Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining Madonna concert
This concert was performed when (my opinion) Madonna was at her height. You must give credit to the staging, coreography and lighting of the day. Engaging from the start, it is wonderful to watch.
Published 14 months ago by Bruce Cowan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Spectacular, but good
This is probably not the best Madonna concert, but it does have more heart. Madonna seems to enjoy performing and feels the crowd, opposed to later concerts where there is almost no audience interaction.
Positives. (1) Great songs (2) Madonna puts her all into it

Negatives: (1) Madonna's voice (2) Bad Choreography
The DVD itself is Ok. The sound not...
Published on Dec 23 2002 by W. Villanueva


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining Madonna concert, April 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Madonna: Ciao Italia - Live (DVD)
This concert was performed when (my opinion) Madonna was at her height. You must give credit to the staging, coreography and lighting of the day. Engaging from the start, it is wonderful to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ciao Italia: Live From Italy (The Who's That Girl Tour 1987), June 29 2004
This review is from: Madonna: Ciao Italia - Live (DVD)
We all know that Madonna's first tour was The Virgin Tour 1985, which started on April 12th, 1985 and ended on June 11th, 1985. Now, it is 1987, two years after the success of The Virgin Tour 1985, Madonna felt it was time for another tour, The Who's That Girl Tour 1987. This tour was to promote and support the film, Who's That Girl, Madonna's third film role and it is jam packed with exellent performances you could ever imagine. This televised concert, which was her last concert on this tour, was aired live from Torino Italy, hence the name, Ciao Italia: Live From Italy. Seeing that it was performed in Italy made me enjoy it more than I expected, due to the fact that I am 75% Italian and I favor that heritage more than I favor the 25% half of my British heritage.
Now the show itself didn't start out in the way I am about to describe, but it needs to be included into my description. It starts off with the crew setting everything up for the night's concert, while Madonna's three back-up singers, Niki Harris, Donna DeLory, and Debra Parson, are rehearsing their ad-libs on Into The Groove and La Isla Bonita, where after, the title flashes across your screen. That is when the show officially starts. The band begins playing OPEN YOUR HEART as Christopher Finch, one-third of Madonna's three male dancers, who is about the age of 11-13, takes the stage in the same outfit worn by the kid in the music video to the same song. Madonna finally takes the stage, wearing the same boustier she wore in the music video. She amazingly sweeps through OPEN YOUR HEART without a problem. After OPEN YOUR HEART, she talks a little to her Italian audience, where she then goes into her performance of LUCKY STAR. Following LUCKY STAR is TRUE BLUE. She comes out in an outfit similar to the one she wore in the video. This performance is my favorite. After TRUE BLUE is PAPA DON'T PREACH, where Madonna puts on her trusty leather jacket. After PAPA DON'T PREACH, she comes out dressed like a mobster and sweeps gracefully through WHITE HEAT. After her mobster-rendition of WHITE HEAT, she gears up for CAUSING A COMMOTION. THE LOOK OF LOVE follows CAUSING A COMMOTION.
After THE LOOK OF LOVE, a British telephone booth is wheeled out to centerstage, where Madonna quickly puts on a pink dress, pink top hat, and nerdy glasses to perform DRESS YOU UP. She rearranged DRESS YOU UP a little, where she sang the chorus first and then sang the first verse. After the first verse, she sings the chorus and then goes into the second chorus. Instead of finishing DRESS YOU UP, she goes into a comical performance of MATERIAL GIRL, where her two other male dancers are dressed up as geeks. She sings all the way up to, "A MATERIAL, A MATERIAL, A MATERIAL..." and then goes into LIKE A VIRGIN. Before singing the third verse in LIKE A VIRGIN, she sings a little of I CAN'T HELP MYSELF (SUGAR PIE HONEY BUNCH) and then finishes up LIKE A VIRGIN.
After her comical performance of the DRESS YOU UP/MATERIAL GIRL/LIKE A VIRGIN medley, she comes out, still wearing the boustier, but with a black feathered scarf, black tophat and, fancy glasses, to perform WHERE'S THE PARTY. LIVE TO TELL immediately follows, where her voice sounds the strongest. After LIVE TO TELL is INTO THE GROOVE.
Just when you though the show was over, she comes out to perform her three encores: LA ISLA BONITA, WHO'S THAT GIRL, and HOLIDAY. Don't you think that I will tell you the encores. Remember, I can't tell you everything. But you can see it for yourselves by buying this amazing DVD. Below is the tour's setlist.
OPEN YOUR HEART
LUCKY STAR
TRUE BLUE
PAPA DON'T PREACH
WHITE HEAT
CAUSING A COMMOTION
THE LOOK OF LOVE
DRESS YOU UP/MATERIAL GIRL/LIKE A VIRGIN (medley)
WHERE'S THE PARTY
LIVE TO TELL
INTO THE GROOVE
LA ISLA BONITA
WHO'S THAT GIRL
HOLIDAY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have for Madonna fans, May 19 2003
By 
Thomas R. Bearrows "goillini@att.net" (River Forest, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madonna: Ciao Italia - Live (DVD)
This is a recording of Madonna's final concert of the Who's That Girl tour, which is easily her second best tour. [Madonna's best concert tour was Blond Ambition.] Her dancing at this point was fresh, energetic, and, at times, inspired. The tape features some of her best-known songs. The reviews that focus on her costumes(?) and her hair(???) totally miss the mark in my opinion: This is a concert, not a fashion show. The three encore numbers alone are worth the cost of the tape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting though slightly dated., March 18 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madonna: Ciao Italia - Live (DVD)
This was Madonna's first World Tour, and you can see why she took the world by storm, and remained an enormous star.
This is an energetic and exciting show, and the only reason I gave the show 4 out of 5, is that some of the costumes have dated considerably.
A stunning opening as she performs behind a screen, her Silhouette magnified 10 fold to the opening chords of Open Your Heart, and she comes out recreating the video the song, and moving through a string of hits, "Lucky Star," "True Blue," (a bit twee and a particularly dated moment of the show) "Papa Don't Preach" is a poignant moment, "White Heat," and the energetic "Causing A Commotion," (sung badly).
The medley of songs sees Madonna in a humourous moment, during which ("Dress You up / Material Girl / Like a Virgin") she is dressed more like Dame Edna Everidge, removing her knickers, rubbing them between her crotch and throwing them into the audience.
"Into The Groove" is a particular highlight, very energetic, with Madonna and her dancers really letting go to a long, honky tonk remix of the classic. "La Isla Bonita" and "Whos That Girl" (the one and only time she has included this song in a tour) are also particular highlights.
The concert finishes with a rocked up version of "Holiday" which is stunning.
A really exciting (though slightly dated) concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Energetic Show, March 2 2004
By 
anthony nasti (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Madonna: Ciao Italia - Live (DVD)
I own many concert dvds, and this is one of my favorites. Madonna puts on a great and energetic show. She looks gorgeous, and the songs are top - notch, especially "Causing A Commotion" and the medley of "Dress You Up", "Material Girl" and "Like A Virgin". While she does get upset at times because it was the last show of tour, she is bouncing with energy. Her dance skills are brought out to the forefront here, something that usually seems to be foreshadowed when she performs live. Overall, an excellent concert that is a must for Madonna fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad...for the 1980's I guess..., Feb. 28 2004
By 
Tim Chapin (Madison, Wisconsin United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madonna: Ciao Italia - Live (DVD)
Even I'll admit, Madonna was at the peak of her career during the 'True Blue' era. This concert is a shear reflection of it - singing all of her current hits at the time.
Although I'm not a fan of the somewhat bad 80's style going on during the concert - it's still a respectable concert...
If you want ONE great Madonna concert on DVD - I'd go for the Girlie Show - but if you're a Madonna Collector, than this DVD must be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Material Pearl, Feb. 5 2004
This review is from: Madonna: Ciao Italia - Live (DVD)
This is the first Madonna's DVD I have bought and I am quite pleased. This is a live concert probably from the tour with True
Blue album (there's 7 songs from the album, I guess that's why). I love True Blue album very much, so that's why I think it's good that there's so many songs from it, especially I like the songs "True Blue", "Papa Don't Preach", "La Isla Bonita", and "Open Your Heart" in this DVD but also "White Heat" and "Where's the Party" are quite good. "Live to Tell": this ballad wasn't so good in this concert, maybe Madonna was a little bit tired while singing this song and decided to rest a little. It is quite a good song but this is if I can say...pure garbage.
Also the "rare" songs "Causing a Commotion" (very good, Madonna points everyone and says "He's got the motion" and like that in the middle of the song. "Who's That Girl" was also very very good, she can really take the audience to sing with her. "The Look of Love" wasn't so good but that was maybe because I don't like the song.
"Lucky Star" was very nice song, and "Holiday" was quite a long because Madonna has two breaks, in the second one she camps her hair. Medley "Dress You Up..." was excellent! The best if you don't count "Causing a Commotion". "Dress You Up" starts it very good, Madonna has funny clothes, "Material Girl" is very good (there's money all over), in "Like a Virgin" she takes her funny clothes away, it was the best song in medley. "Into the Groove" is also very catching. It takes you totally with it.
I have to say shortly: This is a very good live concert. There's quite good dancers and a young boy...I expected a little more. She's the queen of the pop. So I expected great live show like Kylie Minogue has but this wasn't even like Janet Jackson's concerts. Still 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna at her best and least pretentious, Jan. 7 2004
By 
This review is from: Madonna: Ciao Italia - Live (DVD)
So the critics raved about Blonde Ambition, the Girlie Show, and the Drowned World Tour.
What they, and even fans often overlooked was this gem of a tour. Ciao Italia featured Madonna's last show of her "Who's That Girl" world tour, which took place in Italy.
Here, we have a much younger Madonna, in her prime, performing hit after hit and after hit and literally worked the stage into a frenzy. While Blonde Ambition was saddled with the Dick Tracy segment, Girlie Show with her Marlene Dietrich drag and Drowned World with her Flying Tiger/Hidden Dragon routines, this is non stop entertainment from beginning to end.
Her renditions of Live to Tell have never been more touching and effective. Likewise with Lucky Star and the opening number of Open Your Heart, which closely followed its provocative video. Her performances of Into the Groove, La Isla Bonita, and Holiday has never been equaled or surpassed in terms of choreography and pure energy in her later tours. The versions of Into the Groove and Holiday in Blonde Ambition are anemic compare to the ones in the Who's That Girl Tour. Madonna also performed a killer version of the tour's (and unfortunately, the movie's) title song. I can never forget the song's haunting finale (Whooooooo's thaaaaaaaaat girrrrrrrrrrrl).
Madonna is also one hell of a comedienne with the funny medley of Dress You Up, Material Girl, and Like A Virgin (I particularly get a chuckle of her and her two dancers doing the Nazi salute as they marched down the stairs as the back-up tape sang: Living in a material world). Ever the consummate performer, Madonna worked the ENTIRE stage, where everybody have a chance to see her.
This is pre-Like A Prayer, before Madonna got saddled with angst and inner turmoil (and the Kabbala!), so this concert was nothing but one roller coaster ride from beginning to end. Later concerts may have better sets, costumes, and came off like a big broadway musical (and twisted ones at that!), but Ciao Italia! features Madonna at her peak and when she was least pretentious.
No doubt the Madonna we all missed! Enough with the Zen, just give us the goods!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This tour is already my favorite!, Oct. 16 2003
By 
diana (Brazil, SP) - See all my reviews
I can't completely say 'Ok, this is Madonna's best tour ever!', because of one tiny reason: i didn't watch all of them (besides this 'Who's That Girl? Tour', i've only watched 'DWT', and 'Blond Ambition Tour').
Eventually, i'll sit and watch all of her tours. Especially after watching a fresh, funny, adorable, and soulful Madonna that i've missed, due to my young age of six.
But, from now, i can honestly say that Madonna did her best on that stage!
She definately captivated the crowd with a smart combination of deep x light performances such as 'Live to Tell' and 'The Look of Love'; and a goofy medley "Dress You Up'/Material Girl/Like A virgin'. The songs with non-stop dancing (like 'Into The Groove', and Holiday') are genuine and expressive, and it starts to show some classic Madonna moves.
The most undeniable thing though, is her sweetness: in a remarkable moment of crowd-artist bounding, she asked for a comb (because her hair was wet and messy, 'Cherish-like), and then, about 10 combs flew towards her! Everybody (including the dancers) enjoyed it, and she couldn't stop laughing.
On a last note, i say: the video shows an innocent and yet, daring Madonna that we all know love. In fact, it's a great reminder to those who thinks she's over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of the best pop dance concert of the eighties, July 12 2003
This review is from: Madonna: Ciao Italia - Live (DVD)
Really, it's silly to compare this concert to The Girlie Show Tour or even The Drowned World Tour. This one was done in the late eighties so what do you expect - definitely no high-tech visuals and lighting. Personally, I think the concert is fantastic because it epitomizes the outrageous pop diva Madonna of that decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madonna: Ciao Italia - Live
Madonna: Ciao Italia - Live by Madonna (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 26.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews