow up is, nonetheless recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Matthau-Lemmon is always a winner, but..., Oct. 22 2003
By A Customer
I have to agree with others that this was a bit disappointing. I wasn't expecting something as good as the first "Odd Couple" (really, how could ANYTHING top that?) but I think it could have been better.
Walter Matthau and Jack Lemmon are both top-notch actors just on their own, and together they are an unstoppable duo. However, in the sunset years of their lives, they made four movies that I remember: "Grumpy Old Men", "Grumpier Old Men", "Grumpiest (just kidding)", "Out To Sea", and "The Odd Couple II". All funny movies, all excellently played by our guys, but all basically the same movie with slightly different situations. I blame the writers, though, not Walter and Jack.
If you're a fan of Matthau-Lemmon movies, then you'll enjoy this one. Just don't expect anything new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The old couple, July 14 2002
By 
Ventura Angelo (Brescia, Lombardia Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odd Couple II, the (VHS Tape)
Most "number twos" in movies are a lame echo of the original,and this picture is no exception. What is most noticeable in the two protagonists is the passage of time.Some scenes were still funny, but a sad melancholy pervades the film, which has very little to share whit the brilliance of the original odd couple. Not so bad as the "Grumpy old men" movies, but some of their sour flavour is felt there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Encore!, May 21 2002
By 
John Lease (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odd Couple II, the (VHS Tape)
'The Odd Couple' is a classic cornerstone of American Comedy, a sequel would seem to be a risky propostion but this one delivers with laugh out loud scenes of the mismatched duo of Felix and Oscar as they attempt to arrive on time at their offsprings wedding. Lost luggage, torched maps, wrecked rental cars and other mishaps abound but the real laughs lie in the delivery of this classic comedy team of Lemmon (as fastitious photographer Felix) and Matthau (as sloppy sports writer Oscar), a great time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kind of a Let Down., March 11 2002
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (Sorento, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Odd Couple II, the (VHS Tape)
Jack Lemmon and Walter Matthau are back reprising the roles they played on Broadway and on film, those of Felix Unger and Oscar Madison, respectively. Lemmon and Matthau work brilliantly together and after several years of starring in "grumpy old men" comedies, this was to be their last pairing together.
It's been over twenty-five years since THE ODD COUPLE and seventeen years since Felix and Oscar last spoke to each other. Felix is still in New York and Oscar is in Florida. However, the two are reunited in Los Angeles to drive together to a very special wedding: Bruce Madison (Oscar's son) to Hannah Unger (Felix's daughter). Along the way, the duo fall into all sorts of misadventures and can never seem to leave a particular small California town.
However, this wasn't quite The Odd Couple. The wit and drama that made the original so fun and entertaining to watch just isn't in this sequel. It's as though as Oscar and Felix aged, their humor staled as well. The premise of the film was so promising, but there are lots of things that just don't work. For instance, Oscar and Felix were best friends, 17 years is a long time to never communicate with one's closest and dearest friend. Still, the film does star Lemmon and Matthau and their comic chemistry is brilliant. The movie is worth watching just for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment, July 3 2001
The original Odd Couple is one of my 10 favorite movies of all time so I was excited to see what Oscar and Felix were up to now. After viewing this tragedy I had to go back and watch the original again just to get the taste of the sequel out of my mind. There is far too much bathroom humor in this movie and it has none of the subtlety and wit of the first movie. This may be Lemmon and Matthau but it definitely is NOT Felix and Oscar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Odd Couple II, the
Odd Couple II, the by Howard Deutch (VHS Tape - 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews