Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Story & Performances - A Must See!
I saw this back in the day when everyone, myself included, had a crush on Leonardo DiCaprio after Titanic, to my surprise, this movie turned out to be fantastic!

The DVDs: Good condition, works well, no issues. When I bought this the BluRay edition did not exist, for quality purposes, I'd recommend going that route, especially since it's a very fair price...
Published 14 months ago by Leah-S

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars family movie for the family
touching movie but sometimes sappy and sometimes sad... if you're a di caprio fan, streep fan or keaton fan, then this movie is for you, it features all 3 of them properly for this film... not stellar movie but a good B movie...
Published 2 months ago by Sable St.James


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Story & Performances - A Must See!, May 30 2013
By 
Leah-S - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvin's Room (Widescreen) (DVD)
I saw this back in the day when everyone, myself included, had a crush on Leonardo DiCaprio after Titanic, to my surprise, this movie turned out to be fantastic!

The DVDs: Good condition, works well, no issues. When I bought this the BluRay edition did not exist, for quality purposes, I'd recommend going that route, especially since it's a very fair price.

Overall: I'm so glad I bought this DVD, I couldn't beat the price either ($5). There's no denying this film has a great cast, Meryl Streep, Diane Keaton, Robert DeNiro, Leonardo DiCaprio, honestly, all of the actors in this film, even the more minor characters, all do an absolutely fabulous job. In my opinion, this film is seriously underrated for what it is, I've seen it many times & will continue to watch it for years to come, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars family movie for the family, May 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvin's Room (Widescreen) (DVD)
touching movie but sometimes sappy and sometimes sad... if you're a di caprio fan, streep fan or keaton fan, then this movie is for you, it features all 3 of them properly for this film... not stellar movie but a good B movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, Funny and Heartwarming, July 11 2004
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marvin's Room (Widescreen) (DVD)
Taken from a play by Scott McPherson, "Marvin's Room" at first seems like it might be a dreary tear jerker of a drama. But wait, there is a dream cast involved and somewhat maudlin scenarios turn out to be sheer delights. Imagine a film with Meryl Streep, Diane Keaton, Robert DeNiro, Leonard DiCaprio and Hugh Cronyn and you cannot go wrong. Keaton is taking care of her long failing father (Cronyn) when she discovers she has leukemia. She contacts her long estranged 'beauty school graduate' sister (Streep) and pyromaniac nephew (DiCaprio) as possible donors. When the families unite in Florida, it's a flurry of funny, hard-nosed and real life dialogue. All cast members are at their best and Streep and Keaton juxtaposed as sisters is amazing. DeNiro plays Keaton's scatter-brained doctor and he is priceless. There's strong warmth and reality in this film and despite the occasional tear, the ultimate feeling is happiness. This movie is a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Performances In A Good Movie, Jan. 28 2002
This movie is based on Scott McPherson's off - Broadway play. It has been turned into a wonderful little movie. A movie that is sort of one of those lost gems. Meryl Streep heads an impeccable all star cast as a woman who comes back in contact with her long estranged sister, played by Diane Keaton. Keaton's character has been taking care of her and Streep's very old and very ill father(played so realistically by Hume Cronyn). Keaton's character then finds out that she has leukemia and needs a bone marrow transplant. The only donors that can help are Meryl and her wayward kids(headed by the solid Leonardo DiCaprio). Meryl and the kids head down to Florida where Keaton is and, well, they bring along some of their own little dysfunction. The movie is sad, but not in the ball your eyes out way. It avoids the usual scenes of death beds and a huge dying scene. None of that is here. The movie is about the family, and the two estranged sisters coming together. Not to mention Meryl's character coming to terms with her son Hank(Leo). The film definitley hits some emotional highs, but it's not, as I've said above, the usual way we've seen it a hundred times before. Robert De Niro appears in a fairly small role as Keaton's character. He also co-produced the film. Our main stars here all shine brightly. Keaton is great, as always. Meryl and Leo makes their characters believeable, if not very sympathetic. In the end, it's Keaton who shines the brightest. Marvin's Room is a nice family drama that was horribly overlooked and forgotten by most people. Give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent family drama, Jan. 23 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marvin's Room (Widescreen) (DVD)
Kindly Bessie (Diane Keaton) has devoted her life to caring for her ailing father with no help from her estranged sister, Lee (Meryl Streep), the black sheep of the family. But now, Bessie is gravely ill and needs Lee's help.

I usually don't care for Diane Keaton's acting, but I did like her in this role. She plays an utterly selfless woman who could easily have been cloying, but was instead, quite sympathetic and noble. Streep does her usual expert job, playing a woman who won't win any Mother of the Year awards. And DiCaprio, looking very young a year before Titanic, steals all his scenes as a dangerous teen who hates his mother so much he burns down the house.

This is a poignant look at illness and dying through the eyes of three very different characters. I was sorry it ended so abruptly without resolving the story, but that makes it feel even more real. This is a movie I'll want to watch again when I'm feeling blue; it will help me keep things in perspective and remind me what's really important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarquable, Aug. 25 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Marvin's Room (Widescreen) (DVD)
Ce film est un film tellement humain. L'histoire est vraiment touchante et pogne au coeur. Je regarde ce film très souvent car il m'aide à me rappeller les vraies valeurs de la vie.La brochette d'acteur est génial. Ils sont tous excellent. J'adore ce film et c'est un de mes préférés.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DEEPLY MOVING ROLLERCOASTER OF EMOTIONS, April 2 2004
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marvin's Room (Widescreen) (DVD)
Instead of the usual over-the-top heavy-sentiment scenes in a dysfunctional family, Marvin's Room finds a clever, non-contrived way to end by leaving its characters at a magical moment of mutual understanding. It is one of the most powerful endings I've ever seen in a film.
Greatly acted by almost everyone (including a very young Leonardo Di Caprio), great score, excellent screenplay, a tinge of wry humor through it all, and gutwrenching emotion.
I picked up the DVD for Streep, and found her character a little one-dimensional. But when I really think of it, the most remarkable thing about the film is how it reveals how similar the two sisters are, despite their non-trivial character differences. Both abandon one part of their family to sacrifice for another part -- they each merely take different parts, and that's why Lee's character is not as bad, selfish or one-dimensional as she first seems. Lee's problem was understanding love. Despite all her lovers, Lee (Streep) had to learn the real meaning of love from her spinster sister Bessie (Keaton).
Worth buying, as anyone with a heartbeat will watch this gem more than once. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DEEPLY MOVING ROLLERCOASTER OF EMOTIONS., March 31 2004
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marvin's Room (Widescreen) (DVD)
Close to a perfect movie as you can get. Instead of the usual over-the-top heavy-sentiment scenes in a dysfunctional family, Marvin's Room finds a clever, non-contrived way to end by leaving its characters at a magical moment of mutual understanding. It is one of the most powerful endings I've ever seen in a film.
Greatly acted by almost everyone (including a very young Leonardo Di Caprio), great score, excellent screenplay, a tinge of wry humor through it all, and gutwrenching emotion.
I picked up the DVD for Streep, and found her character a little one-dimensional. But when I really think of it, the most remarkable thing about the film is how it reveals how similar the two sisters are, despite their non-trivial character differences. Both abandon one part of their family to sacrifice for another part -- they each merely take different parts, and that's why Lee's character is not as bad, selfish or one-dimensional as she first seems. Lee's problem was understanding love. Despite all her lovers, Lee (Streep) had to learn the real meaning of love from her spinster sister Bessie (Keaton).
Worth buying, as anyone with a heartbeat will watch this gem more than once. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am deeply touched.., Sept. 11 2003
By 
"kingjuicy" (Barrigada, GU Guam) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Marvin's Room (Widescreen) (DVD)
Just a few minutes ago, I was watching this uniquely directed movie. I was deeply touched, from the bottom of my heart. I always admired Diane Keaton, she is such a revolutionary to the acting world. It made me cry, but with a hint of spunk. This movie truly shows, that people can change.. and we do need kindness in this world, probably more of it. I love this movie, I can wait till I get the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt, Aug. 14 2003
By 
This review is from: Marvin's Room (Widescreen) (DVD)
"Marvin's Room" is a great movie to watch with the whole family. This drama has many emotional scenes which explore the meaning of life vs. death and the meaning of love. It proves the importance of family because one never knows when a loved one is needed. Diane Keaton's Oscar nominated performance as a leukemia patient creates the movie's foundation. Her quest for a bone marrow transplant creates many twists and turns throughout the whole movie. Leonardo DiCaprio's performance as a rebellious teenager inflicts most of them to the audience. Everyone knows Meryl Streep performs only at her best. "Marvin's Room" is no exception. The cast and crew's help in creating this wonderful movie leads the audience to a surprising conclusion that one is forced to think about the outcome. There's a reason the writers did this, and the viewer must think about why. Hint: it may reflect real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marvin's Room (Widescreen)
Marvin's Room (Widescreen) by Jerry Zaks (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews