Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Will make you Cry
I watched this movie in a class one day and it almost made me cry. A story about the bombing of Hiroshima, a boy escapes the effect of an etomic bomb by a stroke of luck! Watching his father, sister and brothe die in their burning house, he and his pregnant mother a forced to live on the streets. Things don't go to plan when his mother goes into labor with no docters...
Published on June 9 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Barefoot Gen on DVD - A Very Tough One to Watch
If you found Grave of the Fireflies difficult to watch, Barefoot Gen will be even more difficult. Although it shares similar WWII themes, Gen lacks the sensitivity that you see in Grave. The imagery in Gen is simply horrific -- the most disturbing that I have ever seen in an animation. But since it is about the Hiroshima bombing, I guess it would be considered accurate...
Published on Feb. 17 2000 by mmcewing@hotmail.com


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Will make you Cry, June 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Barefoot Gen (DVD)
I watched this movie in a class one day and it almost made me cry. A story about the bombing of Hiroshima, a boy escapes the effect of an etomic bomb by a stroke of luck! Watching his father, sister and brothe die in their burning house, he and his pregnant mother a forced to live on the streets. Things don't go to plan when his mother goes into labor with no docters around and is forced to give birth by themselves. Dying of poor health, he and his new friends are forced to get a job to buy milk but something goes horribly wrong. This movie is moving and touching and I highly reccomend it to those that don't mind a few graphics and violence. Five stars all the way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How could one bomb do all this damage, Feb. 7 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Barefoot Gen (DVD)
It was a sunny day over Hiroshima. A plane flew overhead a parachutte opened it fell to the ground then all hell broke lose. I usualy don't like anime it is always to weird. Barefoot Gen was different. Barefoot Gen is very violent and definutly not for kids. If it was American it would R at the very least. It takes place in Hiroshima 1945. Before the bomb blew off it was a regular family story. I was supprised how well I could relate to the charactors as real people. Way more than most American films. Then the bomb hits. The bomb explotion is the most disturbing scenes in all of movies ever. It shows people being insinerated in slow motion. After it shows mangled survivors walking around like zombies. You can only imagine the horror to have been there. Though Gen tries to save his family he is forced to go back and watch them burn. This disturbing film sends a strong message of the pointlessness of war. It is not pro Japanese or pro American it tells it how it is. Gen has a lot of bad stuff happen to him. He loses his hair and though he tries to save his baby sister he fails. Barefoot Gen tells in great detail what it was like to be there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A few nice moments, but nothing special, July 31 2001
This review is from: Barefoot Gen (DVD)
Barefoot Gen is based on a famous award winning japanese comic book. Frankly you're better to read the original than sit through this sentimentalized and trite offering. While there are moments of spectacle (the bombing and the horrific aftermath), it's basicaly a "good feeling" movie set in Hiroshima.
While it might've been worth renting, it's definitly not a "must have". Much better you spend your cash on the masterpiece "Grave Of the Fireflies".
The DVD includes some liner notes but no additional information. The picture quality is fine -- no particular problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gotta get 'Gen', Feb. 27 2001
This review is from: Barefoot Gen (DVD)
Few animated films can be comfortablly labeled "important". Mamoru Shinzaki's "Barefoot Gen" is, without a doubt, one of these films. Based on Keiji Nakazawa's poignant graphic novel, the film tells the story of a family and how their lives are affected by the atomic bomb dropped on Hisroshima in 1945. Shinzaki perfectly adapts Nakazawa's somewhat akward style of drawing and adds dimension to these already strong characterizations. The animation is a bit on the stiff side. The style of animation looks a bit like what we stereotypically think of when picturing anime. While there are moments of great beauty and grace (mostly in the film's backgrounds), the animation is closer to Speed Racer than Princess Mononoke. The film elegantly re-tells Gen's tragic story of survival, streamlining the narative for the big screen. Missing from the film are several charming vignettes as well as two of Gen's brothers. Focusing mainly on Gen and his actions and responses, the film loses some of the comic's political vigor but retains a strong voice against war. Never is the film anti-American. It matter of factly cries out against the pointlessness of war. It is mainly through the horrors witnessed in uncompromising graphic detail (even more so in the comic) that this message is most vivid. And yet Barefoot Gen is ultimately a story of survival. Gen is a hero and his actions speak of the amazing potential of the human spirit when faced with the unspeakable. The only thing you will be longing for after the film's somber closing is more. Like "Grave of the Fireflies", "Barefoot Gen" is more than worthy of a spot in any collector's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY MOVING CARTOON, Nov. 20 2000
By 
Adam J. Trembczynski (Merrillville, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Barefoot Gen (DVD)
I rented this movie one day just as a curiosity piece. It looked different from the rest of the boxes in the Anime section. No robots or half naked women or vampires or anything futuristic. It turned out to be a touching story of a boy & his family's struggle in Japan during the closing days of WWII. The animated bombing of Hiroshima is one of the most disturbing scenes I have ever watched-one can only imagine the horror of being there in person. But its the aftermath of the bombing that sends chills down my spine. This film is not Pro-Japanese or Pro-American. It tells it like it was. This is the kind of film parents should show children, teachers should show students. It transcends all ethnicity and makes the viewer think. I wish that it wasn't anime because a film like this needs more exposure than to be put into a category with few outside interests. If you've seen it, you know what I'm talking about, and if you haven't, then make it a point to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Literary (Manga) masterpiece's message conveyed clearly ..., June 9 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barefoot Gen (DVD)
I was first introduced to Barefoot Gen in the mid-eighties as a series of horrificly graphic manga books about a child caught in the Hieroshima atomic detonation. Every since the first reading I have been riveted to anything GEN. Not only is it a story of Japan's (and mankind's) brutality and cruelty but also an affirmation of all the hope and will power existant in the human form. The unparalled devastation of this historic event relived vicariously through the eyes of Gen and his dying family has been well translated to film, but edited naturally to fill a feature length production. All of humanity should witness the historic culmination, the apex of destruction pinnacled at the penultimate event of world war two, how it tortured and obliterated the lives of all who were subject to it's occurance, and perhaps we might all be aware of it's might in order to avoid a recurrance of such an event. The animation and direction appeared clunky, but the story couldn't be denied it's power to emote this viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable piece of history, April 25 2000
By 
Marcel Kok (Rotterdam, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Barefoot Gen (DVD)
I think it is important that many people, not just anime fans, see this movie!
Barefoot Gen, like Grave of the Fireflies, left me deeply impressed. Before I saw this one, the dropping of the atomic bomb on Hiroshima was just a date I remembered from my history books.
I don't think anyone can *ever* convey what it was like, but I think this movie makes a good attempt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Barefoot Gen on DVD - A Very Tough One to Watch, Feb. 17 2000
This review is from: Barefoot Gen (DVD)
If you found Grave of the Fireflies difficult to watch, Barefoot Gen will be even more difficult. Although it shares similar WWII themes, Gen lacks the sensitivity that you see in Grave. The imagery in Gen is simply horrific -- the most disturbing that I have ever seen in an animation. But since it is about the Hiroshima bombing, I guess it would be considered accurate and is therefore effectively disturbing. It should be noted that the quality of the animation is not even close to Grave of the Fireflies. So I would not recommend this to those searching for something in league with Grave. It is definitely not for young children. Although older children *might* watch this under adult supervision in some sort of educational environment. In terms of content, this film is more in league with Saving Private Ryan or Shindler's List.
DVD anime fans should be aware that the subtitles in the film are very difficult to read. They are *bright purple* with blue outlines, but there is transparent space in between the purple and the blue. This makes it especially hard to read on brighter backgrounds. There is no option to turn the subtitles off unless you watch it in English. Therefore I would only recommend this DVD to those looking for an English dubbed version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not your typical anime, Jan. 26 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Barefoot Gen (DVD)
If you like Graveyard of the Fireflies, this is in league with it. This is a post war drama anime. I wouldn't recommend this to kids, as it is depressing and even shocking at certain points. It is an emotional anime and it focuses on a kid caught up in the chaos of World War 2. Great story, if your looking for one to ponder on. If you want to relax and not think about anything except popcorn, this is not the best title to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is an absolute MUST, Aug. 23 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Barefoot Gen (DVD)
even though this is not your typical action thrill ride, it is well worth checking out. it is a very influential film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barefoot Gen
Barefoot Gen by Mori Masaki (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 151.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews