Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars59
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$27.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 26, 2004
Washington, DC police detective Alex Cross (Freeman) receives a call that his niece Naomi has been abducted from the Durham area, and he decides that he needs to go there to help find her. Once he gets there, he is informed that one of the women abducted has been found dead tied to a tree. He, along with Nick Ruskin (Elwes) and Davey Skes (McArthur), the two Durham detectives heading up the task force, head out to the location. Alex is fearful that it's his niece, but is relieved that it's not her.
Meanwhile, we meet Kate McTiernan (Judd), a doctor at the local hospital. Not only is she a doctor, but she's also a kick-boxer. But that does her little good when she discovers a stranger in her house, who knocks her unconscious. When she comes to, she finds herself in a small room. And shortly after regaining conscious, the person who has abducted her appears at her bedside. She manages to get out of the room and escapes by jumping into a river. After she recovers, she decides to help Alex out with his investigation, against his protests. But he realizes that she's his best opportunity to find his niece, so reluctantly agrees.
The abducter starts taunting the police, sending them notes about the women. He signs his notes as Cassanova. Cassanova was a great lover, and Alex deduces that he isn't a killer, he's a collector. He only kills when the women disappoint or cross him. After some more investigating, he finds a connection between Cassanova and a plastic surgeon on the West Coast. It seems that there are also a string of abductions there, but these women all turn up dead, with one of their feet missing.
I can't say any more without giving away too much of the plot. KISS THE GIRLS has a good story, with very good acting by all involved. When Judd's character of McTiernan is in her cell communicating with the other girls, she's so convincing that it's like she was actually there. Morgan Freeman is very good in the role of Alex Cross. The supporting cast is pretty good, as well.
**SPOILER** The only real problem I have with KISS THE GIRLS is that the story, which is good as I said above, is just too similar to a lot of other movies in the thriller genre. It's really frustating to see movie after movie with the "killer is someone we met earlier" plot-line. It might have been clever at one time, but now it is just so common-place, that the viewer almost automatically look for clues as to who the killer is. I had this one pegged not too long after we first meet him.
Based solely on the story of this movie, I would give it a three. It's basically the same movie the viewer has seen before, but with a different twist on the plot. But I have to give it a four because of the acting, especially Freeman and Judd. If Freeman has made a bad movie, I haven't seen it yet. I recommend this movie, but if you pay attention, you can figure out who Cassanova is without too much difficulty. Story rates a three, but the acting pulls it up to a four. Go check it out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 20, 2003
I enjoyed thsi film for what it was. I'm sure that the books are much moere detailed into the characters but that for the sake of economizing time and plot, the movie moves along swiftly. The twist of a killer's victim getting away but still being necessary to being bait was a good twist as a plot point. I enjoyed Judd and Freeman working together---I don't think it could quite be called a sexual chemistry as much as an easiness with one another and a seeming respect for each other's abilities. That personal quality translates nicely to the screne so that I got the feeling that this police officer might trust Judd to help get his niece back. A good movie, though necessarily amazing, like Seven or Silence of the Lambs, but worth a viewing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on November 16, 2003
Nothing ingenious in the plot, nothing you wouldn't have seen before (it is almost "Se7en"-esque, come to think of it) but the handling of the crime thriller theme is different. There is a clever "bi-coastal" angle to the murders under investigation (I won't spoil it with an explanation) and the police investigators do well to identify it.
BUT, it's the terrible screenplay that makes the movie's flow rather jerky. So much sudden stuff happened during the course of the detective sleuthing that I couldn't help not caring towards the second half. The finale is mildly predicatable, and the last straw that identifies the killer is so knuckle-headed that it takes away from the overall smart flavor of the film.
On the upside, the shooting of the killer in the denouement is pretty novel (just so you wait until the end.) Morgan Freeman maintains every bit of his general quiet-yet-powerful screen charisma, and Ashley Judd delivers a very convincing performance of a woman with spirit.
The movie has a good deal of suspense too, kept me riveted. But it surely shows what bad story telling can do to an otherwise great theme.
On a scale of Freeman-Judd pairings, this is much better than "Along came a spider" (if you've seen it) but a weaker sibling to "High Crimes".
Nothing you'd want to own but definitely a recommended rental!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 2, 2001
Morgan Freeman plays a Crime Scene Physcologist who leaves his jurisdiction to head to the college town in North Carolina, where his neice has been abducted by a serial killer/abductor. The intense criminal mind of the abductor feels he must capture smart, beautiful women and hold them captive until they fall inlove with him. If they disobey he ties them to trees for the wild animals. Ashley Judd plays an extremely smart doctor who gets abducted and then ultimately escapes. She then helps Morgan Freeman head up the investigation into the world of one sick mind. It's a very intensive thriller that will have you hanging on the edge of your seat and you won't know the true identity of the killer until the end. Ashely Judd gives her usual outstanding performance, as does Morgan Freeman. I'm not usually a thriller movie buff, but this one might just make me change my mind.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on July 6, 2015
I'm a sucker for Morgan Freeman thrillers and this one does not disappoint. It's about this guy who calls himself Casanova. He kidnaps women to be his "Lovers" and one night one of the women (Ashley Judd) gets away, barely. She goes to the police and tells them her terrifying tale. Alex Cross (Morgan Freeman) agrees to take her case because he learns that one of his relatives has been taken by this sadistic serial killer. the woman helps the police narrow their search for this psycho and it leads to a pretty exciting climax. You will never guess who the killer is until the very end, they did that very well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 16, 2010
I love this movie!!! It is such a fantastic thriller, with wonderful cast & such an unexpected ending. I have always wanted to own a copy of my own & now I have!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on August 8, 2002
Based on the Novel by James Patterson the film is a great psychotic Thriller starring Morgan Freeman, Ashley Judd. Morgan Freeman is a cop who gets involved in the case because his niece is one of a number who have been abducted some of which have turned up dead some ofwhich are still missing. The films keeps you guessing on who actually is the killer. A well put together film and it strikes real fear into the viewer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2003
This film, adapted from James Patterson's novel of the same title, is a glossy and seemingly money-driven attempt to cash in on the success of the Alex Cross novels.
Fortunatly, director Feldman takes his job seriously, and shows loving attention in the photography to convey a consistantly dark and looming atmosphere. It a great looking film, and those who have read the book ought to be pleased with the performances, especially by Ashley Judd as Kate McTiernan. Mark Isham's score is appropriate in some places, like the main titles, and at other times it sends the wrong notes to fit the scenes.
The screenplay suffers a bit from being to tightly adapted from the novel, which, as an experience is entirely different. The novels rely on short chapters and exchanges and constant shifting in viewpoint to keep the reader going along, but the movie needs a slower pace, more meticulous mood building, which this film accomplishes to a degree, but would have benefited from more freedom from the novel to cut down on the story and make the essential plot elements more developed. But to it's credit, the movie does employ a very different ending, which I feel is even better and far more appropriate than Patterson's sett piece finale.
Mainstream moviegoers might find the film too dark and be uninterested by the seriel rapist plot, because it's more toned down than your typical detective thriller. But as a whole product, KISS THE GIRLS is lean and competent, with soem great performances and quite a good story and director to drive along its lazily adapted script
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2003
In 'Kiss the Girls', Morgan Freeman makes his original appearance as detective Alex Cross, the forensic psychologist and hero of the best selling novels by James Patterson. His performance is superb.
Ashley Judd appears opposite him as a kidnapped and nearly raped medical intern who is intent on bringing to justice the smooth talking pervert who has imprisoned (and sometimes killed) nearly a dozen gorgeous college coeds.
The story unfolds in pieces. And the emphasis of the movie is more on pursuit - than on pleasure. The twists become more numerous as we approach the finale. And the film doesn't get gory (just a little) until the very end.
Mr. Patterson's novels are too gruesome for my own tastes. But the movie adaptations - of 'Kiss the Girls', and 'Along Came a Spider' - are both tastefully done and satisfying to watch.
The subject matter of the film - namely, the mixing of sex and violence towards women - is both disturbing and titillating. Although he doesn't quite say it in this manner, the villain of the film knows that the public is fascinated with the terror he wroughts - because it brings out the latent Ted Bundy in all of us. Enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2003
Many reviewers have had the benefit of reading the novel on which the movie was based before watching Kiss The Girls, and most reviewers consider this movie mediocre simply because it isn't on par with the novel. I haven't read the novel, so my agreement on the mediocrity of this movie stems from a slightly different source.
This movie centers around Alex Cross (played by Morgan Freeman), a forensic psychologist assigned to investigate a series of bi-coastal kidnappings simultaneously occurring in North Carolina and California. One of the women kidnapped is his own niece. He subsequently deduces that there are two kidnappers, one on each coast, who are both helping each other as well as competing against each other in some sort of sick game. Ashley Judd plays Kate Tiernan, a North Carolina doctor who is one of the women kidnapped but then manages to escape from the kidnapper's lair in the forest. She and Cross team up to find the kidnapped women and capture the kidnappers.
This movie is fairly entertaining, and Freeman and Judd are at their usual best. I also enjoyed the scenery in which the movie was filmed. However, this movie has a few drawbacks that cannot be overlooked. First, while Morgan Freeman gave an excellent performance, it was obvious that his part should have been given to someone a little younger. He's one of the greatest actors of our time, but he's a little too old to be doing action movies. Also, this movie was too much like Silence of the Lambs, only not as good. There was no original material here, and nothing that hasn't been presented in a better way in another movie.
If you're looking for something to entertain you for two hours, this will do the job. However, this is a movie you will soon forget.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Along Came a Spider [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
Along Came a Spider [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Morgan Freeman (Blu-ray - 2015)
CDN$ 9.88

Witness [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
Witness [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) by Harrison Ford (Blu-ray - 2015)
CDN$ 9.88

MATCHSTICK MEN by Ridley Scott (DVD)
CDN$ 57.66