Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (125)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Cube" Blu-ray
This is a awesome movie. It's worth the Blu-ray upgrade! The picture is perfect. Order this Blu-ray asap you will be happy you did. They don't sell this blu-ray in the usa so i ordered from Amazon Canada!
Published 21 months ago by 82JOSEPH

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars An Old Story With New Charm
...I am surprised not one mentioned the Twilight Zone episode "Five Characters In Search of an Exit". Maybe this is obvious, and maybe some other reviewers mentioned it, but it should be noted that this film is a long version of that episode.
The difference is essentially the object in which they try to escape, a cube that these characters found themselves in. Five...
Published on July 15 2002 by rareoopdvds


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars AN AMAZING MOVIE, July 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cube (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
The first time I saw Cube, it was on cable, and all I saw was 30 minutes. After that, I couldn't stop trying to find it, I wanted to see the end, the beginning. But once I saw it, I learned: The movie starts INSIDE the cube. Never once do you glimpse the outside of the cube. The story of this movie simply blew me away. So many plot twists that its like riding a derailed train. The characters and their acting are both AWSOME. I strongly recommend this over Cube 2. Cube 2 sucks. =P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Love It or Hate It; I Choose the Latter, July 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cube (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Like human excrement in an art exhibit, some will say it's cutting edge, others will say it belongs in a toilet. The Cube is a similarly polarizing movie. You love it or hate it, as these reviews show.
Everything you need to know: one-dimensional characters meet in a matrix of three-dimensional cubes, and get diced up, sliced up, and deep fried just in time for a cliched non-resolving ending that no science fiction fan will find the least bit surprising.
Somebody flush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blessed are the meek, cause they shall inherit, June 21 2004
By 
M. Buisman (Amstelveen, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cube (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
The Cube is a movie about a group of people trapped in a cube which has many boobytraps. They all have to work together to get out. There a math-wizz, a doctor and an escape artist for example. As always in a movie like this they work together and fight each other, especially a bad cop is on their tails.
The special effects are limited, which is better for the story.
The moral of the film is more difficult. Are we all trapped in our lives, full of violence not knowing what we are doing but helping the world to a quick end. Someone is called a nazi, another has felt guilty ever since she was 7 and one does not even want to get out because he does not see what he can do there.
It is fitting that in the end the only one who gets out is an autistic guy. Is this what's in store for us...?
The outcome is bleak and pessimistic. A nice ending that way. Apparently there is a part 2 as well, can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cube..a great movie, June 11 2004
By 
Jacob E. Blair (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cube (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
at first, i was very prone to not watching cube, because i'm not a huge fan of horror movies. well, i really don't think cube is a horror film, it's more of a phycological thriller. i'll be honest, at first glance i didn't feel like i would connect with any of the characters, but the acting becomes more intense as the film progresses. my personal favorite character was "Worth", because i could understand his position in society. also, as the movie progresses, you start to see the other sides of the characters trapped in this cube. the hero cop might seem like the hero, but you start to see his true colors, along with everyone else. i'd have to say this movie is at its best in the last 30 minutes, when the characters move into a whole new sense of despiration. overall, cube is really good and i would recommend it to anybody who could stand watching somebodies face getting melted off, because thats about as bloody as it gets. watch cube!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stays in your mind after you see it., May 16 2004
By 
- Kasia S. (New York City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cube (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I guess this is either one of those, you love it or hate it movies, and I really liked it. Yes the acting was a little off in the beginning, but it caught up soon, and I was engrossed in this cube world, of empty rooms,or deadly boobie traps.
This being the first Cube movie, had more of a rustic, organic feel to it, the rooms were either red, blue,green or yellowish, with etched walls. The few people stuck in them had a hard time not fighting with hech other in order not to go mad and get out alive. It seems that it's usually human nature to start fighting and getting psycho with others, when trapped in a situation, rather than calmly trying to think their way out of the situation.
This is a far out there survival story, they arent lost in the woods, but in some colossal game/trap. Great movie to keep you glued to your couch for an afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea let down by abysmal acting, April 22 2004
By 
N. Field "sanjayfield" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cube (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
It bothers me that so many mainstream films these days are remakes, but I really hope that someone decides to redo Cube sometime soon. The basic concept is very interesting, the plot unfolds at a reasonable pace (i.e. not getting bogged down in how the characters got there in the first place, but not progressing too fast to lose the suspense), the camerawork does justice to the claustrophobic setting - but the acting was just AWFUL!
In spite of this, the film is well worth seeing once, ideally with many other people - you'll be sure to get some very different interpretations as to what it was all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent science fiction at its best!, March 23 2004
By 
Callan Royle (wouldn't you like to know?) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cube (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Cube, a low budget Canadian flim, is a masterwork that shows it isn't necessary for a production to have millions of CGI effects to produce an atmospheric and effective movie. The movie focuses on the interactions of six strangers who find themselves trapped in a series of cubes as they attempt to find a way out. Along the way they dodge a number of life threatening traps. All the while the characters interactions grow more paranoid and distrusting of each other until they conflict breaks out. The dialogue ranges from the outlandish to the sublimely bitting, in particular Worth's commentary on the possible reason for Cube. The ending is a downbeat but suits the tone of the movie. The acting is good and whilst the characters are to some extent ciphers the situation that they find themselves in doesn't really need more then the archetypical characters that we get. Of the cast Nicole De Boer and David Hawlett are the standouts and get the best lines and growth. What does it all mean? Part of the appeal of the movie is that it doesn't give you any easy answers; instead it functions as sociological Rorschach test, is it a critique of the mechanistic nature of society today? An allegorical, cautionary tale on the need for humanity to come together to progress? A tale of moving from purgatory to heaven? In the end the movie allows all these interpretations and more. Ultimately this is a not a movie that is easy to watch or like but if you do stick with it then it can reward you with a film that is a brutal commentary on society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful idea, March 12 2004
By 
This review is from: Cube (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
The plot has a group of people who are trapped in a cube with no idea of how they got there or why they were chosen to be in the cube. They know they need to escape, but how they escape is the big question. The cube has thousands of rooms, with most of the rooms being boobytrapped. Pick the wrong room and well, that's the end for you. This movie is an ingenious movie as it uses mathematical strategies in order for the characters to survive. The terror in the movie is felt in the idea of being trapped and knowing the choices you make can kill you. There are some good tense moments in this flick. Definately rent this one as it is an original movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very Dark Little Thriller, Feb. 6 2004
By 
John C. Hocking (Ann Arbor, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cube (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
'Cube' is an interesting, low budget fantasy that obviously evokes strong emotions in many people. Reviews here both celebrate and attack virtually every aspect of the film, from its premise, to its acting, to its meaning.
I found the film to be gripping. disturbing and somewhat unsatisfying.
But the most unusual, and shocking, aspect of the movie isn't mentioned in any of the reviews I've seen.
'Cube' can best be viewed as an allegorical thriller, with the nature of the huge cube in which the protagonists are trapped left open to interpretation.
But if the character's final idea of what the cube is and why they are inside it is to be taken seriously, then 'Cube' is one of the most nihilistic movies ever made for a popular audience. Whether you want to look at the story as symbolic of the individual's struggle in society, or if you just want to accept it at face value as an gory horror yarn, 'Cube's view of the human condition is so bleak as to be positively subversive. I don't believe this is a great movie, but any film with a vision as unique and dark as this should not be dismissed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I've seen better..., Feb. 6 2004
By 
"kcxj" (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cube (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Based on all the other reviews here, I had high hopes for this title. I'm a big fan of Twilight Zone style science fiction, and the idea of this movie sounded as creative as they come. After watching the movie in it's entirety though, I must say I'm feeling a little empty on the inside.
The setting of movie is suppose to take place within an enormous 26 by 26 room cube. The directors do a good job of conveying this idea the best they can shooting on only a single set. The result left me the viewer with a very claustrophobic and uncomfortable feeling throughout the majority of the film. I would of have loved this had the movie given a great sense of closure at the end. I for one didn't like the ending unfortunately. Again, I didn't feel any sense of closure. Instead of escaping to the outside world, the survivor(s) escape towards a "white light". Made the movie feel very tacky and low budget.
As for the cast themselves, I found the actors portrayals of their characters to be very believable and realistic. Nicole de Boer is a wonderful and beautiful actress. I enjoyed watching her very much.
Watch this movie, but be warned it not for everybody. I say it's a rental at best (especially with the lack of any really special DVD features as well). The producers did as good a job as they could have on a low budget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cube (Widescreen) [Import]
Cube (Widescreen) [Import] by Vincenzo Natali (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 16.08 CDN$ 10.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews