Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars77
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$5.90+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 7, 2004
Probably my favorite comedy movie of all time (starring Goldie Hawn & Kurt Russell), Overboard has it all!
A five star cast, hilarious dialogue, great comedic timing, and marvelous chemistry between Hawn & Russell easily adds up to more than five stars worth of fun. Supporting cast members like Roddy McDowell, Katherine Helmond, and Edward Herrmann make more than the most from their roles, and really shine. The actors who portray Mrs. Berberich, the school principal, and Dr. Korman, the psychiatrist, really do their part to add comedic punch as well.
The movie opens with Goldie Hawn as JoAnna Stayton, a bored, pampered, demanding and imperious heiress--husband Grant is an equally shallow and pompous aristocrat. They openly despise each other, treat the help like servants, are enamored with possessions over people, and are proof positive that money does not buy happiness.
Enter Kurt Russell as carpenter Dean Profitt, hired to build a new closet on the Stayton yacht. When petualnt Hawn refuses to pay him for his work and knocks him overboard, Russell vows he will make her pay. He soon gets his chance when JoAnna falls overboard herself and husband Grant is too preoccupied watching Lifestyles of the Rich & Famous (ostensibly to see if he made it onto a list of the top ten yacht owners!) to hear her cries for help and save her.
Once rescued and suffering from amnesia, JoAnna is taken to the mental ward of a local hospital where she terrorizes staff members with her fits and vicious snits. Only too glad to be rid of her, they fall for Dean Profitt's story that this is his missing wife, Annie, and he is permitted to take her "home."
The Profitt "residence" turns out to be a down-and-out homestead reminiscent of the farm from Green Acres, complete with car parts and debris all over the yard, a limping dog in a cast, and four unruly boys demolishing everything in sight. Watching Hawn acclimate to this nightmare is totally hilarious. At one point she sighs..."So, this is my life....I didn't marry very well, did I?" Too, too funny!
By movie's end, Hawn has transformed the unruly household into a happy family home, fallen in love with Russell and his children, and morphed into a real human being. A funny, funny movie with a feel good ending, Overboard is highly underrated. I urge you to watch it and share the humor!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 26, 2004
easily ,the best movie goldie or kurt have made together or apart, period. its for anyone who is down to earth and enjoys a good practical joke. its a funny movie yet heartwarming and will make you feel good. Part of the magic comes from goldie and kurt being a couple in real life as they have this certain chemistry. This movie I enjoy over and over and it will have a permanent place in my collection. It's just too bad there's not a sequel because you don't want the fun to end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 13, 2015
OVERBOARD [1987] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] Full of Off-The-Wall Jokes and Very Funny!

‘OVERBOARD’ is a 1987 American romantic comedy film starring Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell. It was directed by Garry Marshall, produced by Roddy McDowall, and loosely inspired by the 1974 Italian film ‘Swept Away.’ OSCAR® winner Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell [Real-life couple] team up for this laugh-out-loud romantic comedy. While her yacht’s stuck for repairs in a small Oregon town, spoiled socialite Joanna Stayton [Goldie Hawn] hires local carpenter Dean Proffitt [Kurt Russell] to remodel her closet... but then refuses to pay him. So when she accidentally falls overboard and loses her memory, Dean takes his one chance for revenge. Claiming she’s “Annie,” his old ball and chain, the hunky widower makes her work off her debt by taking care of his house and four unruly children in this laugh-out-loud funny, riches-to-rags romance!

Cast: Kurt Russell, Goldie Hawn, Edward Herrmann, Katherine Helmond, Michael G. Hagerty, Roddy McDowall, Jared Rushton, Jeffrey Wiseman, Brian Price, Jamie Wild, Frank Campanella, Harvey Miller, Bing Russell, Richard Stahl, Ray Combs, Marvin Braverman, Tim Wright (band), Tom Wright (band), John McDowell III (band), Steven Walker (band), Israel Juarbe, Robert Goldman, Keith Syphers, Robert Meadows, Paul Tinder, Scott Marshall, Bill Applebaum, Don Thompson, Hector Elizondo (uncredited), Garry Marshall (drummer) Blair Richwood (uncredited) and Sven-Ole Thorsen (uncredited)

Director: Gary Marshall

Producers: Alexandra Rose, Anthea Sylbert, Nick Abdo and Roddy McDowall

Screenplay: Leslie Dixon

Composers: Alan Silvestri and Randy Newman (end title theme)

Cinematography: John A. Lonzo

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1

Audio: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Spanish: Mono and French: 2.0 Dolby Surround

Subtitles: English SDH, Spanish and French

Running Time: 112 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: This 1987 screwball comedy ‘OVERBOARD’ is an incredible study of star power, displaying how a few seasoned professionals can take a limp script and turn it into something unremarkable, yet completely palatable. Kurt Russell and Goldie Hawn are truly the only reasons to keep watching this otherwise flaccid comedy, which feels static when it should zing and oppressive when it should soar.

Trapped in Elk Cove, Oregon while her yacht is docked for repairs, spoiled heiress Joanna [Goldie Hawn] hires strapping carpenter Dean Proffitt [Kurt Russell] to construct a new closet for her shoe collection. On-board, Dean bears witness to Joanna's bully behaviour, a shrill routine of snobbery soon turned on him. When Joanna is knocked off the boat late one night, she awakens in a local hospital, unable to recall the details of her life due to trauma. Dean Proffitt, sensing an opportunity to take back what's owed him, convinces Joanna that he's her husband and his squalid home with four children is her family. Unsure, but unable to protest, Joanna is introduced to the ways of housewifery, while Dean Proffitt works to keep the scam going while tending to a few professional opportunities.

‘OVERBOARD’ is a gentle romantic comedy, directed by Garry Marshall in passive, unfunny manner that would come to define his career. The filmmaker is searching for a classic Hollywood feel for the material and scripted by Leslie Dixon, arranging a battle of wills between Joanna and Dean Proffitt, set loose inside an amnesia premise that's only moderately tended to. In fact, there's barely a reason for Joanna's misfortune at all, but who am I to stop the progress of monkey business.

The majority of the feature is devoted to Joanna's domestic deliverance, spotlighting her attempts to tame this family of undomesticated rapscallions while working inside a dilapidated home, a filthy backwoods abode Dean Proffitt almost seems proud of the situation. Feeds lies by the un-showered clan, Joanna is shoved into a life she doesn't recognise, faintly recalling her time with privilege, yet confronted with doctored photos of her life with Dean Proffitt, while facing four horrifying reminders of her once potent sexual prowess.

The comedy emerges from Joanna's mortified reactions and Dean Proffitt's frantic scheming, yet Gary Marshall is only interested in the surface elements of the sneaky imprisonment, turning rural Oregon into deep Kentucky to display a redneck wonderland of beer consumption, water barrel dunks, and working-class dreams of miniature golf. ‘OVERBOARD’ moves along like it has somewhere to go, yet halfway through the picture, it suddenly dawns that this is it. Just some mild animosity, playful fibbing, and the slow dance of love, as the lead characters gradually move from shock to romance, with Joanna creating a home Dean Proffitt and boys grow to adore, finally receiving a sense of discipline that's been absent for far too long. With Kurt Russell and Goldie Hawn out front and centre, ‘OVERBOARD’ enjoys their easy chemistry and amusing comedic timing. Playing stereotypes, the actors serve up pronounced behaviour and bug-eyed reactions superbly. Kurt Russell alone is a convincing jumble of ambition and anxiety as Dean Proffitt nervously covers his tracks to keep Joanna disoriented. He's terribly fun in the role, finding the right he-man tenor to best accentuate Hawn's articulation of confusion. Her bookend scenes as a spoiled brat are colourful, creating a perceptible arc to the character and her frazzled sense of location.

Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘OVERBOARD’ is another recent batch of generic catalogue titles released in the UK by 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment. Presented in its proper 1.85:1 aspect ratio for the first time, the image at first looks like it might be decent: the opening credits roll and the red-coloured font shouts "Hey, check me out!" And, just as soon as that happens, it stays like that: decent. There's a layer of grain sets in that never goes away, plagued the remainder of the movie and preventing any improvements in this 1080p image transfer from really being seen (providing they were there to being with, that is, it looks as if 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment in the UK didn't put a whole lot of effort into this release). On the plus-side, it's still a lot better than the old inferior NTSC DVD release.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio sound mix is a competent blend of music and dialogue exchanges, with a frontal push for voices, though the actors sound a little bit on the thin side, lacking a substantial weight to reinforce their comedic efforts. Soundtrack cuts and scoring cues sound bright and eager, providing depth to the track and supporting mood when called upon. Atmospherics are detectable for outdoor encounters and bar scenes, but are limited by design. Low-end is minimal. In short: a good comedy film release and of course ‘OVERBOARD’ is a fun throwback to the Screwball Comedy, one that not only went by unnoticed when first released, but that went by just as unobserved by 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment in the UK restoration experts.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Theatrical Trailer [1987] [2:00] It is such a shame that they could only come up with this Trailer, I would of thought with these two main major stars, they could have had some behind-the-scene documentary or better still, been able to interview Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell, especially as they are a real-life couple.

Finally, ‘OVERBOARD’ is a really enjoyable fun rollicking film and enough if taken on its own unambitious terms. Hawn is a hoot, especially in the opening scenes, and she and Russell have great on screen chemistry. The film itself is a mishmash, a sort of warmed over sitcom that has just a hint of the smarmy in its main conceit. This Blu-ray image is very passable, but fans of the film will probably delight that at least it's framed correctly in its aspect ratio presentation. The performances of Goldie Hawn particularly and Kurt Russell who make the best reason for watching ‘OVERBOARD’ and you will have endless hours of fun with repeat viewing, but it's certainly no masterpiece, but despite this I personally think it is a definite classic screwball comedy and Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell work so brilliant together and I have loved this film ever since its cinema release and I am so pleased I waited for this Blu-ray release, as both these actors are up there with my massive List of favourite actors and so happy and pleased to add it to my ever expanding Blu-ray Collection, especially with these two fantastic stars. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2004
When ever I see Filmographys of Goldie Hawn or Kurt Russel, I rarely see this great movie mentioned! And I dont know why? I'm not into those love story kind of things, but this movie has a speichel place in my heart for some reason!
By now youve read the reveiws of what its about, so i need not bore you with another one! All I can sau is this is a very good sweet romantic comedy, and it deserves more credit then it has recieved! As you can see already, other people rated it high! They rate it high because its a finly made movie!
There no cheesyness or stupidity to it, and you will really enjoy this if you want a nice familly movie with only a tiny bit of cruedness in some areas, but i dont think its anything your grandparents would have there mouths open over!
If you have never seen this, and your into romantic comedys, then this is the one to get! Dont think its some lovey dovey sloppy stroppy kissey wussy mushy film tho! Its not.... its defnitly a feel good love flick that even the guys will probably be able to enjoy and not just rate this as a chick flick...far from it!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2004
It was only by chance that I caught this movie on HBO one night not too long ago and sat down to watch it with a friend of mines. I had never even heard of such a movie but upon seeing that it starred Kurt Russell (One of my favorite actors. See "Backdraft" as well) and the movie had a very eccentric feel that I felt it was worth giving a watch. I was so incredibly suprised as "Overboard" turned out to be a really funny and absolutely hilarious classic comedy movie. "Overboard" is one of my favorite movies of Kurt Russell's and is a movie to rent.
Starring Kurt Russell and Goldie Hawn, it all happens when the heiress of a British aristocratic empire suffers amnesia after a boating accident and is lost at sea. A man however rescues her from the sea and 'rescues' her and brings her to his house where his four dysfunctional kids raise hell in her life and she tries to adapt to her 'new life' and a romance blossoms between the woman and handyman but a conman who is part of the aristicratic business is out to bring her back to her 'previous life' and as she recalls what she lost before the accident, she has to choose whether to go for the handyman (Russell) or her traditional aristocratic family business.
I was completely suprised at how great this movie really was even when taking into account that Kurt Russell is one of my favorite actors. I'm not discounting Goldie Hawn either but it's just that I haven't seen enough of her movies to really have an opinion but she gives a great performance on "Overboard".
I don't know if it is on the scale of being a must-have movie but it sure is great enough to warrant giving this movie a watch. I loved it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2003
Overboard staring Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell this movie was released by M.G.M is in color and has a running time of 96 minutes, and is closed captioned. Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell are both at the top of their acting abilites in Overboard. Goldie plays a very rich and very pampered lady of leisuer,who simply must have a cedar closet to protect her clothes from moths at sea. Kurt Russell is a carpenter who is the widowed Father of four wild boys who are in dire need of proper adult supervision. Goldie Hawn hires Kurt Russell to build her cedar closet, but in a spoiled frenzy fires Russell and throughs him,and his tools overboard her huge yhat. Hawn is likewise thrown overboard when she trys to collect her wedding rings she had left on deck earlyer in the day. Hawns husband does not claim Hawn at the hospital, so the local television station runs an news speical asking for any information on who Hawn might be. Russell then comes up with the idea that if he can't collect his money the right way then he will claim Hawn as his wife to work off the debt. What insues from there is a woundreful, laugh out loud,never a dull moment movie. As Goldie trys to complete the chores that Kurt has for her to do,clean a nasty house, care for children which she has never done before,and cut the fire wood. Goldie not only meets every task but becomes the Mother that four little boys turly need, and a wife to Kurt Russell. Hawn's former husband returns to find her when her mother gives him two days to produce her daughter. The fairy tale seems to be over as Hawn returns with her dead beat husband,but finds she no longer fits into the snobby croud she use to belong to. Russell does not give up with out a fight, and what follows is a heart warming,tear in your eye, cheere out loud ending. Overboard is trully one of best movies you will ever see.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2003
I know this is an old movie but to me it is one of the best. Joanna, played by Goldie Hawn, is a wealthy lady touring on her yacht with her not so loving husband, who is only with her for her money. While they are anchored she has an out of work handyman come aboard to build her a closet. This handyman is Dean, Kurt Russell. Joanna dislikes him and his work and orders him off her yacht, he leaves but is determined to make her pay for her rudeness.
Later that evening Joanna falls off the yacht in a boating accident and is picked up by the Harbor crew, taken to the local hospital where it is discovered that she has no memory of who she is. Dean, seeing this on television decides to 'claim' her as his own and use her to clean up his house and watch his four boys, feeling she owes him something since she did not pay him for the job of building her closet.
One problem here, Dean didn't figure on falling in love with Joanna, or that his boys would grow to love her as their Mother.
Ah.......the heartbreak when Joanna's husband comes to claim her and takes her away. If you have not seen this movie I don't want to spoil the ending so I'll leave it here. This was a great show, full of tender moments and some good belly laughs.
This one you don't want to miss seeing, true enjoyment!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2003
This has got to be one of the most "fun" movies to watch. Goldie Hawn & Kurt Russell are at their best. Joanna (Goldie Hawn)is a rich aristocrat who hires Dean (Kurt Russell)who is a blue collar worker, to do some work for her. They instantly dislike each other and are like oil and water. After an accident leaves Joanna with amnesia and her husband abandons her unclaimed at the hospital, Dean, a widow, "claims" Joanna as his missing wife. Dean plans to use a confused Joanna, now renamed Annie to do all the housework and child rearing as revenge for her not paying him for the work he did for her. That's when all the antics begin! Her dislike of "her" dirty, ill behaved children turns into motherly love after numerous hilarious stumblings. Dean & "Annie" begin to care for each other and it appears to be heading towards a happy ending. That is until the real husband hunts her down after his mother-in-law become suspicious of his partying and questions the whereabouts of her daughter! The ending is not unpredicatable but that doesn't take away from the pure enjoyment of this film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2002
Kurt Russell & Goldie Hawn are really funny in this romantic comedy! He's a handyman hired to do work on her husband's boat and they totally clash. She gets into an argument with him refusing to pay him and shoves him off the boat with his tools and orders the captain to leave the harbor.
That night as the boat is traveling out to sea she accidentally falls off the boat. A fishing boat picks her up and is taken to a nearby hospital with amnesia. Her husband (a womanizing jerk) sees his chance for freedom & leaves her there. Kurt Russell sees on the local news that her husband is seen leaving the hospital denying he knows her. He realizes he has a chance to get back at Goldie for the rude way she treated him plus he wants the money she owes him for the work he did on the boat.
A friend of his fakes some wedding photos & he talks his sons into pretending she's their mom. (His real wife died and he has no way to take care of the children on his own. He's hired several housekeepers but none last long with his wild kids.) His plan is for her to work off what she owes him by taking care of his kids for a month, cleaning the house which is a war zone & doing yard work.
He claims her at the hospital and she comes home with him then the fun begins! The kids torment her with normal kid stuff (super glue on the plates, turtles in the bathtub, problems at school, fighting, etc.) Since he's working 2 jobs Kurt isn't around much and too tired to take advantage of her. They have a chance to get to know each other and end up falling in love.
Just when it seems like everything is going to workout & he's going to tell her the truth the horrible husband shows up to claim her (only because her mother threatens to hire a mass of mercenaries to hunt him down & cut off his private part!) When she realizes she's been lied to she leaves with her husband but is miserable. Kurt goes after her with the kids when he find out the boat is in the harbor & there is a very funny ending - happy of course! This is a great movie and well worth watching! I highly recommend you adding this to your video collection! :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2001
Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell bring their real-life chemistry to this movie. It should however be rated R for all the sparks flying all over the place!
While I enjoyed this movie, I do not recommend it for kids of any age! A few scenes are a bit much and they go a bit overboard on some issues. A la Goldie bending over in a very revealing bathing suit or the kids talking about issues far above their age level.
There are some hysterically funny scenes in which I almost cried from laughing so much.
To understand why it is SO funny, you just have to imagine how a rich woman would feel if she was dropped off in the worst hell she could imagine.
The basic story is that Joanna Stayton (Goldie Hawn) is a demanding and pampered wife who stops off in a tiny Oregon town. She employs carpenter Dean Proffitt (who doesn't make any profit...), to revamp her yacht closets. When he completes the job, Dean asks to be paid and is told the job is not good enough (she wants cedar and he made them in oak!) and therefore he must "eat" the costs.
At a convenient moment, Joanna tosses Dean (Kurt Russell) overboard along with his tools and work belt. Then, Joanna falls overboard later when looking for her wedding ring and gets amnesia.
Dean finds a way for her to "pay up" for his carpentry work and the result is a hillarious story even a feminist would have to laugh at! The reason we don't feel sorry for Joanna is because she was so mean to Dean and didn't pay him for his work when he needed the money for his family.
This movie has the best last scene of any movie I have ever seen! No lies. I adore the ending.
The reason I like some movies so much is that they take items from the start of the movie and weave then so nicely into other parts of the story line.
Similar to "Captain Ron" in humor, but this was way more funny! I guess I didn't appreciate the swearing and other items that they threw in here and there, but the overall story was a hoot! This movie could have been a family movie if they had taken out various aspects.
The kids in the movie are a wild bunch to start with and change throughout the movie. Parents will relate well to this movie. However, I didn't like how Joanna treated the teacher although we can just say she was true to her character in that part of the movie.
One of the funniest movies I have ever seen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed