Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Penny(Garry Hixon)
This a sad movie and will make you cry, which is wonderful. Very good and sad songs which are a good kind of sad. A very realistic portrayal of probably the state of every orphange in the world right now. Children will love this movie and give them an escape from the pressures of the normal happy go lucky life. Everyone roots for the kid in this movie all the way to the...
Published on March 8 2002 by Marilyn Monroe

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars What is the world coming to?
I almost could not believe my eyes. The "Rescuers" books, which are absolutely charming children's classic, out of print, to live on only in this very indifferent Disney version? No, never! Say it ain't so, Joe!
The movie is no fitting legacy for these books- indeed, it only resembles the real story in the names of its principal characters. The...
Published on May 10 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars I didn't know, June 17 2003
By 
Stephen Verhaeren (Palos Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rescuers (DVD)
I didn't know that Disney was planning are releasing this movie on dvd, until today. And I watched this movie tonight. I had a vhs copy of this movie around. And I think this was the first Disney movie to have a sequel, and this movie was out about 13 years, before the sequel to this movie was made. It tells a story about 2 mice, 1 a janitor and the other a lady on a mission to save a young girl named Penny that was kidnapped from an orphanage. As the movie opened, Penny (Michelle Stacey) drops a bottle that is a cry for help, and the bottle finds its way to New York, where a couple of mice discovers it, and the Recure Aid Soceity calls to order, a meeting. A janitor mouse named Bernard (Bob Newhart) brings ladder (that is really a comb), cames the comb, and goes inside, manges to get the message out of the bottle, but keeps falling back to the bottom of the bottle. The message is all watered out, and a mouse named Miss Bianca (Eva Gabor) manges to make out some of the message, including Penny's name. Miss Bianca decides to ask to take the misiion, even though Bernarnd doesn't think it is a good idea for Miss Bianca to go alone. So the chairmouse, decides for Miss Bianca to selct a co-agent to go with her, and she has a lot of vanletters, which makes it hard for her to chose, and she picks Bertand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Penny(Garry Hixon), March 8 2002
By 
Marilyn Monroe (LUCAS DIGITAL SAN RAFAEL CA ART DEPT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rescuers (VHS Tape)
This a sad movie and will make you cry, which is wonderful. Very good and sad songs which are a good kind of sad. A very realistic portrayal of probably the state of every orphange in the world right now. Children will love this movie and give them an escape from the pressures of the normal happy go lucky life. Everyone roots for the kid in this movie all the way to the end, Meddusa and her sidekicks get whats coming to them at the end too, and the Devils eye diamond, bigger than the hope diamond, is put in the Smithsonian institue where it rightfully belongs. I first saw this movie when I was 8, with my bother(7) and my sister(11). We loved it and have changed so much since then. The 70's were really a magical time for kids then, as Walt Disney was really tearing up the scene, this movie also reminds me of Escape from Witch Mountain and the sequel with Kim Richards! Kim is trying to make a comeback which is good and she has kids too, Penny reminds me of Cinderella as a kid, and I really recomend this film to the poor children of the world, and children in foster homes and orphanages, and anyone who has a cat named Rufus!-God bless the kids in this world!-Love PENNY(Garry Hixon)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated., Feb. 11 2002
By 
R. Tan (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rescuers (VHS Tape)
The Rescuers is Disney's most underrated work! It was the last great feature film before what became a strings of forgettable works like The Black Cauldron, The Great Detective, Oliver and Company in which the Disney studio was trying to break into new ground but somehow was unable to find the right formula.It wasn't until The Little Mermaid that Disney Studio has reclaimed it's number one position as the world's greatest cartoon creator.Having said that, The Rescuers Down Under- produced after The Little Mermaid - is a thorough disappointment, both in its story and in its style of drawing. This always seems to be the curse of sequels! The Rescuers, however, has all of the Disney's magic! Medusa is possibly one of the greatest of Disney's villains, yet somehow she doesn't catch on as did the others.T he only criticism I would make is the opening of The Rescuers. It seemed that the studio had run out of money when they were doing the opening scene, for all we have is a collage of storybook sketches from an artist's impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Pure Disney Masterpiece! Full Of Fun For The Whole Family!, Aug. 13 2000
By 
Chad Wilson (Lexington KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rescuers (VHS Tape)
The first time I saw this movie I fell in love with it, it bacme my favorite Disney film of all time. The two main characters Bernard & Bionca were the most likable of all Disney characters & Madam Medusa though not the most evil Disney villin was pretty scary. The story starts with the kidnapping of young orphaned Penny who was taken straight out of a public orphanege. When the authorites give up on her search the Rescue-Aid Society which is run entirely by rodents decide to send two agents to find her pretty Bionca volunteers at once and her chosen parter is Bernard basicly the custodian for the Rescue-Aid Society.
The two find that Madam Medusa, a pawn shop owner kidnapped the girl and has hidden her in her boat which is located in a desserted swamp. The two mice fly to the swamp on a gull were they find a young Penny trying escape the evil Medusa put is caught by Medusa's pet crocadiles. Bernard & Miss Bionca befriend a group of rodents who help the mice get on board the boat. There they over-hear that Medusa kidnapped Penny so that she could get her hands on the largest un-cut diamond in the world, the Devil's Eye, and that Penny is the only one who can fit in the cave. When the two help Penny get the diamond they call upon their rodent friends to help them catch & turn Medusa over to the police.
The movie was followed by a sequel in 1990 "The Rescuers Down Under" which was probally the only ever decent Disney sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, July 20 2000
By 
Robin Orlowski "political activist" (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rescuers (VHS Tape)
After all of these years, Madame Medusa is still the scariest Disney villian hands down. Aside from the fact this film is overall darker than it's modern counterparts, I've always thought she was purposefuly drawn to resemble one of her beloved crocodiles. Even her bumbling co-conspirtor Snoops is more humane, and he is no model of morals either.
Whenever this film came on as a little girl, I could not watch it because it gave me night mares. Even if there were real kids who were in horrible (but obviously not the same) experiences, I had no way to relate to it. Yet looking back, it was a perfect offering for the decade.
I largely developed my current hypothesis about this film from realizing (as sad as it seems) compared to the nightly broadcast of the vietnam war and other urban/social programs---this WAS very kid friendly for it's time. In a time when American social protest was still very visible, the children's fare Disney itself had previously produced seemed outdated and simplistic.
It's also worth noting that efforts in locating missing and exploited children really did not begin until this time, even if it certainly was not Disney's intention to bring issues to the forefront. Again, the somber screenplay and emphasis on social justice owes much to the day's politics where many social safeguards we are accustomed to were non-existent.
The fact that Penny was adopted from an orphanage with little or no safeguards and subjected to such intolerable conditions for so long without any human contact other than the two creeps is another really telling area of the movie. To some extent it was hollywood dramatization, but to another extent that was how things were back then. Thankfully, world governmental bodies (such as the rescue aid society) are around.
Many years later, I like this movie, but am convinced it is more adult oriented. I am now fancinated by this screenplay and see something new each time I am watching. While it might not work for somebody accustomed to the light hearted nature of today's Disney movies, anybody willing to open their mind would love this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What is the world coming to?, May 10 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rescuers (VHS Tape)
I almost could not believe my eyes. The "Rescuers" books, which are absolutely charming children's classic, out of print, to live on only in this very indifferent Disney version? No, never! Say it ain't so, Joe!
The movie is no fitting legacy for these books- indeed, it only resembles the real story in the names of its principal characters. The delightfully human Mouse Prisoners Aid Society has entirely lost its flavor of a local committee, being transformed what I can only describe as Disneyfied murine cross between the United Nations and a spy ring. The Norwegian poet in the Black Castle has unforgivably become a cute little teddy-toting girl in a Lousiana swamp. Bernard has become a bumbling booby, and Miss Bianca has changed from the sheltered, rather affected, yet clever and charming pet white mouse of the original to a sophisticated spy.
Miss Bianca's Disneyfied counterpart, however, despite her bearing no resemblance to the literary mouse of her name, does have a certain icily Hitchcockian charm at moments. She could have been, in fact, the lovely foreign agent, remote and brave, yet vulnerable and loving, etc. had not this been almost as out of character in the Disney movie as would have been Miss Bianca's true self.
For the rest, it is a mere pastiche of Disneyesque characters- evil alligators, bumbling birds, sinister skulls, cute kids, and a host of various protagonistish rodents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Swamp is no place for 2 mice named Bernard and Miss Bianca, Aug. 10 2003
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rescuers (VHS Tape)
Swamp is no place for 2 mice named Bernard and Miss Bianca The rescuers is high adventure and comedy that the whole family enjoys. We have given this movie 4 stars and rank it 11th out of 41 which is like a B. The stars of this story are the two mice who set out to rescue Penny from the evil Madame Medusa. They fly to the assignment via Orville Albatross. Imagine two mice having to deal with cut throat crooks and gators in the swamp. There is fun, mayhem, dry subtle humor from Newhart and slap stick.
We had a lot of fun by gathering the family together to rank the 41 Disney movies we have that include some cartoon work. All the kids, ages 6 to 27, participated along with mother and dad. Peter Pan is no Codfish, we rank it #2. Lion King was selected number 1 of the 41 as the family favorite, but narrowly. Peter Pan was 2. Pete's Dragon 3, Beauty & the beast 4, Sleeping Beauty 5, Snow White 6, Robin Hood 7, 101 Dalmatians 8, Fox and the hound 9 and Cinderella is 10th
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the only good Disney movie from the '70s., Feb. 14 2001
By 
Stewart (Raleigh, N.C.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rescuers (VHS Tape)
"The Rescuers" is one of the better later Disney movies before "The Little Mermaid". I think it had more heart than the other two Disney movies before it, "The Aristocats" and "Robin Hood". It also had a better story to follow. Miss Bianca and Bernard are two of the most memorable Disney characters ever. Their voices [Eva Gabor and Bob Newhart] are distinguished and perfect. There are more memorable characters in this movie than most Disney movies made at that time [the 1970s]. They include the villianess Madame Medusa, Orville the albatross, Evinrude the dragonfly, and, best of all, an orphan girl named Penny. Of all the Disney animated children, Penny has the most personality. I recommend this movie to any Disney lover. The sequal, "The Rescuers Down Under", is even more exciting, with better animation and some great new characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cruella de Ville has met her match. HERE;S MADAME MADUSA!!!, Aug. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rescuers (VHS Tape)
Besides Cruella de Ville and Ursula the sea witch, Madusa was my favortie villain of all. It all starts when the rescue aid society is summoned to answer a call for help from an orphan girl by the name of Penny. With enough begging, Miss Bianca gets the job of helping Penny but it is insisted that she has a man go with her. Her choice? Janitor Benard. Off they go to very very daring ways to save Penny from the clutches of Madame Madusa, her clusmy ... partner Mr. Snoops and her two aligators. You wont be sorry you got this. If you loved Ursula for "The Little Mermaid" and Cruella de Ville from "101 Dalmations", you'll love Madusa from "The Rescuers". You'll also loves Snoops Clumsiness. IT'S PRICLESS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Widescreen--sort of, June 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Rescuers (DVD)
Potential buyers should take notice that the "widescreen" presentation is achieved by matting the top and bottom of the standard "Full screen" image. I'm not sure if this is how the film was originally projected in theaters or not, but it will be immediately obvious to anyone who has viewed the VHS version of the film that you really are getting LESS picture with this release, not MORE.A full screen option would have been nice.
Also, the set-top game included is absolutely dull and would be unlikely to hold the interest of even a very young child.
It is nice to have a Disney "True-Life Adventure" tacked on, though, as well as a Silly Symphony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rescuers
The Rescuers by Wolfgang Reitherman (VHS Tape - 1999)
CDN$ 29.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews