Customer Reviews


359 Reviews
5 star:
 (185)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product !
Fast shipping ! The DVD is working well.

I was just a little disappointed that the French track is not on DVD.

However, the French subtitles are greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Published on Aug. 22 2009 by Maverick

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but wildly inaccurate
If you're not bothered by historical inaccuracies, then go ahead and check out this movie. It's extremely well-acted for the most part, although Fiennes's Dudley turns milksop in an entirely fictitious turn of events that aligns him with a Catholic plot to replace Elizabeth with Mary, Queen of Scots (whose death in the movie is all wrong, too). Events from decades later...
Published on July 17 2004 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product !, Aug. 22 2009
This review is from: Elizabeth (DVD)
Fast shipping ! The DVD is working well.

I was just a little disappointed that the French track is not on DVD.

However, the French subtitles are greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, but wildly inaccurate, July 17 2004
By 
This review is from: Elizabeth (DVD)
If you're not bothered by historical inaccuracies, then go ahead and check out this movie. It's extremely well-acted for the most part, although Fiennes's Dudley turns milksop in an entirely fictitious turn of events that aligns him with a Catholic plot to replace Elizabeth with Mary, Queen of Scots (whose death in the movie is all wrong, too). Events from decades later are all condensed into what is clearly supposed to be the first year or two of Elizabeth's reign (which begain in 1558): Norfolk didn't rebel until the Northern Rebellion in 1569; Elizabeth wasn't excommunicated until 1570; she didn't even enter the Anjou courtship until 1578; and Mary, Queen of Scots was beheaded in public, not murdered in her bed, and that not until almost thirty years later, in 1587! Furthermore, in 1558 Lord Robert Dudley was not yet Earl of Leicester (he wouldn't be until Elizabeth gave him that title in 1564, and he was NEVER a duke!), and as another reviewer has pointed out, there's certainly more drama and intrigue in his REAL story than the movie allows -- he was rumored to have murdered his wife, Amy Robsart, after all.
I won't go on, but my point is that there is a hell of a lot wrong with the storyline that didn't even need to be wrong. It's still an entertaining movie, as I mentioned before, and Cate Blanchett really does deliver an exceptional performance. But at least some sort of gesture towards a measure of historical accuracy would have been appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, May 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth (Bilingual) (DVD)
Very good dvd and lot of good memories about it I just adore it and recommanded it to all my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must, July 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth (Bilingual) (DVD)
If only for Cate Blanchett's performance, this movie is a must have. I am still mesmerized by this woman's acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elizabeth, June 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Elizabeth (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is excellent British drama, with wonderful acting, scenery, architecture, and a good review of history, notwithstanding some mis-representation of facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love Elizabeth and this is a good film but this is not historically accurate, June 3 2013
This review is from: Elizabeth (Bilingual) (DVD)
I'm giving it 4 stars because of the glorious Cate Blanchett, but if you're after accuracy, keep walking. I winced at the more obvious faux pas (factually) and just about lost my lunch at the casting of Ralph Fiennes as Dudley. I prefer something rather more manly (like The Virgin Queen's Tom Hardy). Suspension of disbelief is all well and good but even roofies would not persuade me that the glorious Faery Queen would give old Raffie a second look, except to cast him as a transvestite in a play. I'm not royalty, but even I wouldn't have done him for practice. That's the least of my quibbles, though. For sheer entertainment, this is a pretty film and Cate is wonderful as usual. As far as history goes, it's well wide of the mark but I guess that's Hollywood for you, which is why I prefer my Gloriana done by the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The First Half of The Virgin Queen's Reign, July 11 2007
This review is from: Elizabeth (DVD)
Elizabeth is a beautifully shot film directed by Shekhar Kapur. The cast was a whose who of future stars and past cinema giants. The cast includes Geoffrey Rush, Christopher Eccleston, Kelly MacDonald, Daniel Craig, Vincent Cassel, Emily Mortimer, Richard Attenborough, Fanny Ardant, Joseph Fiennes and of course Cate Blanchett. It is screen legend John Gielgud's final picture before his death at the age of 96 and he gets to play the Pope. English pop singer Lily Allen also appears in a small role when she was just 12 years old. The film portrays the early part of the reign of Queen Elizabeth I of England. She is the [...] child of King Henry VIII and Anne Bolyn, and was queen for 45 years starting in 1558 and until her death. The period she ruled was often regarded as the most significant period of growth in England's past. Her legacy is a positive one and she is often recognized as the most highly regarded British monarch in history.

The film follows how Elizabeth became queen after Mary I of England's death. It deals with many issues regarding the fact that she is Protestant and was imprisoned for allegations that she planned to assassinate Queen Mary I. She is released when Mary I dies and Elizabeth becomes queen. Many conspire against her, from Catholics to the Scots and the French. It also follows Elizabeth's love affair with Robert Dudley (Joseph Fiennes). The film ends fittingly with Elizabeth's reign entering stability just before the beginning of the English Renaissance. I say fittingly because a sequel to Elizabeth is being released this fall and it will no doubt exhibit the true nature of Elizabeth's legacy and the reverence held toward her to this day. It covers a more interesting period in my opinion.

I actually had a problem with the concept of this film. The nature of this period in Elizabeth's life didn't sit well with me in terms of transferring to a motion picture. The way liberties are taken with historical facts inject drama effectively and actually makes up for what should've been a fairly anti-climactic story. So her life becomes a bit of soap opera. Part of me thinks that if the film was pure history it still could've been good but perhaps not has marketable. I found it enjoyable either way. The sets and costumes are incredible and the cinematography is also worth praising. The real strength in Elizabeth is Cate Blanchett. She is the best actress of this generation and is amazing here. This may not seem like a timely review (it's about eight years overdue) but with the sequel coming out I recommend seeing Elizabeth. The sequel has Samantha Morton as Elizabeth's antagonist Mary, Queen of Scots and Clive Owen as Walter Raleigh. No doubt its release for the fall is setting it up for some major awards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well acted, but distorts the actual events, July 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Elizabeth (DVD)
Elizabeth is a well acted and entertaining movie, with some very well done performances and is visually stunning. The problem is that the writers decided to change so many events, that it ends up unnecessarily distorting the actual history.
To see a factual, well-acted, and still superb movie of the same era, get the 1971 film "Mary Queen of Scots" with Vanessa Redgrave. Not only does this follow the actual events, but the drama of 2 queens battling for power is so forcibly played that you can watch it over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sumptuous & stunning, Feb. 18 2006
By 
paula b "paula" (surrey, england!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elizabeth (DVD)
i adored this film,
it is a sumptuous production, the cast list itself is dazzling, cate makes a great queen bess, being the precocious, high-spirited young girl, to the newly crowned queen, being violently awakened to the role she has inherited, to the jaded & disillusioned older queen.
visually cate portrays regal grace & elegance & also the vanity that apparently was this queen's achilles!
joseph fiennes expresses a puppy dog devotion, but shows more conscience & less ruthless cunning than is legend of dudley's ambitions.
emily mortimer playing kat ashley, who i believe was in reality, quite an elderly woman, being elizabeth's childhood nanny.
geoffrey rush is totally excellent as walsingham, being so fiercely devoted to HM & viciously protective, to any lengths! against any threats to her.
also, attenborough is a good lord burley, portraying a stuffy, traditional & missionary atttitude & judgement.
one of my favourite characters here is norfolk (chris eccleston) as he plays such an evil & jealous role so brilliantly, with sour expressions & resentment with every breath,
also daniel craig's screen presence within his role is quite stunning.
there is an all-star cast & a colourful array of characters, whether factual or fictional, greatly entertaining, & the whole production is artisticly created & beautiful to watch, the whole project showing it was created with such care & attention to detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shame they had to tart up the material, Nov. 28 2003
By 
W. P. Gardner (Palo Alto, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elizabeth (VHS Tape)
This a very mediocre offering given the forces that the filmmakers had at their disposal. I wished I were watching Elizabeth R (the old BBC series with Glenda Jackson) the whole time.
They did not have the courage to think this material would carry the audience's interest by itself. I'm probably in the minority of people who are intensely interested in the Elizabethan era, but it's annoying to have them tart the thing up like this.
They didn't need to put in the unlikely scenes with Elizabeth in bed with Robert Dudley, they didn't need to use modern orchestras for the music, and if they had gone with cheaper costumes and black-and-white film, I wouldn't have cared. As long as the story line is sensible and the acting is good.
The acting is pretty good. Cate Blanchett is fine. I didn't like the script. As a fan of music from that period, I was annoyed to have them drag Elgar into it.
Don't bother with this. Watch Elizabeth R instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elizabeth (Widescreen)
Elizabeth (Widescreen) by Shekhar Kapur (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 39.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews