Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fall overboard w/ laughter at this 5 star funfest of a film
Probably my favorite comedy movie of all time (starring Goldie Hawn & Kurt Russell), Overboard has it all!
A five star cast, hilarious dialogue, great comedic timing, and marvelous chemistry between Hawn & Russell easily adds up to more than five stars worth of fun. Supporting cast members like Roddy McDowell, Katherine Helmond, and Edward Herrmann make more...
Published on May 7 2004 by B.A.A.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Overboard...Senior English Review Paper
A male chuvinistic pig collides into a rich snobby woman, where the waters of true love will be tested. Kurt Russell and Goldie Hawn play in a romatic comedy called Overboard.
A spoiled and bored woman calls for a carpenter to rearrange her closet while her yacht is docked in the Port at Elk Cove. Joanna, who is proper and well mannered, is absolutely disgusted by...
Published on May 30 2001


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fall overboard w/ laughter at this 5 star funfest of a film, May 7 2004
This review is from: Overboard (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Probably my favorite comedy movie of all time (starring Goldie Hawn & Kurt Russell), Overboard has it all!
A five star cast, hilarious dialogue, great comedic timing, and marvelous chemistry between Hawn & Russell easily adds up to more than five stars worth of fun. Supporting cast members like Roddy McDowell, Katherine Helmond, and Edward Herrmann make more than the most from their roles, and really shine. The actors who portray Mrs. Berberich, the school principal, and Dr. Korman, the psychiatrist, really do their part to add comedic punch as well.
The movie opens with Goldie Hawn as JoAnna Stayton, a bored, pampered, demanding and imperious heiress--husband Grant is an equally shallow and pompous aristocrat. They openly despise each other, treat the help like servants, are enamored with possessions over people, and are proof positive that money does not buy happiness.
Enter Kurt Russell as carpenter Dean Profitt, hired to build a new closet on the Stayton yacht. When petualnt Hawn refuses to pay him for his work and knocks him overboard, Russell vows he will make her pay. He soon gets his chance when JoAnna falls overboard herself and husband Grant is too preoccupied watching Lifestyles of the Rich & Famous (ostensibly to see if he made it onto a list of the top ten yacht owners!) to hear her cries for help and save her.
Once rescued and suffering from amnesia, JoAnna is taken to the mental ward of a local hospital where she terrorizes staff members with her fits and vicious snits. Only too glad to be rid of her, they fall for Dean Profitt's story that this is his missing wife, Annie, and he is permitted to take her "home."
The Profitt "residence" turns out to be a down-and-out homestead reminiscent of the farm from Green Acres, complete with car parts and debris all over the yard, a limping dog in a cast, and four unruly boys demolishing everything in sight. Watching Hawn acclimate to this nightmare is totally hilarious. At one point she sighs..."So, this is my life....I didn't marry very well, did I?" Too, too funny!
By movie's end, Hawn has transformed the unruly household into a happy family home, fallen in love with Russell and his children, and morphed into a real human being. A funny, funny movie with a feel good ending, Overboard is highly underrated. I urge you to watch it and share the humor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very entertaining and enjoyable, a terrific movie!!, June 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Overboard (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
easily ,the best movie goldie or kurt have made together or apart, period. its for anyone who is down to earth and enjoys a good practical joke. its a funny movie yet heartwarming and will make you feel good. Part of the magic comes from goldie and kurt being a couple in real life as they have this certain chemistry. This movie I enjoy over and over and it will have a permanent place in my collection. It's just too bad there's not a sequel because you don't want the fun to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Underrated Movie!, March 19 2004
By 
This review is from: Overboard (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
When ever I see Filmographys of Goldie Hawn or Kurt Russel, I rarely see this great movie mentioned! And I dont know why? I'm not into those love story kind of things, but this movie has a speichel place in my heart for some reason!
By now youve read the reveiws of what its about, so i need not bore you with another one! All I can sau is this is a very good sweet romantic comedy, and it deserves more credit then it has recieved! As you can see already, other people rated it high! They rate it high because its a finly made movie!
There no cheesyness or stupidity to it, and you will really enjoy this if you want a nice familly movie with only a tiny bit of cruedness in some areas, but i dont think its anything your grandparents would have there mouths open over!
If you have never seen this, and your into romantic comedys, then this is the one to get! Dont think its some lovey dovey sloppy stroppy kissey wussy mushy film tho! Its not.... its defnitly a feel good love flick that even the guys will probably be able to enjoy and not just rate this as a chick flick...far from it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Overboard with laughter and wit!, Jan. 27 2004
This review is from: Overboard (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
It was only by chance that I caught this movie on HBO one night not too long ago and sat down to watch it with a friend of mines. I had never even heard of such a movie but upon seeing that it starred Kurt Russell (One of my favorite actors. See "Backdraft" as well) and the movie had a very eccentric feel that I felt it was worth giving a watch. I was so incredibly suprised as "Overboard" turned out to be a really funny and absolutely hilarious classic comedy movie. "Overboard" is one of my favorite movies of Kurt Russell's and is a movie to rent.
Starring Kurt Russell and Goldie Hawn, it all happens when the heiress of a British aristocratic empire suffers amnesia after a boating accident and is lost at sea. A man however rescues her from the sea and 'rescues' her and brings her to his house where his four dysfunctional kids raise hell in her life and she tries to adapt to her 'new life' and a romance blossoms between the woman and handyman but a conman who is part of the aristicratic business is out to bring her back to her 'previous life' and as she recalls what she lost before the accident, she has to choose whether to go for the handyman (Russell) or her traditional aristocratic family business.
I was completely suprised at how great this movie really was even when taking into account that Kurt Russell is one of my favorite actors. I'm not discounting Goldie Hawn either but it's just that I haven't seen enough of her movies to really have an opinion but she gives a great performance on "Overboard".
I don't know if it is on the scale of being a must-have movie but it sure is great enough to warrant giving this movie a watch. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Overboard, Nov. 14 2003
By 
Kathy Segerson (Fulton, Missouri U.S.A) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Overboard (VHS Tape)
Overboard staring Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell this movie was released by M.G.M is in color and has a running time of 96 minutes, and is closed captioned. Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell are both at the top of their acting abilites in Overboard. Goldie plays a very rich and very pampered lady of leisuer,who simply must have a cedar closet to protect her clothes from moths at sea. Kurt Russell is a carpenter who is the widowed Father of four wild boys who are in dire need of proper adult supervision. Goldie Hawn hires Kurt Russell to build her cedar closet, but in a spoiled frenzy fires Russell and throughs him,and his tools overboard her huge yhat. Hawn is likewise thrown overboard when she trys to collect her wedding rings she had left on deck earlyer in the day. Hawns husband does not claim Hawn at the hospital, so the local television station runs an news speical asking for any information on who Hawn might be. Russell then comes up with the idea that if he can't collect his money the right way then he will claim Hawn as his wife to work off the debt. What insues from there is a woundreful, laugh out loud,never a dull moment movie. As Goldie trys to complete the chores that Kurt has for her to do,clean a nasty house, care for children which she has never done before,and cut the fire wood. Goldie not only meets every task but becomes the Mother that four little boys turly need, and a wife to Kurt Russell. Hawn's former husband returns to find her when her mother gives him two days to produce her daughter. The fairy tale seems to be over as Hawn returns with her dead beat husband,but finds she no longer fits into the snobby croud she use to belong to. Russell does not give up with out a fight, and what follows is a heart warming,tear in your eye, cheere out loud ending. Overboard is trully one of best movies you will ever see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST, Sept. 24 2003
This review is from: Overboard (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I know this is an old movie but to me it is one of the best. Joanna, played by Goldie Hawn, is a wealthy lady touring on her yacht with her not so loving husband, who is only with her for her money. While they are anchored she has an out of work handyman come aboard to build her a closet. This handyman is Dean, Kurt Russell. Joanna dislikes him and his work and orders him off her yacht, he leaves but is determined to make her pay for her rudeness.
Later that evening Joanna falls off the yacht in a boating accident and is picked up by the Harbor crew, taken to the local hospital where it is discovered that she has no memory of who she is. Dean, seeing this on television decides to 'claim' her as his own and use her to clean up his house and watch his four boys, feeling she owes him something since she did not pay him for the job of building her closet.
One problem here, Dean didn't figure on falling in love with Joanna, or that his boys would grow to love her as their Mother.
Ah.......the heartbreak when Joanna's husband comes to claim her and takes her away. If you have not seen this movie I don't want to spoil the ending so I'll leave it here. This was a great show, full of tender moments and some good belly laughs.
This one you don't want to miss seeing, true enjoyment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun to Watch Over & Over Again, July 2 2003
By 
washpa (Washington, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Overboard (VHS Tape)
This has got to be one of the most "fun" movies to watch. Goldie Hawn & Kurt Russell are at their best. Joanna (Goldie Hawn)is a rich aristocrat who hires Dean (Kurt Russell)who is a blue collar worker, to do some work for her. They instantly dislike each other and are like oil and water. After an accident leaves Joanna with amnesia and her husband abandons her unclaimed at the hospital, Dean, a widow, "claims" Joanna as his missing wife. Dean plans to use a confused Joanna, now renamed Annie to do all the housework and child rearing as revenge for her not paying him for the work he did for her. That's when all the antics begin! Her dislike of "her" dirty, ill behaved children turns into motherly love after numerous hilarious stumblings. Dean & "Annie" begin to care for each other and it appears to be heading towards a happy ending. That is until the real husband hunts her down after his mother-in-law become suspicious of his partying and questions the whereabouts of her daughter! The ending is not unpredicatable but that doesn't take away from the pure enjoyment of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy great for your family!, April 21 2002
By 
creativedawn (Bullhead City, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Overboard (VHS Tape)
Kurt Russell & Goldie Hawn are really funny in this romantic comedy! He's a handyman hired to do work on her husband's boat and they totally clash. She gets into an argument with him refusing to pay him and shoves him off the boat with his tools and orders the captain to leave the harbor.
That night as the boat is traveling out to sea she accidentally falls off the boat. A fishing boat picks her up and is taken to a nearby hospital with amnesia. Her husband (a womanizing jerk) sees his chance for freedom & leaves her there. Kurt Russell sees on the local news that her husband is seen leaving the hospital denying he knows her. He realizes he has a chance to get back at Goldie for the rude way she treated him plus he wants the money she owes him for the work he did on the boat.
A friend of his fakes some wedding photos & he talks his sons into pretending she's their mom. (His real wife died and he has no way to take care of the children on his own. He's hired several housekeepers but none last long with his wild kids.) His plan is for her to work off what she owes him by taking care of his kids for a month, cleaning the house which is a war zone & doing yard work.
He claims her at the hospital and she comes home with him then the fun begins! The kids torment her with normal kid stuff (super glue on the plates, turtles in the bathtub, problems at school, fighting, etc.) Since he's working 2 jobs Kurt isn't around much and too tired to take advantage of her. They have a chance to get to know each other and end up falling in love.
Just when it seems like everything is going to workout & he's going to tell her the truth the horrible husband shows up to claim her (only because her mother threatens to hire a mass of mercenaries to hunt him down & cut off his private part!) When she realizes she's been lied to she leaves with her husband but is miserable. Kurt goes after her with the kids when he find out the boat is in the harbor & there is a very funny ending - happy of course! This is a great movie and well worth watching! I highly recommend you adding this to your video collection! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest Goldie Hawn movie I have ever seen..., July 24 2001
This review is from: Overboard (VHS Tape)
Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell bring their real-life chemistry to this movie. It should however be rated R for all the sparks flying all over the place!
While I enjoyed this movie, I do not recommend it for kids of any age! A few scenes are a bit much and they go a bit overboard on some issues. A la Goldie bending over in a very revealing bathing suit or the kids talking about issues far above their age level.
There are some hysterically funny scenes in which I almost cried from laughing so much.
To understand why it is SO funny, you just have to imagine how a rich woman would feel if she was dropped off in the worst hell she could imagine.
The basic story is that Joanna Stayton (Goldie Hawn) is a demanding and pampered wife who stops off in a tiny Oregon town. She employs carpenter Dean Proffitt (who doesn't make any profit...), to revamp her yacht closets. When he completes the job, Dean asks to be paid and is told the job is not good enough (she wants cedar and he made them in oak!) and therefore he must "eat" the costs.
At a convenient moment, Joanna tosses Dean (Kurt Russell) overboard along with his tools and work belt. Then, Joanna falls overboard later when looking for her wedding ring and gets amnesia.
Dean finds a way for her to "pay up" for his carpentry work and the result is a hillarious story even a feminist would have to laugh at! The reason we don't feel sorry for Joanna is because she was so mean to Dean and didn't pay him for his work when he needed the money for his family.
This movie has the best last scene of any movie I have ever seen! No lies. I adore the ending.
The reason I like some movies so much is that they take items from the start of the movie and weave then so nicely into other parts of the story line.
Similar to "Captain Ron" in humor, but this was way more funny! I guess I didn't appreciate the swearing and other items that they threw in here and there, but the overall story was a hoot! This movie could have been a family movie if they had taken out various aspects.
The kids in the movie are a wild bunch to start with and change throughout the movie. Parents will relate well to this movie. However, I didn't like how Joanna treated the teacher although we can just say she was true to her character in that part of the movie.
One of the funniest movies I have ever seen.
TheRebeccaReview.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Overboard...Senior English Review Paper, May 30 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Overboard (VHS Tape)
A male chuvinistic pig collides into a rich snobby woman, where the waters of true love will be tested. Kurt Russell and Goldie Hawn play in a romatic comedy called Overboard.
A spoiled and bored woman calls for a carpenter to rearrange her closet while her yacht is docked in the Port at Elk Cove. Joanna, who is proper and well mannered, is absolutely disgusted by the caroenter she has hired, a poor single working father. While leaving Port the next morning, she accidently falls overboard into the cold waters of the Pacific where a fishing boat pulls her out. Joanna is diagnosed with amnesia in the local hospital of Elk Cove, where her husband who is greedy leaves her in the hospital to take her money. Out for revenge, Dean the carpenter acts as if he is Joanna's real husband and declares her as his real wife, and takes her home to do his dirty work. He gets his kids in on the act and for payback she does all the housework, cooking, cleaning etc. Over many months Joanna's memory doesn't return and she falls in love with Dean as if she truly was his real wife. Only then do things start to change. Joanna begins to regain her memory and realizes that this life she had been living for the past several months had been completely fabricated. She returns to her normal life, but feels the emptiness inside from the family she grew to love. Later Joanna realizes what she really wants and the chase of true love begins from there.
Overboard is a witty true-life comedy that relates to parents and families. This story is romantic and captures the essence of true love and how you can find it in the strangest of places. Overboard is wonderful for all ages, a story that will catch your imagination and test your emotions. It will leave you laughing and touched what love can really do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overboard (Widescreen) [Import]
Overboard (Widescreen) [Import] by Garry Marshall (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 4.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews